DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Status of Claims
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II, claims in the reply filed on 12 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims have been amended to require that the tubular or wire shape claimed product exhibits specific mechanical properties of tensile strength of 800 to 1200 MPa and a breaking elongation of 30 to 80% and these properties are not found in Richter. This is not found persuasive because while US 2018/0363115 A1 of Richter does not . With respect to new claims 15-21, as they are directed to “The cobalt-chromium alloy member”, they are part of Invention I.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7, and 12-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/20/25.
As such, claims 8-11 are examined in this office action of which claim 8 was amended in the reply dated 12/5/25.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is . A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a device for gas turbines selected from a combustor and an exhaust component for aviation and industrial gas turbine engines, that is a tail tube, a combustion tube, a spray bar, a frame holder, an afterburner, or a tail pipe”. As claim 10 already recites “The device”, it is not clear whether this limitation refers back to the same device in claim 8 from which it depends, whether it refers to another device, or some other meaning.
Further, it is not clear if this recitation in claim 10 is creating a list of devices including gas turbines, combustor, exhaust component for aviation and industrial gas turbine engines, tail tube, a combustion tube, a spray bar, a frame holder, an afterburner, or a tail pipe; whether this is requiring the device to be a gas turbine device selected from a combustor and exhaust component for aviation and industrial gas turbine engines and further listing specific items it can be, or some other meaning. If it is the latter of these formulations, this would be an impermissible broader and narrow limitation, see MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a device for industrial equipment” in line 2. As claim 11 already recites “The device” in the preamble, it is not clear whether this limitation refers back to the same device in claim 8 from which it depends, whether it refers to another device, or some other meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0363115 A1 of Richter in view of US 2012/0067464 A1 of Chiba.
As to claims 8-9, Richter discloses a Co-Ni based alloy with the composition as shown in Table A below.
Table A
Element
Claim 8 limitations (mass %)
Richter claim 1 (wt%)
Ni
23 to 32%
25 to 29% (claim 9)
About 20 to about 50%
Co
37 to 48%
About 10 to about 50%
Mo
8 to 12%
9 to 11% (claim 9)
About 2 to about 20%
Cr
Remainder and unavoidable impurities
About 10 to about 30%
Cr + Mo
20 to 40%
23 to 38% (claim 9)
About 12 to about 50%
Thus, the composition in Richter overlaps the claimed amounts for Ni, Co, Mo, and Cr as well as the amount of Cr + Mo. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches improved resistance to physical fatigue, a high corrosion resistance and the ability to be drawn into a thin wire (Richter, paragraph [0038]) throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) . See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Richter discloses where this is a medical device comprising a wire according to the composition of the embodiment (Richter, paragraph [0114]), meeting the limitation where this is a medical device and where the cobalt-chromium alloy member has a wire shape and the claim 9 limitation of a medical device including a wire. However, Richter does not disclose where the member has a crystal structure including a face-centered cubic lattice (fee) or a crystal structure including a face-centered cubic lattice (fcc) and a hexagonal lattice (hcp); and an average value of a crystal grain size of 2 to 15 μm and a change amount in local crystal orientation (KAM value) of 0.0 or more and 1.0 or less nor a of tensile strength of 800 to 1200 MPa, and a breaking elongation of 30 to 80%.
Nevertheless, Richter discloses where the alloy is prepared by vacuum induction or arc melting, electro-slag melting, homogenization, cogging, finish rolling, and a straightening step (Richter, paragraphs [0122]-[0131]). Richter discloses where the straightening step is a cold straightening step carried out from about 10 to about 100°C (Richter, paragraph [0140]), matching the disclosed method in claim 12 where the cobalt-chromium alloy as processed material being obtained by homogenizing followed by causing the cobalt-chromium alloy material to be subjected to cold plastic working into a predetermined shape. However, Richter does not disclose performing heat treatment on a cobalt-chromium alloy as-processed material for 1 minute or more and 60 minutes or less at a temperature exceeding a recrystallization temperature of a cobalt-chromium alloy material and not more than 1100°C.
Chiba relates to the same field of endeavor of Co-Ni based alloys (Chiba, paragraph [0013]). Chiba discloses where the member is formed using cold rolling at a reduction ratio of 15% or more and 90% or less, followed by heat treatment at 350°C or more (Chiba, paragraphs [0082] and [0083]). Chiba discloses where the ultimate tensile strength varies from 1,030 to 2,600 MPa and breaking elongation varies from 0.40 to 61.80% (Chiba, Tables 3 and 4) and Chiba also specifically discloses sample 14 which is cold rolled with a reduction ratio of 90% -- reading upon cold plastic working into a predetermined shape – and then performs a heat treatment at 1050°C for 1 hour to produce a finished member – reading upon a heat treatment between recrystallization temperature and 1100°C as well as the claim 9 limitation of between 900 and 1100°C (Chiba, Table 3 and paragraph [0133]). Chiba teaches that this produces a Co—Ni-based alloy excellent in mechanical characteristics such as hardness and tensile strength (Chiba, paragraph [0027]).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a heat treatment at 1050°C for 1 hour as taught by Chiba into the method disclosed by Richter, thereby producing a Co—Ni-based alloy excellent in mechanical characteristics such as hardness and tensile strength (Chiba, paragraph [0027]).
Thus, as Richter discloses a patentably indistinct composition and the combination of Richter and Chiba applies a substantially identical method thereto, it would be expected by a person of ordinary skill in the art that the same method applied to the same starting materials would produce the same properties of where the member has a crystal structure including a face-centered cubic lattice (fee) or a crystal structure including a face-centered cubic lattice (fcc) and a hexagonal lattice (hcp); and an average value of a crystal grain size of 2 to 15 μm and a change amount in local crystal orientation (KAM value) of 0.0 or more and 1.0 or less, tensile strength of 800 to 1200 MPa, and a breaking elongation of 30 to 80%. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (emphasis added), see MPEP § 2112.01(I).
As to claim 10, it is not clear what device is being referenced, see 112(b) rejection above. For the purposes of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as a device capable of use in gas turbines. In the instant case, as Richter discloses where a wire and tube are formed of the material with the composition in Table A above (Richter, claim 1), Richter meets the claim limitations as the tube disclosed in Richter is capable of being a tail tube, or tail pipe.
As to claim 11, it is not clear what device is being referenced, see 112(b) rejection above. For the purposes of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as a device capable of use in industrial equipment. Further, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus or product claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, see MPEP § 2114 (II). In the instant case, as Richter discloses where a wire and tube are formed of the material with the composition in Table A above (Richter, claim 1), Richter meets the claim limitations as the tube or wire is industrial equipment capable of use in waste incinerators, boilers, high-temperature reaction vessels, rotary calciners, or a production plant or synthesis gas plant of petrochemical products and this intended use does not change the structure of the claimed device.
Double Patenting
Claims 8-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2,4-7,9 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/011745 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘745 application discloses a medical wire device which includes a cobalt-chromium alloy member, which has a composition of, in terms of mass%, 23 to 32% of Ni, 37 to 48% of Co, and 8 to 12% of Mo, a remainder thereof containing Cr and an unavoidable impurity, the composition satisfying a relationship of 20 <[Cr%] + [Mo%] <40 exhibiting a tensile strength of 800 to 1200 MPa and a breaking elongation of 30 to 80% as well as a crystal structure consisting of a face-centered cubic lattice (fcc) or a crystal structure consisting of a face-centered cubic lattice (fcc) and a hexagonal lattice (hcp), an average crystal grain size of 5 to30µm. While the ’745 application does not explicitly disclose a change amount in local crystal orientation (KAM value) of 0.0 or more and 1.0 or less, as it discloses the same composition and same method of making the member, it would exhibit the same properties. Further, the instant dependent claims are substantially identical to the claims in the ‘745 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733