DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diekmann et al. (US 2013/0183529) in view of Park et al. (Suspension Polymerization and Characterization of Transparent Poly(methyl methacrylate-co-isobornyl methacrylate) and Borst et al. (US 2019/0161618).
Regarding claims 1-10, 12-16, 20-23 Diekmann discloses powder, comprising composite particles comprising core particles completely or partially coated with a precipitated first polymer, where the core particles comprise a second polymer which differs from the precipitated first polymer (abstract). Laser sintering processes are known and are based on the selective sintering of polymer particles, where layers of polymer particles are briefly exposed to laser light and the polymer particles exposed to the laser light bond to one another. The successive sintering of layers of polymer particles produces three-dimensional object (para 0079). The second polymer is selected from the group consisting of a polycarbonate, a polymethyl methacrylate, a polypropylene, a polybutylene terephthalate, a polyethylene terephthalate, a polyether ether ketone and a polyphthalamide (claim 3). The precipitated first polymer is selected from the group consisting of a polyolefin, a polyethylene, a polypropylene, a polyvinyl chloride, a polyacetal, a polystyrene, a polyimide, a polysulphone, a poly(N-methylmethacrylimide), a polymethyl methacrylate, a polyvinylidene fluorides, an ionomer, a polyether ketone, a polyaryl ether ketone, a polyamide, a copolyamide, and a mixture thereof (claim 4). The weight ratio of the first polymer to the core particles, based on the entirety of the composite particles, is from 0.1 to 30 (claim 9) which makes the polymeric core 75 wt% or more of each particle.
However, Diekmann fails to disclose that the polymeric shell is formed from a copolymer of a major monomer and a minor monomer, where major monomer comprises a polymerizable group and a minor monomer comprises a polymerizable group and a functional component.
Whereas, Park discloses methacrylate copolymer based on isobornyl methacrylate (IBMA) and methyl methacrylate (MMA) was synthesized in an aqueous suspension via free-radical polymerization. The composition of the copolymer was analyzed using 1 H-NMR, and the heat resistance by measuring the glass transition temperature, which exhibited a linear dependency on the IBMA content in the copolymer (abstract). The PMMA is present in an amount of greater than 90 wt% and IBMA in an amount of less than 10wt% (see table 1).
Whereas, Borst discloses red methine dyes, methods for the preparation thereof, and use thereof for dyeing plastics, especially vinyl polymers, provide red colourings with improved colour strengths and improved colour brilliance (abstract). The plastic is polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), and the method comprises mixing or dissolving the dye with one or more methyl methacrylate monomers, and polymerizing the monomers in the presence of one or more polymerization catalysts.Dyes of the formula (I) can exist as stereoisomers. Formula (I) particularly includes the following four E and Z isomers of the formulae (Ia) to (Id) (para 0073). Using the dyes of the formula (I) according to the invention, red colouration of plastics can be achieved, which are surprisingly characterized by both greater colour strength and at the same time greater colour brilliance compared with the colourations achievable with the known dyes (para 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include methacrylate copolymer based on isobornyl methacrylate (IBMA) and methyl methacrylate (MMA) having MMA in major monomer and IBMA in minor monomer and treat it with dye as taught by Park in view of Borst in the shell of Diekmann motivated by the desire to have improved heat resistance properties and improved color strength and brilliance.
Regarding claim 11, As Diekmann in view of Park discloses major monomer such as methyl methacrylate as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious that when polymerized (i.e. PMMA) would intrinsically have Tg that differs from the Tm of the thermoplastic polymer that forms the polymer core by no more than 10C.
Regarding claims 18-19, Diekmann discloses powder, comprising composite particles comprising core particles completely or partially coated with a precipitated first polymer, where the core particles comprise a second polymer which differs from the precipitated first polymer (abstract) and Laser sintering processes are known and are based on the selective sintering of polymer particles, where layers of polymer particles are briefly exposed to laser light and the polymer particles exposed to the laser light bond to one another. The successive sintering of layers of polymer particles produces three-dimensional object (para 0079).
Whereas, Borst discloses red methine dyes, methods for the preparation thereof, and use thereof for dyeing plastics, especially vinyl polymers, provide red colourings with improved colour strengths and improved colour brilliance (abstract). The plastic is polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), and the method comprises mixing or dissolving the dye with one or more methyl methacrylate monomers, and polymerizing the monomers in the presence of one or more polymerization catalysts.Dyes of the formula (I) can exist as stereoisomers. Formula (I) particularly includes the following four E and Z isomers of the formulae (Ia) to (Id) (para 0073). Using the dyes of the formula (I) according to the invention, red colouration of plastics can be achieved, which are surprisingly characterized by both greater colour strength and at the same time greater colour brilliance compared with the colourations achievable with the known dyes (para 0075).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include dye that is different in color in two or more different particulate materials based on the teaching of Diekmann and Borst through process optimization for end use applications.
Claim(s) 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diekmann et al. (US 2013/0183529) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0172755), Loccufier et al. (US 2012/0046376) and Borst et al. (US 2019/0161618).
Regarding claims 1 and 17 Diekmann discloses powder, comprising composite particles comprising core particles completely or partially coated with a precipitated first polymer, where the core particles comprise a second polymer which differs from the precipitated first polymer (abstract). Laser sintering processes are known and are based on the selective sintering of polymer particles, where layers of polymer particles are briefly exposed to laser light and the polymer particles exposed to the laser light bond to one another. The successive sintering of layers of polymer particles produces three-dimensional object (para 0079). The second polymer is selected from the group consisting of a polycarbonate, a polymethyl methacrylate, a polypropylene, a polybutylene terephthalate, a polyethylene terephthalate, a polyether ether ketone and a polyphthalamide (claim 3). The precipitated first polymer is selected from the group consisting of a polyolefin, a polyethylene, a polypropylene, a polyvinyl chloride, a polyacetal, a polystyrene, a polyimide, a polysulphone, a poly(N-methylmethacrylimide), a polymethyl methacrylate, a polyvinylidene fluorides, an ionomer, a polyether ketone, a polyaryl ether ketone, a polyamide, a copolyamide, and a mixture thereof (claim 4). The weight ratio of the first polymer to the core particles, based on the entirety of the composite particles, is from 0.1 to 30 (claim 9) which makes the polymeric core 75 wt% or more of each particle.
However, Diekmann fails to disclose that the polymeric shell is formed from a copolymer of a major monomer and a minor monomer, where major monomer comprises a polymerizable group and a minor monomer comprises a polymerizable group and a functional component.
Whereas, Chen discloses polymeric particles having core-shell structure wherein at least one of the polymeric core and the polymeric shell is formed from a monomers mixture comprising isobornyl (meth)acrylate and wherein the isobornyl (meth)acrylate is present in the monomers mixture in an amount of 1 wt % to 40 wt %, relative to the weight of the corresponding monomers mixture for the polymeric core or polymeric shell (para 0006), where isobornyl methacrylate is a major monomer in the shell.
Whereas, Loccufier discloses radiation curable ink and a radiation curable ink jet ink including such a polymerizable photoinitiator (para 0022).The polymeric core includes polyamide (which encompasses PA-12) (see claim 15).
Whereas, Borst discloses red methine dyes, methods for the preparation thereof, and use thereof for dyeing plastics, especially vinyl polymers, provide red colourings with improved colour strengths and improved colour brilliance (abstract). The plastic is polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), and the method comprises mixing or dissolving the dye with one or more methyl methacrylate monomers, and polymerizing the monomers in the presence of one or more polymerization catalysts.Dyes of the formula (I) can exist as stereoisomers. Formula (I) particularly includes the following four E and Z isomers of the formulae (Ia) to (Id) (para 0073). Using the dyes of the formula (I) according to the invention, red colouration of plastics can be achieved, which are surprisingly characterized by both greater colour strength and at the same time greater colour brilliance compared with the colourations achievable with the known dyes (para 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include isobornyl methacrylate (IBMA) in major monomer and treat it with dye as taught by Chen in view of Borst in the shell of Diekmann motivated by the desire to have to have improved mechanical properties and improved color strength and brilliance and to include polyamide as taught by Loccufier in the core of Diekmann motivated by the desire to have excellent abrasion and wear resistance and good chemical resistance.
Conclusion
/RONAK C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788