Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1, 3-4, 8-13, 15-17, 25-28 in the reply filed on 2/13/26 is acknowledged.
With regard to the method claims, Applicant states that they have been amended to depend from claim 1 and therefore should be examined together. However, the limitations regarding spinning speed, drawing ratio and drawing temperatures and conditions are not present in Group I and are common to Group II, therefore there is a lack of unity of invention and the restriction is maintained.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11, 15, 25, 26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dong et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0162519.
Dong discloses degradable polymeric fibers including a thermally degradable polymeric core and a sheath. The core can include a polyhydroxyalkanoate. See paragraph 0010. The polyhydroxyalkanoate can have a degradation temperature of 100- 250 degrees Celsius which meets the claimed value of 220 degrees Celsius or higher. See paragraph 0049. Dong teaches that polylactic acid depolymerizes at temperatures about 280 degrees Celsius. See paragraph 0053. Suitable examples for the polyhydroxyalkanoate can be poly(3 hydroxybutyrate), poly(4-hydroxybutyrate), poly (3 hydroxy-valerate), polycaprolactone, polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid and copolymers of these. See paragraph 0051. The fibers can further comprise additional component including fillers, stabilizers, colorants, dyes, antioxidants, flame retardants, plasticizers, fragrances and adhesion promoters. See paragraph 0049.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-13, 15, 17, 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0162519 in view of Kann, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0051787.
Dong discloses degradable polymeric fibers including a thermally degradable polymeric core and a sheath. The core can include a polyhydroxyalkanoate. See paragraph 0010. The polyhydroxyalkanoate can have a degradation temperature of 100- 250 degrees Celsius which meets the claimed value of 220 degrees Celsius or higher. See paragraph 0049. Dong teaches that polylactic acid depolymerizes at temperatures about 280 degrees Celsius. See paragraph 0053. Suitable examples for the polyhydroxyalkanoate can be poly(3 hydroxybutyrate), poly(4-hydroxybutyrate), poly (3 hydroxy-valerate), polycaprolactone, polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid and copolymers of these. See paragraph 0051. The fibers can further comprise additional component including fillers, stabilizers, colorants, dyes, antioxidants, flame retardants, plasticizers, fragrances and adhesion promoters. See paragraph 0049.
Dong differs from the claimed invention because it does not clearly teach employing a degradable sheath on the fiber and does not teach employing blends or the particularly claimed properties of the fibers.
With regard to the use of a degradable sheath, it would have been obvious to have employed a degradable sheath on the degradable fibers of Dong if a completely degradable material was desired.
With regard to blends, Kann discloses forming compositions which comprise blends of one or more polyhydroxyalkanoates in order to provide particular properties to the composition. See paragraph 0015-0021. Kann teaches that selecting the particular composition can provide improved properties such as toughness, tear and impact properties, increased melt strength, tensile toughness and elongation, as well as hardness, softness, flexibility, tackiness, toughness, ductility, processability and opaqueness and melt properties. See paragraphs 0034 -0036, 0038. The compositions can be used to make fibers. See paragraph 0036. Kann teaches forming blends from the claimed first and second PHAs. See paragraphs 0064 – 0106.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed blends as taught by Kann to form the degradable fibers of Dong and to have selected the particular proportions which produced fibers having the desired MFI, strength, Tg, Tm in the final fiber. It further would have been obvious to have formed the fibers to have the desired length and diameter depending on the particular size fiber needed for particular applications.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789