DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 06/26/2026 have been entered. Claim 47 has been canceled. Claims 49 and 50 have been added. Claims 26-46, and 48-50 are now pending in the application. Examiner notes that the amended claim set has not properly underlined and/or struck through all of the appropriate portions of the claims, however, because no clarity issues arise from such omissions (i.e., of underlining/clerical errors, such that the scope of the claims is clear), the claims are entered as such.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 03/26/2026, hereinafter NFOA0326.
Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome some but not all of the objections previously set forth in NFOA0326. See below for further details.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in NFOA0326.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection previously set forth in NFOA0326.
Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks dated 06/26/2026, hereinafter R0626) with respect to amended independent claims 26 and 41 (e.g., points D and E of R0626) and dependent claims 32-35, 37, 39-40, 42, 45-46, 48, have been considered but are moot because they pertain to limitations added by way of amendment that were not present at the time of NFOA0326. See below for a detailed discussion of amended claim limitations.
Examiner additionally notes for the record that an ordinarily skilled artisan in the field of such radar absorbing materials and attenuators/absorbers formed therefrom would likely have an advanced degree in a physical science/engineering or equivalent experience, and thus, would have a relatively high level of ordinary skill and knowledge, likely being reasonably apprised of current, relevant non-patent literature. The following analysis is done in view of the knowledge and abilities of such an ordinarily skilled artisan.
Examiner notes, however, that Applicant additionally argues (i.e., in point D, in regards to claim 38, see p. 7 of R0626) that Examiner has improperly applied the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection by approximating the dimensions. Applicant’s understanding of the rejection is in error. Claim 38 requires thicknesses of “about 4 mm” or “about 2 mm” (Emphases added by Examiner) for the respective elements. As indicated in NFOA0326 on p. 24, ‘about’ is not defined by Applicant’s specification, and thus the explicitly disclosed values of Zhou would be understood by an ordinarily skilled artisan to read on ‘about 2mm’, especially given the context of the nearly identical total thickness of the device as a whole (prior art documents are read in context and in light of the knowledge and abilities of an ordinarily skilled artisan, which as noted above, would be relatively high. Applicant appears to argue that the prior art does not identically disclose 2 mm or 4 mm, but the claim does not require those precise values.
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that the dimensions relied upon “appear to be are associated with different structural elements and do not identically disclosed Applicants’ claimed dimensional relationships.”, but does not further specify how the structural elements relied upon do not satisfy the requirements of the claim. Accordingly, the argument cannot be further logically evaluated, and is not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments in R0626 regarding claims 28 and 29 (starting p. 9 of R0626) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Examiner notes that the claims pertain to a device, and that the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of functional requirements in such a claim requires a structure capable of performing the function. The prior art need not explicitly disclose the functionality, nor applying the device in the same field of endeavor, so long as it is reasonably pertinent to a problem sought to be solved in the field of endeavor.
In point E(a), Applicant argues “To begin with, to the extent that the combined teaching of Manning and Appleton relied on by the Examiner relies upon analogizing Appleton's mounting gap and Manning's internal tuning dimension, Applicants note that the two distances are not the same and serve different purposes.”
Examiner at no point in NFOA0326 analogized Appleton’s mounting gap and Manning’s internal tuning dimension.
Rather, in claim 27 (see NFOA0326, p. 28), Fig. 7, elements 58 and 59 (and supporting description) were applied to teach fixing means configured to define a space between the attenuator and the surface to be protected 56. Examiner at no point made specific reference to any ‘internal tuning dimension’, let alone ‘analogize’ it to the mounting gap of Appleton. Applicant appears to have solely evaluated a single sentence from Examiner’s citation and not evaluated the remainder, and in particular, the physical elements applied to teach the structure. The cited description discussing the ‘tuning’ of the structure is merely discussing advantageous functionality, and is not relevant to the applied teachings of elements 58 and 59 and their relative disposal to surface 56.
Accordingly, this argument is not convincing.
Applicant further argues “In more detail, if the combined teaching relies upon Manning's disclosure, Applicants note that attenuation characteristics are adjusted by varying an internal absorber dimension. Thus, any tuning occurs internally within the absorber structure itself. In contrast if the combined teaching relies upon Appleton's disclosure, Applicants note that in such a teaching a gap may exist between a radar-absorbing panel and a wind-turbine tower and that spacers or washers may be employed to accommodate the curvature of the tower curvature to permit drainage and ventilation behind the panel. At no time does such a teaching disclose or suggest that the gap constitutes a tuning distance, nor does such a teaching disclose adjusting the gap for the purpose of tuning radar-absorption characteristics. The spacing disclosed by such a teaching serves installation and environmental functions rather than the claimed electromagnetic tuning functions (see Appleton, paragraph [0016]).” and further argues “The Examiner appears to be using impermissible hindsight reconstruction to combine the teachings of Manning and Appleton. In sum, Manning and Appleton address fundamentally different problems. Manning appears to be concerned with tuning absorber performance by varying an internal absorber dimension while Appleton is concerned with mounting radar-absorbing panels to a wind-turbine tower while accommodating tower curvature and permitting drainage and airflow.“
Examiner first notes that the attenuation characteristics being modified was not required by claims 28-29, and thus, what Manning discloses regarding such control is irrelevant. The control of the spacing between the attenuator and the surface to be protected was cited in NFOA0326, and not specifically refuted by Applicant. The previously presented claims (i.e., claims 27-29) did not require ‘a tuning distance’, and thus, this argument is moot.
Furthermore, ‘a tuning distance’, under the BRI of such a device, is merely the distance between the attenuator structure and the surface/structure it is attached to (i.e., to protect). There is no additional structure or functionality required to be a ‘tuning’ distance, and the prior art need not disclose adjusting the distance for tuning for the structure disclosed therein to read on ‘to set a tuning distance’, as ‘tuning’ does not limit the structure, nor the relative disposal of the elements, and only intended use.
Accordingly, whether or not Appleton discloses the distance as being ‘a tuning distance’ is irrelevant. If the structure disclosed in Appleton would achieve the functionality required, namely, adjusting a distance between a panel and a surface it is mounted thereon, then the structure reads on the claim limitation. Examiner again notes that nothing is required to achieve ‘tuning’, except for changing the distance, which Appleton clearly discloses. Additionally, the disclosed structures of Appleton, as noted in NFOA, the disclosed structure is formed of materials in an arrangement that would be understood by an ordinarily skilled artisan as being radar blocking to some frequencies. Whether or not Appleton intends the structure to be used for radar blocking is irrelevant, because the structure is naturally radar blocking to some frequencies as disclosed.
In response to applicant's argument that Appleton is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Appleton teaches a structure (i.e., fixing means) capable of maintaining a similarly structured device (i.e., layered) with similar capabilities (i.e., at least partially radar blocking) at a given distance between the device and the surface the device is mounted to. This is clearly reasonably pertinent to mounting panels of alternative structure and use, as the mounting and adjusting of distance is maintained in the same way, and could be readily adapted to a structure such as that of the primary references (see NFOA0326, p. 27-30) with a reasonable expectation of success.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). One of ordinary skill in the art could readily adapt an alternative mounting scheme including screws and spacers disclosed in the prior art to allow one to adjust a distance that is disclosed as being maintained alternatively in the primary reference (i.e., Manning).
Accordingly, the arguments are not convincing.
Applicant further argues “One skilled in the art would not look to combine the teachings of Manning with Appleton because Manning does not suggest or disclose modifying Appleton's mounting arrangement so that Appleton's panel-to-tower spacing becomes a tuning distance. Further, one skilled in the art would not look to combine the teachings of Manning and Appleton because Appleton does not suggest using the mounting gap as an absorber-tuning parameter. In effect, the NFOA appears to extract a tuning concept from Manning and import it into Appleton's mounting arrangement without any teaching, suggestion, or motivation in either reference to do so.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, as noted above, a tuning distance was not previously required, and ‘a tuning distance’ is functionally no different than ‘a distance’. They are both merely the space between two disclosed elements.
Additionally, Appleton need not disclosed ‘using the mounting gap as an absorber-tuning parameter’ to be reasonably combinable with Manning (a) because such a limitation was not previously required, and (b) because different reasons exist to reasonably combine relevant prior art teachings. Whether or not one of ordinary skill in the art would look to Appleton for teachings of ‘using the mounting gap as an absorber-tuning parameter’ is thus irrelevant, especially considering the BRI of ‘tuning’, which merely requires changing a physical distance (or in the context of the device claims, a structure capable of doing so). Furthermore, an ordinarily skilled artisan, presented with Appleton, would readily recognize the radar absorbing properties of the disclosed device, would readily recognize how those properties would change with a change of distance (which is disclosed to be controllable) and could readily conceive of using the disclosed mounting means to allow for more precise control of the attenuator of Manning. At no point did NFOA0326 ‘extract a tuning concept from Manning’, as no tuning concept was required, and the applied elements are disclosed as maintaining a distance between the attenuator and the surface 56. Similarly, no such ‘importing into’ Appleton was applied in NFOA0326, as the claim merely required the capability to set a distance between two elements, which is clearly disclosed.
Accordingly, the arguments are not convincing.
Applicant again argues toward amended claim limitations directed toward tuning which are moot and/or not convincing.
In response to applicant's argument that ‘an installation spacing’ and ‘a tuning distance’ are different, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. There is no structural difference between such distances/spacings. Both are the distance between a layered radar absorbing device and the surface the device is mounted to. Both are controllable to maintain a particular distance.
Accordingly, this argument is not convincing.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Appleton’s combination as a teaching reference to Wu, Zhekov, and Zhou follow similar reasoning, and are not convincing for similar reasons.
Accordingly, Applicants arguments are not convincing.
See below for detailed discussion of amended claim limitations.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
As discussed in NFOA0326, [0068] refers to the two short parallel ribs as both item 42 and item 40, which Examiner believes is a mere typographical error, and both should refer to item 42 (see line 23 of p. 9). In regards to Applicant’s comment, Examiner believes Applicant has not understood the nature of the objection. Examiner acknowledges that items 40 and 42 both exist, and that is precisely the problem, because the cited line refers to the two short parallel ribs as item 42 and item 40, when item 40 is the long parallel ribs, not the short parallel ribs.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 26 recites “fixing means configured to define a gap between [two elements], the fixing means being adjustable to set a tuning distance separating [the two elements].”. Fixing means that is ‘configured to define a gap [between elements]’ recites functional language on ‘means’, and does not recite adequate structure to perform the recited function, and thus 112(f) interpretation is invoked.
Claims 27-28 depend on claim 26, and similarly recite limitations invoking 112(f) interpretation for ‘the fixing means’ or functional limitations thereon.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The corresponding structures in the specification are found in Fig. 4, [0012], and [0051] to be screws, or in [0051] to be a cam mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 50 recites the limitation "the injected water". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 50 depends only on claim 41, which does not require any injection of water, and rather only requires defining water volumes, understood under the BRI as being volumes capable of holding water in such a method claim. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. Because claim 44 recites ‘injecting water’, it is likely that claim 50 erroneously depends directly on claim 41, and should have depended on claim 44. For purposes of examination, this dependence is adopted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41-46 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (DOI: 10.7567/1882-0786/ab0f66).
Examiner notes that Wu is Applicant provided prior art via the IDS dated 02/27/2024.
Regarding claim 41, Wu teaches a method for manufacturing a radar absorber (See Figs. 1; Abstract, disclosing 3D printing as the method of manufacture) comprising:
providing at least a first dielectric layer and a second dielectric layer (See Fig. 1, showing two layers of TPU in grey, i.e., on top and bottom);
configuring one or more intermediate dielectric layers between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer (See Figs. 1b and 1c, in particular Fig. 1b, which shows two water layers A1 and A2 surrounding TPU layer in the center between two outer TPU layers in at least model III; Examiner additionally notes that because the rib structure equivalents of Wu are TPU, they would be understood by an ordinarily skilled artisan as being dielectric, and thus satisfy the requirements of the limitation); and
arranging one or more frames between adjacent dielectric layers, the one or more frames defining a plurality of water volumes such that each intermediate dielectric layer is disposed between two water volumes (See Fig. 1, showing TPU structures between two TPU layers, and in particular, Figs. 1b and 1c, Model III, showing disposal of such structures between two water volumes in blue; Abstract, disclosing 3D printing; Examiner notes that ‘arranging’ is not particularly limiting in physical mechanism, and thus the 3D printing, which an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand as additive manufacturing, i.e., by layers, reads on ‘arranging’ under the BRI).
Examiner notes that Zhou would likely similarly read on the limitations of the claim, but such a rejection is omitted for brevity.
Regarding claim 42, Wu teaches the method according to claim 41.
Wu further teaches further comprising mounting the radar absorber to a surface to be protected (Abstract; Examiner notes that Wu discloses the use of such structures for “microwave radiation protection technology and microwave shielding boxes”, which an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand to include mounting the absorber to the structure in some fashion; See also disclosure discussing confirmation of simulation results, in which a radar absorber structure is mounted to a metal plate (i.e., a surface to be protected, which as discussed above, is not particularly limiting), and the proper EM radiation is applied to evaluated the absorptive (i.e., protective) performance, which inherently discloses some form of mounting)
Wu does not explicitly teach such that a distance separating the surface to be protected from the second dielectric layer is between 0 mm and 50 mm.
However, because Wu does not disclose any particular distance for mounting the structure to the metal plate, and based on the ordinary understanding of the phrasing “the metal back”, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand Wu to disclose direct mounting, which discloses a separation of 0 mm, and thus satisfies the limitation.
In other words, while not explicitly disclosed by Wu, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand Wu’s disclosure to teach a mounting having a separation of 0 mm, and thus inherently teach such that a distance separating the surface to be protected from the second dielectric layer is between 0 mm and 50 mm.
Examiner additionally notes that determining a distance to mount such a disclosed radar absorber from the surface it is mounted to is well within the abilities of an ordinarily skilled artisan and could readily determine the optimal position for the particular absorber via routine experimentation, and notes that the claim does not particularly limit the manner by which the mounting is performed.
Regarding claim 43, Wu teaches the method according to claim 41.
Wu further teaches further comprising:
connecting one of the one or more frames to the first dielectric layer; and
connecting one of the one or more frames the second dielectric layer (See Figs. 1, showing frame TPU elements connecting to top and bottom TPU layers, and a volume is inherently formed therebetween, wherein water is shown).
Regarding claim 44, Wu teaches the method according to claim 41.
Wu further teaches further comprising:
applying a waterproof material on an outer periphery (interpreted as an outermost surface of its silhouette) of each of the one or more frames (See discussion regarding Fig. 6, wherein the device is reduced to practice, indicating the device is printed with an open end, then water is added before the device is ultimately closed, whereby the outer periphery of the frame is covered with a waterproof material (i.e., during printing), and applying the material is inherently done in the additive manufacture/printing of the device); and
injecting water through one or more openings of the one or more frames to fill the plurality of water volumes (See discussion regarding Fig. 6, wherein the device is reduced to practice, indicating the device is printed with an open end, then water is added before the device is ultimately closed).
Regarding claim 45, Wu teaches the method according to claim 41.
Wu further teaches further comprising providing ribs to the first dielectric layer or the second dielectric layer (See Fig. 1c, wherein TPU structures that are between the first and second TPU layers form ribs).
Regarding claim 46, Wu teaches the method according to claim 45.
Wu further teaches further comprising providing the ribs to form a pattern comprising one or more geometric shapes (See Fig. 1c, wherein the TPU structures between the TPU layers have a pattern, and the pattern includes one or more geometric shapes).
Regarding claim 50, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Wu teaches the method according to claim 41.
Wu further teaches wherein the injected water is maintained at a temperature between 5° C and 45° C (Room temperature operation disclosed in reduction to practice confirming functionality, e.g., portions describing Fig. 6, prior to summary paragraph; Examiner notes that no active maintenance of the temperature is required under the BRI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-31, 36-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning (USPN US 3325808 A), in view of Appleton (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20130135135 A1).
Examiner notes that Manning and Appleton are Applicant provided prior art via the IDS dated 02/27/2024.
Regarding claim 26, Manning teaches a radar absorber (See Figs. 3-4, showing radar signal and device according to an embodiment, respectively; Col. 8, Line 69 – Col. 9, Line 29) comprising at least:
a first dielectric layer configured to face away from a surface to be protected (See Fig. 4, item 40);
a second dielectric layer configured to face towards the surface to be protected (See Fig. 4, item 41, which is disclosed in the above cited portion as Mylar);
a frame configured to hold water in a water layer enclosed in a volume between the first and the second dielectric layers (See Fig. 4, side walls of device; See Fig. 4, item 43, which can hold water therein, in a volume thereof; See Fig. 3, items 36-37 and supporting description in Col. 7, Line 47 – Col. 8, Line 67, in particular Col. 8, Lines 10-15, disclosing water permeating the foam and the foam layer filling the volume between the equivalents of the two dielectric layers, and being controllable in size, see Col. 8, Lines 46-67); and
fixing means configured to define a gap between the second dielectric layer and the surface to be protected, the fixing means being adjustable to set a tuning distance separating the surface to be protected from the second dielectric layer (See Fig. 7, wherein items 58 and 59 allow one to form a gap between the top part of the absorber 57 and the surface to be protected 56; Col. 10, Lines 16-39; Examiner notes that the pump would be understood as controllable, and thus capable of setting such a distance between the device as shown in Fig. 4, and the surface to be protected therebelow; As discussed above, the BRI of ‘a tuning distance’ is ‘a distance separating the surface to be protected from the second dielectric layer’).
However, as discussed above, claim 26 invokes 112(f) interpretation, and as such ‘fixing means’ is interpreted to mean screws, cam mechanisms, or functional equivalents.
Accordingly, Manning does not explicitly teach fixing means configured to define a gap between the second dielectric layer and the surface to be protected, the fixing means being adjustable to set a tuning distance separating the surface to be protected from the second dielectric layer, as understood in view of the above invoked interpretation.
Appleton teaches the use of threaded studs (i.e., functional equivalent to screws) and nuts to mount a panel to a surface, wherein the threated stud mounts define a gap between the inner facing surface of the panel and the panel being attached to (See Fig. 5, items 56, 58, 60; [0053]-[0057]). Appleton additionally discloses the panel as being of layered design, with two composite (e.g. GRE) layers 38 and 40 around a foam (e.g., open-cell PET) core 36, the panel being sufficient to block some radar frequencies (See Fig. 2; [0046]-[0050]; See Also [0024]-[0025], Fig. 3 and supporting disclosure).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manning to include the fixing screw mechanism of Appleton in order to achieve fixing means configured to define a gap between the second dielectric layer and the surface to be protected, the fixing means being adjustable to set a tuning distance separating the surface to be protected from the second dielectric layer, by the combination.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, because (1) Appleton teaches a common prior art fixing technique applied to a panel to a surface, including variations to mount to different surfaces, (2) an ordinarily skilled artisan would readily understand the technical effects of changing the distance of such a disclosed radar absorber at different distances from a surface, (3) such a skilled artisan would readily recognize the utility of control of this distance, (4) the disclosure regarding mounting of Appleton would lead such a skilled artisan to be able to readily adapt to the panel device of Manning with a reasonable expectation of success, and (5) the combination would achieving predictable results, as the mounting mechanism would function similarly.
Examiner notes that the prior art of record Wu, Zhekov, and Zhou could similarly teach the majority of the limitations of the claim, except for the fixing means limitations taught by Appleton. Examiner believes the combination of each of these documents could be reasonably made with Appleton in a similar manner to Manning, however, a detailed mapping is forgone for brevity.
Regarding claim 27, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Appleton further teaches wherein the fixing means is further configured to mount the radar absorber to the surface to be protected (See Fig. 5, items 56, 58, 60; [0053]-[0057]; Examiner notes that ‘to be protected’ is intended use, and the BRI is accordingly screws, cam mechanisms, and/or functional equivalents capable of mounting the radar absorber to a surface).
Regarding claim 28, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Appleton further teaches wherein the tuning distance separating the surface to be protected from the second dielectric layer comprises an interval between 0 mm and 50 mm ([0054]-[0057]; Examiner notes that the device is directed toward a device, and that the tuning distance is defined in the functional definition of the fixing means (i.e., the required capabilities), and accordingly, this limitation is interpreted under the BRI to require fixing means capable of setting the tuning distance separating the surface from the second dielectric layer in the disclosed interval).
Nevertheless, Appleton is silent with respect to the specific interval the distance is comprised in.
However, the distance is disclosed as variable in order to allow the panel to fit against varying curvatures of the surface to be protected, and the fixing means disclosed could be theoretically adapted to maintain a separation somewhere within the range of 0 mm to 50 mm. Accordingly, all of the required functionality for the required structure is met by the combination.
For completeness:
Because the structure disclosed by Appleton is capable of maintaining such a separation, Manning, in view of Appleton, discloses the claimed invention except for explicit disclosure of the distance is comprised in an interval between 0 mm and 50 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manning, in view of Appleton, to explicitly include the distance is comprised in an interval between 0 mm and 50 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would be naturally motivated to position their absorber device at the distance that inherently best absorbs the desired frequencies, and could readily find such a distance by routine experimentation, given the relatively high level of ordinary skill/knowledge and the mounting instruction of Appleton.
Regarding claim 29, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Appleton further teaches wherein the fixing means comprise screws (See Fig. 5, item(s) 56, which is disclosed as threaded, and thus interpreted as a screw).
Regarding claim 30, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Manning further teaches wherein the frame delimits the volume between the first and the second dielectric layers (See Fig. 4, side walls of device).
Regarding claim 31, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 30.
Manning further teaches wherein an outer periphery (interpreted as an outermost surface of its silhouette) of the frame is covered with a waterproof material (The lateral surfaces of the frame of Manning are waterproof, and thus ‘the outer periphery’ of the frame is ‘covered’ with a waterproof material, as Manning discloses the structure as being sealed apart from the conduit to inject/remove water; See: Figs. 3-4; Col. 8, Line 20 – Col. 9, Line 29).
Regarding claim 36, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Manning further teaches further comprising an insulation material (Interpreted as ‘thermally insulating’ under the BRI) covering the frame (Interpreted as being disposed on an outer periphery of at least part of the frame) configured to maintain the water between 5° C and 45° C (See Figs. 3-4; Col. 8, Line 20 – Col. 9, Line 29, disclosing material on at least part of the outermost surface of the device having materials that an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand to be thermally insulating at least relative to room temperature operation; Examiner notes that Manning does not discuss temperature control, or any particular temperature, which an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand as indicating room temperature operation, and thus, the material disclosed as forming the outermost layer of the frame are interpreted as sufficient to maintain such a temperature; Examiner additionally notes that co-pending US Appl. No. 485,239 does discuss explicit temperature control, including both heating and refrigeration, as well as providing thermal insulation to the device see citation in NFOA0326).
Regarding claim 37, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Manning further teaches wherein the first and the second dielectric layers comprise continuous plates, of constant thickness and are generally planar (See Fig. 4, showing items 40 and 41 being generally planar plates having constant thickness).
Regarding claim 40, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Manning further teaches further comprising a resistive layer placed on an outer surface of the first dielectric layer (See Fig. 4, item 40; Col. 8, Line 68 – Col. 9, Line 15; layer 40 is disclosed as being resistive, and thus comprises a resistive layer on at least an outer surface thereof).
Claims 32-34 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning (USPN US 3325808 A), in view of Appleton (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20130135135 A1) and Wu (DOI: 10.7567/1882-0786/ab0f66) or Zhou (DOI: 10.1016/j.physleta.2019.05.050).
Examiner notes that Zhou is Applicant provided prior art via the IDS dated 02/27/2024.
Regarding claim 32, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Manning does not explicitly teach further comprising ribs arranged between the first and the second dielectric layer.
Each of Wu and Zhou teaches further comprising ribs arranged between the first and the second dielectric layer (Wu: See Fig. 1c, wherein TPU structures that are between the first and second TPU layers form ribs; Zhou: See Fig. 1(a) and 1(c), H1 and H3 layers have joining structures therebetween, forming the ‘I’ shaped water cavities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manning to include further comprising ribs arranged between the first and the second dielectric layer, as taught by each of Wu and Zhou.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, as each of Wu and Zhou pertain to similar radar absorbing devices and each comprise ‘ribs’ arranged therein, and an ordinarily skilled artisan could adapt such a structure to the device of Manning with a reasonable expectation of success, and with predictable results, which would allow one to create arbitrarily shaped water regions, as taught by the disclosed portions of Wu and Zhou, which would allow more control of the absorbing properties of the device, which would be readily apparent to an ordinarily skilled artisan.
Regarding claim 33, Manning, in view of Appleton and Wu or Zhou, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 32.
Each of Wu and Zhou further teaches wherein the ribs form a pattern and the pattern comprises one or more geometric shapes (Wu: See Fig. 1c, wherein the TPU structures between the TPU layers have a pattern, and the pattern includes one or more geometric shapes; Zhou: See Fig. 1(a), showing pattern of blue structures between adjacent water layer unit cells, which include one or more geometric shapes).
Regarding claim 34, Manning, in view of Appleton and Wu or Zhou, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 33.
Each of Wu and Zhou further teaches wherein the pattern is symmetrical (Wu: See Fig. 1c, pattern is symmetrical in according to some axes, and not symmetrical according to other axes; Zhou: See Fig. 1(a), pattern is symmetrical according to some axes and not symmetrical according to other axes).
Regarding claim 49, Manning, in view of Appleton and Wu or Zhou, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 33.
Each of Wu and Zhou further teaches wherein the pattern is not symmetrical (Wu: See Fig. 1c, pattern is symmetrical in according to some axes, and not symmetrical according to other axes; Zhou: See Fig. 1(a), pattern is symmetrical according to some axes and not symmetrical according to other axes).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning (USPN US 3325808 A), in view of Appleton (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20130135135 A1) and Berg (USPN US 4479994 A).
Regarding claim 35, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Manning does not explicitly teach wherein the first and the second dielectric layers are composed of a PolyVinyl Chloride (PVC) or a rubber.
However, Manning discloses the use of a ‘rigid plastic material’, such as ‘glass cloth impregnated with epoxy resin or the like having conducive particles distributed therein’, as well as ‘conventional space cloth” secured to a rigid plastic base, for one of the layers, and the use of PET and/or Mylar (BoPET). Manning discloses using foam rubber as a structure to hold the water between the dielectric layers, however, does not discuss the dielectric layers themselves as being formed of such a rubber.
Examiner notes that Appleton discloses the use of PVC foam as an internal layer for the panels therein (i.e., item 36 in Fig. 2). However, while serving some similar purposes, this is not the same are the dielectric layers at issue, as it serves an equivalent role to the water layer, or alternatively the frame. Nevertheless, Appleton at least discloses the use of PVC as having utility in radar absorbing applications because of its favorable qualities therefor (See [0023]). In other layered structures, Appleton discloses the use of E-glass fibers combined with an epoxy or polyester resin.
Nevertheless, Berg teaches wherein the first and second dielectric layers are composed of a PolyVinyl Chloride (PVC) or a rubber (See Figs. 1-4; Col. 2, Line 50 – Col. 3, Line 3, outermost layers made of PVC for similar reason).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manning to include wherein the first and second dielectric layers are composed of a PolyVinyl Chloride (PVC) or a rubber, as taught by Berg.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one to use a ubiquitous, inexpensive, commercially available alternative to the disclosed PET/Mylar layers of Manning, in the same manner, and for the same purpose, and would achieve predictable results by the substitution of the dielectric layer materials. Examiner notes that the disclosed PVC and PET/Mylar layers are functional equivalents and the respective materials are chosen for absorber devices similar reasons, as disclosed in Berg and Manning.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning (USPN US 3325808 A), in view of Appleton (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20130135135 A1) and Zhou (DOI: 10.1016/j.physleta.2019.05.050).
Regarding claim 38, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 37.
Manning discloses the thickness of the entire absorber as being of various sizes, including as small as 0.05” to as large as 2”. Some exemplary thicknesses are 0.1” (=2.54 mm), ~0.18” (=4.572 mm), ~0.3” (=7.62 mm) (See Fig. 1; Col. 4, Line 3 – Col. 4, Line 73), and discloses changing the thickness of the dielectric layer to adapt to the frequencies desired to attenuate in these sections. Manning explicitly discloses the fluid film of being at about 0.2” (=5.08 mm) at rest, and be limited between 0.1” (=2.54 mm) and 0.3”(=7.62 mm).
Accordingly, Manning discloses a distance between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer is about 2 mm.
However, Manning does not explicitly limit the thicknesses of the two plate layers, and thus does not explicitly teach the first dielectric layer has a thickness of about 4 mm or a thickness of about 2 mm; the second dielectric layer has a thickness of about 2 mm.
Zhou discloses the two dielectric layers as having thicknesses of 1.4 mm and 2.4 mm and the water layer as having a thickness of 2 mm (See Figs. 1 and Section 2).
Accordingly, Zhou discloses wherein:
the first dielectric layer has a thickness of about 4 mm or a thickness of about 2 mm (See Figs. 1 and Section 2, Examiner notes that 1.4 mm and 2.4 mm are each interpreted as ‘about 2 mm’, as the specification of the instant application does not disclose a specific range or example for the scope of ‘about’, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand such values to be ‘about’ 2 mm; Additionally, given the context of the total device of Zhou being of nearly identical thickness, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand such values to fall within what would be understand as ‘about’ such values);
the second dielectric layer has a thickness of about 2 mm (See Figs. 1 and Section 2, Examiner notes that 1.4 mm and 2.4 mm are each interpreted as ‘about 2 mm’, for similar reasons) and for completeness: further teaches a distance between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer is about 2 mm (See Figs. 1 and Section 2, wherein 2 mm is explicitly disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manning to explicitly include the first dielectric layer has a thickness of about 4 mm or a thickness of about 2 mm; the second dielectric layer has a thickness of about 2 mm, as taught by Zhou.
Doing so would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan because Manning discloses such layers without specific dimensional limitation, and Zhou teaches a specific dimensional example from a similar radar absorbing device, and one of ordinary skill in the art could readily adapt the device of Manning according to the dimensional disclosure of Zhou, or similar, using ordinary techniques, the precise thickness thereof being determined according to ordinary experimentation for a particular application, in a similar way to the manner in which Manning discloses adapting the functional layer thickness according to application purposes.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning (USPN US 3325808 A), in view of Appleton (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20130135135 A1) and Wu (DOI: 10.7567/1882-0786/ab0f66).
Regarding claim 39, Manning, in view of Appleton, teaches the radar absorber according to claim 26.
Manning does not explicitly teach further comprising at least one intermediate dielectric layer configured between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer, and the water layer being configured on either side of each intermediate layer.
However, Examiner notes that the BRI of such a limitation would be satisfied by, for example, ribs of dielectric materials, which could reasonably be interpreted as ‘an intermediate layer’, which are disposed between the first and second dielectric layers, and which have water on several sides thereof (which are not particularly limited), as well as various other potential various arrangements having some sort of dielectric structure between the first and second dielectric layers and surrounded by water.
Nevertheless, Wu teaches further comprising at least one intermediate dielectric layer configured between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer, and the water layer being configured on either side of each intermediate layer (See Figs. 1b and 1c, in particular Fig. 1b, which shows two water layers A1 and A2 surrounding TPU layer in the center between two outer TPU layers; Examiner additionally notes that because the rib structure equivalents of Wu are TPU, they would be understood by an ordinarily skilled artisan as being dielectric, and thus satisfy the requirements of the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manning to include further comprising at least one intermediate dielectric layer configured between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer, and the water layer being configured on either side of each intermediate layer, as taught by Wu.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, as Wu pertains to a similar radar absorbing device and comprises intermediate dielectric structures arranged therein, and an ordinarily skilled artisan could adapt such a structure to the device of Manning with a reasonable expectation of success, and with predictable results, which would allow one to create arbitrarily shaped water regions, as taught by the disclosed portions of Wu, which would allow more control of the absorbing properties of the device, which would be readily apparent to an ordinarily skilled artisan.
Examiner notes that Zhou would likely also be sufficient to teach the limitations taught by Wu above, in view of the current breadth of the claim regarding the intermediate layer(s) and its/their disposal.
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (DOI: 10.7567/1882-0786/ab0f66), in view of Manning (USPN US 3325808 A).
Regarding claim 48, Wu teaches the method according to claim 41.
Wu does not explicitly teach further comprising providing a resistive layer on the first dielectric layer.
Manning teaches further comprising providing a resistive layer on the first dielectric layer (See Figs. 3-4, items 11, 40; Col. 8, Line 68 – Col. 9, Line 15; See also disclosure of use of space cloth on outer surface, which an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand as being resistive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include further comprising providing a resistive layer on the first dielectric layer, as taught by Manning.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, as Manning discloses various embodiments of such resistive layers, and an ordinarily skilled artisan could readily adapt such a resistive layer to the device of Wu in a conventional manner, using known materials, with a reasonable expectation of success, and predictable results, and would allow one, as disclosed by Manning, to provide a controllable resistivity to the outer surface and to prevent reflections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J GASSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881