Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7 - 9, 13, 19, 20, 21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (U.S. Pub. No 20170207988A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method performed by a radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communication network, comprising: transmitting to a user equipment, UE, an indication requesting the UE to perform a measurement ([0147]): eNB sends a measurement configuration message to UE) of a call setup time for the UE ([0185], [0186]: activation command message gives an instruction for performing a UE measurement. the activation command message further includes VoIP signaling delay. [0258]: VoIP signaling delay: It includes a call setup delay.) in the wireless communication network (Examiner note: A UE necessarily exists in a wireless communication network.) and/or to provide a value of the measurement to the radio network node ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting a measurement list to the UE ([0185], [0186]: activation command message gives an instruction for performing a UE measurement, the activation command message includes an identity of the at least one UE. The activation command message further includes quality of service parameter information that needs to be obtained, and the quality of service parameter information that needs to be obtained is used to represent any one or a combination of the following quality of service parameters: the VoIP service delay, the VoIP service jitter, the VoIP service encoding type, the VoIP service packet loss rate, the VoIP service encoding rate, the MOS of the VoIP service, the VoIP signaling delay.), wherein the measurement list comprises the indication ([0258]: VoIP signaling delay: It includes a call setup delay.).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches receiving a measurement indication from the UE reporting ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB) the measured call setup time ([0185], [0186]: activation command message gives an instruction for performing a UE measurement. the activation command message further includes VoIP signaling delay. VoIP signaling delay: It includes a call setup delay.).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches using the indicated measured call setup time for handling communication in the wireless communication network, or forwarding the indicated measured call setup time to another network node for handling communication in the wireless communication network ([0111]: The apparatus sends a quality parameter report of the VoIP service to a centralized processing device. The quality parameter report of the VoIP service includes the quality of service parameter of the VoIP service, so that a network system obtains quality of service of the VoIP service according to the quality of service parameter of the VoIP service, further helping an operator control and adjust the network system based on the quality of service of the VoIP service.).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches a method performed by a user equipment, UE, for handling communication in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: receiving from a radio network node, an indication requesting the UE to perform a measurement ([0147]): eNB sends a measurement configuration message to UE) of a call setup time for the UE ([0185], [0186]: activation command message gives an instruction for performing a UE measurement. the activation command message further includes VoIP signaling delay. [0258]: VoIP signaling delay: It includes a call setup delay.) in the wireless communication network (Examiner note: A UE is necessarily a device in a wireless communication network.) and/or to provide a value of the measurement to the radio network node ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB), and measuring the call setup time of a call from the UE ([0258]: For the call setup delay, the UE measures a time from initiating a VoIP service request to acknowledging the VoIP service request, and calculates the call setup delay of the user.).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches transmitting a measurement indication to the radio network node ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB) reporting the measured call setup time ([0258]: For the call setup delay, the UE measures a time from initiating a VoIP service request to acknowledging the VoIP service request, and calculates the call setup delay of the user.).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches wherein receiving the indication comprises receiving a measurement list from the radio network node ([0185], [0186]: activation command message gives an instruction for performing a UE measurement, the activation command message includes an identity of the at least one UE. The activation command message further includes quality of service parameter information that needs to be obtained, and the quality of service parameter information that needs to be obtained is used to represent any one or a combination of the following quality of service parameters: the VoIP service delay, the VoIP service jitter, the VoIP service encoding type, the VoIP service packet loss rate, the VoIP service encoding rate, the MOS of the VoIP service, the VoIP signaling delay.), wherein the measurement list comprises the indication ([0258]: VoIP signaling delay: It includes a call setup delay).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches a radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communication network, wherein the radio network node comprises: processor circuitry and a memory for storing instructions executable by said processor circuitry ([0310]: The network component 400 may include a processor 4002. The network component communicates with a storage apparatus including the following items: a secondary memory 4004. [0312]: The secondary memory 4004 may be configured to store a program.), and whereby the processing circuitry is operative to transmit to a user equipment, UE, ([0310]: The processor 4002 may implement all functions of the processor 300 in the foregoing wireless access device.) an indication requesting the UE to perform a measurement ([0147]): eNB sends a measurement configuration message to UE) of a call setup time for the UE ([0185], [0186]: activation command message gives an instruction for performing a UE measurement. the activation command message further includes VoIP signaling delay. [0258]: VoIP signaling delay: It includes a call setup delay.) in the wireless communication network (Examiner note: A UE necessarily exists in a wireless communication network.)and/or to provide a value of the measurement to the radio network node ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches A user equipment, UE, for handling communication in a wireless communication network, wherein the UE comprises: processor circuitry and a memory for storing instructions executable by said processor circuitry ([0313]: The apparatus is UE. Referring to FIG. 9, the apparatus includes a processor 500, a memory 501.[0314]: When the apparatus runs, the processor 500 executes the computer-executable instruction stored in the memory 501.), and whereby the processing circuitry is operative to receive from a radio network node an indication requesting the UE ([0315]: The communications interface 503 is configured to receive a VoIP service measurement instruction message sent by a wireless access device, where the VoIP service measurement instruction message instructs the processor to measure quality of service parameter information of a VoIP service.) to perform a measurement ([0147]): eNB sends a measurement configuration message to UE) of a call setup time for the UE ([0185], [0186]: activation command message gives an instruction for performing a UE measurement. the activation command message further includes VoIP signaling delay. [0258]: VoIP signaling delay: It includes a call setup delay.) in the wireless communication network (Examiner note: A UE is necessarily a device in a wireless communication network.) and/or to provide a value of the measurement to the radio network node ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB).
Regarding claim 21, Li teaches wherein transmit the indication comprises transmitting a measurement list to the UE (([0185], [0186]: activation command message gives an instruction for performing a UE measurement, the activation command message includes an identity of the at least one UE. The activation command message further includes quality of service parameter information that needs to be obtained, and the quality of service parameter information that needs to be obtained is used to represent any one or a combination of the following quality of service parameters: the VoIP service delay, the VoIP service jitter, the VoIP service encoding type, the VoIP service packet loss rate, the VoIP service encoding rate, the MOS of the VoIP service, the VoIP signaling delay.)), wherein the measurement list comprises the indication ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB).
Regarding claim 23, Li teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further operative to transmit a measurement indication to the radio network node ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB) reporting the measured call setup time ([0258]: For the call setup delay, the UE measures a time from initiating a VoIP service request to acknowledging the VoIP service request, and calculates the call setup delay of the user.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 10, 11, 22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Pub. No 20170207988A1) in view of Jactat et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20150063145A1).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1, but Li fails to disclose the subject matter in claim 3.
However, Jactat does teach transmitting a reporting indication ([0102]: a logged measurement configuration signal 96, including measurements configuration, is delivered from the eNB 70 to the UE 72) indicating a method to report the measurement to the radio network node ([0100]: UE measurement configuration={ list of reporting triggers depending on the measured events (e.g. periodic for RSRP/RSRQ measurements), reporting interval (for immediate MDT only), reporting amount (for immediate MDT only), event threshold (for immediate MDT only)). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service to enable network monitoring and optimization. However, the accuracy and reliability of such reported measurements are critical, as network control decisions are based on these measurements. The reliability of such measurements is known to be degraded in a heterogeneous mobile networking environment. Jactat recognizes that radio measurements may be polluted by coexistence interference, resulting in inaccurate measurement data, and teaches enhancing measurement reporting by indicating a capability to provide enhanced measurements and including interference information to allow proper interpretation by the network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Jactat’s method in order to enhance the reliability of radio measurements (Jactat: Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Jactat teach the subject matter disclosed in claims 1 and 3. Jactat further teaches wherein the measurement indication is received in a message related to the method as indicated by the reporting indication ([0100]: the trace session activation 94 can comprise: (UE measurement configuration={list of UTRAN/E-UTRAN radio cells}. List of measurements, list of reporting triggers depending on the measured events.). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service to enable network monitoring and optimization. However, the accuracy and reliability of such reported measurements are critical, as network control decisions are based on these measurements. The reliability of such measurements is known to be degraded in a heterogeneous mobile networking environment. Jactat recognizes that radio measurements may be polluted by coexistence interference, resulting in inaccurate measurement data, and teaches enhancing measurement reporting by indicating a capability to provide enhanced measurements and including interference information to allow proper interpretation by the network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Jactat’s method in order to enhance the reliability of radio measurements (Jactat: Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 8, but Li fails to teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 10.
However, Jactat teaches receiving from the radio network node, a reporting indication ([0102]: a logged measurement configuration signal 96, including measurements configuration, is delivered from the eNB 70 to the UE 72) indicating a method to report the measurement of the call setup time to the radio network node ([0100]: UE measurement configuration={ list of reporting triggers depending on the measured events (e.g. reporting interval (for immediate MDT only), reporting amount (for immediate MDT only)). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service to enable network monitoring and optimization. However, the accuracy and reliability of such reported measurements are critical, as network control decisions are based on these measurements. The reliability of such measurements is known to be degraded in a heterogeneous mobile networking environment. Jactat recognizes that radio measurements may be polluted by coexistence interference, resulting in inaccurate measurement data, and teaches enhancing measurement reporting by indicating a capability to provide enhanced measurements and including interference information to allow proper interpretation by the network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Jactat’s method in order to enhance the reliability of radio measurements (Jactat: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the subject matter disclosed in claims 8 and 9. Li further teaches wherein the measurement indication is transmitted ([0149]: The UE reports a measurement response message to the eNB). Li fails to teach in a message related to the method as indicated by the reporting indication.
However, Jactat does teach in a message related to the method as indicated by the reporting indication ([0100]: the trace session activation 94 can comprise: (UE measurement configuration={list of UTRAN/E-UTRAN radio cells}. List of measurements, list of reporting triggers depending on the measured events (e.g. reporting interval (for immediate MDT only), reporting amount (for immediate MDT only)).). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service to enable network monitoring and optimization. However, the accuracy and reliability of such reported measurements are critical, as network control decisions are based on these measurements. The reliability of such measurements is known to be degraded in a heterogeneous mobile networking environment. Jactat recognizes that radio measurements may be polluted by coexistence interference, resulting in inaccurate measurement data, and teaches enhancing measurement reporting by indicating a capability to provide enhanced measurements and including interference information to allow proper interpretation by the network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Jactat’s method in order to enhance the reliability of radio measurements (Jactat: Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Li teaches the subject matter disclosed in claims 19, but Li fails to teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 22.
However, Jactat does teach wherein the processing circuitry is further operative to transmit a reporting indication ([0102]: a logged measurement configuration signal 96, including measurements configuration, is delivered from the eNB 70 to the UE 72) indicating a method to report the measurement to the radio network node ([0100]: UE measurement configuration={ list of reporting triggers depending on the measured events (e.g. periodic for RSRP/RSRQ measurements), reporting interval (for immediate MDT only), reporting amount (for immediate MDT only), event threshold (for immediate MDT only)). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service to enable network monitoring and optimization. However, the accuracy and reliability of such reported measurements are critical, as network control decisions are based on these measurements. The reliability of such measurements is known to be degraded in a heterogeneous mobile networking environment. Jactat recognizes that radio measurements may be polluted by coexistence interference, resulting in inaccurate measurement data, and teaches enhancing measurement reporting by indicating a capability to provide enhanced measurements and including interference information to allow proper interpretation by the network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Jactat’s method in order to enhance the reliability of radio measurements (Jactat: Abstract).
Regarding claim 24, Li teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 20, but Li fails to teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 24.
However, Jactat does teach wherein the processing circuitry is further operative to receive from the radio network node, a reporting indication ([0102]: a logged measurement configuration signal 96, including measurements configuration, is delivered from the eNB 70 to the UE 72) indicating a method to report the measurement of the call setup time to the radio network node ([0100]: UE measurement configuration={ list of reporting triggers depending on the measured events (e.g. reporting interval (for immediate MDT only), reporting amount (for immediate MDT only)). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service to enable network monitoring and optimization. However, the accuracy and reliability of such reported measurements are critical, as network control decisions are based on these measurements. The reliability of such measurements is known to be degraded in a heterogeneous mobile networking environment. Jactat recognizes that radio measurements may be polluted by coexistence interference, resulting in inaccurate measurement data, and teaches enhancing measurement reporting by indicating a capability to provide enhanced measurements and including interference information to allow proper interpretation by the network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Jactat’s method in order to enhance the reliability of radio measurements (Jactat: Abstract).
Claims 4, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Pub. No 20170207988A1) in view of Malas et al. (IDS Reference).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Li does not teach the subject matter in claim 4.
However, Malas does teach wherein the measurement is based on sent and received session initiation protocol, SIP, messages ([4.3.1]: In a successful request attempt, SRD is defined as the time interval from the first bit of the initial INVITE message containing the necessary information is sent by the originating user agent to the intended mediation or destination agent until the last bit of the first provisional response is received indicating an audible or visual status of the initial session set up request.). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service for network monitoring and optimization; however, Li does not define standardized methodologies or metrics for measuring such QoS parameters, which may result in inconsistent or non-comparable measurement results across implementations. Malas defines a standardized set of end-to-end SIP performance metrics and associated measurement methodologies for evaluating VoIP service performance, enabling consistent, interoperable, and comparable measurement and reporting of QoS parameters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Malas’s SIP measurement methodology in order to improve the consistency and reliability of VoIP QoS measurements.
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 8, but Li does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 12.
However, Malas does teach wherein measuring the call setup time comprises measuring time between a sent call initiation message, and a received request indication ([4.3.1]: In a successful request attempt, SRD is defined as the time interval from the first bit of the initial INVITE message containing the necessary information is sent by the originating user agent to the intended mediation or destination agent until the last bit of the first provisional response is received indicating an audible or visual status of the initial session set up request.). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service for network monitoring and optimization; however, Li does not define standardized methodologies or metrics for measuring such QoS parameters, which may result in inconsistent or non-comparable measurement results across implementations. Malas defines a standardized set of end-to-end SIP performance metrics and associated measurement methodologies for evaluating VoIP service performance, enabling consistent, interoperable, and comparable measurement and reporting of QoS parameters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Malas’s SIP measurement methodology in order to improve the consistency and reliability of VoIP QoS measurements.
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 8, but Li fails to teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 14.
However, Malas does teach wherein the measurement is based on sent and received session initiation protocol, SIP, messages ([4.3.1]: In a successful request attempt, SRD is defined as the time interval from the first bit of the initial INVITE message containing the necessary information is sent by the originating user agent to the intended mediation or destination agent until the last bit of the first provisional response is received indicating an audible or visual status of the initial session set up request.). Li discloses obtaining and reporting quality of service parameters of a VoIP service for network monitoring and optimization; however, Li does not define standardized methodologies or metrics for measuring such QoS parameters, which may result in inconsistent or non-comparable measurement results across implementations. Malas defines a standardized set of end-to-end SIP performance metrics and associated measurement methodologies for evaluating VoIP service performance, enabling consistent, interoperable, and comparable measurement and reporting of QoS parameters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li’s method with Malas’s SIP measurement methodology in order to improve the consistency and reliability of VoIP QoS measurements.
Conclusion
/VIJAY K MANNAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479