Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/01/2024 and 09/20/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Examiner notes Feedback Channel (HARQ/CSI) 495 in Fig. 9 is not mentioned in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 23-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 30-49 of U.S. Patent No. 18/716,293. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Instant Application
Application No. 18/716,293
Claim 23: A method performed by a network node configured for use in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: obtaining a value of a metric that indicates a speed at which a wireless communication device moves; determining, based on the value of the metric, how often the wireless communication device is to send a sounding reference signal (SRS), wherein the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for at least one value of the
metric below a threshold as compared to for at least one value above the threshold;
transmitting, to the wireless communication device, signaling that configures or triggers
the wireless communication device to send the SRS as often as determined….
Claim 26: The method of claim 23, wherein the threshold is an upper threshold, wherein a
lower threshold is lower than the upper threshold, and wherein, according to said determining, the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for values of the metric between the lower threshold and the upper threshold as compared to for values of the metric
above the upper threshold.
Claim 27: The method of claim 26, wherein, according to said determining, the wireless
communication device is to send the SRS more often for values of the metric below the lower threshold as compared to for values of the metric above the upper threshold.
Claim 28: The method of claim 26, wherein, according to said determining, the wireless
communication device is to send the SRS more often for values of the metric between the lower threshold and the upper threshold as compared to for values of the metric below the lower threshold.
Claim 30: The method of claim 23, wherein, according to said determining, the wireless
communication device is to send the SRS aperiodically for at least one value of the metric below the threshold and is to send the SRS periodically for at least one value of the metric above the threshold.
Claim 32: The method of claim 23, wherein the metric is a Doppler metric equal to v*fc/c, where v is the speed of the wireless communication device, fc is an uplink carrier frequency of the wireless communication device, and C is the speed of light in free space.
Claim 39: A network node configured for use in a wireless communication network, the
network node comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to: obtain a value of a metric that indicates a speed at which a wireless communication device moves; determine, based on the value of the metric, how often the wireless communication device is to send a sounding reference signal (SRS), wherein the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for at least one value of the metric below a threshold as compared to for at least one value above the threshold; transmit, to the wireless communication device, signaling that configures or triggers the wireless communication device to send the SRS as often as determined…
Claim 30: A method performed by a wireless communication device configured for use in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: obtaining a value of a metric that indicates a speed at which the wireless communication device moves; determining, based on the value of the metric, an indication that indicates a recommendation of how often the wireless communication device is to send a sounding reference signal (SRS) and/or of whether the wireless communication device is to send the SRS periodically or aperiodically; and transmitting the indication to a network node in the wireless communication network.
Claim 32: The method of claim 31, wherein the threshold is an upper threshold, wherein a lower threshold is lower than the upper threshold, and wherein the indicated recommendation recommends that the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for values of the metric between the lower threshold and the upper threshold as compared to for values of the metric above the upper threshold.
Claim 33: The method of claim 32, wherein the indicated recommendation recommends that the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for values of the metric below the lower threshold as compared to for values of the metric above the upper threshold.
Claim 34: The method of claim 32, wherein the indicated recommendation recommends that the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for values of the metric between the lower threshold and the upper threshold as compared to for values of the metric below the lower threshold.
Claim 35: The method of claim 30, wherein, if the value of the metric is below a threshold, the indicated recommendation recommends that the wireless communication device is to send the SRS aperiodically and, if the value of the metric is above the threshold, the indicated recommendation recommends that the wireless communication device is to send the SRS periodically.
Claim 37: The method of claim 30, wherein the metric is a Doppler metric equal to v*fc/c, where v is the speed of the wireless communication device, fc is an uplink carrier frequency of the wireless communication device, and C is the speed of light in free space.
Claim 42: A method performed by a network node configured for use in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: receiving, from a wireless communication device, an indication that indicates a recommendation of how often the wireless communication device is to send the SRS and/or of whether the wireless communication device is to send the SRS periodically or aperiodically; determining, taking into account the indicated recommendation, how often the wireless communication device is to send the SRS and/or whether the wireless communication device is to send the SRS periodically or aperiodically; and transmitting, to the wireless communication device, signaling that configures or triggers the wireless communication device to send the SRS as determined.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25, 29-31, and 33-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (EP3444973A1), Huang hereinafter, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0209839), Cheng hereinafter.
Re. Claim 23, Huang teaches a method performed by a network node configured for use in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0062) obtaining a value of a metric that indicates a speed at which a wireless communication device moves; (¶0006 - The method includes: determining, by a base station, a movement speed of user equipment UE…);
determining, based on the value of the metric, how often the wireless communication device is to send a sounding reference signal (SRS), (¶0101 - The base station determines, based on the movement speed of the UE, a UE-specific SRS subframe configuration table in a plurality of UE-specific SRS subframe configuration tables corresponding to a used cell-specific SRS subframe configuration table, and determines a UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter in the determined UE-specific subframe configuration table, where the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is used to indicate a subframe used to send an SRS);
wherein the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for at least one value of the metric below a threshold as compared to for at least one value above the threshold; (Fig. 3 & ¶0111 - For example, a low-density SRS may be used to obtain an effective channel, or may be used by UE whose movement speed is lower than a preset threshold to obtain complete channel information, and a high-density SRS may be used by UE whose movement speed is higher than the preset threshold to obtain complete channel information);
transmitting, to the wireless communication device, signaling that configures or triggers the wireless communication device to send the SRS as often as determined; (¶0138 - Optionally, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the base station, indication information to the UE. For an aperiodic SRS, the indication information is used to instruct the UE to send L2 SRSs after the aperiodic SRS is triggered. For a periodic SRS, the indication information may be used to instruct the UE to send the L2 SRSs in each period. ¶0140 - It should be understood that the base station and the UE may further predetermine the quantity of SRSs sent by the UE after the aperiodic SRS is triggered, or the quantity L2 of SRSs sent by the UE in each period);
based respectively on whether the value of the metric is above or below the threshold; (Fig. 3 & ¶0111 - For example, a low-density SRS may be used to obtain an effective channel, or may be used by UE whose movement speed is lower than a preset threshold to obtain complete channel information, and a high-density SRS may be used by UE whose movement speed is higher than the preset threshold to obtain complete channel information);
Yet, Huang does not explicitly teach deciding whether to perform precoding of a downlink data channel transmission based on codebook-based feedback from the wireless communication device or based on an estimate of an uplink channel over which the SRS is received from the wireless communication device, precoding the downlink data channel transmission according to said deciding; and transmitting the precoded downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device.
However, in the analogous art, Cheng explicitly teaches deciding whether to perform precoding of a downlink data channel transmission based on codebook-based feedback from the wireless communication device or based on an estimate of an uplink channel over which the SRS is received from the wireless communication device, (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0003 - In cellular systems (e.g., LTE and 5G NR), gNB typically decides its Tx digital beamforming precoding matrix using one of the following two methods: Uplink channel estimation from sounding reference signal (SRS) and precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback from UE. Please also see Claims 1-4, 7);
precoding the downlink data channel transmission according to said deciding; (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0006 - According to one embodiment, a first set of columns of the precoding matrix are obtained from the partial channel estimation and a second set of columns of the precoding matrix are obtained from the PMI feedback);
and transmitting the precoded downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0058 - At step 406, using the PMI feedback and partial channel estimation, a precoding matrix may be composed, for example, at gNB 306. The precoding matrix may be used to more efficiently send transmissions from gNB 306 to UE 102);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cheng to the teaching of Huang. The motivation would be because the present disclosure is related to a systems and methods for transmitter beamforming at base station with partial channel information and UE feedback (¶0002, Cheng).
Re. Claim 24, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 23.
Huang further teaches the signaling configures the wireless communication device to send the SRS as often as determined, wherein the signaling comprises an indication of how often the wireless communication device is to send the SRS (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0078 - In this embodiment of the present invention, in consideration that a movement speed of UE affects an SRS resource requirement, to satisfy different SRS resource requirements of UEs having different movement speeds, the base station and the UEs may preconfigure a plurality of UE-specific subframe configuration tables. ¶0083 - Optionally, the plurality of cell-specific SRS subframe configuration tables may separately correspond to scenarios of different SRS density requirements. ¶0104 - The base station sends the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter and identification information of the UE-specific subframe configuration table to the UE. Please also see ¶0101 and ¶0140).
Re. Claim 25, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 23.
Huang further teaches the signaling triggers the wireless communication device to send the SRS as often as determined, wherein the signaling comprises SRS triggering messages that are transmitted as often as the wireless communication device is to send the SRS, wherein each SRS message triggers the wireless communication device to send the SRS (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0104 - The base station sends the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter and identification information of the UE-specific subframe configuration table to the UE. ¶0112 - It should be noted that in step 202, the base station may determine one or more UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameters in the UE-specific subframe configuration table. Correspondingly, in step 203, the base station may send the determined one or more UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameters to the UE. The UE may select at least one SRS subframe configuration parameter from the received one or more UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameters, and send an SRS in a subframe indicated by the SRS subframe configuration parameter. ¶0123 - . Correspondingly, the step 203’ includes: sending, by the base station, a message to the UE, where a field of the message carries the cell-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter and the identification information of the cell-specific SRS subframe configuration table).
Re. Claim 29, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 23.
Huang further teaches according to said determining, for at least one value of the metric below the threshold, the wireless communication device is to periodically send the SRS with a period that is shorter than a period with which the wireless communication device is to periodically send the SRS for at least one value of the metric above the threshold (Fig. 3 & ¶0101 - FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of resource configuration of SRSs having different densities. For example, a low-density SRS may be used to obtain an effective channel, or may be used by UE whose movement speed is lower than a preset threshold to obtain complete channel information, and a high-density SRS may be used by UE whose movement speed is higher than the preset threshold to obtain complete channel information).
Re. Claim 30, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 23.
Huang further teaches according to said determining, the wireless communication device is to send the SRS aperiodically for at least one value of the metric below the threshold and is to send the SRS periodically for at least one value of the metric above the threshold (Fig. 3 & ¶0101 - FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of resource configuration of SRSs having different densities. For example, a low-density SRS may be used to obtain an effective channel, or may be used by UE whose movement speed is lower than a preset threshold to obtain complete channel information, and a high-density SRS may be used by UE whose movement speed is higher than the preset threshold to obtain complete channel information. ¶0115 - If the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is a periodic SRS subframe configuration parameter, the UE may periodically send an SRS in a specified subframe used to send an SRS. ¶0116 - If the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is an aperiodic SRS subframe configuration parameter, after receiving trigger information delivered by the base station, the UE sends an SRS in a specified subframe used to send an SRS).
Re. Claim 31, Huang and Cheng teach 23.
Huang further teaches according to said determining, the wireless communication device is to send the SRS for at least one value of the metric below the threshold and is not to send the SRS for at least one value of the metric above the threshold (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0078 - In this embodiment of the present invention, in consideration that a movement speed of UE affects an SRS resource requirement, to satisfy different SRS resource requirements of UEs having different movement speeds, the base station and the UEs may preconfigure a plurality of UE-specific subframe configuration tables. ¶0110 - … the base station may determine, based on the movement speed of the UE, the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration table and the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter allocated to the UE. In this way, SRS time domain resources having different densities may be allocated to UEs having different movement speeds… ¶0141 - Optionally, the manner used to send the L2 SRSs may be determined by the base station based on the movement speed of the UE. The base station may instruct, based on the movement speed of the UE, the UE to send the L2 SRSs by using the plurality of different manners. For example, the base station may preconfigure a correspondence between the movement speed of the UE and an SRS sending manner. Examiner interprets that the UE’s SRS transmission may be controlled based on its movement speed, and the base station may assign each UE a speed-dependent SRS configuration, such that UE’s moving below a lower speed transmit SRS, while UEs exceeding an upper speed may be assigned configurations with little to no SRS resources since the base station may preconfigure a correspondence between the movement speed of the UE and an SRS sending manner).
Re. Claim 33, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 23.
Huang further teaches the metric is the speed of the wireless communication device (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0027 - The used cell-specific SRS subframe configuration set is determined in the plurality of cell-specific SRS subframe configuration sets based on the movement speeds of all the UEs in the cell, and the cell-specific subframe configuration parameter is determined in the cell-specific SRS subframe configuration set. ¶0029 - Optionally, the base station may determine the used cell-specific SRS subframe configuration set in the plurality of cell-specific SRS subframe configuration sets based on an average movement speed of all the UEs in the cell).
Re. Claim 34, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 23.
Huang further teaches receiving the SRS from the wireless communication device as often as the wireless communication device is configured or triggered to send the SRS (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0115 - If the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is a periodic SRS subframe configuration parameter, the UE may periodically send an SRS in a specified subframe used to send an SRS. ¶0116 - If the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is an aperiodic SRS subframe configuration parameter, after receiving trigger information delivered by the base station, the UE sends an SRS in a specified subframe used to send an SRS).
Re. Claim 35, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 34.
Huang further teaches performing channel estimation for the wireless communication device based on the SRS received from the wireless communication device; (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0004 - In the TDD system, a base station can relatively accurately estimate effective channel information based on a received channel sounding reference signal (Sounding Reference Signal, SRS)); and transmitting a downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device, and/or receiving an uplink data transmission from the wireless communication device, based on the performed channel estimation (¶0076 – Assuming that a long-term statistical property of complete channel information of UE does not change within a particular time, UE can continuously send a plurality of groups of broadband SRSs within a channel coherence time, and a base station can obtain a plurality of groups of effective broadband channel information by configuring different analog beamforming on different SRSs and performing channel estimation … the UE can continuously send a plurality of groups of SRSs within a channel coherence time, to help the base station obtain complete channel information. ¶0131 - The UE determines, based on the cell-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter and the identification information of the used cell-specific SRS subframe configuration set sent by the base station, a subframe set used to send an SRS in the cell).
Re. Claim 36, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 35.
Huang further teaches said transmitting and/or receiving comprises transmitting a downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device based on the performed channel estimation, wherein the downlink data transmission is performed according to time division duplexing (TDD) operation (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0004 - In the TDD system, a base station can relatively accurately estimate effective channel information based on a received channel sounding reference signal (Sounding Reference Signal, SRS). ¶0070 - Table 2 shows a cell-specific SRS subframe configuration table in a TDD system stipulated in an existing protocol, and Table 2 lists a plurality of configurations. The existing protocol stipulates that a value of a field srs-Sub frameConfig delivered by a base station to UE is used to indicate a cell-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter. ¶0104 - The base station sends the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter and identification information of the UE-specific subframe configuration table to the UE).
Re. Claim 37, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 35.
Huang further teaches said transmitting or receiving comprises transmitting a downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device based on the performed channel estimation, wherein transmitting the downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device based on the performed channel estimation (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0004 - In the TDD system, a base station can relatively accurately estimate effective channel information based on a received channel sounding reference signal (Sounding Reference Signal, SRS). ¶0070 - Table 2 shows a cell-specific SRS subframe configuration table in a TDD system stipulated in an existing protocol, and Table 2 lists a plurality of configurations. The existing protocol stipulates that a value of a field srs-Sub frameConfig delivered by a base station to UE is used to indicate a cell-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter. ¶0104 - The base station sends the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter and identification information of the UE-specific subframe configuration table to the UE);
Yet, Huang does not explicitly teach comprises precoding the downlink data channel transmission based on the performed channel estimation.
However, in the analogous art, Cheng explicitly teaches comprises precoding the downlink data channel transmission based on the performed channel estimation (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0003 - In cellular systems (e.g., LTE and 5G NR), gNB typically decides its Tx digital beamforming precoding matrix using one of the following two methods: Uplink channel estimation from sounding reference signal (SRS) and precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback from UE. ¶0006 - According to one embodiment, a first set of columns of the precoding matrix are obtained from the partial channel estimation and a second set of columns of the precoding matrix are obtained from the PMI feedback. ¶0058 - At step 406, using the PMI feedback and partial channel estimation, a precoding matrix may be composed, for example, at gNB 306. The precoding matrix may be used to more efficiently send transmissions from gNB 306 to UE 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cheng to the teaching of Huang. The motivation would be because the present disclosure is related to a systems and methods for transmitter beamforming at base station with partial channel information and UE feedback (¶0002, Cheng).
Re. Claim 38, Huang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a network node in a wireless communication network, (Fig. 5-6 & ¶0165-¶0166) causes the network node to: obtain a value of a metric that indicates a speed at which a wireless communication device moves; (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0006 - The method includes: determining, by a base station, a movement speed of user equipment UE…);
determine, based on the value of the metric, how often the wireless communication device is to send a sounding reference signal (SRS), (¶0101 - The base station determines, based on the movement speed of the UE, a UE-specific SRS subframe configuration table in a plurality of UE-specific SRS subframe configuration tables corresponding to a used cell-specific SRS subframe configuration table, and determines a UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter in the determined UE-specific subframe configuration table, where the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is used to indicate a subframe used to send an SRS);
wherein the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for at least one value of the metric below a threshold as compared to for at least one value above the threshold; (Fig. 3 & ¶0111 - For example, a low-density SRS may be used to obtain an effective channel, or may be used by UE whose movement speed is lower than a preset threshold to obtain complete channel information, and a high-density SRS may be used by UE whose movement speed is higher than the preset threshold to obtain complete channel information);
transmit, to the wireless communication device, signaling that configures or triggers the wireless communication device to send the SRS as often as determined; (¶0138 - Optionally, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the base station, indication information to the UE. For an aperiodic SRS, the indication information is used to instruct the UE to send L2 SRSs after the aperiodic SRS is triggered. For a periodic SRS, the indication information may be used to instruct the UE to send the L2 SRSs in each period. ¶0140 - It should be understood that the base station and the UE may further predetermine the quantity of SRSs sent by the UE after the aperiodic SRS is triggered, or the quantity L2 of SRSs sent by the UE in each period);
based respectively on whether the value of the metric is above or below the threshold; (Fig. 3 & ¶0111 - For example, a low-density SRS may be used to obtain an effective channel, or may be used by UE whose movement speed is lower than a preset threshold to obtain complete channel information, and a high-density SRS may be used by UE whose movement speed is higher than the preset threshold to obtain complete channel information);
Yet, Huang does not explicitly teach decide whether to perform precoding of a downlink data channel transmission based on codebook-based feedback from the wireless communication device or based on an estimate of an uplink channel over which the SRS is received from the wireless communication device, precode the downlink data channel transmission according to said deciding; and transmit the precoded downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device.
However, in the analogous art, Cheng explicitly teaches decide whether to perform precoding of a downlink data channel transmission based on codebook-based feedback from the wireless communication device or based on an estimate of an uplink channel over which the SRS is received from the wireless communication device, (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0003 - In cellular systems (e.g., LTE and 5G NR), gNB typically decides its Tx digital beamforming precoding matrix using one of the following two methods: Uplink channel estimation from sounding reference signal (SRS) and precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback from UE. Please also see Claims 1-4, 7);
precode the downlink data channel transmission according to said deciding; (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0006 - According to one embodiment, a first set of columns of the precoding matrix are obtained from the partial channel estimation and a second set of columns of the precoding matrix are obtained from the PMI feedback);
and transmit the precoded downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0058 - At step 406, using the PMI feedback and partial channel estimation, a precoding matrix may be composed, for example, at gNB 306. The precoding matrix may be used to more efficiently send transmissions from gNB 306 to UE 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cheng to the teaching of Huang. The motivation would be because the present disclosure is related to a systems and methods for transmitter beamforming at base station with partial channel information and UE feedback (¶0002, Cheng).
Re. Claim 39, Huang teaches a network node configured for use in a wireless communication network, the network node comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to: (Fig. 5-6 & ¶0062) obtain a value of a metric that indicates a speed at which a wireless communication device moves; (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0006 - The method includes: determining, by a base station, a movement speed of user equipment UE…);
determine, based on the value of the metric, how often the wireless communication device is to send a sounding reference signal (SRS), wherein the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for at least one value of the metric below a threshold as compared to for at least one value above the threshold; (¶0101 - The base station determines, based on the movement speed of the UE, a UE-specific SRS subframe configuration table in a plurality of UE-specific SRS subframe configuration tables corresponding to a used cell-specific SRS subframe configuration table, and determines a UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter in the determined UE-specific subframe configuration table, where the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is used to indicate a subframe used to send an SRS);
transmit, to the wireless communication device, signaling that configures or triggers the wireless communication device to send the SRS as often as determined; (¶0138 - Optionally, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the base station, indication information to the UE. For an aperiodic SRS, the indication information is used to instruct the UE to send L2 SRSs after the aperiodic SRS is triggered. For a periodic SRS, the indication information may be used to instruct the UE to send the L2 SRSs in each period. ¶0140 - It should be understood that the base station and the UE may further predetermine the quantity of SRSs sent by the UE after the aperiodic SRS is triggered, or the quantity L2 of SRSs sent by the UE in each period);
based respectively on whether the value of the metric is above or below the threshold; (Fig. 3 & ¶0111 - For example, a low-density SRS may be used to obtain an effective channel, or may be used by UE whose movement speed is lower than a preset threshold to obtain complete channel information, and a high-density SRS may be used by UE whose movement speed is higher than the preset threshold to obtain complete channel information);
Yet, Huang does not explicitly teach decide whether to perform precoding of a downlink data channel transmission based on codebook-based feedback from the wireless communication device or based on an estimate of an uplink channel over which the SRS is received from the wireless communication device, precode the downlink data channel transmission according to said deciding; and transmit the precoded downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device.
However, in the analogous art, Cheng explicitly teaches decide whether to perform precoding of a downlink data channel transmission based on codebook-based feedback from the wireless communication device or based on an estimate of an uplink channel over which the SRS is received from the wireless communication device, (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0003 - In cellular systems (e.g., LTE and 5G NR), gNB typically decides its Tx digital beamforming precoding matrix using one of the following two methods: Uplink channel estimation from sounding reference signal (SRS) and precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback from UE. Please also see Claims 1-4, 7);
precode the downlink data channel transmission according to said deciding; (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0006 - According to one embodiment, a first set of columns of the precoding matrix are obtained from the partial channel estimation and a second set of columns of the precoding matrix are obtained from the PMI feedback);
and transmit the precoded downlink data transmission to the wireless communication device (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0058 - At step 406, using the PMI feedback and partial channel estimation, a precoding matrix may be composed, for example, at gNB 306. The precoding matrix may be used to more efficiently send transmissions from gNB 306 to UE 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cheng to the teaching of Huang. The motivation would be because the present disclosure is related to a systems and methods for transmitter beamforming at base station with partial channel information and UE feedback (¶0002, Cheng).
Re. Claim 40, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 39.
Huang further teaches according to said determining, the wireless communication device is to send the SRS aperiodically for at least one value of the metric below the threshold and is to send the SRS periodically for at least one value of the metric above the threshold (Fig. 3 & ¶0101 - FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of resource configuration of SRSs having different densities. For example, a low-density SRS may be used to obtain an effective channel, or may be used by UE whose movement speed is lower than a preset threshold to obtain complete channel information, and a high-density SRS may be used by UE whose movement speed is higher than the preset threshold to obtain complete channel information. ¶0115 - If the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is a periodic SRS subframe configuration parameter, the UE may periodically send an SRS in a specified subframe used to send an SRS. ¶0116 - If the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter is an aperiodic SRS subframe configuration parameter, after receiving trigger information delivered by the base station, the UE sends an SRS in a specified subframe used to send an SRS).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Cheng, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2021/0235342), Zhu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 26, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 23.
Huang further teaches and wherein, according to said determining, the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often for values of the metric between the lower threshold and the upper threshold as compared to for values of the metric above the upper threshold (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0078 - In this embodiment of the present invention, in consideration that a movement speed of UE affects an SRS resource requirement, to satisfy different SRS resource requirements of UEs having different movement speeds, the base station and the UEs may preconfigure a plurality of UE-specific subframe configuration tables. ¶0110 - … the base station may determine, based on the movement speed of the UE, the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration table and the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter allocated to the UE. In this way, SRS time domain resources having different densities may be allocated to UEs having different movement speeds… ¶0141 - Optionally, the manner used to send the L2 SRSs may be determined by the base station based on the movement speed of the UE. The base station may instruct, based on the movement speed of the UE, the UE to send the L2 SRSs by using the plurality of different manners. For example, the base station may preconfigure a correspondence between the movement speed of the UE and an SRS sending manner. Examiner interprets that the UE’s SRS transmission may be controlled based on its movement speed, and the base station may assign each UE a speed-dependent SRS configuration, such that UE’s moving between two speeds transmit more SRS, while UEs exceeding an upper speed may be assigned configurations with less SRS resources than the UEs moving between two speeds since the base station may preconfigure a correspondence between the movement speed of the UE and an SRS sending manner);
Yet, Huang does not explicitly teach the threshold is an upper threshold, wherein a lower threshold is lower than the upper threshold,
However, in the analogous art, Zhu explicitly teaches the threshold is an upper threshold, wherein a lower threshold is lower than the upper threshold, (Fig. 8A & ¶0036 - An upper threshold also may be determined for a range of doppler shifts (such as a maximum speed for the range of doppler shifts being associated with 200 kph or another suitable speed). ¶0093 - The SRS may be used by a base station for channel quality estimation to enable frequency-dependent scheduling on the UL. ¶0180 - Another example adjustment is a periodicity of reporting measurement results. In some implementations, the periodicity may vary based on the movement direction (and, optionally, the movement magnitude) (such as based on a doppler shift). ¶0181 - Some example trigger events may include a link parameter that is measured crossing a threshold. For example, if the link parameter being measured is a received signal strength, a trigger event may include the received signal strength going below a lower threshold … Other example threshold adjustments may include adjusting a length of a TTT or adjusting a minimum threshold for a link metric. Examiner interprets that Zhu establishes an upper and lower threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhu to the teachings of Huang and Cheng. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to communication between a user equipment (UE) and a base station (BS) based on a movement direction of the UE with reference to the BS (¶0002, Zhu).
Re. Claim 27, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 26.
Huang further teaches according to said determining, the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0078 - In this embodiment of the present invention, in consideration that a movement speed of UE affects an SRS resource requirement, to satisfy different SRS resource requirements of UEs having different movement speeds, the base station and the UEs may preconfigure a plurality of UE-specific subframe configuration tables. ¶0110 - … the base station may determine, based on the movement speed of the UE, the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration table and the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter allocated to the UE. In this way, SRS time domain resources having different densities may be allocated to UEs having different movement speeds… ¶0141 - Optionally, the manner used to send the L2 SRSs may be determined by the base station based on the movement speed of the UE. The base station may instruct, based on the movement speed of the UE, the UE to send the L2 SRSs by using the plurality of different manners. For example, the base station may preconfigure a correspondence between the movement speed of the UE and an SRS sending manner. Examiner interprets that the UE’s SRS transmission may be controlled based on its movement speed, and the base station may assign each UE a speed-dependent SRS configuration, such that UEs under specific speeds send more SRS since the base station may preconfigure a correspondence between the movement speed of the UE and an SRS sending manner);
Yet, Huang does not explicitly teach for values of the metric below the lower threshold as compared to for values of the metric above the upper threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu explicitly teaches for values of the metric below the lower threshold as compared to for values of the metric above the upper threshold (Fig. 8A & ¶0036 - An upper threshold also may be determined for a range of doppler shifts (such as a maximum speed for the range of doppler shifts being associated with 200 kph or another suitable speed). ¶0093 - The SRS may be used by a base station for channel quality estimation to enable frequency-dependent scheduling on the UL. ¶0180 - Another example adjustment is a periodicity of reporting measurement results. In some implementations, the periodicity may vary based on the movement direction (and, optionally, the movement magnitude) (such as based on a doppler shift). ¶0181 - Some example trigger events may include a link parameter that is measured crossing a threshold. For example, if the link parameter being measured is a received signal strength, a trigger event may include the received signal strength going below a lower threshold … Other example threshold adjustments may include adjusting a length of a TTT or adjusting a minimum threshold for a link metric).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhu to the teachings of Huang and Cheng. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to communication between a user equipment (UE) and a base station (BS) based on a movement direction of the UE with reference to the BS (¶0002, Zhu).
Re. Claim 28, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 26.
Huang further teaches according to said determining, the wireless communication device is to send the SRS more often (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0078 - In this embodiment of the present invention, in consideration that a movement speed of UE affects an SRS resource requirement, to satisfy different SRS resource requirements of UEs having different movement speeds, the base station and the UEs may preconfigure a plurality of UE-specific subframe configuration tables. ¶0110 - … the base station may determine, based on the movement speed of the UE, the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration table and the UE-specific SRS subframe configuration parameter allocated to the UE. In this way, SRS time domain resources having different densities may be allocated to UEs having different movement speeds… ¶0141 - Optionally, the manner used to send the L2 SRSs may be determined by the base station based on the movement speed of the UE. The base station may instruct, based on the movement speed of the UE, the UE to send the L2 SRSs by using the plurality of different manners. For example, the base station may preconfigure a correspondence between the movement speed of the UE and an SRS sending manner. Examiner interprets that the UE’s SRS transmission may be controlled based on its movement speed, and the base station may assign each UE a speed-dependent SRS configuration, such that UEs under specific speeds send more SRS since the base station may preconfigure a correspondence between the movement speed of the UE and an SRS sending manner);
Yet, Huang does not explicitly teach for values of the metric between the lower threshold and the upper threshold as compared to for values of the metric below the lower threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu explicitly teaches for values of the metric between the lower threshold and the upper threshold as compared to for values of the metric below the lower threshold (Fig. 8A & ¶0036 - An upper threshold also may be determined for a range of doppler shifts (such as a maximum speed for the range of doppler shifts being associated with 200 kph or another suitable speed). ¶0093 - The SRS may be used by a base station for channel quality estimation to enable frequency-dependent scheduling on the UL. ¶0180 - Another example adjustment is a periodicity of reporting measurement results. In some implementations, the periodicity may vary based on the movement direction (and, optionally, the movement magnitude) (such as based on a doppler shift). ¶0181 - Some example trigger events may include a link parameter that is measured crossing a threshold. For example, if the link parameter being measured is a received signal strength, a trigger event may include the received signal strength going below a lower threshold … Other example threshold adjustments may include adjusting a length of a TTT or adjusting a minimum threshold for a link metric).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhu to the teachings of Huang and Cheng. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to communication between a user equipment (UE) and a base station (BS) based on a movement direction of the UE with reference to the BS (¶0002, Zhu).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Cheng, and further in view of Ji et al. (US 2023/0344569), Ji hereinafter.
Re. Claim 32, Huang and Cheng teach Claim 23.
Yet, Huang and Cheng do not explicitly teach the metric is a Doppler metric equal to
v
⋅
f
c
c
where v is the speed of the wireless communication device,
f
C
is an uplink carrier frequency of the wireless communication device, and c is the speed of light in free space.
However, in the analogous art, Ref explicitly teaches the metric is a Doppler metric equal to
v
⋅
f
c
c
where v is the speed of the wireless communication device,
f
C
is an uplink carrier frequency of the wireless communication device, and c is the speed of light in free space (Fig. 21 & ¶0338 -(¶00012) -
f
D
n
t
=
f
C
v
n
t
C
,
n
=
1
,
…
,
N
.
¶0339 - In Equation 3,
f
C
is the carrier frequency,
v
n
t
is the relative speed of the UE with respect to the nth RU, and c is the speed of light. ¶0351 - A carrier frequency used by the UE during transmission of the uplink resource may be expressed as feu. TRP #1 and TRP #2 receive the SRS, and when each TRP knows the uplink carrier frequency of the UE, the Doppler shifts f.sub.d,1 and f.sub.d,2 between each TRP-UE channel can be known from the SRS, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ji to the teachings of Huang and Cheng. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and an apparatus for transmitting or receiving a signal for a high-speed mobile terminal in a wireless communication system (¶0001, Ji).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Callender et al. (US 2019/0116461) – Please see Abstract.
Kuchi et al. (US 2021/0136723) – Please see Abstract.
Raghavan et al. (US 2022/0103235) – Please see Abstract.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm.Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465