CTNF 18/687,904 CTNF 78819 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 6, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Minari et al. (US 2020/0219908) . Regarding claim 1, Minari discloses an imaging device comprising: a support substrate that includes a first compound semiconductor (12, figs. 1, 22-25 and paragraphs 0104-0108, 0172-0183); a photoelectric conversion layer that is provided on a first surface side of the support substrate and includes a second compound semiconductor (13, figs. 1, 22-25 and paragraphs 0104-0108, 0172-0183) having a composition different from a composition of the first compound semiconductor; a first protective layer (18, figs. 22-25 and paragraphs 0172-0183) that is provided in a trench (G1, figs. 22-25 and paragraphs 0172-0183) penetrating the support substrate and the photoelectric conversion layer and is provided on a first side surface of the photoelectric conversion layer; and a second protective layer (17, figs. 22-25 and paragraphs 0172-0183) that is provided in the trench and is provided on a second side surface of the support substrate, the first protective layer and the second protective layer having different compositions (17, 18 and paragraphs 0118-0119) a first interface state generated between the first side surface and the first protective layer being smaller than an interface state generated between the first side surface and the second protective layer in a case where the second protective layer is in contact with the first side surface (figs. 22-25 and paragraphs 0172-0183), and a second interface state generated between the second side surface and the second protective layer being smaller than an interface state generated between the second side surface and the first protective layer in a case where the first protective layer is in contact with the second side surface(figs. 22-25 and paragraphs 0172-0183). Regarding claim 2, Minari further discloses a plurality of pixels (P, figs. 2, 29 and paragraph 0104), wherein the support substrate and the photoelectric conversion layer are divided for each of the plurality of pixels by the trench (figs. 2, 29 and paragraph 0104). Regarding claim 3, Minari further discloses a first intermediate layer that is provided between the first side surface and the first protective layer (D, figs. 22-25). Regarding claim 6, Minari further discloses a second intermediate layer that is provided between the first side surface and the first protective layer (D, figs. 22-25). Regarding claim 9, Minari further discloses a conductive layer that is embedded in the trench (25, fig. 29 and paragraph 0190) . Regarding claim 10, Minari further discloses a semiconductor layer that is provided on an opposite side of the photoelectric conversion layer from the support Substrate (15, fig. 29 and paragraph 0115), the semiconductor layer including the first compound semiconductor (15, fig. 30 and paragraph 0115); and an insulating film that covers a surface of the semiconductor layer opposite to a surface of the semiconductor layer facing the photoelectric conversion layer (27, fig. 30 and paragraph 0195), wherein the trench penetrates the semiconductor layer, and a portion penetrating the semiconductor layer in the trench is filled with the insulating film (19, fig. 29 and paragraph 0120). Regarding claim 11, Minari further discloses wherein the first compound semiconductor is InP (paragraph 0108), the second compound semiconductor is InGaAs (paragraph 0108), the first protective layer is a layer containing a metal oxide (18, paragraph 0119), and the second protective layer is a layer including an insulator (17, paragraph 0118). Regarding claim 12, Minari further discloses wherein the metal oxide is Al2O ₃ , AlN, La ₂ O ₃ , or MgO (paragraph 0119). Regarding claim 13, Minari further discloses wherein the insulator is SiO ₂ or SiN (paragraph 0118) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-5 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 4, there is no teaching or suggestion in the art of record disclosing the imaging device of claim 3, wherein the first intermediate layer is an oxide of the second compound semiconductor. Regarding claim 5, there is no teaching or suggestion in the art of record disclosing the imaging device according to claim 3, wherein a bonding force between the first side surface and the first protective layer with the first intermediate layer interposed between the first side surface and the first protective layer is larger than a bonding force between the first side surface and the first protective layer in a case where the first protective layer is directly in contact with the first side surface without the first intermediate layer interposed between the first side surface and the first protective layer. Regarding claim 7, there is no teaching or suggestion in the art of record disclosing the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the second intermediate layer is an oxide film of the first compound Regarding claim 8, there is no teaching or suggestion in the art of record disclosing the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein a bonding force between the second side surface and the second protective layer with the second intermediate layer interposed between the second side surface and the second protective layer is larger than a bonding force between the second side surface and the second protective layer in a case where the second protective layer is directly in contact with the second side surface without the second intermediate layer interposed between the second side surface and the second protective layer . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0019830 discloses a light receiving device with relevant protection layers . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DOUGLAS M MENZ whose telephone number is (571)272-1877. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jacob Choi can be reached at 469-295-9060. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DOUGLAS M MENZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 5/2/26 Application/Control Number: 18/687,904 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/687,904 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/687,904 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/687,904 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/687,904 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/687,904 Page 7 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/687,904 Page 8 Art Unit: 2897