DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 9/1/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of all claims 1-21 is sufficiently related that a thorough search for the subject matter of any one group of the claims would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining claims. This is not found persuasive because claims 14-15, 17, 19-22 would require further search and for the reason of the last Office Action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 9/4/25; 8/21/24 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 7/24/24 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HE CN112420849A (cited by applicant)
Referring to figures 1-2, HE teaches a thin film transistor, comprising:
a substrate (11); and
a semiconductor layer (14) disposed on the substrate, the semiconductor layer including a first surface proximate to the substrate and a second surface away from the substrate, and a material of the semiconductor layer being a metal oxide semiconductor material (see figures 1, 2a-2i); wherein the semiconductor layer has a channel region (between source/drain), and the semiconductor layer is provided with crystals of metal oxide semiconductor at least in the channel region and proximate to the first surface or the second surface (see figures 1-2)meeting claims 1, 12-13).
Regarding to claim 7, the material of the semiconductor layer is selected from any of indium zinc tin oxide and indium gallium zinc oxide; and the indium zinc tin oxide and the indium gallium zinc oxide are doped or not doped with rare earth elements (see paragraph# 59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE CN112420849A (cited by applicant) as applied to claims 1, 7, 12-13 above, and further in view of Wang et al. CN112420520.
Referring to figures 1-2, HE teaches a thin film transistor, comprising:
a substrate (11); and
a semiconductor layer (14) disposed on the substrate, the semiconductor layer including a first surface proximate to the substrate and a second surface away from the substrate, and a material of the semiconductor layer being a metal oxide semiconductor material (see figures 1, 2a-2i); wherein the semiconductor layer has a channel region (between source/drain), and the semiconductor layer is provided with crystals of metal oxide semiconductor at least in the channel region and proximate to the first surface or the second surface (see figures 1-2)meeting claims 1, 12-13).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the specific thickness of the crystals in the semiconductor layer and the dimension of a distribution range of the crystals (in claims 2-3).
The selection of the specific thickness of the crystals in the semiconductor layer and the dimension of a distribution range of the crystal is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. In re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955)(the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, Wang et al. suggest that the specific thickness of the crystals in the semiconductor layer and the dimension of a distribution range of the crystal (example 1, paragraphs# 19-24, see figures 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the specific thickness of the crystals in the semiconductor layer and the dimension of a distribution range of the crystal in HE as taught by Wang et al. because it is known in the art to form a desired crystalline active-channel region with improve mobility.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE CN112420849A (cited by applicant) as applied to claims 1, 7, 12-13 above, and further in view of FUKAYA et al. EP2546884.
Referring to figures 1-2, HE teaches a thin film transistor, comprising:
a substrate (11); and
a semiconductor layer (14) disposed on the substrate, the semiconductor layer including a first surface proximate to the substrate and a second surface away from the substrate, and a material of the semiconductor layer being a metal oxide semiconductor material (see figures 1, 2a-2i); wherein the semiconductor layer has a channel region (between source/drain), and the semiconductor layer is provided with crystals of metal oxide semiconductor at least in the channel region and proximate to the first surface or the second surface (see figures 1-2)meeting claims 1, 12-13).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the specific channel region in a direction of a length of a channel (in claims 4) and distribution density of the crystals (in claim 6).
The selection of the specific channel region in a direction of a length of a channel, and distribution density of the crystals is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. In re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955)(the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, FUKAYA et al. teaches a metal oxide layer (13), wherein the metal oxide layer covers at least a middle of the channel region in a direction of a length of a channel (see figures 2-15, meeting claims 4, 6) , a gate insulating layer(13), wherein the metal oxide layer(14) is disposed between the gate insulating layer (12) and the semiconductor layer (15, see figure 2, meeting claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the specific channel region in a direction of a length of a channel and distribution density of the crystals in HE as taught by FUKAYA et al. because it is known in the art to provide a controlled interface over the channel.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE CN112420849A (cited by applicant) as applied to claims 1, 7, 12-13 above, and further in view of Xu et al. CN112289863.
Referring to figures 1-2, HE teaches a thin film transistor, comprising:
a substrate (11); and
a semiconductor layer (14) disposed on the substrate, the semiconductor layer including a first surface proximate to the substrate and a second surface away from the substrate, and a material of the semiconductor layer being a metal oxide semiconductor material (see figures 1, 2a-2i); wherein the semiconductor layer has a channel region (between source/drain), and the semiconductor layer is provided with crystals of metal oxide semiconductor at least in the channel region and proximate to the first surface or the second surface (see figures 1-2, meeting claims 1, 12-13).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the indium zinc tin oxide and the indium gallium zinc oxide are doped with a rare earth element, the rare earth element is praseodymium (Pr) or terbium (Tb) (in claim 8).
Xu et al. teaches the indium zinc tin oxide and the indium gallium zinc oxide are doped with a rare earth element, the rare earth element is praseodymium (Pr) or terbium (Tb)(see figures 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form indium zinc tin oxide and the indium gallium zinc oxide are doped with a rare earth element, the rare earth element is praseodymium (Pr) or terbium (Tb) in HE as taught by Xu et al. because it is known in the art to form an improved device.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE CN112420849A (cited by applicant) in view of Xu et al. CN112289863 as applied to claims 1, 7-8, 12-13 above, and further in view of Wang et al. CN112420520.
Referring to figures 1-2, HE teaches a thin film transistor, comprising:
a substrate (11); and
a semiconductor layer (14) disposed on the substrate, the semiconductor layer including a first surface proximate to the substrate and a second surface away from the substrate, and a material of the semiconductor layer being a metal oxide semiconductor material (see figures 1, 2a-2i); wherein the semiconductor layer has a channel region (between source/drain), and the semiconductor layer is provided with crystals of metal oxide semiconductor at least in the channel region and proximate to the first surface or the second surface (see figures 1-2) meeting claims 1, 12-13).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the specific composition ratio (in claim 9), the dopant concentration of rare earth element (in claim 10) and the oxygen vacancy concentration of the semiconductor layer (in claim 11).
The selection of the specific composition ratio, the dopant concentration of rare earth element and the oxygen vacancy concentration of the semiconductor layer is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. In re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955)(the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, Wang et al. suggest that the specific composition ratio (example 1, paragraphs# 19-24, see figures 1-2, meeting claim 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the specific composition ratio, the dopant concentration of rare earth element and the oxygen vacancy concentration of the semiconductor layer in HE as taught by Wang et al. because it is known in the art to form a desired semiconductor oxide with improve mobility.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893