DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18685813 filed 2/22/24.
Claim(s) 1-9, 34-38, 45, 46, and 78-81 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-9, 34-38, 45, 46, and 78-81 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: and/or. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 1, 45 & 46 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “receiving from one or more network nodes at least one first message indicating at least one of uplink reference signal resources that are configured at the UE and/or indicating an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports, the number of the configured uplink reference signal resources being up to more than 4 and/or the number of uplink reference signal ports per uplink reference signal resource being up to more than 4”? Because of the and/or statement, it’s very confusing exactly what is the claimed invention? To receive the uplink reference signal resources? The antenna port or the DMRS, configured uplink reference signal resources are the “and/or” condition, so, the Examiner is interpreted it as an “or” condition
Claim(s) 1, 45 & 46 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “performing with at least one of the network nodes uplink transmission at least partially based on the at least one uplink reference signal resource that is indicated”? What exactly is the claimed invention? To perform the uplink transmission? What about the uplink reference signal resource that affected the uplink transmission? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 34, 36, 45-46, 78, 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0155634 A1.
As to claim 1, Yuan teaches a method at a user equipment (UE) for uplink transmission, the method comprising:
receiving from one or more network nodes at least one first message indicating at least one of uplink reference signal resources that are configured at the UE and/or indicating an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports, the number of the configured uplink reference signal resources being up to more than 4 and/or the number of uplink reference signal ports per uplink reference signal resource being up to more than 4 (Yuan, page 2, paragraph 10; page 4, paragraph 35; i.e., [0010] a first uplink reference signal resource set and a second uplink reference signal resource set, the first uplink reference signal resource set is identified by a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) the first uplink reference signal resource set and the second uplink reference signal resource set are each configured for codebook-based or non-codebook-based multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communications; [0035] In some cases, a base station may provide for configuration of multiple uplink reference signal resource
sets (e.g., SRS resources sets). The base station may measure uplink reference signals ( e.g., SRSs) from the multiple reference signal resource sets, and determine a precoding associated with each reference signal resource set. Multiple precoder indicators ( e.g., multiple SRS resource indicator (SRI) fields or multiple transmitted precoder matrix indicator (TPMI) fields)); and
performing with at least one of the network nodes uplink transmission at least partially based on the at least one uplink reference signal resource that is indicated and/or the antenna port configuration that is indicated (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 74; i.e., [0074] Wireless communications system 200 may also support non-codebook-based MIMO communications. For non-codebook-based uplink communications, the UE 115-a
may determine precoding candidates for uplink transmission 230, and the base station 105-a may select a subset of the SRS resources for the precoding for the uplink transmission 230. For example, the UE 115-a may perform a measurement of a downlink channel (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement) and determine several uplink precoding candidates. For each candidate, the UE 115-a may send an uplink reference signal 225 (e.g., SRS) to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may measure the uplink reference signals 225 indicate a subset of the uplink reference signals 225 to the UE 115-a based on the measurements. That is, the base station 105-a indicates that the UE 115-a is to use the precoding associated with the selected reference signal resources for the uplink transmission 230).
As to claim 2, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting, to the one or more network nodes, one or more uplink reference signals over one or more of the uplink reference signal resources (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 74; i.e., [0074] Wireless communications system 200 may also support non-codebook-based MIMO communications. For non-codebook-based uplink communications, the UE 115-a may determine precoding candidates for uplink transmission 230, and the base station 105-a may select a subset of the SRS resources for the precoding for the uplink transmission 230. For example, the UE 115-a may perform a measurement of a downlink channel (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement) and determine several uplink precoding candidates. For each candidate, the UE 115-a may send an uplink reference signal 225 (e.g., SRS) to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may measure the uplink reference signals 225 indicate a subset of the uplink reference signals 225 to the UE 115-a based on the measurements. That is, the base station 105-a indicates that the UE 115-a is to use the precoding associated with the selected reference signal resources for the uplink transmission 230).
As to claim 3, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the step of performing the uplink transmission comprises:
determining a first precoder for the uplink transmission at least partially based on the at least one uplink reference signal resource (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] the UE 115-a may use different precoders for different portions of a frequency domain resource allocation for uplink transmissions to the base station); and
performing the uplink transmission at least partially based on the first precoder (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] the UE 115-a may use different precoders for different portions of a frequency domain resource allocation for uplink transmissions to the base station).
As to claim 4, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the one or more uplink reference signals are Sounding Reference Signal (SRS), the uplink reference signal resources are SRS resources, and the uplink reference signal ports are SRS ports (Yuan, page 2, paragraph 10; i.e., [0010] a first uplink reference signal resource set and a second uplink reference signal resource set, the first uplink reference signal resource set is identified by a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) the first uplink reference signal resource set and the second uplink reference signal resource set are each configured for codebook-based or non-codebook-based multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communications).
As to claim 5, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one first message comprises at least one of: a Downlink Control Information (DCI) message, and a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message(Yuan, page 4, paragraph 34; i.e., [0034] an uplink grant to a UE ( e.g., in a downlink control information
(DCI) transmission) that indicates frequency selective precoding for a single-panel uplink transmission from the UE) .
As to claim 6, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the uplink transmission is non-codebook based uplink transmission (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 74; i.e., [0074] Wireless communications system 200 may also support non-codebook-based MIMO communications. For non-codebook-based uplink communications, the UE 115-a may determine precoding candidates for uplink transmission 230, and the base station 105-a may select a subset of the SRS resources for the precoding for the uplink transmission 230. For example, the UE 115-a may perform a measurement of a downlink channel (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement) and determine several uplink precoding candidates. For each candidate, the UE 115-a may send an uplink reference signal 225 (e.g., SRS) to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may measure the uplink reference signals 225 indicate a subset of the uplink reference signals 225 to the UE 115-a based on the measurements. That is, the base station 105-a indicates that the UE 115-a is to use the precoding associated with the selected reference signal resources for the uplink transmission 230).
As to claim 7, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 6, wherein before the step of transmitting the SRSs, the method further comprises:
measuring a downlink reference signal transmitted from at least one of the network nodes(Yuan, page 4, paragraph 35; i.e., [0035] In some cases, a base station may provide for configuration of multiple uplink reference signal resource sets (e.g., SRS resources sets). The base station may measure uplink reference signals ( e.g., SRSs) from the multiple reference signal resource sets, and determine a precoding associated with each reference signal resource set. Multiple precoder indicators ( e.g., multiple SRS resource indicator (SRI) fields or multiple transmitted precoder matrix indicator (TPMI) fields)) ; and
determining a second precoder for SRS transmission at least partially based on one or more measurements of the downlink reference signal (Yuan, page 4, paragraph 35; i.e., [0035] In some cases, a base station may provide for configuration of multiple uplink reference signal resource sets (e.g., SRS resources sets). The base station may measure uplink reference signals ( e.g., SRSs) from the multiple reference signal resource sets, and determine a precoding associated with each reference signal resource set. Multiple precoder indicators ( e.g., multiple SRS resource indicator (SRI) fields or multiple transmitted precoder matrix indicator (TPMI) fields)),
wherein the step of transmitting the SRSs comprises:
transmitting the SRSs at least partially based on the second precoder (Yuan, page 4, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] a user equipment (UE) may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station).
As to claim 8, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 7, wherein the downlink reference signal comprises a Channel State Information - Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 74; i.e., [0074] Wireless communications system 200 may also support non-codebook-based MIMO communications. For non-codebook-based uplink communications, the UE 115-a may determine precoding candidates for uplink transmission 230, and the base station 105-a may select a subset of the SRS resources for the precoding for the uplink transmission 230. For example, the UE 115-a may perform a measurement of a downlink channel (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement) and determine several uplink precoding candidates. For each candidate, the UE 115-a may send an uplink reference signal 225 (e.g., SRS) to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may measure the uplink reference signals 225 indicate a subset of the uplink reference signals 225 to the UE 115-a based on the measurements. That is, the base station 105-a indicates that the UE 115-a is to use the precoding associated with the selected reference signal resources for the uplink transmission 230).
As to claim 9, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one first message comprises one or more SRS resource indicator (SRI) fields, at least one of which indicating at least one of the configured SRS resources(Yuan, page 4, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] a user equipment (UE) may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station) .
As to claim 34, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the uplink transmission is codebook based uplink transmission (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The wireless communications system 200 may use codebook-based precoding or non-codebook-based precoding. To communicate according to a codebook-based transmission scheme, the UE 115-a may transmit one or more non-precoded (e.g., un-precoded) uplink reference signals 225 (e.g., SRSs) to the base station).
As to claim 36, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 34, wherein the uplink transmission carries more than one codeword (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The wireless communications system 200 may use codebook-based precoding or non-codebook-based precoding. To communicate according to a codebook-based transmission scheme, the UE 115-a may transmit one or more non-precoded (e.g., un-precoded) uplink reference signals 225 (e.g., SRSs) to the base station).
Claim(s) 45 is/are directed to a user equipment claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 35 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 46, 78-81 is/are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1, 34-37. Therefore, claim(s) 46, 78-81 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1, 34-37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35, 37-38, 79 & 81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0155634 A1 in view of Yawei, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. WO 2021138895A1.
As to claim 35, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 34. But Yuan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein more than 4 SRS ports are configured at the Benwerrin the at least one first message comprises one or more SRI fields, at least one of which indicating at least one of the configured SRS resources.
However, Yawei teaches the limitation wherein more than 4 SRS ports are configured at the Benwerrin the at least one first message comprises one or more SRI fields, at least one of which indicating at least one of the configured SRS resources (Yawei, paragraph 90; i.e., [0090] 4SRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan to substitute uplink channel demodulation from Yawei for demodulation packet from Yuan to provide higher the accuracy of data transmission (Yawei, paragraph 3).
As to claim 37, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yuan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the uplink transmission is at least partially based on an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) ports.
However, Yawei teaches the limitation wherein the uplink transmission is at least partially based on an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) ports (Yawei, paragraph 100; i.e., [0100] 4DMRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan to substitute uplink channel demodulation from Yawei for demodulation packet from Yuan to provide higher the accuracy of data transmission (Yawei, paragraph 3).
As to claim 38, Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 37, wherein the antenna port configuration is at least partially based on antenna port configuration tables with rank greater than 4 (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The wireless communications system 200 may use codebook-based precoding or non-codebook-based precoding. To communicate according to a codebook-based transmission scheme, the UE 115-a may transmit one or more non-precoded (e.g., un-precoded) uplink reference signals 225 (e.g., SRSs) to the base station).
Claim(s) 79 & 81 is/are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 35 & 37. Therefore, claim(s) 79 & 81 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 35 & 37.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Guo, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220345272 A1 discloses sounding reference signal and codebook, non-codebook.
Go, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 12335190 B2 discloses sounding reference signals, DCI, codebook and non-codebook.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416