DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2024, 06/07/2024, 02/19/2025, and 09/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 13, 17-18, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by deVilliers (US 20160377982 A1, see IDS dated 02/26/2024), hereinafter “deVilliers ‘982.”
Re: Independent Claim 1, deVilliers ‘982 discloses a method of patterning a substrate (See Figs. 1, 2, and 11) comprising:
providing a first relief pattern on a substrate (Fig. 1A; ¶0014: a substrate 100 is received having a first relief pattern 111 positioned on a target layer 107 of the substrate 100), wherein the first relief pattern comprises a first resist (¶0015: first relief pattern 111 can be comprised of a first photoresist material that includes a generator compound that generates a solubility-changing agent);
coating the first relief pattern with a solubility-shifting agent (¶0015: first relief pattern 111 can be comprised of a first photoresist material that includes a generator compound that generates a solubility-changing agent);
depositing a second resist on the first relief pattern such that the second resist is in contact with the first relief pattern (¶0018: an overcoat material 120 is deposited on the substrate 100. The overcoat material at least fills spaces defined by the one or more structures of the first relief pattern 111… The overcoat material 120 is free of the generator compound that generates the solubility-changing agent in response to exposure to actinic radiation);
diffusing the solubility-shifting agent a predetermined distance into the second resist to provide a solubility-shifted region of the second resist, wherein the solubility-shifted region of the second resist borders the first relief pattern (¶0019: The overcoat material 120 includes a deprotection group that reacts to the presence of a solubility-changing agent by changing the solubility of the overcoat material; ¶0022: The solubility-changing agent (having been generated within first relief pattern 111) is now caused to diffuse from the selected portions of the first relief pattern 111 into the overcoat material 120 at interfaces between the selected portions of first relief pattern 111 and the overcoat material 120; ¶0023: Activating diffusion can also include causing the solubility-changing agent to diffuse into the overcoat material by controlling an average diffusion length into the overcoat material.; In other words, the solubility-shifted region of the 2nd resist borders the 1st relief pattern. See ¶¶0021-0023);
developing the second resist such that the solubility-shifted region is dissolved providing gaps between the first relief pattern and the second resist where a portion of the substrate is exposed (¶0024: The now soluble (or insoluble) portions of overcoat material 120 (regions 125) can be removed by a developing step); and
etching the substrate using the first relief pattern and the second resist as a combined etch mask (See FIGS. 8A-8B; ¶0024: The select regions can then be removed (or kept) thereby creating antispacer segments or spacer segments within a layer of photoresist. These antispacer segments are self-aligned (diffusion occurring at material interfaces) to an existing/created pattern… FIGS. 8A-8B show a result of having removed overcoat material 120 from regions 125. These regions can be contact openings, slot contacts, etc. The result is a combined relief pattern; ¶0025: this first combined pattern, defined by both the first relief pattern and the overcoat material, can be transferred into the target layer 107. FIGS. 9A-9B show a representative result of such a pattern transfer).
Re: Claim 3, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1, and
wherein the first relief pattern comprises features separated by gaps between the features, wherein the features comprise the first resist (Fig. 1A shows features separated by gaps; ¶0014: first relief pattern 111 includes one or more structures positioned on the target layer such that portions of the target layer 107 are covered and remaining portions of the target layer 107 are uncovered; ¶0015: first relief pattern 111 can be comprised of a first photoresist).
Re: Claim 4, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1, and
wherein the second resist fills the gaps of the first relief pattern (Fig. 3A; ¶0018: FIGS. 3A-3B, an overcoat material 120 is deposited on the substrate 100. The overcoat material at least fills spaces defined by the one or more structures of the first relief pattern 111).
Re: Claim 7, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1, and
wherein the solubility-shifting agent is an acid or an acid generator (¶0015: The first relief pattern 111 can be comprised of a first photoresist material that includes a generator compound that generates a solubility-changing agent in response to exposure to actinic radiation).
Re: Claim 13, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1, and
wherein the solubility-shifting agent comprises a matrix polymer (0018: The overcoat material, nevertheless, includes a deprotection group. This deprotection group can cause the overcoat material 120 to become soluble in the presence of photo acid… the overcoat material can be a conventional photoresist without a PAG. Alternatively, the overcoat material can be a polymer material that includes a deprotection group or agent to become soluble in the presence of a photo acid or photo base.).
Re: Claim 17, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1, and
wherein the first resist is a positive tone developed resist and the second resist comprises a polymer that is soluble in a polar solvent (¶0003: The portion of material removed can be either irradiated regions or non-irradiated regions of the radiation-sensitive material depending on a photoresist tone and/or type of developing solvent used, .e.g., such as a polar solvent; ¶0034: In some embodiments, positive tone resist can be used for the first and second resist layers using positive tone developer compatible resist, while in a second photoresist layer, a negative tone developer compatible photoresist can be used.).
Re: Claim 18, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1, and
wherein the first resist is a negative tone developed resist and the second resist comprises a polymer that is soluble in a nonpolar organic solvent (¶0003: The portion of material removed can be either irradiated regions or non-irradiated regions of the radiation-sensitive material depending on a photoresist tone and/or type of developing solvent used, .e.g., such as a nonpolar organic solvent; ¶0034: In some embodiments, positive tone resist can be used for the first and second resist layers using positive tone developer compatible resist, while in a second photoresist layer, a negative tone developer compatible photoresist can be used.).
Re: Claim 27, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1, and
wherein providing the first relief pattern on the substrate comprises:
forming a first pattern of lines on the substrate (0013: patterning methods for creating features with sub-resolution dimensions that are self-aligned in photoresist materials … These selectably-created antispacers can be line segments having widths defined by acid diffusion lengths… the creation of antispacers, their location, and length, can be controlled using a photomask; ¶0014: a substrate 100 is received having a first relief pattern 111 positioned on a target layer 107 of the substrate 100);
depositing a layer of the first resist over the first pattern of lines (¶0015: The first relief pattern 111 was at least partially created using a first photomask);
exposing the first resist to a pattern of actinic radiation and developing the first resist such that the first relief pattern is formed over the first pattern of lines (¶0015: The first relief pattern 111 can be comprised of a first photoresist material that includes a generator compound that generates a solubility-changing agent in response to exposure to actinic radiation… first relief pattern 111 can include a mask layer of photoresist material that has been created by photolithographic (photomask-based) exposure (such as by using a scanner/stepper tool) followed by development).
Claims 28-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by deVilliers et al. (US 20210088904 A1, see IDS dated 02/26/2024), hereinafter “deVilliers ‘904.”
Re: Independent Claim 28, deVilliers ‘904 discloses a method of patterning a substrate (See Figs. 1, 2, and 11) comprising:
providing a first relief pattern on a substrate (F Fig. 2, S201; ¶0034: S201, a patterned first layer is formed on an underlying layer of the substrate.), wherein the first relief pattern comprises a first resist (¶0034: The patterned first layer can also have a first structure, such as a mandrel or a line. For example, the mandrel can be made of a first photoresist material);
coating the first relief pattern with a solubility-shifting agent (¶0034: step S202, a grafting material that includes a solubility-shifting material is deposited on the substrate, where the grafting material selectively adheres to uncovered surfaces of the first structure);
depositing a second resist on the first relief pattern such that the second resist is in contact with the first relief pattern (¶0036: S203, a filler material is deposited on the substrate, where the filler material abuts the grafting material… an overcoat of the filler material can be deposited over the patterned first layer. The filler material can be a second photoresist material or another filler material that is responsive to solubility-shifting materials);
diffusing the solubility-shifting agent a predetermined distance into the first resist to provide a solubility-shifted region of the first resist, wherein the solubility-shifted region of the first resist borders the second resist (¶0037: step S204, the solubility-shifting material is diffused by a predetermined distance into an abutting portion of the filler material so that the solubility-shifting material changes solubility of the abutting portion of the filler material in a specific developer);
developing the first resist such that the solubility-shifted region is dissolved providing gaps between the first relief pattern and the second resist where a portion of the substrate is exposed (¶0037: step S205, soluble portions of the filler material are removed using the developer so that the remaining portions of the filler material form a second structure. In some embodiments, the solubility-shifting material renders the abutting portion of the filler material soluble to the developer. As a result, the first structure is spaced apart from the second structure by at least the predetermined distance.); and
etching the substrate using the first relief pattern and the second resist as a combined etch mask (¶0037: step S205, soluble portions of the filler material are removed using the developer so that the remaining portions of the filler material form a second structure; ¶0055: Optionally, a spacer-open etch can be executed. This is a directional etch that removes the grafting material 721 from horizontal surfaces).
Re: Claim 29, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
wherein the first relief pattern comprises features separated by gaps between the features, wherein the features comprise the first resist (¶0034: S201, a patterned first layer is formed on an underlying layer of the substrate, i.e., mandrels/lines with gaps implied in patterning).
Re: Claim 30, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
wherein the second resist fills the gaps of the first relief pattern (¶0032: steps S103 and S104, the solubility-shifting material is diffused by a predetermined distance into a neighboring structure that abuts the solubility-shifting material… In some embodiments, the solubility-shifting material renders the neighboring structure soluble to the specific developer so that the first structure is spaced apart from the second structure by at least the predetermined distance, i.e., abutting/filling with filler).
Re: Claim 31, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
wherein the solubility-shifting agent is an acid or an acid generator (¶0035: The other side of the grafting material can include a functional group such as a thermal acid generator (TAG), a photo acid generator (PAG), a base, or another solubility-shifting material.).
Re: Claim 32, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
wherein the solubility-shifting agent comprises a matrix polymer (¶0035: The grafting material (also called a brush) is a polymer or short chain polymer).
Re: Claim 33, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
further comprising, directly after coating the first relief pattern with the solubility-shifting agent, diffusing the solubility-shifting agent into the first relief pattern (Fig. 2, step S202; ¶0029: Techniques herein include forming a patterned first layer with a first structure, depositing a grafting material that includes a solubility-shifting material on side surfaces of the first structure, diffusing the solubility-shifting material into a neighboring structure, and removing soluble portions of the neighboring structure.).
Re: Claim 34, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
wherein the first resist is a positive tone developed resist and the second resist comprises a polymer that is soluble in a polar solvent (¶0003: developing can include removal of irradiated regions of the radiation-sensitive material (as in the case of positive photoresist), or non-irradiated regions (as in the case of negative resist) using a developing solvent. The relief pattern can then function as a mask layer; ¶0032: At steps S103 and S104, the solubility-shifting material is diffused by a predetermined distance into a neighboring structure, i.e., second resist, that abuts the solubility-shifting material, and soluble portions of the neighboring structure are then removed using the developer to form a second structure. The solubility-shifting material is designed to change solubility of the neighboring structure in a specific developer. In some embodiments, the solubility-shifting material renders the neighboring structure soluble to the specific developer, i.e., such as a polar solvent).
Re: Claim 35, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
wherein the first resist is a negative tone developed resist and the second resist comprises a polymer that is soluble in a nonpolar organic solvent (¶0003: developing can include removal of irradiated regions of the radiation-sensitive material (as in the case of positive photoresist), or non-irradiated regions (as in the case of negative resist) using a developing solvent. The relief pattern can then function as a mask layer; ¶0032: At steps S103 and S104, the solubility-shifting material is diffused by a predetermined distance into a neighboring structure, i.e., second resist, that abuts the solubility-shifting material, and soluble portions of the neighboring structure are then removed using the developer to form a second structure. The solubility-shifting material is designed to change solubility of the neighboring structure in a specific developer. In some embodiments, the solubility-shifting material renders the neighboring structure soluble to the specific developer, i.e., such as a nonpolar organic solvent).
Re: Claim 36, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
wherein the solubility-shifting agent comprises a solvent (),
wherein the first resist is insoluble in the solvent (¶0032: At steps S103 and S104, the solubility-shifting material is diffused by a predetermined distance into a neighboring structure, that abuts the solubility-shifting material, and soluble portions of the neighboring structure, i.e., the first resist is insoluble, are then removed using the developer to form a second structure. The solubility-shifting material is designed to change solubility of the neighboring structure in a specific developer, i.e., not the first resist. In some embodiments, the solubility-shifting material renders the neighboring structure soluble to the specific developer).
Re: Claim 37, deVilliers ‘904 discloses the method of claim 28, and
wherein providing the first relief pattern on the substrate comprises:
forming a first pattern of lines on the substrate (¶0034: The patterned first layer can also have a first structure, such as a mandrel or a line.);
depositing a layer of the first resist over the first pattern of lines (¶0034: For example, the mandrel can be made of a first photoresist material; ¶0039: As shown in FIG. 3A, a patterned first layer 310 is formed on an underlying layer 320 of the substrate 300. The patterned first layer 310 includes a first structure, such as mandrels 311. For example, FIGS. 3A and 3A′ can show an incoming topographic pattern after exposure and development of a first photoresist layer.);
exposing the first resist to a pattern of actinic radiation and developing the first resist such that the first relief pattern is formed over the first pattern of lines (¶0039: The patterned first layer 310 includes a first structure, such as mandrels 311. For example, FIGS. 3A and 3A′ can show an incoming topographic pattern after exposure and development of a first photoresist layer; ¶0044: Compared with a TAG, a PAG is more thermally stable and can offer spatial control via controlled exposure of actinic radiation.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over deVilliers (US 20160377982 A1, deVilliers ‘982) in view of deVilliers et al. (US 20210088904 A1, deVilliers ‘904).
Re: Claim 15, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1.
However, deVilliers ‘982 does not clearly/specifically disclose further comprising, directly after coating the first relief pattern with the solubility-shifting agent, diffusing the solubility-shifting agent into the first relief pattern.
In a similar field of endeavor, deVilliers ‘904 discloses further comprising, directly after coating the first relief pattern with the solubility-shifting agent, diffusing the solubility-shifting agent into the first relief pattern (¶0035: In some embodiments, after deposition of a particular grafting material, a bake processes is executed. The bake bonds the grafting material to the first photoresist material, without bonding to the underlying layer; ¶0060: As shown in FIGS. 9A and 9A′, the substrate 900 includes a patterned first layer 910 on an underlying layer 901. The patterned first layer 910 includes lines 911 that are made of a first photoresist material in this example. After forming photoresist lines 911, an acid is deposited on the substrate 900 in FIGS. 9B and 9B′. In FIGS. 9C and 9C′, a baking step can be executed to activate the de-protection in the de-protected area 931 by diffusing the acid into the lines 911. This makes a certain thickness of the lines (i.e., the de-protected area 931) soluble in a given developer.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application in order to allow diffusion into the first structure which would allow for precise gap formation or controlled shortening of features even when subsequent exposures or depositions are misaligned (See deVilliers ‘904, ¶0020, ¶0046 and ¶0050)
Re: Claim 19, deVilliers ‘982 discloses the method of claim 1.
However, deVilliers ‘982 does not clearly/specifically disclose wherein the solubility-shifting agent comprises a solvent, wherein the first resist is insoluble in the solvent.
In a similar field of endeavor, deVilliers ‘904 discloses wherein the solubility-shifting agent comprises a solvent, wherein the first resist is insoluble in the solvent (¶0035: the grafting material can attach to surfaces of specific materials without attaching to surfaces of other materials… The bake bonds the grafting material to the first photoresist material, without bonding to the underlying layer. Unbonded material (such as floor material) can then be removed using a solvent strip process, i.e., the first resist is insoluble; ¶0037: At step S205, soluble portions of the filler material are removed using the developer so that the remaining portions of the filler material form a second structure. In some embodiments, the solubility-shifting material renders the abutting portion of the filler material soluble to the developer.; ¶0060: The filler material 941 should be compatible with the first photoresist solvent system in such a way that the de-protected areas 931 and the lines 911 remain on the substrate 900 after depositing the filler material 941, for example by a typical spin coating process.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application in order to allow a shifting agent to attach only to desired surfaces (See deVilliers ‘904, ¶0035).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
HSIEH et al. (US 20230087992 A1) – See Fig. 1
HATAKEYAMA et al. (US 20160085149 A1) – See Figs. 1A-1C
/WILLIAM ADROVEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898