DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim 7 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Amano et al. (US 2012/0061805). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim 6 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Katagiri (WO 2021/124668) discloses an adhesive composition comprising a styrene-based elastomer containing a carboxyl group; a styrene-based elastomer containing no carboxyl group; and an epoxy resin (thermosetting resin), wherein the adhesive prevent peeling or lifting during a temporary fixing operation [abstract; 0001; 0007-0009]. The styrene-based elastomer containing a carboxyl group comprises styrene-butadiene block copolymers, styrene-ethylene-propylene block copolymers, etc. [0015]. The carboxy-free styrene-based elastomer comprises the unmodified versions of these polymers [0017]. The adhesive further comprises carbon black [0040]. The thickness of the adhesive layer is 10-50 µm [0041]. While the reference discloses a support member and the adhesive layer, the reference is silent with regard to a first curable resin layer and a second curable resin layer positioned in the laminated body as presently claimed.
Lee (KR 2019-00596548) discloses an adhesive film for use in bonding semiconductor chips that comprises a thermoplastic resin, a multifunctional epoxy resin, a thermosetting epoxy resin, and a filler [0001; 0005-0006]. The thermoplastic resin comprises acrylate copolymer [0021-0023]. Therefore, the reference does not disclose a hydrocarbon resin as presently claimed. Additionally, while Lee teaches a structure of substrate layer/adhesive layer/adhesive layer/substrate layer [0071], wherein one adhesive layer can be considered a first curable resin layer, the reference is silent with regard to a second curable resin layer positioned in the laminated body as presently claimed. Additionally, the substrate layer/adhesive layer/adhesive layer/substrate layer suggested by Lee, wherein one adhesive layer corresponds to the present first curable resin film, such an adhesive would not necessarily meet the claimed transmittance requirement, particularly in view of the use of carbon black in the adhesive layer.
Oyama (JP 2021-111645) discloses a temporary fixing film for use with semiconductor components and a support [abstract; 0001; 0007; 0009]. The film comprises a resin layer 34 and a light absorbing layer 32 [0029]. The light absorbing layer 32 comprises a curable resin component, which includes those resins disclosed as being useful for the resin layer, and conductive particles that absorb light, including carbon powder [0034-0035]. The curable resin component comprises a hydrocarbon thermoplastic resin and a thermosetting resin [0010; 0042-0050]. Oyama teaches the amount of carbon powder is broadly 10-90% by mass of the composition, including amounts of 50% by mass or less [0036]. Oyama teaches a thickness of the light absorption layer “may be 1 to 5000 nm (0.001 to 5 μm) or 50 to 3000 nm (0.05 to 3 μm) from the viewpoint of easy peelability” [0040]. Therefore, Oyama teaches away from the present requirement that the film for temporary fixing is 8 µm or more.
As further discussed below, Amano (US 2012/0061805) discloses a dicing die bond film 10 comprising a die bond film 3 (or 3’) for temporary fixing of a semiconductor [abstract; 0007-0008; 0027-0038; 0119; Figs. 1-2]. The die bond film 3 further comprises conductive particles, including carbon black in an amount of 20-90 parts by weight relative to 100 parts of the organic component [0070; 0075]. While the reference discloses a base material 1, a curable pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 2, and the temporary die bond film 3 [0038; 0049-0051], the reference is silent with regard to a first curable resin layer and a second curable resin layer positioned in the laminated body as presently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 17, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al. (US 2012/0061805).
Regarding claims 1 and 12:
Amano discloses a dicing die bond film 10 comprising a die bond film 3 (or 3’) for temporary fixing of a semiconductor [abstract; 0007-0008; 0027-0038; 0119; Figs. 1-2]. The die bond film 3 comprises a combination of thermosetting resin and thermoplastic resin, wherein the thermosetting resin is curable [0077; 0081-0082]. The thermoplastic resin comprises an isoprene rubber, polybutadiene rubber, etc. [0086].
The die bond film 3 further comprises conductive particles, including carbon black in an amount of 20-90 parts by weight relative to 100 parts of the organic component [0070; 0075]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of carbon black, including over amounts falling within the claimed range, to provide a die bond film in accordance with Amano’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
The die bond film 3 has a thickness in the range of 5-100 µm [0094]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness, including over values falling within the claimed range, to provide a die bond film in accordance with Amano’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
As described above, Amano suggests a composition comprising the same resins and carbon black as presently claimed, including amounts of carbon black within the claimed range. The reference is silent with regard to a parallel light transmittance property as claimed. The examiner submits those prior art films that otherwise have the same components as claimed intrinsically would have the same parallel light transmittance property as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 4:
Amano teaches dicing die bond film 10 comprises a base material 1 (support member) and the temporary die bond film 3 [0038; Figs. 1-2]. Also, Amano teaches a laminated body comprising an adherend 6 (support member), the temporary die bond film 3’, and a semiconductor chip 5 (support member) [0119; Fig. 6].
Regarding claim 5:
Amano teaches dicing die bond film 10 comprises a base material 1 (support member), a curable pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 2 (first curable resin layer), and the temporary die bond film 3 [0038; 0049-0051; Figs. 1-2].
Regarding claim 7:
Amano teaches the curable pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprises acrylic polymers [0043-0046; 0055]. These polymers are known in the art for their transparency and furthermore are the same materials used in the presently claimed first curable resin film (see specification at, e.g., [0044-0047] and [0079]). Therefore, the examiner submits those acrylic polymers taught by Amano that are the same as used in the present invention intrinsically would have the same parallel light transmittance property as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 11:
Although Amano is silent with regard to the volume percentage of the carbon black, the reference suggests amounts of carbon black that overlap with the presently claimed mass amounts. The examiner submits those mass amounts falling within the claimed mass amount range would intrinsically result in volume percentages within the claimed range because the material and mass amount would otherwise the same as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 14-15:
As described above, Amano suggests a composition comprising the same resins and carbon black as presently claimed, including amounts of carbon black within the claimed range. The reference is silent with regard to a parallel light transmittance property as claimed. The examiner submits those prior art films that otherwise have the same components as claimed would have the same parallel light transmittance property as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 17:
Amano teaches the average particle size of the carbon black is 0.01-10 µm (10-10,000 nm). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the particle size of the carbon black, including over amounts falling within the claimed range, to provide a die bond film in accordance with Amano’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21-22:
Amano teaches the thermosetting resin is 5-60% by weight [0089]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of thermosetting resin, including over amounts falling within the claimed range, to provide a die bond film in accordance with Amano’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. Furthermore, the counterbalance amount would be the thermoplastic resin, which would provide an amount thereof that overlaps with the presently claimed range.
Claim(s) 13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al. (US 2012/0061805) in view of Oyama et al. (JP 2021-111645).
Note: citations refer to the machine translations of JP ‘645 filed by Applicant on 4/24/2024.
Regarding claim 13 and 18-20:
Amano discloses a die bond film as previously explained. Amano teaches the use of thermoplastic resins [0081; 0086].
Amano is silent with regard to the specific thermoplastic polymers presently claimed.
Such polymers were known in the art to have utility. For example, Oyama discloses a temporary fixing film for use with semiconductor components and a support [abstract; 0001; 0007; 0009]. The film comprises a resin layer 34 and a light absorbing layer 32 [0029]. The light absorbing layer 32 comprises a curable resin component, which includes those resins disclosed as being useful for the resin layer, and conductive particles that absorb light, including carbon powder [0034-0035]. The curable resin component comprises a hydrocarbon thermoplastic resin and a thermosetting resin, wherein the former includes SBS, SIS, SEBS, etc. any of which can be carboxy-modified, including maleic anhydride-modified [0010; 0042-0050]. Oyama teaches its hydrocarbon thermoplastic resins provide low-temperature adhesion and a sufficiently flexible film without creep [0044].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known thermoplastic resins, including those disclosed by Oyama, for their known utility including providing low-temperature adhesion and sufficient flexibility without creep.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al. (US 2012/0061805) in view of Iseki et al. (US 2020/0109245).
Regarding claim 16:
Amano discloses a die bond film as previously explained. Amano teaches the use of conductive carbon black [0070].
Amano is silent with regard to the specific acetylene black presently claimed.
This material was known in the art to have utility. For example, Iseki discloses a temporary fixing (bonding) sheet, which comprises a conductive carbon black, including acetylene black [abstract; 0005-0006; 0011; 0052].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use acetylene black as the conductive carbon black in Amano because it was known in the art to be useful as a conductive material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section (iii) on page 12 of Remarks, filed 8/26/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The examiner agrees that Katagiri discloses its adhesive layer has particular dielectric properties and that the proposed modification with Lee to require a minimum of 5 parts by weight of carbon black (a conductive material) would have unpredictable effects on the dielectric properties because nether Katagiri nor Lee details the effects thereof. The rejections based on Katagiri in view of Lee have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JOHN D FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787