Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,547,072 (hereby referred to as US ‘072). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claim 1 of the instant application functionally claims the same invention as independent claim 1 of US ‘072. The table below summarizes claim 1 of the instant application and US ‘072.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,547,072
Comparison
A method of microfabrication comprising:
A method of microfabrication comprising:
Identity
Providing a substrate having an existing pattern, wherein the existing pattern comprises features formed within a base layer such that a top surface of the substrate has the features uncovered and the base layer is uncovered
Providing a substrate having an existing pattern, wherein the existing pattern comprises features formed within a first layer such that a top surface of the substrate has the features uncovered and the first layer is uncovered
Identity
Depositing a selective attachment agent on the substrate, wherein the selective attachment agent comprises a solubility-shifting agent
Depositing a selective attachment agent on the substrate, wherein the selective attachment agent comprises a solubility-shifting agent
Identity
Depositing a first resist on the substrate
Depositing a first resist on the substrate
Identity
Activating the solubility-shifting agent such that a portion of the first resist becomes insoluble to a first developer
Activating the solubility-shifting agent such that a portion of the first resist becomes insoluble to a first developer
Identity
Developing the first resist using the first developer such that the portion of the first resist insoluble to the first developer remains
Developing the first resist using the first developer such that a relief pattern comprising openings is formed, wherein the openings expose the features of the existing layer
Partial Difference
Executing a selective growth process that grows a selective-deposition material on the features and within the openings of the relief pattern to provide self-aligned selective deposition features.
Difference
Instant claim 1 is practically identical to claim 1 of US ‘072. The last step of claim 1 differs in language to the analogous step of claim 1 of US ‘072, but these steps are essentially the same. Developing the resist such that the insoluble portion of the resist remains produces a relief pattern (refer to paragraphs 0080-0081 of the instant application’s specification and Fig. 3E). The pattern shown in Fig. 3E of the instant application matches that shown in Fig. 2D of US ‘072, and similarly has openings that expose the features of the existing layer. Claim 1 of US ‘072 also includes an additional step. However, the method recited by claim 1 of US ‘072 states each of the steps of instant claim 1, and thus would anticipate claim 1 of the instant application if US ‘072 qualified as prior art. Therefore, instant claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US ‘072. Claims 2-14 of the instant application are similarly rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting due to depending from independent claim 1 of the instant application. Furthermore, some of the dependent claims of the instant application recite identical features as claims of US ‘072. For instance, instant claim 2 is identical to claim 2 of US ‘072, claim 3 of the instant application is identical to claim 4 of US ‘072, and instant claims 8-14 are identical to claims 5-11 of US ‘072 (respectively).
Claims 26-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,547,072 (hereby referred to as US ‘072). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claim 26 of the instant application functionally claims the same invention as independent claim 14 of US ‘072. Both instant claim 26 and claim 14 of US ‘072 are directed towards a method of microfabrication wherein a substrate having a base/first layer with uncovered features formed within the base/first layer is provided, a first solubility-shifting agent is applied that adheres to the features more than the base layer, a second solubility-shifting agent is deposited that adheres to the base layer more than the features, a first resist is deposited on the substrate, the solubility-shifting agents are activated to change the solubility of the resist in the developer, and the resist layer is developed using a developer to remove soluble portions of the resist layer, leaving behind a pattern. Claim 14 of US ‘072 recites an additional step not recited by claim 26 of the instant application, but nonetheless anticipates the method of claim 26 of the instant application. Claim 27 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting due to being dependent from claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180366406 A1 (hereby referred to as Olson).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Olson discloses semiconductor device structures. A method disclosed by Olson includes providing a substrate having exposed pattern features and an exposed base layer (Olson, paragraph 0020 and Fig. 1-2). Pools of acidic or basic material are formed on the pattern features (Olson, paragraph 0022 and Fig. 2). The pools are provided by spin-coating the material on the substrate (Olson, paragraph 0022). A resist layer is then formed over the substrate structure and the pools of material (Olson, paragraph 0023 and Fig. 3). The resist may be formed before the pool material is activated (i.e. “made acidic or basic”), and the pools may be heated (e.g. baked) after forming the resist to generate the acid or base (Olson, paragraph 0023). The resist is then patterned to form openings, and the acid or base material may diffuse into portions of the resist, thus altering the solubility of the resist in the developer during development (Olson, paragraph 0025). Thus, the pools of acidic or basic material are functionally solubility-shifting agent pools. Development is performed to remove portions of the resist to form openings in the resist (Olson, paragraph 0026). Development may be positive tone or negative tone, depending on the materials used (Olson, paragraph 0026). Therefore, Olson discloses the method according to instant claim 1.
Regarding Claims 2, 5 and 16, Olson discloses that the pools of the acidic or basic material is formed primarily on the preexisting features on the substrate rather than the base layer itself (Olson, paragraph 0022 and Fig. 2). However, Olson also teaches that the type of pool material changes solubility of the resist differently (Olson, paragraph 0022), and thus the type of pool material would determine whether or not the pool material adheres more to the base layer than the feature surfaces, or vice versa.
Regarding Claims 4, 7, and 17, Olson discloses that the portion of the first resist that becomes insoluble to the first developer is above the features and the base layer of the substrate (Olson, paragraph 0024 and Fig. 3-5A).
Regarding Claim 6, Olson discloses that the pool material is formed using a solution of the pool material (Olson, paragraph 0024), and that the solvent used to produce the solution may be an alcohol (Olson, paragraph 0024). Thus, the selective attachment agent comprises an alcohol.
Regarding Claim 8, Olson discloses that the acid material may comprise a thermal acid generator (TAG) or photo acid generator (PAG) (Olson, paragraph 0018).
Regarding Claim 14, Olson discloses that after depositing the pools of acidic or basic material and before depositing the resist, pre-treating may be performed. The pre-treating may be a bake or a planarization process (Olson, paragraph 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180366406 A1 (hereby referred to as Olson).
Regarding Claims 26-27, Olson discloses semiconductor device structures. A method disclosed by Olson includes providing a substrate having exposed pattern features and an exposed base layer (Olson, paragraph 0020 and Fig. 1-2). Pools of acidic or basic material are formed on the pattern features (Olson, paragraph 0022 and Fig. 2). The pools are provided by spin-coating the material on the substrate (Olson, paragraph 0022). A resist layer is then formed over the substrate structure and the pools of material (Olson, paragraph 0023 and Fig. 3). The resist may be formed before the pool material is activated (i.e. “made acidic or basic”), and the pools may be heated (e.g. baked) after forming the resist to generate the acid or base (Olson, paragraph 0023). The resist is then patterned to form openings, and the acid or base material may diffuse into portions of the resist, thus altering the solubility of the resist in the developer during development (Olson, paragraph 0025). Thus, the pools of acidic or basic material are functionally solubility-shifting agent pools. Development is performed to remove portions of the resist to form openings in the resist (Olson, paragraph 0026). Development may be positive tone or negative tone, depending on the materials used (Olson, paragraph 0026).
However, Olson does not provide an explicit example wherein two different solubility-shifting agents are used. The broader disclosure of Olson teaches that the pools of acidic or basic material may be formed of an acid generator or a thermal base generator (Olson, paragraph 0018). Olson further teaches that selecting different combinations of pool material, resist, and developer allows the shape of the openings to be controlled (Olson, paragraph 0027). Furthermore, Olson teaches that the type of pool material affects solubility differently (Olson, paragraph 0022 and 0028-0030). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to use both an acidic and a basic solubility-shifting agent in the method disclosed by Olson because the solubility of the resist can be more carefully controlled and thus a particular pattern shape can be formed in the resist (refer to Olson, paragraph 0022 and 0028-0030).
Claim(s) 3, 11-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180366406 A1 (hereby referred to as Olson) in view of US 20160011508 A1 (hereby referred to as Nagahara).
Regarding Claims 3, 11-13, and 18, Olson discloses the method according to instant claims 1 and 15, as explained above. The pool acidic material may be an acidic material (Olson, paragraph 0018). However, Olson is silent in regards to specific acidic species.
Nagahara teaches a composition for forming a fine resist pattern and a method using the same. The composition comprises a polymer, a solvent, and an acid (Nagahara, paragraph 0017-0021). The polymer is considered analogous to the resist layer disclosed by Olson, and the acid is considered analogous to the pool acidic material. The acid contained in the composition is selected from a group of organic acids (Nagahara, paragraph 0045). A preferred acid is p-toluenesulfonic acid, due to this acid having a high boiling point (Nagahara, paragraph 0045). The p-toluenesulfonic acid is a sulfonic acid free of fluorine.
Olson and Nagahara are analogous art because both references pertain to patterning methods for resist compositions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to use p-toluenesulfonic acid, as taught by Nagahara, as the pool acidic material disclosed by Olson because p-toluenesulfonic acid has a high boiling point and does not volatilize much when heated (Nagahara, paragraph 0045). Following deposition of the pool material, a bake is performed (Olson, paragraph 0022). Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate an acidic pool material that does not volatilize during the bake step is useful as an acidic pool material for Olson’s method.
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180366406 A1 (hereby referred to as Olson) in view of US 20190137871 A1 (hereby referred to as Lee).
Regarding Claims 9-10, Olson discloses the method according to instant claim 1, as explained above. The pool acidic material may be an acid generator (Olson, paragraph 0018). However, Olson is silent in regards to specific acid generating species.
Lee teaches a resist composition comprising a polymeric resin and a photoacid generator (Lee, paragraph 0033). The polymeric resin is analogous to the resist material disclosed by Olson, and the photoacid generator is analogous to the pool acidic material. The photoacid generator in Lee’s composition may be triphenylsulfonium antimonate (Lee, paragraph 0040), which is an acid generator free of fluorine. The use of such an acid generating species prevents pattern defects that deteriorate pattern accuracy (Lee, paragraph 0041).
Olson and Lee are analogous art because both references pertain to pattern formation techniques involving resist compositions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to use triphenylsulfonium antimonate, as taught by Lee, as the acid generator in the method disclosed by Olson because such an acid generator prevents patterning defects caused by excessive acid generation (Lee, paragraph 0041).
Conclusion
/JAYSON D COSGROVE/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734