DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on May 16, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0334491).
Regarding claim 35, Choi et al discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor (paragraph 153 [terminal include processor]), and at least one memory (paragraph 153 [terminal include memory]) including computer program instructions, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program instructions are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a network element of a wireless communication network (see at least paragraph 157 base station), if cross-division duplexing is supported by the network element (see at least paragraph 116 discloses that xDD supported), a random-access preamble on at least one random-access channel occasion that overlaps with one or more downlink symbols in time (see at least paragraph 109 discloses terminal transmitting random access preamble to base station; further see paragraph 148).
Regarding claim 36, Choi et al discloses the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the network element, an indication indicating that the cross-division duplexing is supported by the network element; and determine that the cross-division duplexing is supported by the network element based at least partly on the indication indicating that the cross-division duplexing is supported by the network element (paragraph 129).
Regarding claim 37, Choi et al discloses the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the network element, a message indicative of at least one random-access channel configuration for determining radio resources for random-access channel occasions; and determine, based at least partly on the at least one random-access channel configuration, to use the at least one random-access channel occasion for transmitting the random-access preamble to the network element (paragraph 129).
Regarding claim 38, Choi et al discloses the apparatus is further caused to: receive a message indicative of at least two random-access channel configurations to be used for determining radio resources for random-access channel occasions (paragraph 128).
Regarding claim 39, Choi et al discloses the at least two random-access channel configurations comprise a first random-access channel configuration and a second random-access channel configuration; and wherein the second random-access channel configuration comprises more random-access channel occasions overlapping with downlink symbols compared to the first random-access channel configuration (paragraph 133).
Regarding claim 40, Choi et al discloses the apparatus is further caused to: determine, if the apparatus is in a coverage shortage mode, to use the at least one random-access channel occasion, which overlaps with the one or more downlink symbols in time, for transmitting the random-access preamble to the network element, or determine, if the apparatus is not in a coverage shortage mode, to use the at least one random-access channel occasion, which overlaps with the one or more downlink symbols in time, for transmitting the random-access preamble to the network element (paragraphs 112 and 133).
Regarding claim 41, Choi et al discloses the apparatus is further caused to: map at least one synchronization signal block beam to the at least one random-access channel occasion based on a mapping rule, wherein the mapping rule is applied for mapping synchronization signal block beams at least to one or more random-access channel occasions occurring in one or more downlink slots comprising the one or more downlink symbols, and wherein the mapping rule indicates that the one or more random-access channel occasions occurring in the one or more downlink slots are valid (paragraph 69).
Regarding claim 42, Choi et al discloses a method comprising: transmitting, by a terminal device (paragraph 153 [terminal, 1400]) to a network element (see at least paragraph 157 base station) of a wireless communication network, if cross-division duplexing is supported by the network element (see at least paragraph 116 discloses that xDD supported), a random-access preamble on at least one random-access channel occasion that overlaps with one or more downlink symbols in time (see at least paragraph 109 discloses terminal transmitting random access preamble to base station; further see paragraph 148).
Regarding claims 43-48, see above rejection of claims 36-41.
Regarding claim 49, Choi et al discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions for causing a terminal device (paragraph 153 [terminal, 1400]) to perform at least the following: transmitting, to a network element (see at least paragraph 157 base station) of a wireless communication network, if cross-division duplexing is supported by the network element (see at least paragraph 116 discloses that xDD supported), a random-access preamble on at least one random-access channel occasion that overlaps with one or more downlink symbols in time (see at least paragraph 109 discloses terminal transmitting random access preamble to base station; further see paragraph 148).
Regarding claims 50-54, see above rejection of claims 36-40.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Lim et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0057558) directed toward XDD system configures an uplink resource and downlink resource.
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642