Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-11, 13, and 14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group (II and III) and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and the elected species [see Remarks 7/6/2026, Page 30] in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
“Since Group II is directed to a method of preparing a peptide urea derivative of Formula I and Group III is directed to a use of Formula I, all groups share a single general inventive concept. Accordingly, the Examiner's assertion that the groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept because they lack the same or corresponding special technical features is therefore without merit.” [Remarks 7/6/2026, Page 31]
This is not found persuasive because 37 CFR 1.475(b) does not override the requirement of a technical relationship among those inventions outlined in 37 CFR 1.475(a).
37 CFR 1.475(a) states “Where a group of inventions is claimed in an application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features.” The present application is drawn to 3 different inventions (a product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of said product). Accordingly, the group of inventions must have a technical relationship among them to satisfy the requirement of unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Claims
Withdrawn: 6-11, 13, 14
Examined Herein: 1-5, 12
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under based upon an application filed in CN202111031423.6 on 9/3/2021, PCT/CN2022/116897 ON 9/2/2022 and US 18/776,861 (Patent 12,427,211) on 7/18/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/2/2024, 5/21/2024, 1/22/2025, and 7/6/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 3/15/2024 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bohnke (US 2023/0072421 A1, Filed 7/24/2020).
With respect to claim 1, Bohnke discloses the following compound:
[Bohnke, 1271]
wherein:
L is L1-L2
L1 is a 6-membered heteroaromatic ring, pyridine, substituted by R1-2; wherein:
In the heteroaromatic ring, the number of heteroatoms is 1
The heteroatom is N
R1-2 is a C1 alkyl (methyl)
L1 is linked to R through an N atom
L2 is a bond
L2 is linked to
R is a group containing a radioactive metal ion, DOTA, thus meeting the limitations of claim 1. [Bohnke, 1271]
With respect to claim 2, Bohnke discloses the following conditions, thus meeting the limitations of claim 2: [Bohnke, 1271]
L1 is a monocyclic ring (Condition 4)
In L1, the number of heteroatoms in the 5-12 membered heteroaromatic ring is 1 (Condition 8)
The C1-C3 alkyl is methyl (Condition 20)
The group containing a radioactive metal ion is composed of a radioactive metal ion (Th-227) and a group with the function of chelating a metal ion (DOTA), wherein the radioactive metal ion is chelated with the group with the function of chelating a metal ion (Condition 21)
The radioactive metal ion (Th-227) is a radioactive metal ion releasing α rays (Condition 24)
The radioactive metal ion has one of the following effects: 3. radiation treatment (Condition 25)
The radioactive metal ion has one or more of the following effects: 1. tracking; 2. delivery (Condition 26)
With respect to claim 3, Bohnke discloses the following conditions, thus meeting the limitations of claim 3: [Bohnke, 1271]
The group with the function of chelating a metal ion is DOTA (Condition 2)
L2 is a bond (condition 4)
With respect to claim 4, Bohnke discloses the following conditions, thus meeting the limitations of claim 4:
The group with the function of chelating a metal ion is DOTA (Condition 2)
L2 is a bond (Condition 4)
With respect to claim 12, Bohnke discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the aforementioned compound and a pharmaceutical adjuvant (PABA, sodium acetate buffer, and EtOH), thus meeting the limitations of claim 12. [Bohnke, 1272]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable over the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,427,211 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a compound encompassed by instant Formula I. As a result, the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of or overlaps with the instant claims. Thus, the present invention discloses overlapping subject matter with the reference claims, and granting a patent to the present application would give rise to an unjustified extension of the rights granted in the reference patent.
Conclusion
/K.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618