DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 5/26/26.
Claim(s) 1, 45 & 46 was/were amended.
Claim(s) 1-9, 34-38, 45, 46, and 78-81 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 45 & 46 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “receiving, from one or more network nodes, at least one first message indicating at least one of: uplink reference signal resources that are configured at the UE; and an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports, wherein at least one of: the number of the configured uplink reference signal resources up to more than 4; and the number of uplink reference signal ports per uplink reference signal resource is up to more than 4? The claim languages at not very what exactly the Applicant trying to accomplished? What is the claimed invention? To do what? To receive the message indicating the uplink reference signal resources or more than 4 DMRS ports? Not exactly sure what is being performed? Please clarify
Claim(s) 1, 45 & 46 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “performing, with at least one of the network nodes, uplink transmission at least partially based on at least one of: the at least one uplink reference signal resource that is indicated; and the antenna port configuration that is indicated? The claim languages are not very clear what exactly the Applicant trying to accomplished? What is the claimed invention? To do what? To perform the uplink transmission? What is being “indicated”? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 34, 36, 45-46, 78, 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0155634 A1 in view of Kwak, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0132102 A1.
As to claim 1, Yuan teaches a method at a user equipment (UE) for uplink transmission, the method comprising:
receiving from one or more network nodes at least one first message wherein at least one of: the number of the configured uplink reference signal resources is up to more than 4 and the number of uplink reference signal ports per uplink reference signal resource is up to more than 4 (Yuan, page 2, paragraph 10; page 4, paragraph 35; i.e., [0010] a first uplink reference signal resource set and a second uplink reference signal resource set, the first uplink reference signal resource set is identified by a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI); [0035] multiple uplink reference signal resource sets (e.g., SRS resources sets). The base station may measure uplink reference signals ( e.g., SRSs) from the multiple reference signal resource sets); and
performing with at least one of the network nodes uplink transmission at least partially based on at least one of: the at least one uplink reference signal resource that is indicated and the antenna port configuration that is indicated (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 74; i.e., [0074] Wireless communications system 200 may also support non-codebook-based MIMO communications. For non-codebook-based uplink communications, the UE 115-a may determine precoding candidates for uplink transmission 230, the SRS resources for the precoding for the uplink transmission. For each candidate, the UE 115-a may send an uplink reference signal 225 (e.g., SRS) to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may measure the uplink reference signals 225 indicate a subset of the uplink reference signals 225 to the UE 115-a based on the measurements).
But Yuan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receiving at least one of uplink reference signal resources that are configured at the UE and indicating an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports, wherein at least one of: the number of the configured uplink reference signal resources is up to more than 4 and the number of uplink reference signal ports per uplink reference signal resource is up to more than 4.
However, Kwak teaches the limitation wherein receiving at least one of uplink reference signal resources that are configured at the UE and indicating an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports, wherein at least one of: the number of the configured uplink reference signal resources is up to more than 4 and the number of uplink reference signal ports per uplink reference signal resource is up to more than 4 (Kwak, paragraph 2, paragraph 21; page 9, paragraph 205 & 210; page 10, paragraph 228; i.e., [0021] the amount of data because the ratio of a reference signal resource element (RS RE) allocated to an uplink
control channel region is lowered; [0205] an aggregated REG unit includes four REG units and each REG unit includes three REs is assumed. That is, a case where the aggregated REG unit includes 12 REs (four DMRS REs and eight data REs); [0228] an uplink control channel region includes an RE (e.g., DMRS RE) for a reference signal (RS) and a data RE and the RS RE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan to substitute uplink channel demodulation from Kwak for demodulation packet from Yuan to significant increase of a transfer rate per user, the acceptance of the number of significantly
increased connection devices (Kwak, paragraph 3).
As to claim 2, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting, to the one or more network nodes, one or more uplink reference signals over one or more of the uplink reference signal resources (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 74; i.e., [0074] Wireless communications system 200 may also support non-codebook-based MIMO communications. For non-codebook-based uplink communications, the UE 115-a may determine precoding candidates for uplink transmission 230, the SRS resources for the precoding for the uplink transmission 230. For each candidate, the UE 115-a may send an uplink reference signal 225 (e.g., SRS) to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may measure the uplink reference signals 225 indicate a subset of the uplink reference signals 225 to the UE 115-a based on the measurements).
As to claim 3, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the step of performing the uplink transmission comprises:
determining a first precoder for the uplink transmission at least partially based on the at least one uplink reference signal resource (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] the UE 115-a may use different precoders for different portions of a frequency domain resource allocation for uplink transmissions to the base station); and
performing the uplink transmission at least partially based on the first precoder (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] the UE 115-a may use different precoders for different portions of a frequency domain resource allocation for uplink transmissions to the base station).
As to claim 4, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the one or more uplink reference signals are Sounding Reference Signal (SRS), the uplink reference signal resources are SRS resources, and the uplink reference signal ports are SRS ports (Yuan, page 2, paragraph 10; i.e., [0010] a first uplink reference signal resource set and a second uplink reference signal resource set, the first uplink reference signal resource set is identified by a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) the configured for codebook-based or non-codebook-based multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communications).
As to claim 5, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one first message comprises at least one of: a Downlink Control Information (DCI) message, and a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message(Yuan, page 4, paragraph 34; i.e., [0034] an uplink grant to a UE ( e.g., in a downlink control information (DCI) transmission) that indicates frequency selective precoding for a single-panel uplink transmission from the UE) .
As to claim 6, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the uplink transmission is non-codebook based uplink transmission (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 74; i.e., [0074] Wireless communications system 200 may also support non-codebook-based MIMO communications. For non-codebook-based uplink communications, the UE 115-a may determine precoding candidates for uplink transmission 230, and the base station 105-a may select a subset of the SRS resources for the precoding for the uplink transmission 230).
As to claim 7, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 6, wherein before the step of transmitting the SRSs, the method further comprises:
measuring a downlink reference signal transmitted from at least one of the network nodes (Yuan, page 4, paragraph 35; i.e., [0035] In some cases, a base station may provide for configuration of multiple uplink reference signal resource sets (e.g., SRS resources sets). The base station may measure uplink reference signals ( e.g., SRSs) from the multiple reference signal resource sets, and determine a precoding associated with each reference signal resource set.); and
determining a second precoder for SRS transmission at least partially based on one or more measurements of the downlink reference signal (Yuan, page 4, paragraph 35; i.e., [0035] In some cases, a base station may provide for configuration of multiple uplink reference signal resource sets (e.g., SRS resources sets). The base station may measure uplink reference signals ( e.g., SRSs) from the multiple reference signal resource sets, and determine a precoding associated with each reference signal resource set),
wherein the step of transmitting the SRSs comprises:
transmitting the SRSs at least partially based on the second precoder (Yuan, page 4, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] a user equipment (UE) may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station).
As to claim 8, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 7, wherein the downlink reference signal comprises a Channel State Information - Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 74; i.e., [0074] Wireless communications system 200 may also support non-codebook-based MIMO communications. For non-codebook-based uplink communications, the UE 115-a may determine precoding candidates for uplink transmission 230, and the base station 105-a may select a subset of the SRS resources for the precoding for the uplink transmission 230. For example, the UE 115-a may perform a measurement of a downlink channel (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) measurement)).
As to claim 9, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one first message comprises one or more SRS resource indicator (SRI) fields, at least one of which indicating at least one of the configured SRS resources(Yuan, page 4, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] a user equipment (UE) may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station) .
As to claim 34, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the uplink transmission is codebook based uplink transmission (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The wireless communications system 200 may use codebook-based precoding or non-codebook-based precoding. To communicate according to a codebook-based transmission scheme, the UE 115-a may transmit one or more non-precoded (e.g., un-precoded) uplink reference signals 225 (e.g., SRSs) to the base station).
As to claim 36, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 34, wherein the uplink transmission carries more than one codeword (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The wireless communications system 200 may use codebook-based precoding or non-codebook-based precoding. To communicate according to a codebook-based transmission scheme, the UE 115-a may transmit one or more non-precoded (e.g., un-precoded) uplink reference signals 225 (e.g., SRSs) to the base station).
Claim(s) 45 is/are directed to a user equipment claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 35 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 46, 78-81 is/are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1, 34-37. Therefore, claim(s) 46, 78-81 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1, 34-37.
Claim(s) 35, 37-38, 79 & 81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0155634 A1 in view of Kwak, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0132102 A1, and further in view of Yawei, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. WO 2021138895A1.
As to claim 35, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 34. But Yuan-Kwak failed to teach the claim limitation wherein more than 4 SRS ports are configured at the Benwerrin the at least one first message comprises one or more SRI fields, at least one of which indicating at least one of the configured SRS resources.
However, Yawei teaches the limitation wherein more than 4 SRS ports are configured at the Benwerrin the at least one first message comprises one or more SRI fields, at least one of which indicating at least one of the configured SRS resources (Yawei, paragraph 90; i.e., [0090] 4SRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan-Kwak to substitute uplink channel demodulation from Yawei for demodulation packet from Yuan-Kwak to provide higher the accuracy of data transmission (Yawei, paragraph 3).
As to claim 37, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yuan-Kwak failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the uplink transmission is at least partially based on an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) ports.
However, Yawei teaches the limitation wherein the uplink transmission is at least partially based on an antenna port configuration with up to more than 4 Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) ports (Yawei, paragraph 100; i.e., [0100] 4DMRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan-Kwak to substitute uplink channel demodulation from Yawei for demodulation packet from Yuan-Kwak to provide higher the accuracy of data transmission (Yawei, paragraph 3).
As to claim 38, Yuan-Kwak teaches the method as recited in claim 37, wherein the antenna port configuration is at least partially based on antenna port configuration tables with rank greater than 4 (Yuan, page 9, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The wireless communications system 200 may use codebook-based precoding or non-codebook-based precoding. To communicate according to a codebook-based transmission scheme, the UE 115-a may transmit one or more non-precoded (e.g., un-precoded) uplink reference signals 225 (e.g., SRSs) to the base station).
Claim(s) 79 & 81 is/are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 35 & 37. Therefore, claim(s) 79 & 81 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 35 & 37.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 34-38, 45, 46, and 78-81 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Hwang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180014254 A1 discloses reference signal and resources; 4 DMRS.
Chen, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. WO 2020220330 A1 discloses reference signal resource and 4 DMRS ports.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416