Drawings
Figures 1-7 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
4. Claims 1-2, 5, 8-11, 13-16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the computed CSI” at line 26. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as “reporting the computed CSI” is combined with the preamble without any step of the first three bullet steps. The same remark applies to claim 22.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the number of precoding matrix indicator” at lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 is vague and indefinite. It is unclear as to what is being claimed in regards to (a) OR (b) OR (c)AND (d), in particular how the claim should be read as {(a) AND (d)] OR [(b) AND (d)] OR [(c) AND (d)] } OR as {(a) OR (b) OR [(c) and (d)]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2023/0246781), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses the UE may transmit the CSI report (S1406-fig.14) to the base station, see 0348 (equivalent to reporting the computed CSI).
Regarding claim 22, Kim discloses a UE 100-fig.17 that includes processor(s), transceiver(s) and memory(s) to perform the claimed steps. A broadest reasonable interpretation for “to cause the UE to perform one or more of” is --- to cause the UE to perform one of ---. Thus, the UE may transmit the CSI report (S1406-fig.14) to the base station, see 0348 (equivalent to reporting the computed CSI).
8. Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muruganathan et al. (US 2024/0250727).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 24, Muruganathan discloses a method performed by a wireless device for CSI reporting includes: receiving a configuration for a plurality of Non-Zero Power (NZP) Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources from a base station; performing channel measurement on the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources, see 0148. Also, each NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet may consist of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources. When the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet consists of multiple NZP CSI-RS resources particularly in FR2, each of the NZP CSI-RS resources is associated with a different TCI state, see 0149 (equivalent to sending to a UE information for a Channel state information, reporting configuration that configures the UE with a plurality of Non-Zero Power, NZP, channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resources for channel measurement, where each of the multiple NZP CSI-RS resources is associated with a different Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI state).
Regarding claim 25, this claim has similar limitation ns as those of claim 24. Therefore, it is rejected under Muruganathan for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 24. The Base Station 1818 includes a processing circuitry 1830-fig.18 configured to cause the BS to perform the claimed step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
13. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Rahman et al. (US 2023/0037394), hereinafter referred to as Rahman.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all claimed limitations, except the CSI further comprises information about the second set of FD basis vectors.
Rahman discloses the UE includes a transceiver configured to: receive a configuration about a channel state information (CSI) report, the configuration including information about a codebook, the codebook comprising components: (i) sets of basis vectors including a first set of vectors each of length P.sub.CSIRS×1 for a spatial domain (SD), a second set of vectors each of length N.sub.3×1 for a frequency domain (FD), see 0005.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rhaman
into the system of Kim. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable the base station to select appropriate communication parameters to efficiently and effectively perform wireless data communication with the UE.
Allowable subject matter
14. Claims 5, 8-11, and 13-17 would be allowable if claims 1 and 22 rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Farag et al. (US 20210359745) is cited, and considered pertinent to the instant specification.
/DUC C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465