DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on April 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no serious burden in in examining claim 15 as it has been amended to depend from claim 1. This was found persuasive. Therefore, the restriction requirement has been withdrawn and claims 1-9 and 15-17 are pending and addressed below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification is missing information pertaining to the depository made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty. It appears as though the statement “All restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of the patent” is missing and should be added per MPEP 2410.01. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A method for preparing a food product comprising….”, however, the steps never make clear how the food product is prepared as the active steps do not require a food product. The only active steps are “expressing a lipase” and “using the lipase”. The method does not make clear how to make the food product as there is no mixing or combining the lipase with a food product or any additional ingredients.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the Yarrowia strain" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-6, 8-9 and 15-17 are included as they depend from rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Damude et al. (US 2008/0254191 A1; Oct. 16, 2008).
Regarding claim 1, Damude discloses a method for preparing a food product comprising expressing a lipase from Yarrowia in a Yarrowia cell and using the lipase from step a) for preparing the food product ([0262], [0418]-[0437], See Examples and Tables).
Damude teaches that the expressing step is carried out in the absence of olive oil as Damude does not disclose the use of olive oil ([0407]).
Damude further teaches that the lipase comprises an amino acid sequence having 100% identity with one of the claimed SEQ ID Nos. (See Sequence Search Results).
With respect to the lipase having a higher specificity towards the release of C4-fatty acids from a dairy composition comprising milk fat and/or other fat, the examiner notes that as Damude teaches that the lipase has 100% match to an amino acid with the claimed SEQ ID No, the lipase of Damude would necessarily have the same higher specificity properties as the lipase of Damude is the same as claimed.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. [citation omitted] Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 2, as stated above, Damude teaches that the expressing step is carried out in the absence of olive oil as Damude does not disclose the use of olive oil ([0407]).
Regarding claim 3, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Damude teaches that the lipase comprises an amino acid sequence having 100% identity with one of the claimed SEQ ID Nos. (See Sequence Search Results).
Regarding claim 4, Damude teaches that the food product can be a dairy product selected from cheese ([0422], butter, yogurt, or cream ([0433]).
Regarding claim 5, Damude additionally teaches that the food product can be a non-dairy product ([0424]-[0426]).
Regarding claim 15, Damude discloses a method for preparing a food product comprising expressing a lipase from Yarrowia lipolytica in a Yarrowia lipolytica cell and using the lipase from step a) for preparing the food product ([0262], [0418]-[0437], See Examples and Tables).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damude et al. (US 2008/0254191 A1; Oct. 16, 2008) as applied above.
Regarding claim 6, Damude teaches that the Yarrowia cell is modified to result in high-level production of various PUFAs ([0004] [0262], [0418]-[0437], See Examples and Tables). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a non-genetically modified Yarrowia cell if a high-level production was not desired.
Regarding claims 7-9, as stated above, Damude discloses a method for preparing a food product comprising expressing a lipase from Yarrowia lipolytica in a Yarrowia lipolytica strain and using the lipase from step a) for preparing the food product ([0262], [0418]-[0437], See Examples and Tables).
Damude, however, fails to specifically disclose that the Yarrowia lipolytica strain is one of the claimed strains.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the method of claim 1 on any Yarrowia lipolytica strain that has a lipase with an amino acid having the claimed SEQ ID No. As the lipase would be the same, since it has the same SEQ ID, the specific strain from which it is expressed is not expected to result in a different lipase and therefore it would have been obvious to use any Yarrowia lipolytica strain.
Regarding claim 16, Damude teaches that the media comprises carbon sources that can include glucose, but can also be glycerol and/or fatty acids ([0407]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use one of the other media sources disclosed by Damude instead of glucose.
Regarding claim 17, as stated above, Damude teaches that the food product can be a dairy product selected from cheese ([0422], butter, yogurt, or cream ([0433]).
Damude, however, it silent with respect to the cheese being selected from one of the claimed cheeses. As the claimed list includes a wide variety of different cheeses, and Damude teaches a generic cheese product, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the cheese product be any desired type of cheese as claimed.
Claims 1-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fickers et al. (“Identification and characterization of LIP7 and LIP8 genes encoding two extracellular triacylglycerol lipases in the yeast Yarrowia lipolytica”, Fungal Genetics and Biology 42, 2005, pages 264-274).
Regarding claim 1, Fickers discloses a method for expressing a lipase from Yarrowia (Abstract, pages 265-266).
Fickers fails to specifically teach that the lipase is used in preparing a food product, but teaches that lipases are used in the development of characteristic flavors in food processing (page 264) and therefore it would have been obvious to have the lipase expressed from Yarrowia be used in a food product in order to develop flavors.
Fickers teaches that the expressing step is carried out in the absence of glucose and olive oil as Fickers does not disclose the use of either (page 266 col 1).
Fickers further teaches that the lipase comprises an amino acid sequence having 100% identity with one of the claimed SEQ ID Nos. (See Sequence Search Results).
With respect to the lipase having a higher specificity towards the release of C4-fatty acids from a dairy composition comprising milk fat and/or other fat, the examiner notes that as Fickers teaches that the lipase has 100% match to an amino acid with the claimed SEQ ID No, the lipase of Fickers would necessarily have the same higher specificity properties as the lipase of Fickers is the same as claimed.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. [citation omitted] Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 2, as stated above, Fickers teaches that the expressing step is carried out in the absence of glucose and olive oil as Fickers does not disclose the use of either (page 266 col 1).
Regarding claim 3, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Fickers teaches that the lipase comprises an amino acid sequence having 100% identity with one of the claimed SEQ ID Nos. (See Sequence Search Results).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 17, as stated above, it would have been obvious to use the expressed lipase in a food product. It would have been obvious to use it in any food product desired for the development of flavor.
Regarding claim 6, Fickers teaches that the Yarrowia cell is a non-genetically modified Yarrowia lipolytica cell (pages 264-266).
Regarding claims 7-9, as stated above, Fickers discloses expressing a lipase from Yarrowia lipolytica in a Yarrowia lipolytica strain (pages 264-266).
Fickers, however, fails to specifically disclose that the Yarrowia lipolytica strain is one of the claimed strains.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the method of claim 1 on any Yarrowia lipolytica strain that has a lipase with an amino acid having the claimed SEQ ID No. As the lipase would be the same, since it has the same SEQ ID, the specific strain from which it is expressed is not expected to result in a different lipase and therefore it would have been obvious to use any Yarrowia lipolytica strain.
Regarding claim 15, Fickers discloses expressing a lipase from Yarrowia lipolytica in a Yarrowia lipolytica cell (pages 264-266).
Regarding claim 16, as stated above, Fickers teaches that the expressing step is carried out in the absence of added glucose to a growth medium (page 266 col 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6 and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,495,812. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both make claim to a method for preparing a food product comprising expressing a lipase from Yarrowia liplytica, using the lipase for preparing a food product, wherein the expressing step is carried out in the absence of sugars, olive oil, or tributyrin; wherein the lipase comprises an amino acid having at least 90% identity with the claimed SEQ ID Nos., and wherein the lipase has a higher specificity towards release of C4 fatty acids. Both make claim to the food product being a dairy product, even specifically cheese.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art contains lipases from Yarrowia with amino acids comprising matching SEQ ID Nos.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791