DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “…a second pump…” however claim 6, which depends from claim 1, does not include a first pump. Does claim 6 require that there are two pumps, a first and a second? Is claim 6 meant to depend from claim 5 instead of claim 1?
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the filters" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites “…the waterjets, rotatable brushes and air jets…” Claim 10 depends on claim 1, and claim 1 requires “one or more waterjets” and “one or more rotatable brushes” It is unclear if claim 10 requires plural waterjets and rotatable brushes. Also claim 10 recites the limitation “air jets” and it is not clear if there is sufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “Air jets” are introduced in claims 3 and 8. Is claim 10 meant to depend from either claims 3 or 8?
Claim 11 recites the limitations "the approach" in line 2 and “the track” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 14 recites “…tray capacity is greater than required…” It is unclear what the tray capacity is limited to. The term “greater than required” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “greater than required” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 15 recites “…the rotatable brushes …” Claim 15 depends on claim 1, and claim 1 requires “one or more waterjets” and “one or more rotatable brushes” It is unclear if claim 15 requires plural rotatable brushes.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the air jets" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is claim 16 meant to depend from one of claims 3, 8, 10-13?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 14, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smoljanov et al., RU 2264312 C1 (see English translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Smoljanov et al. disclose a train wash for washing a train (see English translation), comprising: a water supply tank, for holding water for washing the train (3.18 or 4.44, see English translation); a heater, for heating the water in the water supply tank (3.19 or 4.51, heat exchanger, see English translation); one or more waterjets, for directing water from the water supply tank onto a side of the train (unlabeled, shown in Figure 2 and discussed in the English translation description of Figure 2); one or more rotatable brushes, for brushing against a region of the train onto which water is being or has been directed by the water jets (3.14, see Figure 6 and English translation); a water recovery tray, for location beneath the sides of the train, for collecting water running down the side of the train (one of 1 2.1, 3.1 see English translation, Figure 1; also stepped grate 3.27); a recirculation system, for recirculating water in the water recovery tray back to the water supply tank for reuse (see English translation, paragraph that begins with “Contaminated washing solution”, the paragraph that begins with “After filtering…” or the paragraphs that begin “Recycled water…”); and a filtration system, for filtering the water being recirculated from the water recovery tray to the water supply tank (3.38 or 4.53). Regarding claims 3 and 8, there are one or more air jets for blowing water down the side of the train and into the water recovery tray for collection by the recirculation system (see English translation paragraph that begins with “The drying circuit V…”). Regarding claim 4, the waterjets direct the water in the form of liquid water (see English translation paragraph that begins with “In addition, the means of jet washing at the first stage and the rinsing stage…”). Regarding claim 5, there is a first pump, for pumping water from the water supply tank through the water jets/nozzles (2.23, 3,23, or 3.24). Regarding claim 6, the recirculation system comprises a dirty water tank (3.66, 3.28), and a second pump for pumping the water from the water recovery tray to a dirty water tank (3.29, see English translation paragraph beginning “Contaminated washing solution…”). Regarding claim 7, the recirculation system comprises a third pump for pumping the water in the dirty water tank through filters and into the water supply tank (3.36, see English translation paragraphs beginning “Contaminated washing solution…” and “After filtering, the cleaned washing solution enters…”). Regarding claim 9, there is a controller configured to control the heater to adjust the temperature of water in the supply tank from a maintenance temperature to an operating temperature in response to a determination that a train to be cleaned will arrive at a predetermined period of time (controller 2.21, 3.21; the controller is capable of operating in response to a determination based on train arrival, see English translation paragraph that begins with “The initial detergent solution was prepared…”). Regarding claim 14, as best understood, the water recovery tray capacity is capable of being “greater than required” (22, Figure 1). Further regarding claim 17, Smoljanov et al. discloses a system that comprises a pair of the train washes described above (see explanation of claim 1; each wash includes the L-shape frame of the left and right sides of the train, see Figures 2-3; also see English translation with the paragraph that begins “The washing equipment includes…two brush stations for washing the side surfaces…” along with Figures 3 and 5). Regarding claim 18, the train washes are disposed opposite each other (Figures 2-3) and the water recovery tray is shared between both train washes (Figure 3).
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohnert, DE 202005013382 U1 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kohnert discloses a train wash for washing a train (capable of washing a train, see English translation, commercial vehicles), comprising: a water supply tank, for holding water for washing the train (46, Figure 1); a heater, for heating the water in the water supply tank (as 46 is described as a hot water tank in the English translation, see translation for more discussion); one or more waterjets, for directing water from the water supply tank onto a side of the train (18, 20, Figure 1; see English translation); one or more rotatable brushes, for brushing against a region of the train onto which water is being or has been directed by the water jets (14, Figure 1); a water recovery tray, for location beneath the sides of the train, for collecting water running down the side of the train (22, see English translation, Figures 1-2); a recirculation system, for recirculating water in the water recovery tray back to the water supply tank for reuse (see English translation and Figures 1-2); and a filtration system, for filtering the water being recirculated from the water recovery tray to the water supply tank (filtration occurs via gravel bed 38 at stage 43, see Figures 1-2; also English translation discussion of filtration stage 43). Regarding claim 4, the waterjets direct the water in the form of liquid water (see English translation). Regarding claim 5, there is a first pump, for pumping water from the water supply tank through the water jets/nozzles (48, see Figures and English translation). Regarding claim 6, the recirculation system comprises a dirty water tank (24, sludge/mud trap), and a second pump for pumping the water from the water recovery tray to a dirty water tank (32, see English translation and Figure 2). Regarding claim 7, the recirculation system comprises a third pump for pumping the water in the dirty water tank through filters and into the water supply tank (45, see English translation and Figures 1-2). Regarding claim 14, as best understood, the water recovery tray capacity is capable of being “greater than required” (22, Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smoljanov et al., RU 2264312 C1 (see English translation) in view of Weigele et al., DE 4140931 C1 (see English translation).
Smoljanov et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the wash system includes a deionizer.
Weigele et al. teach a system of washing vehicles in a plant, including trains (see English translation “The method…cannot only be used for washing of motor vehicles, but also for washing, for example of railway trains…”). Specifically regarding claim 2, the washing system includes water that is deionized as being the desired type of water for rinsing the vehicle or train to remove residue (see English translation, “…provided on the portal 1 spray tube or spray arch 6 deionized water…is sprayed”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the train wash of Smoljanov et al. so that it includes a deionizer to provide deionized water, as taught by Weigele et al., so that the water provided to clean the train is sufficient in surface rinsing and removing residue.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohnert, DE 202005013382 U1 (see English translation) in view of Weigele et al., DE 4140931 C1 (see English translation).
Kohnert discloses all elements previously discussed above, however fails to disclose that the wash system includes a deionizer.
Weigele et al. teach a system of washing vehicles in a plant, including trains (see English translation “The method…cannot only be used for washing of motor vehicles, but also for washing, for example of railway trains…”). Specifically regarding claim 2, the washing system includes water that is deionized as being the desired type of water for rinsing the vehicle or train to remove residue (see English translation, “…provided on the portal 1 spray tube or spray arch 6 deionized water…is sprayed”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the train wash of Kohnert so that it includes a deionizer to provide deionized water, as taught by Weigele et al., so that the water provided to clean the train is sufficient in surface rinsing and removing residue.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohnert, DE 202005013382 U1 (see English translation) in view of Ouyang et al. CN 107472203 A (see English translation) and in further view of Hiscock et al., GB 2507515 A.
Kohnert discloses all elements previously discussed above, however fails to disclose that there is a movable cleaning head having waterjets, rotatable brushes and air jets disposed on it that is movable between a cleaning position and a resting position. In Kohnert there are individual brushes and waterjets (14, 48; see Figure 1 and English translation).
Regarding claim 10, Ouyang et al. teach a train wash for washing a train (see English translation, Figure 1), comprising: a movable cleaning head having one or more waterjets, for directing water from the water supply tank onto a side of the train (21, 211; Figure 3); one or more rotatable brushes, for brushing against a region of the train onto which water is being or has been directed by the water jets (22, 222; Figure 3), and air jets (23). In Ouyang et al. the movable cleaning head includes waterjets, brushes, and air jets so that the cleaning head can perform a combination of cleaning tasks (see English translation). While Ouyang et al. teach that the distance between the cleaning head and train being washed can be set (see English translation, see set distance between a suction port and vehicle surface as “space b”), Ouyang et al. fail to disclose that the cleaning head is movable between a cleaning position for engaging the side of a train and a resting position permitting trains to pass untouched.
Further regarding claim 10, Hiscock et al. teach a vehicle cleaning assembly that has movable cleaning heads (brushes 21-24, Figure 2), the heads are movable between a cleaning position for engaging a side of a train (Figures 1-2; “deployed position”) and a resting position permitting vehicles to pass untouched (Figure 3; “parked position”). This allows the cleaning head/brush to be supported in either deployed or parked manner (page 2 lines 1-5, 16-24).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the rotating brushes of Kohnert for a mobile cleaning head having a combination of waterjets, rotatable brushes, and air jets, as taught by Ouyang et al., so that the movable brush head also including a brush can perform a combination of other cleaning tasks involving waterjets or air, and further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movable cleaning head of Kohnert as modified by Ouyang et al. so that it is movable between a cleaning position and a resting position, as taught by Hiscock et al. so that the movable cleaning head can be in an engaged position with a vehicle or parked off to the side allowing vehicles or other objects to pass by.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohnert, DE 202005013382 U1 (see English translation), Ouyang et al. CN 107472203 A (see English translation), and Hiscock et al., GB 2507515 A as applied to claim 10, in view of Jones et al., US 6,425,407.
Kohnert, Ouyang et al., and Hiscock et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that there is a controller that is responsive to an approach of a train to be cleaned to move the cleaning head towards a track to engage a side of a train.
Regarding claim 11, Jones et al. teach that it is known for a vehicle wash (Abstract) to include a controller that responds to an approach of a vehicle and moves the cleaning head towards the train wash structure to engage a side of the vehicle to allow for accurate and improved cleaning (Abstract, column 6 lines 10-27; control unit 35 with sensors 32, 34, 38).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the train wash and controller of Kohnert, Ouyang et al, and Hiscock et al. so that the controller is responsive to the approach of a train or vehicle to be cleaned to move the cleaning head towards the side, as Jones et al. teach, in order to have more accurate and improved cleaning of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohnert, DE 202005013382 U1 (see English translation), Ouyang et al. CN 107472203 A (see English translation), Hiscock et al., GB 2507515 A, and Jones et al., US 6,425,407 as applied to claim 11, in view of Zhang et al., CN 109017695 A (see also English translation).
Kohnert, Ouyang et al., Hiscock et al., and Jones et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above. In Jones et al. the controller uses sensors to respond to the approach of a vehicle (Abstract, column 6 lines 10-27), however fail to disclose that the vehicle is detected using an electronic reader that detects an electronic tag disposed on a train or carriage.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. teach a train/vehicle wash that uses waterjets and rotating brushes to clean (Figure 2; see also English translation) and further includes a controller (220) that uses an electronic reader to detect an electronic tag disposed on a train/carriage/vehicle (see English translation, “machine 10 comprises a number identification device 400 with the control device 200 connection, for identifying the vehicle washing information…”, “train number identification uses radio frequency identification (RFID) to washing vehicle AEI tag for identification…”). Regarding claim 13, the controller logs that a particular train and/or carriage has been cleaned based on an identifier of the electronic tag read by the electronic reader (see English translation, log kept via “collecting module, collecting the vehicle image and the obtained vehicle image to analyze process…”, “identification device 400 can identify the number and obtaining the vehicle information by the number of washing cycles…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the train wash and controller of Kohnert, Ouyang et al., Hiscock et al., and Jones et al. to use an electronic reader as a substitute for sensors or in addition to the sensors in order to detect an electronic tag disposed on a train or carriage, as Zhang et al. teach, so that the controller can identify and record cleaning data associated with the particular vehicle and to select appropriate cleaning operations related to the specific vehicle.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smoljanov et al., RU 2264312 C1 (see English translation) in view of Aleksandrovich et al., RU 2613077 C1 (see English translation).
Smoljanov et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the rotatable brushes are rotated in a direction opposing the direction of travel of the train. Smoljanov et al. does not specify any direction of rotation.
Regarding claim 15, Aleksandrovich et al. teach a train wash having rotatable brushes (see English translation), the rotatable brushes are rotated in a direction opposing the direction of travel of the train to improve cleaning (see English translation, “Side brushes rotate in the direction opposite to the movement of the composition to ensure the best washing result…”, composition is the train).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rotate the rotatable brushes of Smoljanov et al. in a direction opposing the direction of travel of the train, as Aleksandrovich et al. teach, to improve the rotating brushes ability to clean the train.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohnert, DE 202005013382 U1 (see English translation) in view of Aleksandrovich et al., RU 2613077 C1 (see English translation).
Kohnert discloses all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the rotatable brushes are rotated in a direction opposing the direction of travel of the train. Kohnert does not specify any direction of rotation.
Regarding claim 15, Aleksandrovich et al. teach a train wash having rotatable brushes (see English translation), the rotatable brushes are rotated in a direction opposing the direction of travel of the train to improve cleaning (see English translation, “Side brushes rotate in the direction opposite to the movement of the composition to ensure the best washing result…”, composition is the train).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rotate the rotatable brushes of Kohnert in a direction opposing the direction of travel of the train, as Aleksandrovich et al. teach, to improve the rotating brushes ability to clean the train.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smoljanov et al., RU 2264312 C1 (see English translation) in view of Ouyang et al., CN 107472203 A (see English translation).
Smoljanov et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the air jets are provided as an air blade.
Regarding claim 16, Ouyang et al. teach a train wash for washing a train (see English translation, Figure 1), comprising: a movable cleaning head having one or more waterjets, for directing water from the water supply tank onto a side of the train (21, 211; Figure 3); one or more rotatable brushes, for brushing against a region of the train onto which water is being or has been directed by the water jets (22, 222; Figure 3), and air jets (23) that are provided as an air blade (air knife, see English translation discussion surrounding air knife 23). The air knife (blade) uses air provided at a high pressure to blow water from a vehicle surface (see English translation, “…using high pressure air knife blowing water off the vehicle surface…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the air jets taught of Smoljanov et al. for ones that are presented as an air blade, as taught by Ouyang et al., to provide air under high pressure to effectively blow water off a surface during cleaning.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohnert, DE 202005013382 U1 (see English translation) in view of Ouyang et al., CN 107472203 A (see English translation).
Kohnert discloses all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the air jets are provided as an air blade.
Regarding claim 16, Ouyang et al. teach a train wash for washing a train (see English translation, Figure 1), comprising: a movable cleaning head having one or more waterjets, for directing water from the water supply tank onto a side of the train (21, 211; Figure 3); one or more rotatable brushes, for brushing against a region of the train onto which water is being or has been directed by the water jets (22, 222; Figure 3), and air jets (23) that are provided as an air blade (air knife, see English translation discussion surrounding air knife 23). The air knife (blade) uses air provided at a high pressure to blow water from a vehicle surface (see English translation, “…using high pressure air knife blowing water off the vehicle surface…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the air jets taught of Kohnert for ones that are presented as an air blade, as taught by Ouyang et al., to provide air under high pressure to effectively blow water off a surface during cleaning.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg