DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant elected the group for the molded article. The claims has further been amended to be directed to a molded article and not a composition. These claims will be included in the Election of Group I. Claims 9-10 are still directed to the process of making a molded article. The lack of unity shown in the restriction on 9/04/2025 is being maintained. Claims 9-10 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected Group.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/04/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bloembergen et al, USP 5,462,983.
Regarding claim 1, Bloembergen teaches a molded article (see abstract) comprising a composition comprising pulp and a biodegradable resin (see abstract and columns 7-8 teach the use of wood fibers and PHB) wherein the biodegradable resin is PHA (column 7 line 46) and a Cobb test according to TAPPI T441 of 0.000167 g/cm*cm (which is less than 100 g/m*m – see Example 4).
Bloembergen teaches the claimed molded article and composition while not describing the exactly same drying method for pressing them. The claims are not directed to a method of making and therefore only the physical properties of the final product is taken into consideration. As the same materials are utilized and the Cobb values read on the claims so all the required limitations are directly met making anticipation a proper rejection.
Regarding claims 2-7 and 12-15, Bloembergen remains as applied above and further teaches the poly Beta hydroxybutyrate repeat units (see columns 5-6) or PLA (column 5 line 28), in ratios to the starch of 80/20 or 50/50 weight ratios (see table 1 and claim 8), also the known use of 3-hydroxybutrate blends (column 17 line 30 in data incorporated by reference for the PHB utilized)
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Van Trump et al, US Patent Publication 2020/0114625.
Regarding claim 1, Van Trump teaches a molded article from cellulose fibers (see abstract) that includes a biodegradable resin of PHA (see abstract and claims 11 and 18) with a Cobb water absorption value of less than 25 grams per square meter (see claim 9) after pressing under heat and pressure (see claim 14).
Regarding claims 2-7 and 12-15 Van Trump further discloses the preferred polymers to include a poly 3-hydroxybutyrate or PLA or other similar biodegradable resins [0051] in amounts of the slurry with the cellulose making up 10-60 parts by weight [0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bloembergen et al, USP 5,462,983.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Bloembergen remains as applied above and teaches all of the claimed material limitations but is silent on the tear strength of the final product. It is understood that the average artisan would expect the same physical outcome to be produced by a product that is made with the same materials in the same manner. See In re Best.
In the alternative, with respect to the values of the Tear strength, it is elementary that a mere recitation of newly discovered function or property, inherently possessed by the things in the prior art, does not cause a claim drawn to those things to distinguish over the prior art (In re Swinehart et al, 169 USPQ 226 at 229). It would have been obvious that the same materials producing eh same final product would have similar physical properties to find the claimed range of the undescribed property to be obvious.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious Van Trump et al, US Patent Publication 2020/0114625.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Van Trump remains as applied above and teaches all of the claimed material limitations but is silent on the tear strength of the final product. It is understood that the average artisan would expect the same physical outcome to be produced by a product that is made with the same materials in the same manner. See In re Best.
In the alternative, with respect to the values of the Tear strength, it is elementary that a mere recitation of newly discovered function or property, inherently possessed by the things in the prior art, does not cause a claim drawn to those things to distinguish over the prior art (In re Swinehart et al, 169 USPQ 226 at 229). It would have been obvious that the same materials producing eh same final product would have similar physical properties to find the claimed range of the undescribed property to be obvious.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748