DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0111980, filed on 08/24/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nazarian et al. (WO 2017176783 A1, hereinafter Nazarian).
Regarding claim 1, Nazarian discloses a seasoning supply apparatus (Abstract, “An automated food preparation system includes a seasoning-dispensing system”) comprising:
a seasoning introduction part configured to introduce seasoning (Para. 0090, “the holding chamber 24 defines: a cavity 68; a spice inlet 70 over the cavity 68”, where the spice inlet 70 is construed as the seasoning introduction part to introduce seasoning into the cavity 68);
a seasoning discharge part connected to the seasoning introduction part (Para. 0090, “The cavity 68 can also define a ramp 7 4 inclined up to the outlet 62 and configured to guide spices into the conduit 60”, where the outlet 62 connected to the conduit 60 is construed as the seasoning discharge part, where this is connected to the spice inlet through the body that makes up the holding chamber 24), extending downward (Fig. 3, where the conduit 60 is shown to extend downwards), and configured such that the seasoning introduced by the seasoning introduction part drops downward and is discharged (Para. 0092, “The gas supply 66 is fluidly coupled to the holding chamber 24 and is configured to release a burst of gas into the holding chamber 24 to dispense the quantity of ground spice into the conduit 60, into the dispersion nozzle and onto a surface of the foodstuff 12.”); and
a discharge/spreading/application part connected to a lower side of the seasoning discharge part, and configured to assist discharge of the seasoning through the seasoning discharge part (Para. 0092, “a burst of gas into the holding chamber 24 to dispense the quantity of ground spice into the conduit 60, into the dispersion nozzle and onto a surface of the foodstuff 12.”, where the dispersion nozzle 26 is construed as the discharge/spreading/application part that is connected to the lower side of the seasoning discharge part or conduit 60, where the dispersion nozzle assists with discharge through spreading out the spice, Para. 0095, “Generally, the dispersion nozzle 26 functions to receive ground spices from holding chamber 24 - via the conduit 60 - and to disperse these spices across the breadth of a foodstuff 12 below.”).
Regarding claim 2, Nazarian teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the discharge/spreading/application part includes: a first pipeline member connected to a lower end of the seasoning discharge part, and extending downward (Para. 0095, “The cavity 82 may include a channel insert (i.e., a grid structure) 84 that defines a set of channels 86 interposed between the inlet 64 and an open outlet end 88 of the dispersion nozzle 26.”, where the dispersion nozzle 26 includes a first pipeline member in the inlet 64 that connects to the lower end of the conduit 60); and
a compressor configured to spread the seasoning with compressed air by supplying the compressed air to an interior of the first pipeline member (Para. 0092, “Generally, the gas supply 66 functions to release a burst of gas (e.g., compressed carbon dioxide, air or nitrogen) into the holding chamber 24 to dislodge spices in the holding chamber 24 into the conduit 60 and on to the dispersion nozzle 26.”, where a compressor is implied to be present through being able to supply compressed carbon dioxide, air, or nitrogen).
Regarding claim 7, Nazarian teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses further comprising: a vane including:
a vane body connected to a lower distal end of the discharge/spreading/application part; and
a blade protruding toward an inside of the vane body to spread the clumped seasoning passing through the discharge/spreading/application part and dropping by an own weight thereof (Para. 0097, “The dispersion nozzle 26 can also include one or more (narrow) vanes or arms 94 that extend from the interior wall (e.g., an inner diametrical surface) of the body toward the axial center of the body to support the deflector 28 within the cavity 82.”, where the vanes spread out the seasoning passing through, Para. 0099, “the dispersion nozzle 26 can include vanes or other channels extending proximal the inlet to an outlet over the seasoning position below. However, the dispersion nozzle 26 can define any other structure of any other form suitable to disperse ground spices across the seasoning position.”, where the vane body is construed as the center point that holds the vanes 94, where the blade that protrudes towards the inside of the vane body is construed as the vanes 94 ).
Regarding claim 8, Nazarian teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the discharge/spreading/application part includes: a branched pipeline member extending downward (Para. 0095, “The cavity 82 may include a channel insert (i.e., a grid structure) 84 that defines a set of channels 86 interposed between the inlet 64 and an open outlet end 8 8 of the dispersion nozzle 26.”), and divided into multiple branches to extend (Para. 0096, “The dispersion nozzle 26 may also include the channel insert 84 spanning the outlet end 88, wherein the channel insert 84 defines a set of channels 86 having axes parallel to a longitudinal axis of the body, as shown in FIG. 3.”, where the branched pipeline member extending downward is construed as the part from the top surface of the housing 90 to the top surface of the channel inserts 84; where the channel inserts 84 are the multiple branches that extend downwards towards the outlet).
Regarding claim 10, Nazarian discloses an edible product production system (Abstract, “An automated food preparation system includes a seasoning-dispensing system”) comprising:
a seasoning supply apparatus configured to form a semi-finished product by supplying seasoning to a raw material (Abstract, “An automated food preparation system includes a seasoning-dispensing system, a sauce-dispensing system, and a conveyance system…The conveyance system transports a foodstuff between a seasoning position in which the foodstuff is disposed below the dispersion nozzle”); and
a seasoning applying apparatus configured to form a product by applying the seasoning to the semi-finished product, wherein the seasoning supply apparatus includes: a seasoning discharge part connected to a seasoning introduction part configured to introduce the seasoning (Para. 0090, “the holding chamber 24 defines: a cavity 68; a spice inlet 70 over the cavity 68”, where the spice inlet 70 is construed as the seasoning introduction part to introduce seasoning into the cavity 68; and Para. 0090, “The cavity 68 can also define a ramp 7 4 inclined up to the outlet 62 and configured to guide spices into the conduit 60”, where the outlet 62 connected to the conduit 60 is construed as the seasoning discharge part, where this is connected to the spice inlet through the body that makes up the holding chamber 24), and extending downward (Fig. 3, where the conduit 60 is shown to extend downwards), and configured to discharge the seasoning toward the raw material by dropping the seasoning downward (Para. 0092, “The gas supply 66 is fluidly coupled to the holding chamber 24 and is configured to release a burst of gas into the holding chamber 24 to dispense the quantity of ground spice into the conduit 60, into the dispersion nozzle and onto a surface of the foodstuff 12.”); and
a discharge/spreading/application part connected to the seasoning discharge part, and configured to assist discharge of the seasoning through the seasoning discharge part (Para. 0092, “a burst of gas into the holding chamber 24 to dispense the quantity of ground spice into the conduit 60, into the dispersion nozzle and onto a surface of the foodstuff 12.”, where the dispersion nozzle 26 is construed as the discharge/spreading/application part that is connected to the lower side of the seasoning discharge part or conduit 60, where the dispersion nozzle assists with discharge through spreading out the spice, Para. 0095, “Generally, the dispersion nozzle 26 functions to receive ground spices from holding chamber 24 - via the conduit 60 - and to disperse these spices across the breadth of a foodstuff 12 below.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarian et al. (WO 2017176783 A1, hereinafter Nazarian) in view of Jin et al. (CN 109730555 A1, hereinafter Jin).
Regarding claim 3, Nazarian teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above, discloses wherein the compressor includes: an air supply member configured to supply the compressed air (Para. 0093, “gas supply 66 includes a gas reservoir or tank containing
pressurized gas”, where the gas reservoir or tank is construed to be the air supply member);
a pressure control member configured to control a pressure of the air discharged from the air supply member (Para. 0093, “In this implementation, the gas supply 66 can also include a regulator that regulates the flow and/or pressure of gas released into the holding chamber. For example, the regulator can limit the flow rate of gas from the gas supply to 30 cfm or limit gas supplied by the gas supply to a pressure of 5 psi.”); and
a valve member configured to selectively discharge the air discharged from the pressure control member (Para. 0093, “solenoid valve 80 may be disposed along the gas conduit 78 and may selectively allow and prevent flow of gas through the gas conduit 78.”).
Nazarian does not disclose:
an air purifying member configured to purify air discharged from the air supply member.
However, Jin discloses, in the similar field of seasoning devices (Abstract, “a seasoning system”), where an air purifying member can purify the air discharged from the air (Page 7, Para. 2 from end, “conveying different kinds of solid seasoning. conveying pipeline 430 provided with a filter 460 for filtering the impurities in the air.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the air supply member in Nazarian to include an air purifying member as taught by Jin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to remove impurities from the air so it does not contaminate the seasoning, as stated by Jin, Page 7, Para. 2 from end, “conveying different kinds of solid seasoning. conveying pipeline 430 provided with a filter 460 for filtering the impurities in the air.”.
Claims 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarian et al. (WO 2017176783 A1, hereinafter Nazarian) in view of Unannounced (CN 113116193 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Nazarian teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the discharge/spreading/application part includes: a first pipeline member connected to a lower end of the seasoning discharge part, and extending downward (Para. 0095, “The cavity 82 may include a channel insert (i.e., a grid structure) 84 that defines a set of channels 86 interposed between the inlet 64 and an open outlet end 88 of the dispersion nozzle 26.”, where the dispersion nozzle 26 includes a first pipeline member in the inlet 64 that connects to the lower end of the conduit 60).
Nazarian does not disclose:
a second pipeline, a lower end of which is connected to the first pipeline member, and extending in a direction being inclined a downward direction; and
a fan connected to an upper end of the second pipeline member, and configured to press the seasoning downward by supplying air into an interior of the seasoning discharge part.
However, Unannounced discloses, in the similar field of particle dispensing devices (Page 2, Para. 2, “a particle material feeding device, a particle material dispersing device and a cooking device”), where a second pipeline has a lower end connected to the first pipeline member and extends in a direction inclined in the downward direction (Modified Fig. 9, where the second pipeline is shown with a lower end connected to the first pipeline and extends in a direction inclined downwards due to the connection to the slanted part of the first pipeline), where a fan is connected to the upper end of the second pipeline member to supply air to the interior of a seasoning discharge part (Modified Fig. 9, where the fan 142 is shown at the upper end of the second pipeline that can supply air through the seasoning discharge part and first pipeline to direct seasoning downwards; Page 6, Para. 2 from end, “feeding material 140 comprises a third cavity 141 and blowing device 142, in the invention blowing device 142 is assembled by a fan”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the discharge/spreading/application part in Nazarian to include the second pipeline connections and fan as taught by Unannounced.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of the fan allowing for smooth discharge of powder materials, where this can reduce the possibility of blockage, as stated by Unannounced, Page 6, Para. 2 from end, “the particulate material is blown by the blowing device 142 into the material nozzle 144, feeding by blowing the particulate material. In this embodiment, by using the nozzle form of the nozzle 144, can be flexibly set in the cooking device of the particle material feeding device of the mounting position, the feeding material assembly 140 so that the first discharge port 112 to the nozzle 144 will not generate the condition of blocking material, ensure smooth.”.
Modified Figure 9, Unannounced
Claims 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarian et al. (WO 2017176783 A1, hereinafter Nazarian) in view of Unannounced (CN 113116193 A1) in further view of Bai et al. (CN 207550558 U, hereinafter Bai).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nazarian teaches the apparatus according to claim 4, as set forth above.
Modified Nazarian does not disclose:
wherein the discharge/spreading/application part further includes: a hose member connecting the second pipeline member and the fan.
However, Bai discloses, in the similar field of powder discharging devices (Abstract, “The utility model claims a powder separating and extracting device”), where a pipeline member can be connected to a fan through a hose member (Page 2, Para. 3 from end, “the fan 2 by mutual connection of hose 4 and fine absorbing pipe 5 connected with the filling machine 1”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the second pipeline member and fan in modified Nazarian to include the connecting hose as taught by Bai.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the features of a hose in connecting a fan to a pipeline, where the hose is a gooseneck tube and where a hose by definition allows for flexibility in the connection, as stated by Bai, Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “hose 4 is gooseneck tube, a powder extraction duct 5 is 304 stainless steel hose”, and definition of hose, “a flexible pipe for conveying a liquid or gas”, from https://dict.org
Regarding claim 6, modified Nazarian teaches the apparatus according to claim 4, as set forth above.
Modified Nazarian does not disclose:
wherein a pair of second pipeline members are configured to extend in different directions each other, and wherein a pair of fans are provided, and are connected to upper distal ends of the pair of second pipeline members, respectively.
However, Unannounced discloses where a fan is connected to the upper end of the second pipeline member to supply air to the interior of a seasoning discharge part (Modified Fig. 9, where the fan 142 is shown at the upper end of the second pipeline that can supply air through the seasoning discharge part and first pipeline to direct seasoning downwards; Page 6, Para. 2 from end, “feeding material 140 comprises a third cavity 141 and blowing device 142, in the invention blowing device 142 is assembled by a fan”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the discharge/spreading/application part in modified Nazarian to include the second pipeline connections and fan as taught by Unannounced.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of the fan allowing for smooth discharge of powder materials, where this can reduce the possibility of blockage, as stated by Unannounced, Page 6, Para. 2 from end, “the particulate material is blown by the blowing device 142 into the material nozzle 144, feeding by blowing the particulate material. In this embodiment, by using the nozzle form of the nozzle 144, can be flexibly set in the cooking device of the particle material feeding device of the mounting position, the feeding material assembly 140 so that the first discharge port 112 to the nozzle 144 will not generate the condition of blocking material, ensure smooth.”.
Bai discloses, in the similar field of powder discharging devices (Abstract, “The utility model claims a powder separating and extracting device”), where a pipeline member can be connected to a fan through a hose member (Page 2, Para. 3 from end, “the fan 2 by mutual connection of hose 4 and fine absorbing pipe 5 connected with the filling machine 1”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the second pipeline member and fan in modified Nazarian to include the connecting hose as taught by Bai.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the features of a hose in connecting a fan to a pipeline, where the hose is a gooseneck tube and where a hose by definition allows for flexibility in the connection, as stated by Bai, Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “hose 4 is gooseneck tube, a powder extraction duct 5 is 304 stainless steel hose”, and definition of hose, “a flexible pipe for conveying a liquid or gas”, from https://dict.org
Regarding the pair of second pipeline members with a pair of fans, it has been held that mere duplication of parts and mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious modification to make. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) and In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It is the Examiner’s position that duplicating the second pipeline member and fan would achieve the same end result of being able move seasoning powder in modified Nazarian. As a result, adding another second pipeline would produce no new and unexpected result. Further, the positioning of another second pipeline in a different direction would be a mere rearrangement of the pipeline as the attachment location would be changed but the end function of providing air to move seasoning powder would be the same. As a result, adding another second pipeline would not modify the operation of the device in a new and unexpected way as the pipeline would still serve to provide air to move seasoning powder particles.
Claims 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarian et al. (WO 2017176783 A1, hereinafter Nazarian) in view of Saegusa (JP 2001010651 A).
Regarding claim 9, Nazarian teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Nazarian does not disclose:
wherein the discharge/spreading/application part includes: a nozzle member connected to a lower distal end of the discharge/spreading/application part, opened downward, having an area, an opened width of which decreases as it goes to a center thereof.
However Saegusa discloses, in the similar field of powder discharging devices (Abstract, “To smoothly discharge powder without being clogged at a container mouth”), where a nozzle can be connected to the dispensing end that is opened downwards and has an area with a width that decreases as it goes to a center (Page 3, Para. 6 from end, “The pouring section 3 preferably has a nozzle shape, but may have a shape having the same width as the mouth section 4 of the flexible powder container 1 and extending upward. The nozzle-shaped pouring section is a pointed powder pouring member having a container port and having a cross-sectional area of the pouring section decreasing toward the tip.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the dispensing end of Nazarian to include a nozzle with decreasing width as taught by Saegusa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use a nozzle dimensions allow for an increase in the powder outlet concentration, as stated by Saegusa, Page 3, Para. 6 from end, “The nozzle-shaped pouring section is a pointed powder pouring member having a container port and having a cross-sectional area of the pouring section decreasing toward the tip.”, where the decreasing cross-sectional area would increase the concentration of powder particles.
Conclusion
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
07/20/2026