DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 17 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 10, 12 – 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (2019/0118640) in view of Schwarz et al. (5,044,458) and Gady et al. (6,644,428). In regard to claim 1, Nilsson discloses a drivetrain of a working machine comprising at least a first driven axle and a second driven axle (Fig. 3, items 1 and 3), an electric traction motor (Fig. 3, item 30), a transmission (Fig. 3, items 40 and 50), and an axle disengagement device (Fig. 3, item 4), wherein a drive shaft of the transmission is connected to a driven shaft of the electric traction motor (Fig. 3), wherein a first driven shaft of the transmission is connected to a drive shaft of the axle disengagement device (Fig. 3), wherein a driven shaft of the axle disengagement device is configured to be connected to the first axle (Fig. 3), wherein a second driven shaft of the transmission is configured to be connected to the second axle (Fig. 3), and wherein the driven shaft of the electric traction motor, the first driven shaft of the transmission and the second driven shaft of the transmission extend in one plane (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 2, Nilsson discloses wherein the drive shaft of the transmission also extends in the plane (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 3, Nilsson discloses wherein the drive shaft of the axle disengagement device also extends in the plane (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 4, Nilsson discloses wherein the driven shaft of the axle disengagement device also extends in the plane (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 5, Nilsson discloses wherein respective shafts of the drivetrain extending in the plane are arranged axially parallel to one another (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 7, Nilsson discloses wherein the plane extends in a transverse direction of the vehicle (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 9, Nilsson discloses wherein the drivetrain comprises a control device for the axle disengagement device, and wherein the control device is arranged on the transmission (paragraph 23).
Nilsson does not disclose varying sized wheels. In regard to claim 1, Schwarz discloses a drivetrain of a working vehicle wherein respective wheels of a first driven axle have a smaller effective diameter than respective wheels of a second axle (Fig. 1, items 12 and 14).
In regard to claim 12, Schwarz discloses wherein the working machine has the first driven axle and the second driven axle and wherein respective wheels of the first axle have a smaller effective diameter than respective wheels of the second axle (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 13, Schwarz discloses wherein the first axle is arranged offset to the second axle in a vertical direction of the vehicle (inherent in a vehicle utilizing differing diameter wheels).
Nilsson in view of Schwarz does not disclose the use of a neutral position for the transmission or a parking brake. In regard to claims 8 and 10, Official Notice was taken and not traversed that a neutral gear in a transmission and a parking brake are both old and well known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be well within their level of knowledge to provide them in a modern vehicle. As such, this finding is considered admitted prior art.
In regard to claim 15, the language relating to the use of the drivetrain in a backhoe loader is considered to be a recitation of intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Nilsson in view of Schwarz does not disclose the motor driven shaft and the first and second transmission shafts having their axis of rotation in a common plane. In regard to claim 1, Gady discloses a drivetrain of a working machine comprising an axis of rotation of each of a driven shaft of an electric traction motor (Figs. 1 and 3, item 50), a first driven shaft of a transmission (Figs. 1 and 3, item 52) and a second driven shaft of the transmission (Figs. 1 and 3, item 54) extend in one plane (Figs. 1 and 3).
The addition of these features would result in a predictable variation that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, which has been held unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art. Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BAPI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (2019/0118640) in view of Schwarz et al. (5,044,458) and Gady et al. (6,644,428) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 7 – 10, 12 – 13, and 15 above, and further in view of Young et al. (5,551,526). Nilsson in view of Schwarz and Gady does not disclose the use of wheel hub transmissions. In regard to claim 14, Young discloses a working machine comprising at least a first driven axle or a second driven axle including a wheel hub transmission (Fig. 1, items 24, 26, 76, and 78).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wheel hub transmission of Young, to the working machine of Nilsson in view of Schwarz and Gady, in order to effectively and efficiently control braking and power distribution to the wheels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 5, 7 – 10, and 12 – 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 – 17 are allowed.
Claims 6 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Nilsson (2019/0118640) discloses a drivetrain of a working machine similar to the instant invention; however Nilsson, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests a drivetrain of a working machine wherein (in regard to claims 6 and 16) wherein the first driven shaft of the transmission is arranged coaxially to the driven shaft of the electric traction motor and wherein the second driven shaft of the transmission is arranged offset to the first driven shaft of the transmission, and (in regard to claims 11 and 17) wherein the first driven shaft of the transmission is connected to the drive shaft of the axle disengagement device by means of a first cardan shaft and wherein the second driven shaft of the transmission is connected to the second axle by means of a second cardan shaft. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613