DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18686440 application filed February 26, 2024, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on July 13, 2026. Claims 1-28 and 30-42 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s cancellation of claims 29 and 43-63 acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Peroz et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20180059297), hereinafter “Peroz”, in view of Wuister et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20110049097), hereinafter “Wuister”:--Claims 1, 2, 13: Peroz teaches a method of making an imprint template ([0817], Fig. 118), comprisingslicing a silicon wafer having a desired crystal orientation from a block ([0813], Fig. 117A);
forming a mask on the silicon wafer, the mask has a plurality of openings that align with a desired silicon crystal lattice axis ([0819-0820]; Fig. 118, Step 11806A or B);etching the silicon substrate through the openings to form a plurality of recesses on the silicon wafer ([0821], Fig. 118, Step 11807);stripping the mask to form the template comprising gratings corresponded to the recesses (last step in Fig. 118). Although Peroz failed to teach that the silicon wafer is a single crystalline material, since the wafer is sliced from a silicon block such as it has the desired crystal orientation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to form the silicon wafer from a single crystalline material. Peroz further teaches that the template can be used as an imprint template for pattern transfer using imprint lithography in a device production process ([0817]). In an embodiment Peroz teaches that the imprint lithography may comprise applying a resist liquid to a substrate, contacting the resist liquid with an imprint mask, then applying UV radiation to polymerize the resist ([0824-0826], Fig. 120). Fig. 12015 in Fig. 120 appears to show the UV radiation is applied through the silicon imprint template; however, it is noted that UV radiation is not effective through a silicon substrate. Wuister teaches that there are two approaches to imprint lithography: a) Hot imprint lithography comprising heating a thermosetting polymer resin to a temperature such that, upon contact with the imprint template, the resin is sufficiently flowable to flow into the pattern features defined on the imprint template. The temperature of the resin is then increased to thermally cure (crosslink) the resin so that it solidifies and irreversibly adopts the desired pattern. The imprint template may then be removed and the patterned resin cooled ([0039], Fig. 1a)b) UV imprint lithography comprising applying a UV curable liquid to fill the pattern features the imprint template, then applying UV radiation to the UV curable liquid to cure the UV curable liquid ([0040], Fig. 1b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use the hot imprint lithography method as an equivalent substitution for the UV imprint lithography method, as taught by Wuister above, in the invention of Peroz. It is noted that the hot imprint lithography does not comprise UV radiation.--Claim 3: Peroz further teaches that a multi-level grating may be formed by adding a stop etch layer as follows:(i) providing a silicon substrate (Step 12301 in Fig. 123, [0837-0838]);(ii) forming a stop etch layer on the silicon substrate, wherein the stop etch layer may be SiO2 (Step 12302 in Fig. 123, [0839-0840]);(iii) forming a silicon layer on the stop etch layer (Step 12303 in Fig. 123, [0839]);(iv) forming a mask layer on the silicon layer (Step 12305 in Fig. 123);(v) etching the silicon layer through the mask layer, wherein the etching stops at the stop etch layer (Step 12310 in Fig. 123). It is noted that the substrate at step (iii) is a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) wafer. Since SOI wafer is widely available in commerce, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a commercially available SOI wafer and skip step (i)-(iii) because this would simplify manufacturing and shorten cycle time.--Claim 4: Peroz further teaches that the silicon wafer may have a <100> crystal orientation (Item 11701C in Fig. 117C).--Claim 5: Peroz further teaches that the plurality of recesses form gratings for the template ([0812]). Peroz further teaches that the gratings may have a rectangular top-view shape ([0496], Fig. 54A and B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to form the recesses having rectangular top-view shape in the invention of Peroz.--Claim 6: Peroz further teaches that the plurality of recesses may have a triangular cross section (Item 11702C in Fig. 117C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to form the recesses having a pyramidal shape in the invention of Peroz.--Claim 7: It is noted that Item 11702C in Fig. 117C shows the silicon wafer is thicker than the depth of the recess.--Claim 8: It is noted that Item 11701C in Fig. 117C shows the edge of the recess is parallel with the <100> axis.--Claim 9: It is noted that in Item 11701C in Fig. 117C, the other sides of the rectangular that are not shown in the figure are aligned with the <110> axis.--Claim 10: Peroz further teaches that the plurality of openings in the mask may have different depths ([0533], Fig. 60A-60G). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a mask having openings of different depths in the invention of Peroz.--Claim 11:Peroz further teaches that the mask may comprise a polymer layer (Fig. 118, Step 11803 or 11806), and further teaches that the grating may be formed by etching through a photoresist mask ([0498-0499]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a mask comprising a layer of photoresist in the invention of Peroz.--Claim 12: Peroz further teaches that the etching may comprise KOH wet etching ([0813, 0821]).--Claim 14: Peroz further teaches that the imprint template may be used to imprint a grate pattern about 280 nm tall ([0826-0827, 0832-0833], Fig. 120 and 121A). . Peroz further teaches that the method above enables the patterning of different components (i.e., fields) of a waveguide device with a predetermined (e.g., the most optimum) nano- or micro-structure for each individual field ([0817]), and that the waveguide can utilize different nano- and micro-patterns for various functions. The ability to vary pattern within and among various fields is this provided by some embodiments of the present invention as a feature of the device fabrication process ([0818]). Therefore, the depth of the recesses that would result in a height of the grating structure is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the depth of the recesses, such as a depth of more than 1000 nm for the recesses because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
--Claims 15, 20, 21, 22, 23: Peroz teaches a method of making an imprint template ([0817], Fig. 118), comprisingslicing a silicon wafer having a desired crystal orientation from a block ([0813], Fig. 117A);
forming a first mask on the silicon wafer, wherein the first mask has a plurality of first holes and a plurality of second holes, wherein the plurality of first holes align with a desired silicon crystal lattice axis ([0819]; Fig. 118, Step 11801);forming a second mask on the first mask, wherein the second mask extends over the plurality of first holes and exposes the plurality of second holes ([0819]; Fig. 118, Step 11803);etching the substrate through the plurality of second holes to form a plurality of second recesses by using a dry etch ([0819]; Fig. 118, Step 11804); stripping the second mask, then forming a third mask on the second mask, wherein the third mask extends over the plurality of second recesses and exposes the plurality of first holes ([0820]; Fig. 118, Step 11806A-B); thenetching the substrate through the plurality of first holes to form a plurality of first recesses by using a wet etch ([0821]; Fig. 118, Step 11807); stripping the mask to form the imprint template comprising gratings corresponded to the recesses (Last step in Fig. 118). Although Peroz failed to teach that the silicon wafer is a single crystalline material, since the wafer is sliced from a silicon block such as it has the desired crystal orientation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to form the silicon wafer from a single crystalline material. Peroz further teaches that the template can be used as an imprint template for pattern transfer using imprint lithography in a device production process ([0817]). In an embodiment Peroz teaches that the imprint lithography may comprise applying a resist liquid to a substrate, contacting the resist liquid with an imprint mask, then applying UV radiation to polymerize the resist ([0824-0826], Fig. 120). Fig. 12015 in Fig. 120 appears to show the UV radiation is applied through the silicon imprint template; however, it is noted that UV radiation is not effective through a silicon substrate. Wuister teaches that there are two approaches to imprint lithography: a) Hot imprint lithography comprising heating a thermosetting polymer resin to a temperature such that, upon contact with the imprint template, the resin is sufficiently flowable to flow into the pattern features defined on the imprint template. The temperature of the resin is then increased to thermally cure (crosslink) the resin so that it solidifies and irreversibly adopts the desired pattern. The imprint template may then be removed and the patterned resin cooled ([0039], Fig. 1a)b) UV imprint lithography comprising applying a UV curable liquid to fill the pattern features the imprint template, then applying UV radiation to the UV curable liquid to cure the UV curable liquid ([0040], Fig. 1b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use the hot imprint lithography method as an equivalent substitution for the UV imprint lithography method, as taught by Wuister above, in the invention of Peroz. It is noted that the hot imprint lithography does not comprise UV radiation.--Claim 16: Peroz further teaches that the silicon wafer may be a <100> silicon substrate, and the etching stops at a <111> crystal lattice plane ([0821], Item 11702C in Fig. 117C).--Claim 17: Peroz further teaches that the imprint template may be used to imprint a grating structure for a waveguide ([0817-0818, 0827], Fig 120-121A) for visible wavelength region ([0652, 0659]).--Claims 18, 19: Peroz further teaches that the imprint template may be used to imprint a grate pattern about 280 nm tall ([0826-0827, 0832-0833], Fig. 120 and 121A). . Peroz further teaches that the method above enables the patterning of different components (i.e., fields) of a waveguide device with a predetermined (e.g., the most optimum) nano- or micro-structure for each individual field ([0817]), and that the waveguide can utilize different nano- and micro-patterns for various functions. The ability to vary pattern within and among various fields is this provided by some embodiments of the present invention as a feature of the device fabrication process ([0818]). Therefore, the depth of the recesses that would result in a height of the grating structure is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the depth of the recesses, such as a depth of less than 500nm for the first recesses and more than 1000 nm for the second recesses because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). --Claim 24: Peroz further teaches that the silicon wafer may have a <100> crystal orientation (Item 11701C in Fig. 117C).--Claim 25: Peroz further teaches that forming the first mask may comprise forming a polymer mask layer on a hardmask layer (Fig. 118, Step 11806A), wherein the polymer layer is formed by photolithography process ([0819]), then etching the hardmask layer, then performing an oxygen clean to form a mask (Step 11802 in Fig. 118) . Peroz further teaches that the grating may be formed by etching through a photoresist mask ([0498-0499]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a layer of photoresist as the polymer mask layer in the invention of Peroz.--Claim 26: Peroz further teaches that the second mask may comprise a polymer layer ([0819]; Fig. 118, Step 11803), and further teaches that the grating may be formed by etching through a photoresist mask ([0498-0499]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a second mask comprising a layer of photoresist in the invention of Peroz.--Claims 27, 28: Peroz teaches stripping the second mask and the third mask as above. Although Peroz is silent about removing the first mask, since Peroz teaches performing an oxygen clean at step 11802 in Fig. 118, and the polymer mask disappears in the next step it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to remove the polymer mask prior to forming the second mask.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30-42 are allowable. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 30, none of the cited prior arts teaches the feature “etching the substrate through the first etch mask layer to a depth to form a plurality of first openings corresponding to the plurality of first holes and a plurality of second openings corresponding to the plurality of second holes, wherein the depth is less than thickness of the first etch mask layer; forming a third etch mask layer on the substrate, the third etch mask layer exposing the plurality of first openings while extending over the plurality of second openings; etching the second etch mask layer through the third etch mask layer until the plurality of first openings extend to the layer of crystalline material” in the context of claim 30.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026 have been fully considered as follows:--Regarding Applicant’s argument that the previously cited prior arts do not teach the amended features in claim 1 and 15, this arguments is persuasive. New grounds of rejection based on newly found prior arts are shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713