DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made that claims 29, 30, 37, 38, 41-43 and 47 are amended. Claims 29, 30, 32, 36-43 and 44-47 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 1/16/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 29, 30, 33, 36, 38, 39, 41-44 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shurtleff et al. (US 2020/0177485), hereinafter Shurtleff further in view of Lear et al. (US 2019/0319953), hereinafter Lear.
Claim 29 has been amended as follows:
“wherein the first information is derived from manufacturer's electronic data sheets (MEDS) for the one or more sensor and/or actuator units and wherein the first information comprises ontology definitions for the available settings of the one or more sensor and/or actuator units;
reducing the first information, based on second information relating to an application that is utilizing the first constrained device such that ontology definitions that are not relevant to the capabilities to be used by the application are removed.” (Emphasis added)
Claim 47 is amended with similar limitations.
On page 9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues the cited prior art fails to teach the amended features recited in claims 29 and 47. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. Therefore, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 34 and 35 were canceled. Claims 29-33 and 36-47 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 30, 33, 36, 38, 39, 41-44 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shurtleff (US 2020/0177485) in view of Lear (US 2019/0319953) further in view of Saini et al. (US 2022/0100802), hereinafter Saini.
As for claim 29, Shurtleff teaches a method, in a server, for use in configuring constrained devices in a system, the method comprising:
obtaining an indication of one or more sensor and/or actuator units at a first constrained device (paragraphs [0021]-[0023] describe a registration system for registering IoT devices, including sensor devices that utilize Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP), and identifying the level access to the network environment the devices may need to operate);
obtaining first information relating to available settings for the one or more sensor and/or actuator units of the first constrained device (paragraphs [0023] and [0035] describe the registration system is used to identify the level of access to the network environment the devices may need to operate), wherein the first information is derived from manufacturer’s electronic datasheets (MEDs) for the one or more sensor and/or actuator units (paragraphs [0038] and [0064]-[0065] describe rules that are derived from device manufacturers (e.g. via a MUD profiles). When the IoT device initiates a connection to a network device of an IoT network, a MUD controller transmits a query to a device registration system for a MUD file (i.e. a YANG data model) corresponding to an IoT device. After verifying that the MUD file was produced by the device manufacturer, the MUD controller can retrieve the MUD file from the device registration system).
Shurtleff fails to teach
Wherein first information comprises ontology definitions for available settings of one or more senso and/or actuator units;
reducing first information, based on second information relating to an application that is utilizing a first constrained device such that ontology definitions that are not relevant to capabilities to be used by the application are removed; and
initiating configuration of at least one of one or more sensors and/or actuator units, based on transmitting the reduced first information to the application.
Lear discloses
reducing first information, based on second information relating to an application that is utilizing a first constrained device (paragraphs [0032] and [0035] describe a manufacturer application service generates concatenated MUD file. The concatenated MUD file comprises a MUD file associated with a device and a first MUD file portion associated with a first application. The concatenated MUD file includes a predefined usage descriptions for the device, as well as the new, additional and/or different predefined usage descriptions for each application that is installed on the device. Note: the concatenated MUD file is interpreted as the MUD file being reduced, and new, additional usage descriptions of each application is interpreted as second information); and
initiating configuration of at least one of one or more sensors and/or actuator units, based on transmitting the reduced first information to the application (paragraphs [0032]-[0033] and [0054] describe a MUD controller implements the access control policy of the concatenated MUD file by establishing appropriate access control permissions at access control device for a device with first application and second application installed. The concatenated MUD file includes new, different or additional access control permissions that are needed by a specific application to enable that application’s functionality on a given device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Lear for providing a concatenated MUD file to installed application. The teachings of Lear, when implemented in the Shurtleff system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to control communication with IoT devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lear in the Shurtleff system in order to dynamically provide MUD files to multi-purpose devices that may have their intended behavior change based on the installation of new applications that provide new, different, and additional features to a device (Lear: paragraph [0015]).
The combined system of Shurtleff and Lear fails to teach
wherein first information comprises ontology definitions for available settings of one or more sensor and/or actuator units;
wherein reducing first information is performed such that ontology definitions that are not relevant to the capabilities to be used by the application are removed.
Saini discloses
wherein first information comprises ontology definitions for available settings of one or more sensor and/or actuator units;
wherein reducing first information is performed such that ontology definitions that are not relevant to the capabilities to be used by the application are removed;
As for claim 30, the combined system Shurtleff and Lear teaches wherein the step of obtaining comprises retrieving the first information from a MEDs repository (Shurtleff: paragraph [0064] describes the retrieval of the MUD file corresponding to the IoT device from the device registration system).
As for claim 33, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches wherein the first information comprises a predetermined configuration for the one or more sensor and/or actuator units (Shurtleff: paragraphs [0065]-[0066] describe the MUD file contains an abstract intent for the IoT device), wherein the predetermined configuration is determined based on the MEDs for the one or more sensor and/or actuator units (Shurtleff: paragraph [0066] describes the MUD controller translates the abstract intent to a context-specific policy which is used to enforce the policy by defining and imposing port-based ACLs for the interfaces between the networking device and the IoT device).
As for claim 36, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches wherein the second information comprises one or more of: an intent of the application, and information relating to which one or more parameters of the one or more sensor and/or actuator units are tunable (Shurtleff: paragraph [0103] describes once the IoT devices are registered, the IoT management system can monitor the IoT devices for performance, securities, and other administrative issues. Monitoring can include tracking and analyzing network traffic data for the IoT devices, general device information or application/process information, device-specific or application/process-specific information).
As for claim 38, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches obtaining third information relating to an intent for an application utilizing a first constrained device (Shurtleff: paragraph [0107] describes the IoT management system monitors the IoT devices with respect to device profiles, which is provided by device manufacturers, industrial standards groups, device profile databases),
the third information obtained from one or more of: the application, a user of the application, an operator of the application (Shurtleff: paragraph [0107] describes the device profiles are provided by device manufacturers).
As for claim 39, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches determining one or more intent handling actions based on the third information and the first information (Shurtleff: paragraph [0107] describes the MUD profile for the IoT management system can include a set of specifications for operational ranges of an IoT device. The IoT management system can analyze the IoT device’s behavior based on the MUD profile, and mark the device for remediation if the IoT device deviates from the specifications defined in the MUD profile).
As for claim 41, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches
receiving an indication of a performance metric associated with the application and/or the first constrained device (Shurtleff: paragraphs [0103]-[0104] describe once the IoT devices are registered, the IoT management system monitors the IoT devices for performance, security and other administrative issues. The monitoring includes tracking network traffic data, network security policies or rules for the IoT devices); and
determining the one or more intent handling actions based on the performance metric of the application (Shurtleff: paragraph [0104] if an IoT device attempts to access a portion of the network to which it is not allowed at any time, the IoT management system can mark or flag the device for remediation).
As for claim 42, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches wherein the step of determining one or more intent handling actions is performed responsive to the performance metric of the application indicating that the intent for the application is not being met (Shurtleff: paragraphs [0104] and [0106] describe the IoT management system can monitor the number of dropped or rejected packets/flows originating from the IoT device, and upon the number of dropped or rejected traffic exceeding a threshold amount, add the device to the remediation interface/state).
As for claim 43, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches wherein the step of determining one or more intent handling actions is performed periodically (Shurtleff: paragraphs [0038]-[0040] describe the monitoring and remediation subsystem deploys device-based policies for a specific type of device, class/classes of devices, such as rules relating to operational time periods; paragraph [0109] describes during the course of monitoring the IoT devices, the IoT management system can track various network traffic metrics for each IoT device over various intervals of time, such as over one-hour periods, two-hour period, etc., daily periods, weekly periods, bi-weekly periods, monthly periods).
As for claim 44, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches wherein the step of determining one or more intent handling actions is performed responsive to a change in the intent of the application (Shurtleff: paragraph [0037] describes the monitoring and remediation subsystem can utilize various techniques for identifying devices that perform outside of specified measurement boundaries or that behave anomalously from standard behavior. An end user can manually place devices into a remediation interface or mark devices for remediation).
As for claim 47, Shurtleff teaches an apparatus for use in configuring IoT devices in a system (Fig. 2, Controller 200; paragraphs [0024] and [0035] describe the network controller. The controller includes a MUD controller which operates as an interface between the network controller and a device manufacturer’s registration system for registering a device and identifying the types of access the device may need to operate), the apparatus comprising processing circuitry and a memory (paragraphs [0116]-[0117] describe a processing unit and a system memory), said memory containing instructions executable by said processor whereby said apparatus is operative to (paragraph [0117] describes the processor accesses data from the memory to perform various actions):
obtain an indication of one or more sensor and/or actuator units at a first constrained device (paragraphs [0021]-[0023] describe a registration system for registering IoT devices, including sensor devices that utilize Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP), and identifying the level access to the network environment the devices may need to operate);
obtain first information relating to available settings for the one or more sensor and/or actuator units of the first constrained device (paragraphs [0023] [0035] describe the registration system is used to identify the level of access to the network environment the devices may need to operate), wherein the first information is derived from manufacturer’s electronic datasheets (MEDs) for the one or more sensor and/or actuator units (paragraphs [0038] and [0064]-[0065] describe rules that are derived from device manufacturers (e.g. via a MUD profiles). When the IoT device initiates a connection to a network device of an IoT network, a MUD controller transmits a query to a device registration system for a MUD file (i.e. a YANG data model) corresponding to an IoT device. After verifying that the MUD file was produced by the device manufacturer, the MUD controller can retrieve the MUD file from the device registration system).
Shurtleff fails to teach
reduce first information, based on second information relating to an application that is utilizing a first constrained device; and
initiate configuration of at least one of one or more sensors and/or actuator units, based on transmitting the reduced first information to the application.
Lear discloses
reduce first information, based on second information relating to an application that is utilizing a first constrained device (paragraphs [0032] and [0035] describe a manufacturer application service generates concatenated MUD file. The concatenated MUD file comprises a MUD file associated with a device and a first MUD file portion associated with a first application. The concatenated MUD file includes a predefined usage descriptions for the device, as well as the new, additional and/or different predefined usage descriptions for each application that is installed on the device. Note: the concatenated MUD file is interpreted as the MUD file being reduced, and new, additional usage descriptions of each application is interpreted as second information); and
initiate configuration of at least one of one or more sensors and/or actuator units, based on transmitting the reduced first information to the application (paragraphs [0032]-[0033] and [0054] describe a MUD controller implements the access control policy of the concatenated MUD file by establishing appropriate access control permissions at access control device for a device with first application and second application installed. The concatenated MUD file includes new, different or additional access control permissions that are needed by a specific application to enable that application’s functionality on a given device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Lear for providing a concatenated MUD file to installed application. The teachings of Lear, when implemented in the Shurtleff system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to control communication with IoT devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lear in the Shurtleff system in order to dynamically provide MUD files to multi-purpose devices that may have their intended behavior change based on the installation of new applications that provide new, different, and additional features to a device (Lear: paragraph [0015]).
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shurtleff (US 2020/0177485) and Lear (US 2019/0319953) further in view of Gharakheili et al. (US 2024/0380768), hereinafter Gharakheili.
As for claim 31, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear teaches wherein the first information comprises information for the available settings of the one or more sensor and/or actuator units (Shurtleff: paragraphs [0065]-[0066] describe the MUD file contains an abstract intent for the IoT device which is translated to a context-specific policy).
The combined system of Shurtleff and Lear fails to teach wherein information includes ontology definitions.
Gharakheili discloses
wherein information includes ontology definitions (paragraphs [0017]-[0018] describe a formal model includes a knowledge representation of a network ontology).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Gharakheili for creates a device ontology. The teachings of Gharakheili, when implemented in the Shurtleff and Lear system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to facilitate communication between devices that communicate in different standard. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Gharakheili in the Shurtleff and Lear system in order to enforce network flow rules based on a formal model, the network flow rules enhance the security of a heterogeneous network of devices (Gharakheili: Abstract).
As for claim 32, the combined system of Shurtleff, Lear and Gharakheili teaches wherein the ontology definitions are determined based on the MEDs for the one or more sensor and/or actuator units (Shurtleff: paragraph [0065] describes the MUD file includes an abstract intent for the IoT device; Gharakheili: paragraphs [0017]-[0018] describe device behavior profile and description of a physical environment and a network configuration input are translated into a formal model which includes a knowledge representation of a network ontology).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Gharakheili for creates a device ontology. The teachings of Gharakheili, when implemented in the Shurtleff and Lear system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to facilitate communication between devices that communicate in different standard. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Gharakheili in the Shurtleff and Lear system in order to enforce network flow rules based on a formal model, the network flow rules enhance the security of a heterogeneous network of devices (Gharakheili: Abstract).
Claims 40 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shurtleff (US 2020/0177485) and Lear (US 2019/0319953) further in view of DeBates et al. (US 2020/0117264), hereinafter DeBates.
As for claim 40, the combined system of Shurtleff, Lear teaches initiating re-configuration of the at least one of the one or more sensor and/or actuator units based on the one or more intent handling actions (Shurtleff: paragraph [0107] describes the IoT management system mark or flag the device for remediation if the IoT device deviates from the specifications set forth in the MUD profile).
The combined system of Shurtleff and Lear fails to teach
wherein a step of initiating re-configuration comprises:
determining a new configuration for one or more sensor and/or actuator units based on one or more intent handling actions;
provisioning the new configuration to the first constrained device.
DeBates discloses
wherein a step of initiating re-configuration comprises:
determining a new configuration for one or more sensor and/or actuator units based on one or more intent handling actions (paragraph [0042] describes the sensor configuration module determines the configuration information for the sensors); and
provisioning the new configuration to the first constrained device (paragraphs [0041] and [0043] describe the sensor communication module communicates the configuration information to particular sensors).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of DeBates for setting configuration information for a sensor based an application intent. The teachings of DeBates, when implemented in the Shurtleff and Lear system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to manage sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of DeBates in the Shurtleff and Lear system in order to enable an application to identify an action that is appropriate to be executed, in which change to the physical system may be minimized.
As for claim 46, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear fails to teach wherein the available settings comprise possible values for one or more parameters associated with the one or more sensor and/or actuator units.
DeBates discloses
wherein the available settings comprise possible values for one or more parameters associated with the one or more sensor and/or actuator units (paragraph [0043] describes the sensor configuration module determines configuration information for the sensors indicating that one sensor that captures distance data is enabled and one sensor that captures heart rate data is enabled).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of DeBates for setting configuration information for a sensor based an application intent. The teachings of DeBates, when implemented in the Shurtleff and Lear system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to manage sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of DeBates in the Shurtleff and Lear system in order to enable an application to identify an action that is appropriate to be executed, in which change to the physical system may be minimized.
Claims 37 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shurtleff (US 2020/0177485) and Lear (US 2019/0319953) further in view of Camarillo Gonzalez et al. (US 2022/0303261), hereinafter Camarillo Gonzalez.
As for claim 37, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear fails to teach determining the configurations of each of the one or more sensor and/or actuator units based on the first information and provisioning the configurations to the first constrained device, and wherein the provisioning is performed via a proxy server.
Camarillo Gonzalez discloses
determining the configurations of each of the one or more sensor and/or actuator units based on the first information and provisioning the configurations to the first constrained device (paragraph [0019] describes LwM2M client node is a constrained node which includes sensors; paragraph [0007] describes a LwM2M bootstrap server manages the initial configuration parameters of LwM2M clients during bootstrapping of a device; paragraph [0053] describes configuration messages for bootstrapping and registration of a LwM2M client node are exchanged between a LwM2M master client node and an appropriate LwM2M server), and wherein the provisioning is performed via a proxy server (paragraph [0053] describes configuration messages for bootstrapping and registration of a LwM2M client node are exchanged between a LwM2M master client node and an appropriate LwM2M server, i.e. proxy).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Camarillo Gonzalez for implementing a LwM2M server. The teachings of Camarillo Gonzalez, when implemented in the Chen, Jimenez and Lear system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to manage LwM2M clients. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Camarillo Gonzalez in the Chen, Jimenez and Lear system in order to prepare a constrained device for a specific environment and domain before being deployed to use that domain’s LwM2M management server (Camarillo Gonzalez: paragraph [0013]).
As for claim 45, the combined system of Shurtleff and Lear fails to teach wherein the first constrained device comprises a client.
Gonzalez discloses
wherein a first constrained device comprises a client (paragraph [0019] describes LwM2M client node is a constrained node which includes sensors).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Gonzalez for implementing a LwM2M client. The teachings of Gonzalez, when implemented in the Shurtleff and Lear system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to control communication with IoT devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Gonzalez in the Shurtleff and Lear system in order to provide users a means to retrieve information associated with device from manufacturers to express other device capabilities or requirement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vanderveen et al. (US 2021/0367839) teach method for signaling communication configuration for IoT devices using manufacturer usage description files
Henry et al. (US 10,609,147) teach target wake time and grouping scheme for IoT transmitters
Mermoud et al. (US 2020/0145288) teach closed loop control for fixing network configuration issues to aid in device classification.
/L.T.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2459 /TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459