CTNF 18/687,394 CTNF 87683 Detailed Action 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is responsive to the 4/01/2024 communication(s). As per the claims filed 2/28/2024: Claims 1-19, 32 were amended. Claims 20-31, 33 were cancelled. No claims were added. Claims 1-19, 32 are pending. Claim(s) 1, 17, 32 is/are independent claim(s). Note Regarding Prior Art Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Note Regarding AIA Status 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed “computer storage medium storing a computer program” is not limited to only a non-transitory machine-readable medium. The Specification of the instant application is silent as to what encompasses a “computer storage medium”. Accordingly, the claimed “computer storage medium” does not fall within a category of patent eligible subject matter and is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 16-19, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Aki Leinonen et al.(US PG Pub No. 20160285273; Published: 09/29/2016)(hereinafter: Leinonen) . Claim 1: As per independent claim 1, Leinonen discloses a power supporting system for an electrical power grid, the power supporting system comprising a first power support handling unit and a first power support node, the first power support node comprising a first bank of energy storage units and a first interface to the power grid with one separate connection per phase [[0007] a device for generating compensating currents, the device comprising: [0008] a switch bridge, [0009] an inductor unit, [0010] an energy storage unit, [0011] a control unit, [0012] a signal input for receiving a first monitoring signal indicative of the voltages of input nodes of a three-phase alternating current network, [0013] a signal output for controlling a switch unit,] the first power support handling unit comprising a processor acting on computer instructions whereby the first power support handling unit is operative to: obtain phase voltages of the power grid having been measured at least one measurement point [[0012] a signal input for receiving a first monitoring signal indicative of the voltages of input nodes of a three-phase alternating current network, and control the first power support node to support at least one of the phase voltages of the power grid based on an analysis of each of the phase voltages with regard to meeting a desired phase voltage level, which support involves using at least one energy storage unit of the first bank of energy storage units [ [0022] the input nodes are disconnected from the output nodes by a switch unit, [0023] the switch bridge and the inductor unit provide at least a first auxiliary current so as to provide reserve power for the load during the voltage sag situation, wherein the switch bridge and the inductor unit generate the first auxiliary current by transferring energy from the energy storage unit [0179] The method for compensating a distorted current waveform of a three-phase network 900 may comprise: [0180] measuring a load current I.sub.1L, [0181] determining a compensating current I.sub.1D based on the measured load current I.sub.1L, [0182] generating the compensating current I.sub.1D by using a combination of a switch bridge 200 and inductors L1, L2, L3 to transfer energy from the three-phase network 900 to a capacitor CA and to return energy from the capacitor CA to the three-phase network 900,]. Claim 2: As per claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Leinonen discloses wherein the first power support handling unit is operative to perform the control also based on a request for voltage support from the power grid [[0027] The voltages of the network may sometimes be too low due to a problem in a primary power supply, due to a problem in the network, and/or due to a problem in another load… [0028] The energy stored in the energy storage unit may be utilized to provide reserve power for the load during the reserve period. [0029] The reserve power may be provided by using the same inductors and the same switch bridge, which are used for generating the compensating currents.] The request by the network is implicit since it requests compensating currents due to decompensation. Claim 3: As per claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Leinonen discloses wherein the first power support handling unit is further operative to, when being operative to control the first power support node to support at least one of the phase voltages, control the first power support node to support the at least one of the phase voltages of the power grid with support power corresponding to at least a part of the power that the power grid needs assistance with for meeting the corresponding desired phase voltage level [[0057] The power conditioning device 600 may be arranged to monitor the load currents I.sub.0L, I.sub.1L, I.sub.2L, I.sub.3L, and to generate the compensating currents I.sub.0D, I.sub.1D, I.sub.2D, I.sub.3D, which may be added to the load currents I.sub.1L, I.sub.2L, I.sub.3L at the output nodes T0, T1, T2, T3. The input current I.sub.1T of the first phase PH1 may be equal to the sum of the load current I.sub.1L and the compensating current I.sub.1D. The input current I.sub.2T of the second phase PH2 may be equal to the sum of the load current I.sub.2L and the compensating current I.sub.2D. The input current I.sub.3T of the third phase PH3 may be equal to the sum of the load current I.sub.3L and the compensating current I.sub.3D. The input current I.sub.0T of the neutral phase PH0 may be equal to the sum of the load current I.sub.0L and the compensating current I.sub.0D. As a result, the output nodes T0, T1, T2, T3 may draw input currents I.sub.0T, I.sub.1T, I.sub.2T, I.sub.3T from the input nodes IN0, IN1, IN2, IN3.]. The input current of the first phase is equal to the sum of the load current and the compensating current. Claim 6: As per claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Leinonen discloses wherein the first power support handling unit is further operative to control the first power support node to support at least one of the phase voltages of the power grid also based on an investigation of condition information of the energy storage units of the first power support node [[0223] The energy storage unit 500 may comprise a voltage sensor unit 510 for monitoring voltages V.sub.CA, V.sub.CB of the capacitors CA, CB. The voltage sensor unit 510 may comprise a voltage sensor M4 for monitoring the voltage V.sub.CA of the first capacitor CA and/or a voltage sensor M4 for monitoring the voltage V.sub.CB of the second capacitor CB. The voltage sensor unit 510 may provide a monitoring signal S.sub.C indicative of the voltage V.sub.CA and/or V.sub.CB.] Monitoring means are present to read the voltages of the energy storage units. Claim 7: As per claim 7, which depends on claim 6, Leinonen discloses wherein the condition information comprises information about available energy in the energy storage units [[0223] The energy storage unit 500 may comprise a voltage sensor unit 510 for monitoring voltages V.sub.CA, V.sub.CB of the capacitors CA, CB. The voltage sensor unit 510 may comprise a voltage sensor M4 for monitoring the voltage V.sub.CA of the first capacitor CA and/or a voltage sensor M4 for monitoring the voltage V.sub.CB of the second capacitor CB. The voltage sensor unit 510 may provide a monitoring signal S.sub.C indicative of the voltage V.sub.CA and/or V.sub.CB.] Voltage provides information of available energy. Claim 16: As per claim 16, which depends on claim 1, Leinonen discloses wherein the interface of each power support node comprises at least one power supply unit for supporting the phase voltages [[0053] Referring to FIG. 1, an energy distribution system 900 may comprise conductors CBL1, which are arranged to transfer electrical energy from a primary power supply 700 to a load 800. The energy distribution system 900 may be e.g. a three-phase electric power network 900. The primary supply 700 may provide three-phase alternating currents I.sub.1T, I.sub.2T, I.sub.3T to input nodes IN1, IN2, IN3. The currents I.sub.1T, I.sub.2T, I.sub.3T may be called e.g. as input currents. The conductors CBL1 may be arranged to conduct the input currents I.sub.1T, I.sub.2T, I.sub.3T from the input nodes IN1, IN2, IN3 to output nodes T1, T2, T3. The node IN1 may be an input node for the first phase PH1, the node IN2 may be an input node for the second phase PH2, and the node IN3 may be an input node for the third phase PH3]. Claim 17: As per independent claim 17, Leinonen discloses a method of supporting an electrical power grid, the method being at least partly performed by a first power support handling unit of a power supporting system that comprises a first power support node having a first bank of energy storage units and a first interface to the power grid with one separate connection per phase [[0007] a device for generating compensating currents, the device comprising: [0008] a switch bridge, [0009] an inductor unit, [0010] an energy storage unit, [0011] a control unit, [0012] a signal input for receiving a first monitoring signal indicative of the voltages of input nodes of a three-phase alternating current network, [0013] a signal output for controlling a switch unit,] , the method comprising: obtaining phase voltages of the power grid having been measured at least one measurement point [[0012] a signal input for receiving a first monitoring signal indicative of the voltages of input nodes of a three-phase alternating current network,] ; and controlling the first power support node to support at least one of the phase voltages of the power grid based on an analysis of each of the phase voltages with regard to meeting a desired phase voltage level, which support involves using at least one energy storage unit of the first bank of energy storage units [[0022] the input nodes are disconnected from the output nodes by a switch unit, [0023] the switch bridge and the inductor unit provide at least a first auxiliary current so as to provide reserve power for the load during the voltage sag situation, wherein the switch bridge and the inductor unit generate the first auxiliary current by transferring energy from the energy storage unit [0179] The method for compensating a distorted current waveform of a three-phase network 900 may comprise: [0180] measuring a load current I.sub.1L, [0181] determining a compensating current I.sub.1D based on the measured load current I.sub.1L, [0182] generating the compensating current I.sub.1D by using a combination of a switch bridge 200 and inductors L1, L2, L3 to transfer energy from the three-phase network 900 to a capacitor CA and to return energy from the capacitor CA to the three-phase network 900,]. Claim 18: As per claim 18, which depends on claim 17, Leinonen discloses wherein the supporting is also based on a request for voltage support from the power grid . [[0027] The voltages of the network may sometimes be too low due to a problem in a primary power supply, due to a problem in the network, and/or due to a problem in another load… [0028] The energy stored in the energy storage unit may be utilized to provide reserve power for the load during the reserve period. [0029] The reserve power may be provided by using the same inductors and the same switch bridge, which are used for generating the compensating currents.] The request by the network is implicit since it requests compensating currents due to decompensation. Claim 19: As per claim 19, which depends on 18, Leinonen discloses wherein the request comprises the desired phase voltage level. [[0057] The power conditioning device 600 may be arranged to monitor the load currents I.sub.0L, I.sub.1L, I.sub.2L, I.sub.3L, and to generate the compensating currents I.sub.0D, I.sub.1D, I.sub.2D, I.sub.3D, which may be added to the load currents I.sub.1L, I.sub.2L, I.sub.3L at the output nodes T0, T1, T2, T3. The input current I.sub.1T of the first phase PH1 may be equal to the sum of the load current I.sub.1L and the compensating current I.sub.1D. The input current I.sub.2T of the second phase PH2 may be equal to the sum of the load current I.sub.2L and the compensating current I.sub.2D. The input current I.sub.3T of the third phase PH3 may be equal to the sum of the load current I.sub.3L and the compensating current I.sub.3D. The input current I.sub.0T of the neutral phase PH0 may be equal to the sum of the load current I.sub.0L and the compensating current I.sub.0D. As a result, the output nodes T0, T1, T2, T3 may draw input currents I.sub.0T, I.sub.1T, I.sub.2T, I.sub.3T from the input nodes IN0, IN1, IN2, IN3.]. The input current of the first phase is equal to the sum of the load current and the compensating current. Claim 32: As per independent claim 32, it recites a computer storage medium storing a computer program. The computer program comprising computer program code which when run by a processor of a first power support handling unit of the power supporting system, causes the first power support handling unit to: perform the steps of the method of claim 17, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 17 above . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 4-5, 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the cited prior art of record, alone or in any reasonable combination discloses the limitations of claims 4, 8, 10. Claims 5, 9, 11-14 are objected based on their dependency on an objected base claim . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Contact Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HOWARD CORTES whose telephone number is (571)270-1383. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott T Baderman can be reached on (571)272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HOWARD CORTES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118