Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (2015/0116178) in view of Woo (2023/0077474).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. (2015/0116178) discloses a heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet (heat dissipation sheet serves to dissipate heat, paragraph [0055], figs. 2-4), comprising:
a heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding unit (protective sheet 130, paragraph [0070]), having:
a heat-dissipating adhesive member (variety by means such as adhesive a double side tape, laminating or thermal pressing, paragraph [0053]) disposed between adjacent magnetic layers (the first absorbing sheet 110 and the second absorbing sheet 120, paragraph [0049]) to improve heat transfer (heat dissipation sheet serves to dissipate heat, paragraph [0055]) in the thickness direction (across the absorbers and other sheets, figs. 2-4) of a magnetic field shielding unit (iron sheet 140 removes eddy current loss caused by the formation of a magnetic field, paragraph [0055]).
As discussed above, Kim essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of magnetic layers having at least one eddy current reduction pattern part formed thereon.
However, Woo (2023/0077474) discloses a plurality of magnetically soft along with electrically conductive layer(s) (paragraph [0083]) having at least one eddy current reduction pattern part formed thereon (to reduce eddy current induced by magnetic fields to enhance transfer efficiency and/or Q factor of wireless charging system, paragraph [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a plurality of magnetic conductive layers to reduce eddy current induced by magnetic fields (paragraph [0083]) in Kim in order to enhance the transfer efficiency and/or Q factor of wireless charging system as taught by Woo.
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses that magnetic layer is a magnetic alloy ribbon sheet comprising transition metals (alloy, paragraphs [0040], [0042]) but does not explicitly disclose that it is soft.
However, Woo teaches soft magnetic layer (paragraphs [0126], [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided soft magnetic alloy ribbon sheet as the magnetic layer in Kim in order to attain flexibility as taught by Woo.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet of claim 1, wherein the heat-dissipating adhesive member is made of a heat-dissipating adhesive layer in which a heat dissipation filler in a binder matrix is dispersed, or is a heat dissipating double-sided tape having the heat-dissipating adhesive layer on both surfaces of a base material (variety by means such as adhesive a double side tape, laminating or thermal pressing, paragraph [0053]).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses the heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet of claim 10, wherein the heat dissipation filler comprises one or more of carbon-based components, metal components (metal-based ferromagnetic material, paragraph [0040]), and ceramic components.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 14, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (2015/0116178) in view of Woo (2023/0077474) further in view of Jang (2022/0368169).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim in view of Woo essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet of claim 1, wherein the heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet is a magnetic field shielding sheet arranged on one surface of an antenna (paragraph [0083]), the antenna comprising: a hollow portion having a predetermined area in the center and a pattern part surrounding the hollow portion, wherein the eddy current reduction pattern part is provided at a position corresponding to a region in which the pattern part is disposed.
However, Jang discloses the heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet is a magnetic field shielding sheet (magnetic field shielding sheet, abstract) arranged on one surface of an antenna, the antenna comprising: a hollow portion having a predetermined area in the center and a pattern part surrounding the hollow portion, wherein the eddy current reduction pattern part is provided at a position corresponding to a region in which the pattern part is disposed (for an antenna, which includes a hollow portion having a predetermined area in a central portion and a pattern portion configured to surround the hollow portion, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a structure with hollow portion of Jang in view of Kim in order to enclosure other circuits (RFIC, antennas) as taught by Jang.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim in view of Woo essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet of claim 1, wherein the eddy current reduction pattern part is a crack part in which a magnetic material constituting a magnetic layer in a predetermined region is divided into a plurality of pieces, or is a penetration part penetrating the predetermined region
However, Jang discloses the heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet of claim 1, wherein the eddy current reduction pattern part is a crack part in which a magnetic material constituting a magnetic layer in a predetermined region is divided into a plurality of pieces, or is a penetration part penetrating the predetermined region (cracks are partially formed only in a partial area…, paragraph [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the eddy current reduction pattern part is a crack part in which a magnetic material constituting a magnetic layer in a predetermined region is divided into a plurality of pieces in Kim in view of Woo in order to enhance the heat dissipation as taught by Jang.
Regarding Claim 14, as discussed above, Kim in view of Woo essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the antenna unit having an antenna including a hollow portion having a predetermined area and a pattern part surrounding the hollow portion in the central portion and a heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet.
However, Jang (2022/0368169) discloses an antenna module, comprising:
an antenna unit having an antenna including a hollow portion having a predetermined area and a pattern part surrounding the hollow portion in the central portion (for an antenna, which includes a hollow portion having a predetermined area in a central portion and a pattern portion configured to surround the hollow portion, abstract); and
a heat-dissipating magnetic field shielding sheet (magnetic field shielding sheet, abstract) according to Claim 1 disposed on one surface of the antenna unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a structure with hollow portion of Jang in Kim in view of Woo in order to enclosure other circuits as taught by Jang.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim et al. discloses the antenna module of claim 14, wherein the antenna comprises one or more of an antenna for wireless power transmission (WPT), an antenna for magnetic secure transmission (MST), and an antenna for near field communication (NFC) (Near field communication, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim et al. discloses an electronic device comprising an antenna module (wireless antenna) according to claim 14 (Abstract).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 5-9, 12, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844