Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 9/24/2026 is acknowledged. The reason for the traversal is not clear but appears based on claim 22 being generic. In response, this is not reason for traversal. If a generic or even any claim is allowable then the all those claims dependent therefrom also would be allowable assuming they are proper for rejoinder.
Claims 41-45 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there currently being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 34, the “preferably” is indefinite. In claim 28 there is no antecedent basis for “tabs”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-25 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rohe (US 3,042,156). Rohe discloses a mounting device comprising: a support wall (11-13) having first and second openings (16 and 15 respectively); a screw threaded portion (column 1, paragraph beginning line 23) which inherently would include a head; a bearing element (A’) with a receiving chamber along a center axis for the screw; the bearing element has a first bearing-element-side stop (18) in contact with a first support-side stop surfaces (at 12) and a second bearing-element-side stop (22e) in contact with a second support-side stop surfaces (at 11); the second bearing-element-side stop is arranged on a resilient tab in such a way that the bearing element is clamped with zero clearance between the two support-side stop surfaces (column 3, lines 5-10); the distance between the bearing stop surfaces would vary depending on the angular orientation of the resilient tabs; the second bearing-element-side stop surface is curved in the circumferential direction; the second bearing-element-side stop includes a step (37); the bearing element is one piece; and the receiving chamber includes a lateral wall.
Claims 22-24, 26-32, 35-36 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Binder (US 8,764,337). Binder discloses a mounting device comprising: a support wall (2) having first and second openings (45 and 14 respectively); a screw threaded portion (6) including a head (8); a bearing element (5) with a receiving chamber (25) along a center axis for the screw; the bearing element has a first bearing-element-side stop (10) in contact with a first support-side stop surfaces (11) and a second bearing-element-side stop (42) in contact with a second support-side stop surfaces (4); the second bearing-element-side stop is arranged on a resilient tab (34) in such a way that the bearing element is clamped with zero clearance between the two support-side stop surfaces (column 6, lines 38-42); the distance between the bearing stop surfaces would vary depending on the angular orientation of the resilient tabs; the second bearing-element-side stop surface is curved in the circumferential direction; the resilient tab is inclined relative to the axis; the bearing element includes a locking cam (28) which engages a thread groove of the screw (column 5, paragraph beginning line 17); there are plural identical resilient tabs 34; there are plural further resilient tabs (43) each with a further stop surface (44) offset from the second bearing-element-side stop to engage the inner surface of the second opening (Fig. 1); since there are plural resilient tabs and further resilient tabs any two would form a pair with either a same or different width; a resilient tab is positioned between two further resilient tabs; and the receiving chamber is delimited by a lateral wall (36) and the tabs extend at an angle from a tab portion which extends from the lateral wall (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-34 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binder. Binder does not disclose four resilient tabs and four further resilient tabs. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious as a matter of design choice the number of resilient tabs and further resilient tabs because any number and arrangement would continue to yield the same results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hanratty (US 2022/0170495), Holzinger (US 10,514,053), Figg (US 11,702,841) and Cole (US 3,579,942) are cited to teach other examples of resiliently retained bearing elements. Van Boven (US 5,807,052) is cited to teach a locking cam. Edland (US 10,914,336) is cited to teach resilient cams with curved bearing surfaces. The other reference cited are of general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675