DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is responsive to the communication(s) filed on 05/28/2024. Claims 1-20, of which claims 1 and 15 are independent, were pending in this application and are considered below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the Applicant's indication of National Stage entry from the International Application No. PCT/US2021/051055 field 09/20/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited on the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2024 and 06/11/2025 have been considered and made of record by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Replace “independent claim” (line 12 of page 1) with –independent claims 1 and 15”, because currently there is only these two independent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 USC § 112, first paragraph
Examiner Note: The Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) made technical changes to 35 U.S.C. § 112 that only apply to patent applications filed on or after on September 16, 2012.
The test for enablement is whether Applicant's specification provides sufficient detail so one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing could make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988); MPEP § 2164.01. To determine whether the amount of experimentation would be undue, or unreasonable, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has enumerated several non-exclusive factors, any of which may not apply in agiven case. In re Wands at 1404; MPEP § 2164.01(a). The factors include (A) the breadth of the claims; (B) the nature of the invention; (C) the state of the prior art; (D) the level of one of ordinary skill; (E) the level of predictability in the art; (F) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) the existence of working examples; and (H) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. In re Wands at 1404; MPEP § 2614.01(a). The scope of enablement provided by a disclosure must be commensurate in scope with the scope of protection sought by the claims. AK Steel Corp. v. Sollac, 344 F.3d 1234, 1244, 68 USPQ2d 1280, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP § 2164.08. Moreover, "[i]t is the specification, not the knowledge of one skilled in the art, that must supply the novel aspects of an invention in order to constitute adequate enablement." Automotive Technologies International Inc. v. BMW of North America Inc., 84 USPQ2d 1108, 1114-15 (Fed. Cir. 2007)
Applicant's Specification must provide written description support for all that is claimed. See 35 USC § 112 ¶ 1; MPEP § 2163. Written description support requires a disclosure that would reasonably convey Applicant's possession of all claimed subject matter to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1172 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc); MPEP § 2163. While written description support requires neither in haec verba description of the claim limitations nor any particular form of disclosure, all claim limitations must be equivalently described and not merely rendered obvious. Ariad at 1162. Accordingly, a patent claim cannot recite subject matter that is not expressly, implicitly or inherently disclosed by Applicant's written description. See Hyatt v. Boone, 47 USPQ2d 1128, 1131 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Wright, 9 USPQ2d 1649, 1651 (Fed. Cir. 1989); MPEP § 2163.
Reasonable possession of a claimed invention is also not shown when the disclosure merely amounts to a hoped for result, instead of a specifically claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed Cir 1997). In Eli Lilly, the court held that where a specification merely includes generic statements that distinguish multiple genus by function alone, those statements are generally insufficient sources of written description support because they fail to define structures/identities of species within the genus. Patents must describe "an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention." Id.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter ““an apparatus”” (line 1 of claims 1 and 15), which is broader than the enabling disclosure.
Regarding claim 1, which is illustrated in Fig. 11, the specification disclose: “FIG. 11 illustrates a flow chart according to an exemplary embodiment. The functions illustrated in FIG. 11 may be performed by an apparatus such as, or comprised in, a terminal device or a base station.” (lines 2-4 of page 36; emphasis added). Therefore, the apparatus of claim 1 is limited only to be either a terminal device or a base station.
Regarding claim 15, which is illustrated in Fig. 12, the specification disclose: “FIG. 12 illustrates a flow chart according to an exemplary embodiment. The functions illustrated in FIG. 12 may be performed by an apparatus such as, or comprised in, a network element of a wireless communication network.” (lines 5-7 of page 38; emphasis added). Therefore, the apparatus of claim 15 is limited only to be a network element.
Regarding claims 2-14 and 16-20, claims are rejected due to their dependency to the rejected claims 1 and 15, correspondingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 USC § 35 USC § 112, second paragraph
Examiner Note: The Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) made technical changes to 35 U.S.C. § 112 that only apply to patent applications filed on or after on September 16, 2012.
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention
Regarding claim 1, claim recites the limitation “at least one positioning signal” (line 10 of claim 1). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is recommended to replace the limitation with phrase --at least one first positioning signal--.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, claims recite “communicate, during a positioning session for positioning of the apparatus, at least one first positioning signal in a first positioning state of at least two positioning states configured for the positioning session … the first and second positioning states correspond to different reference signal configuration used for communicating the at least one positioning signal” (lines 5-11 of claim 1 – truncated, emphasis added), and “transmit … an indication to communicate at least one positioning signal by switching from a first positioning state to a second positioning state of at least two positioning states configured for the positioning session, wherein the first and second positioning states correspond to different reference signal configurations used for communicating of the at least one positioning signal.” (lines 5-11 of claim 15 – truncated, emphasis added), which term “different … configuration” makes it vague and indefinite. It is not clear what term “different … configuration” is referring to, e.g., does it refers to “carrier frequency” or “frequency hopping scheme or bandwidth”, or some or all or other configurations? which leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers to, thereby rendering the definition of the subject matter of the claim indefinite.
The specification merely disclose: “Referring to FIG. 2, the UE and TRPs are configured with two positioning states: a first positioning state 201 called "position_fix", and a second positioning state 202 called "position_tracking". For example, the "position_fix" state may be triggered when the UE is localized for the first time, or when the required location accuracy is very high. On the other hand, the "position_tracking" state may deploy a more relaxed positioning session, where the LMF has some information about the UE trajectory, speed, and/or past locations, and can locate the UE with a smaller number of instantaneous measurements.” (line 30 of page 17 to line 5 of page 18 – emphasis added). “It should be noted that the multi-state configuration may also comprise more than two positioning states, i.e., state 1, ... , state N, wherein the states may have different degrees of complexity, latency, and/or accuracy.” (lines 27-29 of page 19 – emphasis added).
As cited above, the specification specifically disclose switching from position_fix to position -tracking which is change of approach. Therefore, claims should specify that the reconfiguration/switching relates to such change of approach. For instance, Akkarakaran et al. (see IDS) disclose: “The BSA may include various parameters for each cell/TRP, such as ... configuration information for one or more reference signals (e.g., PRS or CRS) transmitted by the base station or cell/TRP (e.g., carrier frequency, bandwidth, frequency hopping scheme, encoding, muting pattern, timing and occurrence of transmissions, direction of transmission(s), horizontal and/or vertical beam width(s)) ...” (¶¶[0085]-[0092] – truncated, emphasis added), which are common known adapting, when UE receives the base station almanac (BSA) from a network node. However, in Akkarakaran et al., the approach, before and after such adaptation and change, remain the same, e.g., fast and coarse positioning happens at the cost of accuracy. But this is not the case in the claimed invention, because it is contrary to the invention in which complexity, latency, and/or accuracy before and after aforesaid adaptation and change are not the same. Therefore, the claim should describe that reconfiguration/switching relates to a change in approach, i.e. switching e.g., from position_fix to position_tracking. Hence, it is recommended to replace the limitation with phrase --communicate, during a positioning session for positioning of the apparatus, at least one first positioning signal in a first positioning state of at least two positioning states configured for the positioning session … the first and second positioning states correspond to different reference signal configuration used for communicating the at least one positioning signal, wherein the first and second positioning states have different degrees of complexity, latency and/or accuracy.--.
Claims 1 and 15 also recite “an apparatus” which is vague and indefinite because the type of apparatus is not clear.
Regarding claim 1, which is illustrated in Fig. 11, the specification disclose: “FIG. 11 illustrates a flow chart according to an exemplary embodiment. The functions illustrated in FIG. 11 may be performed by an apparatus such as, or comprised in, a terminal device or a base station.” (lines 2-4 of page 36; emphasis added), i.e., the apparatus of claim 1 is limited only to be either a terminal device or a base station.
Regarding claim 15, which is illustrated in Fig. 12, the specification disclose: “FIG. 12 illustrates a flow chart according to an exemplary embodiment. The functions illustrated in FIG. 12 may be performed by an apparatus such as, or comprised in, a network element of a wireless communication network.” (lines 5-7 of page 38; emphasis added), i.e., the apparatus of claim 15 is limited only to be a network element.
Regarding claims 2-14 and 16-20, claims are rejected due to their dependency to the rejected claims 1 and 15, correspondingly.
Examiner Note - It is noted that similar issues has been raised by the European patent office in the “extended European search report” for European patent application No. EP 21957698 A1 dated 04/17/2025 (see IDS) in which the applicant concurred in their response “Amendments received before examination” on 10/10/2025 (see attached) by amending the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The foregoing obviousness inquiry requires an expansive and flexible approach, not a rigid approach demanding express teachings, suggestions and motivations to combine prior art teachings. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 97 (US 2007). The rationale supporting a conclusion of obviousness should be made explicit for review, but the rationale does not require precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the claim. Id. at 1396. A rejection can rely on inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ. Id. Obviousness rejections are not limited to showing the obviousness of solutions to the problems Applicant was trying to solve. Id. at 1397. Rather, one can show obviousness of a claim by establishing the obviousness of any solution to any known problem in the field of endeavor and addressed by a patent application's subject matter. Id. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art is not an automaton, but is possessed of ordinary creativity. Id. One of ordinary skill could find alternative uses for prior art elements beyond the elements' primary purposes and fit prior art teachings together like a puzzle. Id. A combination of prior art teachings does not require absolute predictability. Eli Lilly and Co. v. Zenith Goldline Pharmaceuticals Inc., 81 USPQ2d 1324, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2006). All that is required is a reasonable expectation of success. Id.
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0314791 A1 to Akkarakaran et al.
Regarding claim 1, Akkarakaran et al. disclose an apparatus in a wireless communication network, the apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (¶[0129]: "The various illustrative logical blocks, modules, and circuits described in connection with the aspects disclosed herein may be implemented or performed with a general purpose processor"; ¶[0130]: "An exemplary storage medium is coupled to the processor such that the processor can read information from, and write information to, the storage medium."; ¶[0131]), to cause the apparatus to:
receive, during a positioning session for positioning of the apparatus (¶[0002]: “secured transmission of base station location information to a UE to assist with positioning of the UE”; i.e., terminal device), at least one first positioning signal in a first positioning state of at least two positioning states configured for the positioning session (¶[0005]: “reference signals transmitted by base stations in a manner similar to LTE wireless networks utilization of positioning reference signals (PRS) and/or cell-specific reference signals (CRS) for position determination.”; ¶[0087]: "configuration information for one or more reference signals (e.g., PRS or CRS) transmitted by the base station or cell/TRP (e.g., carrier frequency, bandwidth, frequency hopping scheme, encoding, muting pattern, timing and occurrence of transmissions, direction of transmission(s), horizontal and/or vertical beam width(s))”; ¶¶[0097]-[0098]);
switch (¶¶[0097]-[0098]: “…the periodic configuration changes as described above …”) {see ¶[0087] for configuration changes related to PRS; switch is the reconfiguring due to periodic configuration change, e.g., from a 1st configuration to a 2nd configuration} from the first positioning state (1st configuration) to a second positioning state of the at least two positioning states (2nd configuration), wherein the first and second positioning states correspond to different reference signal configurations used for communicating the at least one positioning signal (¶¶[0097]-[0098]: “…the periodic configuration changes as described above …”); and
receive at least one second positioning signal in the second positioning state during the positioning session (¶[0087]; ¶¶[0097]-[0098]). Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above except for expressly teaching that the apparatus communicate the reference signal and instead disclose that the terminal receive the reference signal. However, the feature merely define one of several straightforward possibilities which the skilled person would select, depending on the circumstances, in order to solve the problem posed, because the one of the ordinary skills in the art not only understands that network devices sending reference signals, e.g., DL-PRS, but also knows that the terminals sending reference signals, e.g., UL-SRS. Akkarakaran et al. in ¶¶ [0096-0098] disclose that it is the network node initiating a configuration change by notifying the UE about configuration changes for DL-PRS. Under KSR the known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives and is considered obvious. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try to apply the same mechanism to UL based positioning, i.e. the terminal communicates towards the network configuration changes for UL-SRS to reach at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein different amount of radio resources are utilized for communicating the at least one first positioning signal and the at least one second positioning signal in the first and second positioning states, respectively (¶¶[0085]-[0092]: “The BSA may include various parameters for each cell/TRP, such as ... configuration information for one or more reference signals (e.g., PRS or CRS) transmitted by the base station or cell/TRP (e.g., … bandwidth … The above list is not necessarily exhaustive. Also, all of the parameters may be per base station, per sector ( e.g., for three-sector base stations), per panel, or per antenna.”) {which suggests, e.g., the variation of bandwidth, i.e., variation of the radio resource which otherwise is fixed in the standard}.
Regarding claim 3, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the at least one second positioning signal is received in the second positioning state by using a different beamforming structure compared to that used for reception of the at least one first positioning signal in the first positioning state (¶[0087]: “configuration information for one or more reference signals (e.g., PRS or CRS) transmitted by the base station or cell/TRP (e.g., … horizontal and/or vertical beam
width(s))”, which suggests the variation of beams, which otherwise is fixed in the standard.).
Regarding claim 4, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose as stated above, except for expressly teaching wherein the at least one second positioning signal is received in the second positioning state by using a different sampling rate compared to that used for reception of the at least one first positioning signal in the first positioning state. Akkarakaran et al. disclose “The BSA may include various parameters for each cell/TRP … The above list is not necessarily exhaustive.” (¶¶[0085]-[0092]) – truncated), which suggests varying the sampling rate merely define one of several straightforward possibilities which the skilled person would select, depending on the circumstances, in order to solve the problem posed. Under KSR the known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives and is considered obvious. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, based on teaching of Akkarakaran et al. to try to vary the sampling rate to reach at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose as stated above, except for expressly teaching wherein the at least one second positioning signal is received in the second positioning state by measuring a different number of transmission and reception points compared to that measured for reception of the at least one first positioning signal in the first positioning state. However, the feature merely define one of several straightforward possibilities which the skilled person would select, depending on the circumstances, in order to solve the problem posed, because the one of the ordinary skills in the art understands the fact that as UE moving, it will , based on its location, receives a different number of reference signals, pending upon the number of base stations which are reachable at its location, which suggest different number of transmission and reception points. Furthermore, Akkarakaran et al. also disclose ) … antenna panel orientation.” (¶¶[0085]-[0092]) – truncated, emphasis added), which suggests that the antenna panel orientation appropriate for a new position of UE might not be available, resulting in different number of transmission and reception points. Akkarakaran et al. further disclose “The BSA may include various parameters for each cell/TRP … timing and occurrence of transmissions …” (¶¶[0085]-[0092]) – truncated, emphasis added), which suggests a variable for occurrence of transmission, which could be set to e.g., “zero”. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, based on teaching of Akkarakaran et al. to try to choose different number of transmission and reception point to reach at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the at least one second positioning signal is communicated in the second positioning state by using at least one of: a different number of repetitions, a different periodicity, a different bandwidth, a different comb pattern, and/or a different quantity of transmission and reception points compared to that used for communication of the at least one first positioning signal in the first positioning state (¶[0087]: “configuration information for one or more reference signals (e.g., PRS or CRS) transmitted by the base station or cell/TRP (e.g., … bandwidth…”; ¶[0084]: “there could be a change once every 100 radio frames, but the exact frame at which the change occurs may itself vary based on another pseudorandom sequence generator, with the sequence key itself provided only to subscribed VEs.”).
Regarding claim 7, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive a message indicative of a configuration for the at least two positioning states, wherein the configuration comprises one or more conditions for switching to the second positioning state from the first positioning state during the positioning session (¶[0007]: "method performed by a user equipment (UE) … receiving a change notification from the network node, and applying changes to the positioning signal parameters of the positioning signals in accordance with the change notification.”)
Regarding claim 8, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine that the one or more conditions are fulfilled based at least partly on at least one of: a mobility status of the apparatus, a radio resource control state of the apparatus, one or more quality of service requirements of the apparatus, a battery life of the apparatus, a handover experienced by the apparatus, a beam switch experienced by the apparatus, a reference signal received power variation, and/or a timing advance variation (¶¶[0106]-[0111]]: "the change notification may notify the UE regarding ... Changes to cell-IDs of one or more base stations ... Changes to PRS-IDs and/or PRS configurations (e.g., beam shapes) of one or more base stations ... Changes to timing delays of transmissions from one or more base stations, either to the entire frame or to PRS only ... Changes to mapping of SSB and/or PRS index to their corresponding beam shapes for one or more base stations ... Changes to antenna panel orientations for one or more base stations.").
Regarding claim 12, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: indicate, to one or more network elements of a wireless communication network, the switch to the second positioning state during the positioning session by transmitting two or more positioning measurement reports, wherein the switch to the second positioning state during the positioning session is based on a difference between the two or more positioning measurement reports (¶¶[0097]-[0098]: “…the periodic configuration changes as described above …”) {see ¶[0087] for configuration changes related to PRS; switch is the reconfiguring due to periodic configuration change, e.g., from a 1st configuration to a 2nd configuration}.
Regarding claim 13, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive an indication indicating to switch from the first positioning state to the second positioning state during the positioning session (¶[0084]: “The change may also not necessarily be strictly periodic ... the change occurs may itself vary based on another pseudorandom sequence generator, with the sequence key itself provided only to subscribed VEs ... which can be shared with authorized VEs as needed.”).
Regarding claim 14, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the apparatus comprises, or is comprised in, a terminal device (¶[0002]: “secured transmission of base station location information to a UE to assist with positioning of the UE”; i.e., terminal device).
Regarding claim 15, Akkarakaran et al. disclose an apparatus in a wireless communication network, the apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (¶[0129]: "The various illustrative logical blocks, modules, and circuits described in connection with the aspects disclosed herein may be implemented or performed with a general purpose processor"; ¶[0130]: "An exemplary storage medium is coupled to the processor such that the processor can read information from, and write information to, the storage medium."; ¶[0131]), to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, during a positioning session for positioning of a terminal device in the wireless communication network (¶[0002]: “secured transmission of base station location information to a UE to assist with positioning of the UE”; i.e., Terminal), to one or more network elements in the wireless communication network (¶[0007]: "method performed by a user equipment (UE) is disclosed. The method may comprise receiving a base station almanac (BSA) from a network node of a wireless communication network."), an indication to(¶[0005]: “reference signals transmitted by base stations in a manner similar to LTE wireless networks utilization of positioning reference signals (PRS) and/or cell-specific reference signals (CRS) for position determination.”; ¶[0087]: "configuration information for one or more reference signals (e.g., PRS or CRS) transmitted by the base station or cell/TRP (e.g., carrier frequency, bandwidth, frequency hopping scheme, encoding, muting pattern, timing and occurrence of transmissions, direction of transmission(s), horizontal and/or vertical beam width(s))”; ¶¶[0097]-[0098]) by switching (¶¶[0097]-[0098]: “…the periodic configuration changes as described above …”) {see ¶[0087] for configuration changes related to PRS; switch is reconfiguring due to periodic configuration change, e.g., from a 1st configuration to a 2nd configuration} from a first positioning state (1st configuration) to a second positioning state (2nd configuration) of at least two positioning states configured for the positioning session, wherein the first and second positioning states correspond to different reference signal configurations used for communicating of the at least one positioning signal (¶¶[0097]-[0098]: “…the periodic configuration changes as described above …”). Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above except for expressly teaching that the apparatus communicate the reference signal and instead disclose that the terminal receive the reference signal. However, the feature merely define one of several straightforward possibilities which the skilled person would select, depending on the circumstances, in order to solve the problem posed. Under KSR the known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives and is considered obvious. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try to choose from a finites number of ways to communicate the reference signal to reach at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein different amount of radio resources are utilized for communicating the at least one positioning signal in the first and second positioning states, respectively (¶¶[0085]-[0092]: “The BSA may include various parameters for each cell/TRP, such as ... configuration information for one or more reference signals (e.g., PRS or CRS) transmitted by the base station or cell/TRP (e.g., … bandwidth … The above list is not necessarily exhaustive. Also, all of the parameters may be per base station, per sector ( e.g., for three-sector base stations), per panel, or per antenna.”) {which suggests, e.g., the variation of bandwidth, i.e., variation of the radio resource which otherwise is fixed in the standard}.
Regarding claim 17, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the second positioning state indicates to transmit the at least one positioning signal by using at least one of: a different number of repetitions, a different periodicity, a different bandwidth, a different comb pattern, and/or a different number of transmission and reception points compared to that used for transmission of the at least one positioning signal in the first positioning state ¶[0087]: “configuration information for one or more reference signals (e.g., PRS or CRS) transmitted by the base station or cell/TRP (e.g., … bandwidth…”; ¶[0084]: “there could be a change once every 100 radio frames, but the exact frame at which the change occurs may itself vary based on another pseudorandom sequence generator, with the sequence key itself provided only to subscribed VEs.”).
Regarding claim 18, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: transmit a message indicative of a configuration for the at least two positioning states, wherein the configuration comprises one or more conditions for switching between the at least two positioning states for communicating of the at least one positioning signal (¶[0005]: “reference signals transmitted by base stations in a manner similar to LTE wireless networks utilization of positioning reference signals (PRS) and/or cell-specific reference signals (CRS) for position determination.”; ¶¶[0097]-[0098]: “…the periodic configuration changes as described above …”) {see ¶[0087] for configuration changes related to PRS; switch is the reconfiguring due to periodic configuration change, e.g., from a 1st configuration to a 2nd configuration}.
Regarding claim 19, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine to transmit the indication based at least partly on at least one of: a change in a mobility status of the terminal device, a change of a radio resource control state of the terminal device, one or more quality of service requirements of the terminal device, a battery life of the terminal device, a handover associated with the terminal device, and/or a beam switch associated with the terminal device, wherein the indication to switch to the second positioning state is transmitted in response to the determining (¶¶[0106]-[0111]]: "the change notification may notify the UE regarding ... Changes to cell-IDs of one or more base stations ... Changes to PRS-IDs and/or PRS configurations (e.g., beam shapes) of one or more base stations ... Changes to timing delays of transmissions from one or more base stations, either to the entire frame or to PRS only ... Changes to mapping of SSB and/or PRS index to their corresponding beam shapes for one or more base stations ... Changes to antenna panel orientations for one or more base stations.").
Regarding claim 20, Akkarakaran et al. disclose as stated above. Akkarakaran et al. also disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine the change in the mobility status of the terminal device based at least partly on at least one of: a change in a reference signal received power metric, a change in a received signal strength indicator metric, a change in a channel quality indicator metric, a change in a timing advance metric, a change of a serving beam index, and/or a change in a maximum Doppler shift estimate (¶¶[0106]-[0111]]: "the change notification may notify the UE regarding ... Changes to timing delays of transmissions from one or more base stations, either to the entire frame or to PRS only … ").
Conclusion
Examiner's note: As applied to the claims above, the specific columns, line numbers, and figures in the references has been cited for the Applicant’s convenience. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the particular limitations within the individual claims, other passages and figures may apply as well. The Applicant is respectfully requested to fully consider the references, in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner, in preparing responses. Applicant(s) are reminded that MPEP 2123 I. states: “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Reliance on the US Pre-Grant Publication (PG PUB) of this application, which is not part of the image file wrapper of the patent application, in the prosecution is improper. All references in the reply to the office action are to be made to the latest version on record of the patent application as filed not as published. The latest version on record of the patent application means the patent application as originally filed and modified by previously entered amendment(s).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Khoryaev et al. (US 2022/0110085 A) is equivalent of the IDS cited Foreign application No. WO 2020/146739 A1; Siomina et al. (US 2022/0078745 A1) is equivalent of the IDS cited Foreign application No. WO 2020/153892 A1; Shreevastav et al. (US 2022/0408398 A1) is equivalent of the IDS cited Foreign application No. WO 2021/091447 A1; Berggren et al. (US 2022/0191815 A1) is equivalent of the IDS cited Foreign application No. WO 2020/198269 A.
Contact Information
Interviews are available via telephone and video conferencing using a USPTO web-based Video Conferencing and Collaboration Tool. To schedule an interview, Applicants are encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant. See MPEP § 502.03. Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122 and will not initiate communications with applicants via Internet e-mail. The internet authorization must be submitted on a separate paper to be entitled to acceptance in accordance with 37 CFR 1.4(c). The separate paper will facilitate processing and avoid confusion. The written authorization may be submitted via EFS-Web, mail, or fax. It cannot be submitted by email.
The following is a sample authorization form, which may be used by applicant:
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
A written authorization may be withdrawn by filing a signed paper clearly identifying the original authorization. The following is a sample form which may be used by applicant to withdraw the authorization:
“The authorization given on______, to the USPTO to communicate with any practitioner of record or acting in a representative capacity in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application via video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail is hereby withdrawn.”
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdraw of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, filed via EFS-Web. The Form is available at:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf.
/Nader Bolourchi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631