DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UEDA (WO 2018100612 A1).
Regarding claim 1, UEDA discloses an ionizer disposed in an ionization chamber (figs. 1-2; 11) separated from an analysis chamber (12, 13, and/or 14) by a partition (unlabeled; supporting 30) provided with an ion introduction port (30), the ionizer comprising:
an electrospray ionization probe (21, 211, 212, 213) (abstract Note ESI) configured to charge and nebulize (213) (abstract) a liquid sample as charged droplets (abstract), the electrospray ionization probe being disposed such that a nebulization axis (of 21/213) is orthogonal to a central axis (of 30) of the ion introduction port (30); and
a heated gas supply mechanism (24) configured to blow a heated gas, from a predetermined direction (that of 24), to a position between a tip of the electrospray ionization probe (21) and an intersection point of the nebulization axis (of 21/213) and the central axis (of 30), the position being separated from the tip by a predetermined distance or more (predetermined during device 10’s construction/design/assembly);
wherein the predetermined direction and the predetermined distance are set such that the heated gas (from 24) does not reach the electrospray ionization probe (21) (fig. 1; gas from 24 blows away from ESI probe 21 towards 30 and out of vacuum pump outlets (unlabeled) at bottom of 11, 12).
(figs. 1-2; MS 10; ionization chamber 11; ESI probe 21 (211, 212, 213), heated gas flow from 24, conductive capillary 22; ion introduction tube/port 30; partition wall (unlabeled between 11 and 12));
(abstract)
(translation, pgs. 1-3 and 4-5).
Regarding claim 2, UEDA discloses that the central axis of the ion introduction port (30) is a horizontal axis, and the tip of the electrospray ionization probe (21) is disposed above the ion introduction port, and the charged droplets (abstract) are nebulized (abstract) (via 213) downward from the tip (of 21).
(figs. 1-2; ESI probe 21 (211, 212, 213), ion introduction port 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over UEDA (WO 2018100612 A1) in view of FUKUI (WO 2017104053 A1).
Regarding claim 3, UEDA discloses wherein an angle formed by the nebulization axis (from 21/213) and a blowing direction of the heated gas (from 24) is
But UEDA fails to disclose an angle formed by the nebulization axis (from 21/213) and a blowing direction of the heated gas (from 24) is
FUKUI, however, discloses an ESI probe (101), an angle formed by the nebulization axis (from 101) and a blowing direction of the heated gas (from 103) is 60 degrees or more and 80 degrees or less (see fig. 2, 101, 103) (pgs. 1 and 3) (abstract)
(figs. 1-3; ESI probe 101, heated gas supply 103; ion introduction tube/port 102 with heater 106; partition wall (unlabeled between 10 and 12)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of UEDA, with an angle formed by the nebulization axis and a blowing direction of the heated gas is 60 degrees or more and 80 degrees or less )see, as taught by FUKUI, to use as a substitution of one known ESI probe angle and heated gas flow supply angle relation for another to desorb solvent molecules from the ESI charged droplets to obtain predictable increased resolution results (pg. 3).
Regarding claim 5, UEDA discloses wherein the ion introduction port (30) is an inlet of
But UEDA fails to disclose wherein the ion introduction port is an inlet of a desolvation tube heated by a heating member constituting a part of the partition , and the heated gas supply mechanism is configured to blow the heated gas to the heating member.
FUKUI, however, discloses an ESI probe (101), wherein the ion introduction port (102) is an inlet of a desolvation tube (102 via 106) heated by a heating member (106) constituting a part of the partition (wall between 10, 12), and the heated gas supply mechanism (from 103) is configured to blow the heated gas to the heating member (106 of 102) .
(figs. 1-3; ESI probe 101, heated gas supply 103; ion introduction tube/port 102 with heater 106; partition wall (unlabeled between 10 and 12));
(abstract)
(pgs. 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of UEDA, with the ion introduction port is an inlet of a desolvation tube heated by a heating member, as taught by FUKUI, to use as a substitution of one known ion introduction port/tube (i.e., a desolvation tube with a heater) for another generic tube, for desolvation of solvent from the ESI charged droplets prior to downstream analysis to thereby obtain the predictable results of increased resolution.
2. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over UEDA (WO 2018100612 A1) in view of COVEY et al. (US 6759650 B2).
Regarding claim 4, UEDA discloses wherein a distance from the tip of the electrospray ionization probe (21) to “an intersection” of the nebulization axis (from 21/213) and a blowing direction of the heated gas (from 24)
But UEDA fails to disclose a distance from the tip of the electrospray ionization probe (21) to “an intersection” of the nebulization axis (from 21/213) and a blowing direction of the heated gas (from 24) is 2.5 mm or more and 10 mm or less.
COVEY. However, discloses a nebulizer ion source probe (figs. 3 and 7; 70/72) with nebulized gas flow axis (along 106), heated gas flows (104 from 110) for desolvation of droplets (in 106); and that
a distance from the tip of the spray ionization probe (70/72) to “an intersection” of the nebulization axis (from 70/72) and a blowing direction of the heated gas (104 from 110) is 2.5 mm or more and 10 mm or less (col. 11, lines 40-55)
(Note claim 4 claims “an intersection” which can be any intersection between “2.5 mm or more and 10 mm or less”).
(fig. 7; 70, 106; 110, 104);
(col. 11, lines 25-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of UEDA, with a distance from the tip of the spray ionization probe to “an intersection” of the nebulization axis and a blowing direction of the heated gas is 2.5 mm or more and 10 mm or less, as taught by COVEY, to use as “an intersection” distance to ensue desired entrainment and recirculation of gas for the advantages of higher sensitivity and/or lower background chemical noise (col. 11, lines 25-55).
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881