Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10-2021-209-330.2, filed on 08/25/2021.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
The Examiner notes the Claims appear to have numerous informalities and respectfully request Applicant to carefully review in their entirety and correct appropriately; a non-exhaustive list is as follows:
Claim 1 recites “An electronic device, comprising: a circuit arrangement comprising: a circuit board with at least one heat-generating semiconductor component arranged thereon, and a thermally conductive plate which serves as a heat sink, is in thermally conductive contact with the at least one heat-generating semiconductor component and is arranged parallel to the circuit board,… a housing with at least two receiving rails for receiving the circuit arrangement;… wherein the contact apparatus is arranged between the at least two receiving rails such that the contact is made when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the at least two receiving rails; and a cooling element arranged between the at least two receiving rails such that contact is made between the connecting surface of the thermally conductive plate and the cooling element when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the at least two receiving rails,…”, No Drawings or Figures depict “at least one heat-generating semiconductor component”, a “housing”, “at least two receiving rails”
Claim 2 recites “wherein the at least one recess extends from one side of the circuit arrangement to the opposite side”, No Drawings or Figures depict the “at least one recess extends from one side of the circuit arrangement to the opposite side”, the Examiner believes the Applicant is attempting to state the recess extends through the entirety of the circuit arrangement similar to a groove or canal or channel but unfortunately the Drawings or Figures do not depict the limitation as such.
Claim 6 recites “wherein a direction in which the at least one heat-generating semiconductor component is connected to the thermally conductive plate”, no Drawing or Figures depict “at least one heat-generating semiconductor component”, the Examiner notes “a direction in which the “at least one heat-generating semiconductor component” is connected to the thermally conductive plate is not established.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the at least two receiving rails have grooves and the thermally conductive plate has, on opposite side walls, projections matching the grooves, or vice versa” no Drawing or Figures depicts the entirety of the limitation of the Claim.
Claim 9, no Drawings or Figures depict “at least two receiving rails” or “grooves”.
Claim 10, the Examiner notes similar situation as Claim 2, no Drawings or Figures depict the “at least one recess extends from one side of the circuit arrangement to the opposite side”.
Claim 12, the Examiner notes similar situation as Claim 6, no Drawing or Figures depict “at least one heat-generating semiconductor component”,…
Claim 13, the Examiner notes similar situation as Claim 2, no Drawings or Figures depict the “at least one recess extends from one side of the circuit arrangement to the opposite side”.
Claim 19, the Examiner notes similar situation as Claim 1, no Drawings or Figures depict “at least one heat-generating semiconductor component”, “at least two receiving rails”, “grooves”.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRONIC DEVICE WITH A CIRCUIT ASSEMBLY WITH THERMALLY CONDUCTIVE CONTACTS WITH RECESS TO RECEIVE A PORTION OF A FLEXIBLE HOSE.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The Examiner notes the Claims appear to have numerous informalities and respectfully request Applicant to carefully review in their entirety and correct appropriately; a non-exhaustive list is as follows:
Claim 1 recites “An electronic device, comprising: a circuit arrangement comprising:… a thermally conductive plate which serves as a heat sink, is in thermally conductive contact with the at least one semiconductor component and is arranged parallel to the circuit board, wherein the thermally conductive plate is designed to be placed in thermally conductive contact with a cooling element, and wherein at least one recess is provided in the thermally conductive plate in a of a connecting surface, provided for connecting to the cooling element, of the thermally conductive plate, said recess being designed to receive a part of a flexible hose;… wherein the contact apparatus is arranged between the receiving rails such that the contact is made when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the receiving rails; and a cooling element arranged between the two receiving rails such that contact is made between the connecting surface of the thermally conductive plate and the cooling element when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the receiving rails, wherein the cooling element has, in a region of a connecting surface, at least one recess in which at least a part of the flexible hose is arranged”, to avoid antecedent issue and for clarity and consistency, the limitations should be changed to read “An electronic device, comprising: a circuit arrangement comprising:… a thermally conductive plate which serves as a heat sink, is in thermally conductive contact with the at least one heat-generating semiconductor component and is arranged parallel to the circuit board, wherein the thermally conductive plate is configured to be placed in thermally conductive contact with a cooling element, and wherein at least one recess is provided in the thermally conductive plate on a connecting surface, provided for connecting to the cooling element, of the thermally conductive plate, said at least one recess being configured to receive a part of a flexible hose;… wherein the contact apparatus is arranged between the at least two receiving rails such that the contact is made when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the at least two receiving rails; and a cooling element arranged between the at least two receiving rails such that contact is made between the connecting surface of the thermally conductive plate and the cooling element when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the at least two receiving rails, wherein the cooling element has, is provided on the cooling element, in which at least a portion of a flexible hose is arranged”.
Claim 2 recites the “at least one recess”, for clarity and consistency, the limitation should be changed to read “at least one recess of the thermally conductive plate”
Claim 6 recites “wherein a direction in which the semiconductor component is connected to the thermally conductive plate is oriented perpendicular to the direction in which the thermally conductive plate is connected to the cooling element, wherein a connecting surface, provided for connecting to the cooling element, of the thermally conductive plate is oriented perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board”, to avoid antecedent issues and for clarity and consistency, the limitations should be changed to read “wherein a direction in which the at least one heat-generating semiconductor component is connected to the thermally conductive plate, the thermally conductive plate is oriented perpendicular to the direction in which the thermally conductive plate is connected to the cooling element, wherein the connecting surface of the thermally conductive plate, provided for connecting to the cooling element,
Claim 8 recites “wherein the receiving rails” for clarity and consistency, should be changed to read “wherein the at least two receiving rails”.
The Examiner notes for the any and all instances of “the semiconductor component”, the limitation needs to be changed to read “the at least one heat-generating semiconductor component”.
The Examiner notes for the any and all instances of “the connecting surfaces”, the limitation needs to be changed to read either “the connecting surface of the thermally conductive plate” or “the connecting surface of the cooling element” to avoid 112B issue and render the Claim indefinite.
The Examiner notes for the any and all instances of “the at least one recess”, the limitation needs to be changed to read either “the at least one recess of the thermally conductive plate” or “the at least one recess of the cooling element” to avoid 112B issue and render the Claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “An electronic device, comprising: a circuit arrangement comprising:… wherein at least one recess is provided in the thermally conductive plate on a connecting surface, provided for connecting to the cooling element, of the thermally conductive plate, said at least one recess being configured to receive a part of a flexible hose;… at least one recess is provided in the cooling element in which at least a portion of the flexible hose is arranged”, the Claim is rendered indefinite due to the “flexible hose”, the first recitation of a “flexible hose” is not positively recited into the Claim due to “configure to” language and the second recitation of “flexible hose” is further into the Claim and “configured to” language is not used but recites “the flexible hose”, it is unclear if the Applicant is attempting to positively recite and claim “a flexible hose” for the cooling element or if the at least one recess of the cooling element is configured for “at least a portion of the flexible hose”.
The Examiner notes for any and all instances of “flexible hose” is in similar situation as Claim 1, such as Claim 9-10, 13, 16, 19-20, the “flexible hose” renders the dependent Claims indefinite as it is unclear whether a “flexible hose” is positively recited and claimed in Claim 1.
Claims 2-4, 9-10, 13, 16 recites “at least one recess” and/or “the connecting surface”, the Claims are rendered indefinite as it is unclear whether the “at least one recess” and/or “the connecting surface” are “at least one recess/connecting surface” of “the thermally conductive plate” or “the cooling element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cipolla et al. (US 2009/0277616 - hereinafter, "Cipolla") in view of Tatta et al. (US 9,521,782 - hereinafter, "Tatta").
With respect to Claim 1, Cipolla teaches (in Figure 17A-17B, 19, 20A-20C)
An electronic device, comprising:
a circuit arrangement (126) comprising:
a circuit board (128) with at least one heat-generating semiconductor component (132) arranged thereon, and
a thermally conductive plate (130) which serves as a heat sink, is in thermally conductive contact with the at least one heat-generating semiconductor component (132) and is arranged parallel to the circuit board (128),
wherein the thermally conductive plate (130) is configured to be placed in thermally conductive contact with a cooling element (150), and
wherein at least one recess (140) is provided in the thermally conductive plate (130) on a connecting surface (see Figure 20A-20C), provided for connecting to the cooling element (150), of the thermally conductive plate (130), said at least one recess (140) being configured to receive a part of a flexible hoses (148);
a contact apparatus (144) for making contact with a counterpart contact apparatus (152) arranged on the circuit board (128) of the circuit arrangement (126); and
a cooling element (150) arranged such that contact is made between the connecting surface (see Figure 20A-20C) of the thermally conductive plate (130) and the cooling element (150),
wherein the cooling element (150) has, (see Figure 20A-20C), at least one recess (see Figure 20A-20C, in paragraph [0052], “The heat pipes 148 rest on support blocks 150 which are attached to mother board 48”) is provided on the cooling element (150), in which at least a portion of the flexible hoses (148) is arranged.
Cipolla fails to specifically teach or suggest a housing with at least two receiving rails for receiving the circuit arrangement; wherein the contact apparatus is arranged between the at least two receiving rails such that the contact is made when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the at least two receiving rails; and a cooling element arranged between the at least two receiving rails when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the at least two receiving rails.
Tatta, however, teaches (in Figure 2-3 and 5) a housing (exterior shell, in column 6, lines 20-27) with at least two receiving rails (68) for receiving a circuit arrangement (78); wherein a contact apparatus (48) is arranged between the at least two receiving rails (68) such that a contact is made when the circuit arrangement (78) is fully inserted into the housing (exterior shell) between the at least two receiving rails (68); and a module (14) arranged between the at least two receiving rails (68) when the circuit arrangement (78) is fully inserted into the housing (exterior shell) between the at least two receiving rails (68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tatta with Cipolla, such that a housing with at least two receiving rails for receiving a circuit arrangement; wherein a contact apparatus is arranged between the at least two receiving rails such that a contact is made when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the at least two receiving rails; and a cooling element arranged between the at least two receiving rails when the circuit arrangement is fully inserted into the housing between the at least two receiving rails as taught by Tatta since doing so would allow Cipolla’s circuit arrangement operatively couples with the heat sink of Tatta’s housing to transfer heat. (in column 5, lines 16-38)
With respect to Claim 2, Cipolla as modified by Tatta teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Cipolla further teaches (in Figure 17A-17B, 19, 20A-20C)
wherein the at least one recess (140) extends from one side of the circuit arrangement (126) to the opposite side.
With respect to Claim 3, Cipolla as modified by Tatta teaches the limitations of Claim 2 as per above, Cipolla further teaches (in Figure 17A-17B, 19, 20A-20C)
wherein a cross section (see Figure 17A-17B and 20A) of the at least one recess (140) is semicircular.
With respect to Claim 6, Cipolla as modified by Tatta teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Cipolla further teaches (in Figure 17A-17B, 19, 20A-20C)
wherein a direction (see Figure 20A-20C) in which the at least one heat-generating semiconductor component (132) is connected to the thermally conductive plate (130), the thermally conductive plate (130) is oriented perpendicular (see Figure 20A-20C) to the direction (see Figure 20A-20C) in which the thermally conductive plate (130) is connected to the cooling element (150),
wherein the connecting surface (see Figure 20A-20C), provided for connecting to the cooling element (150), of the thermally conductive plate (130) is oriented perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board (1).
With respect to Claim 7, Cipolla as modified by Tatta teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Cipolla further teaches (in Figure 17A-17B, 19, 20A-20C)
wherein the connecting surface (see Figure 20A-20C) of the cooling element (150) and the connecting surface (see Figure 20A-20C) of the thermally conductive plate (130) have a congruent profile.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 4-5, 19-20, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 4 and at least in part because Claim 4 recites
“wherein the at least one recess of the thermally conductive plate is configured as a channel, a mean diameter of which is larger than an opening of the channel, said opening being situated in the connecting surface of the thermally conductive plate”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 4 are believed to render said Claim 4 and all claims dependent therefrom (Claims 5, 19-20) patentable over the art of record.
While Cipolla and Tatta teaches many of the limitations of Claim 4 as the above rejection of Claim 2, neither Cipolla nor Tatta nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of Claim 4.
With respect to Claim 8, 13-18, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 8 and at least in part because Claim 8 recites
“wherein the at least two receiving rails have grooves and the thermally conductive plate has, on opposite side walls, projections matching the grooves, or vice versa”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 8 are believed to render said Claim 8 and all claims dependent therefrom (Claims 13-18) patentable over the art of record.
While Cipolla and Tatta teaches many of the limitations of Claim 8 as the above rejection of Claim 1, neither Cipolla nor Tatta nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of Claim 8.
With respect to Claim 9, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 9 and at least in part because Claim 9 recites
“wherein the at least two receiving rails have grooves in which the flexible hose is fastened, and the thermally conductive plate has, on opposite side walls, the at least one recesses of the thermally conductive plate, which are configured as channels open toward the respective side walls and in which the flexible hoses fastened in the grooves can be received in each case when said flexible hoses have been filled with a cooling fluid”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 9 are believed to render said Claim 9 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Cipolla and Tatta teaches many of the limitations of Claim 9 as the above rejection of Claim 1, neither Cipolla nor Tatta nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of Claim 9.
With respect to Claim 10-12, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 10 and at least in part because Claim 10 recites
“wherein the at least one recess of the thermally conductive plate extends from one side of the circuit arrangement to the opposite side and is configured as a channel, a mean diameter of which is larger than an opening of the channel. said opening being situated in the connecting surface of the thermally conductive plate, and
wherein the flexible hoses is merely fastened in the recess of the cooling element and, when filled with or flowed through by a cooling fluid, is situated almost entirely in the channel formed in the thermally conductive plate”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 10 are believed to render said Claim 10 and all claims dependent therefrom (Claims 11-12) patentable over the art of record.
While Cipolla and Tatta teaches many of the limitations of Claim 10 as the above rejection of Claim 7, neither Cipolla nor Tatta nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of Claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8,767,403 to Rau et al., which teaches a frame has frame blades arranged to be interleaved with memory modules or memory module sockets. The frame blades participate in cooling the memory modules when memory modules are installed.
US 2020/0159294 to Franz et al., which teaches a system for cooling memory modules mounted in parallel on a printed circuit board may include a coolant tube installed in parallel between two of the memory modules, and a heat spreader disposed in parallel between the two memory modules. The heat spreader may include a base having an outer surface thermally coupled to the coolant tube and first and second fins. The first fin has a first spring force toward a first of the two memory modules. The first spring force causes the first fin to provide contact pressure to the first memory module to thermally couple the first fin and the first memory module. The second fin has a second spring force toward a second of the two memory modules. The second spring force causes the second fin to provide contact pressure to the second memory module to thermally couple the second fin and the second memory module.
US 9,713,287 to Wong et al., which teaches a cooling system having integrated cold plate extending member and cold plate for an electronics enclosure includes a chassis having multiple heat producing boards positioned in side-by-side parallel configuration having successive ones of the boards separated by a cavity thereby defining multiple ones of the cavities. A cold plate assembly includes a base unit of a thermally conductive material. The cold plate assembly also includes multiple cold plate extending members connected to the base unit.
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835