DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 7 October 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2006339042A (Makoto), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 11, 13 and 14, Makoto teaches a secondary battery comprise a battery case, a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator enclosed inside the case ([0009] and Figs 1 and 6), wherein the battery case is made of a laminate film including an inner resin film, a metal film, and an outer resin film ([0017]), and the case comprise a first peripheral portion 110e and the second peripheral portion 110f in the film overlapping portion 110b wherein no metal film is disposed ([0033]-[0035], Figs 2 and 3), which meets the claimed edge part.
Makoto illustrates that the peripheral portion comprises an inner resin film 111 made of polypropylene and an outer resin film 113 made of polyethylene resin film( [0031] and Figs 2b and 7b), which meets the claimed insulating layers.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 8 , Makoto teaches that a positive electrode lead 120 and a negative electrode lead 130 extend from one end of the inside of the battery case to the outside between stacked laminate films (Figs. 1, 2 and 4-6 and [0009]), which meets the limitation of the insulating layer disposed to surround the electrode lead.
Regarding claim 5, Makoto teaches that a tab film 161/162 made of a resin is fixed in advance at a position where the inner resin film 111 is welded([0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makoto.
The teachings of Makoto are set forth above.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, while recognizing the thickness of the insulating resin layer affecting the short circuits between the metal film and the electrode lead ([0033] and [0048]), Makoto does not expressly discloses the claimed width difference or spaced distance. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the claimed width difference and spaced distance in order to reliably prevent short circuits between the metal film and the electrode lead.
Regarding claim 9, Makoto does not expressly disclose that the positive electrode lead and negative electrode lead protrudes from each of both ends of the battery case in opposite direction, however, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the positive electrode and negative electrode to protrude from opposite ends of the battery case, since case law has held that “Rearrangement of Parts” normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). see MPEP 2144.04 VI.C.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makoto in view of US2018/0090793A1(Choi).
The teachings of Makoto are set forth above.
Makoto teaches that the outer resin film 113 is made of polyethylene resin film( [0031]).
Makoto does not expressly discloses polyethylene terephthalate (PET).
Choi discloses that polyethylene terephthalate (PET) can be used as out layer of a battery pouch as it has rigidity to maintain shape and insulating properties ([0024]).
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize PET of Choi as the out resin film material of Makoto. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teachings of Choi that to do so would predictably provide rigidity of the pouch structure while maintaining insulating properties ([0024]).
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766