Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 09/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Choi does not teach nanosheets comprising pores. This is not found persuasive because instant claim 1 requires the atomically thin layer comprises a plurality of pores, not nanosheets with pores, as noted by applicant Choi teaches a graphene layer with spaces which provide a path for fluid movement through the membrane, meeting broadest reasonable interpretation of an atomically thin layer that comprises a plurality of pores.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi (Layer-by-Layer Assembly of Graphene Oxide Nanosheets on Polyamide Membranes for Durable Reverse-Osmosis Applications, 2013, applicant provided prior art).
With respect to claim 1, Choi teaches membrane comprising a graphene layer with nanochannels (an atomically thin layer comprising pores) deposited on a polyamide (PA) selective layer on a microporous polysulfone support (a porous intermediate coating), said polysulfone being backed by a polyester non-woven (a porous substrate) (abstract, experimental, p. 5), GO thickness of 2-4 nm (Results) examiner notes the limitation of atomically thin, is interpreted in view of the instant specification 0034-0035 to include greater than or equal to 0.1 nm and less than or equal to 10 nm.
With respect to claim 2, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1, is taught above. Choi teaches graphene, the atomically thin layer comprises graphene, boron nitride, and/or molybdenum disulfide.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Swett (US PG Pub 2017/0266979).
With respect to claim 1 Swett teaches membranes for use in a variety applications including hemodialysis and hemofiltration (abstract), membranes comprising one or more layers of atomically thin sheets of two-dimensional perforated graphene based material (0001-0012, 0075-0092, an atomically thin layer, comprising a plurality of pores), in embodiments, two or more substrate layers, disposed directly on (or affixed directly to) a graphene-based material layer, for instance, an intermediate layer can be positioned between the substrate layer and the graphene-based material layer (0059-0073, an intermediate coating disposed on the atomically thin layer; the intermediate coating disposed between the atomically thin layer and the substrate), the substrate layer can be porous (0061), the intermediate layer can be a thin, smooth, porous polymer layer (0074), and substrates can be deposited by coating (0063). Alternatively, if Swett’s embodiments are not found to teach the specific combination of limitations, Swett teaches membrane are used in a variety separation-based applications and utility based selectivity of membranes that allow permeability of a compound based on sets of characteristics (e.g., based on size, charge, hydrophobicity, etc.), (0001), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the specific substrates, depending on the separation application.
With respect to claim 2, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches graphene as discussed above; the atomically thin layer comprises graphene, boron nitride, and/or molybdenum disulfide.
With respect to claim 8, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches the porous substrate comprises nylon and/or silicon (0061).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Swett (US PG Pub 2017/0266979).
With respect to claim 3, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches the thickness of the sheet of graphene-based material is from 0.3 to 10 nm, 0.34 to 10 nm, from 0.34 to 5 nm, or from 0.34 to 3 nm (0079, the atomically thin layer has an average thickness between greater than or equal to 0.1 nm and less than or equal to 1 nm, see MPEP 2144.05 in the case of overlapping ranges a case of prima facie obviousness exists).
With respect to claim 4, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches the graphene-based material layer can contain pores with an average and/or median diameter of about 10 nm or smaller, 0.3 to 10 nm, from 1 to 10 nm (0070, 0090), the plurality of pores of the atomically thin layer have an average pore size between greater than or equal to 1 nm and less than or equal to 3.8 nm, see MPEP 2144.05 in the case of overlapping ranges a case of prima facie obviousness exists.
With respect to claim 5, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches two or more substrate layers, disposed directly on (or affixed directly to) a graphene-based material layer, for instance, an intermediate layer, as discussed above, the intermediate layer can be a thin, smooth, porous polymer layer, such as a track etched polymer (0074), and substrate layers can comprise polyethersulfone and polysulfone (0061), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an additional substrate layer/intermediate layer would comprise polyethersulfone and/or polysulfone.
With respect to claim 6, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches the intermediate layer has a thickness of from 3 nm to 10 μm, 10 nm to 10 μm, 50 nm to 10 μm, 100 nm to 10 μm, 500 nm to 10 μm, 1 μm to 10 μm, or 2 μm to 6 μm (0074), the porous intermediate coating has an average thickness between greater than or equal to 1 micrometer and less than or equal to 3 micrometers, see MPEP 2144.05 in the case of overlapping ranges a case of prima facie obviousness exists.
With respect to claim 7, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches two or more substrate layers, disposed directly on (or affixed directly to) a graphene-based material layer, for instance, an intermediate layer, the substrate layer can have pores of from about 1 nm to about 100 μm (0066), the porous intermediate coating comprises a plurality of pores having an average pore size between greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 200 nm, see MPEP 2144.05 in the case of overlapping ranges a case of prima facie obviousness exists.
With respect to claim 9, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches in embodiments the substrate layer has a thickness of about 1 mm or less, about 100 nm to about 100 μm, or about 15 μm or greater (0057, wherein the porous substrate has an average thickness between greater than or equal to 50 micrometers and less than or equal to 150 micrometers, see MPEP 2144.05 in the case of overlapping ranges a case of prima facie obviousness exists).
With respect to claim 10, the semi-permeable membrane of claim 1 is taught above. Swett teaches in embodiments the substrate layer can have pores of from about 1 nm to about 100 μm (0066), in some embodiments, the average and/or median diameter of pores in the graphene-based material layer is at least about 100-fold smaller than are the average and/or media diameter of pores in the substrate layer (0070 the porous substrate comprises a plurality of pores having an average pore size between greater than or equal to 100 micrometers and less than or equal to 500 micrometers, see MPEP 2144.05 in the case of overlapping ranges a case of prima facie obviousness exists).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kidambi US 20200062600, US 2019007056
Wang EP 2644261 B9
Swett US 10376845
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776