DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/24, 05/08/24, 03/07/25, has been entered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed on 02/26/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 4500157. Hereafter “JP4500157”. (Please see the attached files for reference of JP4500157).
Regarding Claim 1, JP4500157 teaches an optical system for a shape measuring device page 1, TECHNICAL-FIELD; Figure 1) comprising:
a parallel light irradiation system that irradiates, with parallel light (the following figure 1, beams AA), a portion to be measured that is an outer peripheral end edge portion of an object to be measured having a disk shape along a circular surface of the object to be measured such that the portion to be measured of the object to be measured is disposed in a light flux (the following figure 1, edge portion of an object 1 to be measured is disposed in a light flux beams AA; Page 3, lines 3-13); and
an imaging optical system that images the portion to be measured (figure 1, sensor 32),
wherein the parallel light irradiation system includes a point light source, a collimator lens that emits light from the point light source as parallel light, and a telecentric lens having a both side or object side telecentric structure to be irradiated with light from the collimator lens through the object to be measured (figure 1, collimator lens 20, a point light source 10, telecentric lens 31, object wafer 1),
the imaging optical system includes an image sensor onto which an image of the portion to be measured, the image by light passing through the telecentric lens is projected (figure 1, an image sensor 32, telecentric lens 31; Page 4, lines 1-25), and
the point light source includes an LED (figure 1, elements 10, 11; Figures 7, 8, element 4a), a diffusion member that diffuses and emits light from the LED (page 2, lines 2-4; Figures 7-8, rod lens 4b is not different from a diffuser); and a pinhole member having a pinhole into which light from the diffusion member is incident (the following figure 1, aperture B).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (AA)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4500157 in view of Yamazaki Nobuyuki (JP 2017144466). Hereafter “JP4500157” and “Yamazaki”. (Please see the attached files for references of JP4500157 and Yamazaki).
Regarding Claims 2-3, JP4500157 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for the diffusion member is an optical fiber, the optical fiber has a bent shape. Yamazaki teaches the diffusion member is an optical fiber, the optical fiber has a bent shape (figure 4, optical fiber 31; Figure 6, optical fiber 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify JP 4500157 by having an optical fiber in order to guide diffused light efficiently (Yamazaki, page 3, lines 19-23; Page 4, lines 3-9).
8. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4500157 in view of Kaye (U.S. 4,027,973). Hereafter “JP4500157” and “Kaye”.
Regarding Claim 4, JP4500157 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for the diffusion member is an integrating sphere. Kaye teaches the diffusion member is an integrating sphere (column 3, lines 50-51). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify JP 4500157 by having the diffusion member is an integrating sphere in order to spread the incident scattered and transmitted energy over the surface of object (Kaye, column 3, lines 50-54).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
10. Claim 1 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of Akamatsu (U.S. Patent No. 7,456,978), in view of JP 4500157. Hereafter, “Akamatsu ‘978”, “JP4500157”. (Please see the attached files for reference of JP4500157).
As to claim 1, Akamatsu ‘978 claims an optical system for a shape measuring device comprising:
a parallel light irradiation system that irradiates, with parallel light (claim 1, line 3), a portion to be measured that is an outer peripheral end edge portion of an object to be measured having a disk shape along a circular surface of the object to be measured such that the portion to be measured of the object to be measured is disposed in a light flux (claim 1, lines 6-9); and
an imaging optical system that images the portion to be measured,
wherein the parallel light irradiation system includes a point light source, a collimator lens that emits light from the point light source as parallel light (claim 1, lines 3-4), and a telecentric lens having a both side or object side telecentric structure to be irradiated with light from the collimator lens through the object to be measured (claim 1, lines 12-16,
the imaging optical system includes an image sensor onto which an image of the portion to be measured, the image by light passing through the telecentric lens is projected (claim 1, lines 17-20).
However, Akamatsu ‘978 does not claim the point light source includes an LED, a diffusion member that diffuses and emits light from the LED; and a pinhole member having a pinhole into which light from the diffusion member is incident. JP4500157 teaches the point light source includes an LED (figure 1, elements 10, 11; Figures 7, 8, element 4a), a diffusion member that diffuses and emits light from the LED (page 2, lines 2-4; Figures 7-8, rod lens 4b is not different from a diffuser); and a pinhole member having a pinhole into which light from the diffusion member is incident (the following figure 1, aperture B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to include in Akamatsu ‘978 a diffusion member and a pinhole member having a pinhole into which light from the diffusion member is incident taught by JP4500157 for the purpose of diffusing and transmitting optical signals. Thus, the uniformity of light is attained.
11. Claims 2-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of Akamatsu (U.S. Patent No. 7,456,978) in view of in view of JP 4500157, and further in view of Yamazaki Nobuyuki (JP 2017144466). Hereafter, “Akamatsu ‘978”, “JP4500157”, “Yamazaki”. (Please see the attached files for reference of JP4500157).
Regarding Claims 2-3, Akamatsu ‘978 and JP4500157 teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for the diffusion member is an optical fiber, the optical fiber has a bent shape. Yamazaki teaches the diffusion member is an optical fiber, the optical fiber has a bent shape (figure 4, optical fiber 31; Figure 6, optical fiber 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify JP 4500157 by having an optical fiber in order to guide diffused light efficiently (Yamazaki, page 3, lines 19-23; Page 4, lines 3-9).
12. Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of Akamatsu (U.S. Patent No. 7,456,978) in view of in view of JP 4500157, and further in view of Kaye (U.S. 4,027,973). Hereafter, “Akamatsu ‘978”, “JP4500157”, “Kaye”. (Please see the attached files for reference of JP4500157).
Regarding Claim 4, Akamatsu ‘978 and JP4500157 teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for the diffusion member is an integrating sphere. Kaye teaches the diffusion member is an integrating sphere (column 3, lines 50-51). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify JP 4500157 by having the diffusion member is an integrating sphere in order to spread the incident scattered and transmitted energy over the surface of object (Kaye, column 3, lines 50-54).
Fax/Telephone Information
October 29, 2025
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877