DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 02/23/2024 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there are 4 independent claims and 16 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-21, 31-33 and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Zhou et al. Publication No. (US 2021/0028843 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD (DCI based signaling by a base station may be supported to dynamically indicate a type of CSI reporting (e.g., 3120 or 3140) to a UE [0456] FIG.42), the network node comprising:
processing circuitry (processors 321A FIG.3) configured to:
determine a plurality of channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, configurations (indicate to the wireless device a channel state information (CSI) report configuration comprising a plurality of CSI resource configurations for channel measurements [00468-469] FIG.42), the determined plurality of CSI-RS configurations including at least a first CSI-RS configuration and a second CSI-RS configuration (The CSI resource configurations comprise first CSI resource configurations associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP) and second CSI resource configurations associated with at least two second TRPs [0473-475] FIG.39), the first and second CSI-RS configurations comprising different values for at least one parameter (The CSI report configuration may be associated with configuration parameters comprising a CSI report configuration index identifying the CSI report configuration, a carrier indicator, configuration type indicator [different values] [0476-477] FIG.40);
determine one of the first CSI-RS configuration and the second CSI- RS configuration usable by the WD to perform a CSI procedure, the one of the first CSI-RS configuration and the second CSI-RS configuration being determined based on at least one condition (the base station sends, to the wireless device, a command comprising a first field triggering [condition] the CSI report configuration and a second field indicating whether the CSI report configuration is associated with the first CSI resource configurations or the second CSI resource configurations [0473-475] FIG.40); and
a radio interface (communication interface 320A FIG.3) in communication with the processing circuitry (the communication interface 320A in communication with processor(s) 321A FIG.3), the radio interface being configured to:
transmit, to the WD, an indication indicating the determined one of the first CSI-RS configuration and the second CSI-RS configuration (The wireless device may receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE) comprising a first field activating the CSI report configuration and a second field indicating whether the CSI report configuration comprises one rank indicator, one precoding matrix indicator and one channel quality indicator or multiple rank indicators, multiple precoding matrix indicators and multiple channel quality indicators [0471-472] FIG.42), the indication being transmitted using at least one of physical communication layer signaling and media access control, MAC, layer signaling (A MAC CE signaling may be used to indicate a CSI reporting type of a CSI report configuration [0460] the base station may dynamically indicate, via physical layer (e.g. a DCI) or MAC layer (e.g. MAC CE) signal, a panel from a base station for CSI reporting [0498] FIG.25).
Claims 2-10 (cancelled).
Regarding claim 11, related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claim 1, wherein the difference used is the limitations were presented from a “method in the network node” side and the wordings of the claim were interchanged within the claim itself or were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claim and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to this claim. Therefore this claim was rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein the at least one parameter is associated with a CSI-RS resource, each one of the first and second CSI-RS configurations having at least one CSI-RS resource value that is different (The CSI report configuration may be associated with configuration parameters comprising a CSI report configuration index identifying the CSI report configuration, a carrier indicator, configuration type indicator [different values] [0476-477] FIG.40).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches the method of Claim 12, wherein the at least one parameter is included in a CSI-RS resource mapping information element and includes at least one of: a port number; and a CSI-RS density (a base station may configure one or more parameters indicating CSI RS resource mapping, for example, time-domain location of one or more CSI-RS resources, a bandwidth of a CSI-RS resource, and/or a periodicity [0263]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches the method of Claim 12, wherein the at least one parameter is included in a non-zero power CSI-RS resource information element and includes at least one of: a power control offset to a CSI-RS; and a quasi-collocated, QCL, information (A base station may transmit indication of spatial QCL assumption between an DL RS antenna port(s) (for example, cell-specific CSI-RS, or wireless device-specific CSI-RS, or SS block, or PBCH with or without DM-RSs of PBCH), and DL RS antenna port(s) for demodulation of DL control channel [0278-279]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein the at least one parameter is associated with a plurality of CSI-RS resources (a base station may configure one or more parameters indicating CSI RS resource mapping, for example, time-domain location of one or more CSI-RS resources, a bandwidth of a CSI-RS resource, and/or a periodicity [0263]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein the at least one parameter is associated with a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets, each CSI-RS set of the plurality of CSI-RS resource sets corresponding to an index included in the indication (The CSI report configuration may be associated with configuration parameters comprising a CSI report configuration index identifying the CSI report configuration, a carrier indicator, configuration type indicator [different values] [0476-477] FIG.40).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou teaches the method of any one of Claim 11, wherein the transmitted indication triggers the WD to at least one of: activate one of the first CSI-RS configuration and the second CSI-RS configuration to perform the CSI procedure; deactivate one of the first CSI-RS configuration and the second CSI-RS configuration to perform the CSI procedure; switch from the first CSI-RS configuration to the second CSI-RS configuration to perform the CSI procedure; and switch from the second CSI-RS configuration to the first CSI-RS configuration to perform the CSI procedure (A radio network may support periodic, aperiodic, and/or semi-persistent transmission of downlink CSI-RS 522. For example, a base station may semi-statistically configure and/or reconfigure a UE with periodic transmission of downlink CSI-RS 522. A configured CSI-RS resources may be activated ad/or deactivated. For semi-persistent transmission, an activation and/or deactivation of CSI-RS resource may be triggered dynamically [0263] FIG.37).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein the method further includes: transmitting a CSI-RS based on the determined one of the first CSI-RS configuration and the second CSI-RS configuration; and receiving a CSI report as part of the CSI procedure, the CSI report including at least one measurement based on the determined one of the first CSI-RS configuration and the second CSI-RS configuration (the base station may transmit the information bits with CSI report trigger (e.g., TriggerState) for aperiodic CSI report or semi-persistent CSI report with PUSCH. For example, a wireless device may receive one or more CSI report configurations (e.g., CSI report config in RRC) with a plurality of CSI resource configurations for channel measurement (e.g., CSI Resource Config for Channel #0 and #1). Based on the CSI report configurations (e.g., CSI report config in RRC) [0456-457] FIG.31).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein the at least one condition is associated with a port quantity, a beam shape, a quantity of WDs supported by the network node, a power adaptation, a QCL parameter value, and an energy consumption by the network node (the base station may indicate whether an RS resource, used for measuring a beam pair link quality, is quasi-co-located (QCLed) with DM-RSs of a control channel [0277-278] FIG.28).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein at least one of: the at least one of the physical communication layer signaling and the MAC layer signaling includes at least one of downlink control information, DCI, and a MAC control element, CE (A MAC CE signaling may be used to indicate a CSI reporting type of a CSI report configuration [0460] the base station may dynamically indicate, via physical layer (e.g. a DCI) or MAC layer (e.g. MAC CE) signal, a panel from a base station for CSI reporting [0498] FIG.25); and the method further includes: transmitting, via radio resource control signaling, at least the first and second CSI-RS configurations of the plurality of CSI-RS configurations to the WD for the WD to select one of the first and second CSI-RS configurations based at least in part on the transmitted indication (RRC configuration (e.g., 3110) for CSI reporting may be configured in RRC. The configuration may comprise a usage of dynamic indication of CSI reporting type, serving cell index, resource config for channel measurement, resource config for CSI-IM for interference, resource config for NZP-CSI-RS resources for interference, report config type [0455-456] FIG.31).
Regarding claim 21, related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claim 1, where the difference used is the limitations were presented from the “wireless device” side with a processor and an interface (Zhou: FIG.3) and wordings of the claim were interchanged within the claim itself or were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claim and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to this claim. Therefore, this claim was rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claims 22-30 (cancelled).
Regarding claims 31-33 and 36-40, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 11-20, where the difference used is the limitations were presented from a “method in the wireless device” side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claims 34-35 (cancelled).
Conclusion
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELNABI O MUSA whose telephone number is (571)270-1901, and email address is abdelnabi.musa@uspto.gov ‘preferred’. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates, can be reached on 571-2723980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ABDELNABI O MUSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472