DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim limitation recites “ further csomprising:” in the first line. It is a typo and should be corrected as “further comprising”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 18, 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2022/0361276 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon et al. teach an terminal device of a first device type, the terminal device of the first device type comprising, at least one processor, and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the terminal device to (Fig. 15, [0361, 0419], wireless device may perform an RA procedure, for example, in a non-connected state (e.g., and during an SDT procedure. (i.e. first device type performs RA-SDT procedure which is referred as first condition). The wireless device may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements),
Jeon et al. teach obtain one or more first conditions for small data transmission, said one or more first conditions being specific to the first device type (Figs. 6 and 24, [0054, 0363], the wireless device to apply/use different conditions for selection of a transmission type for initiating the small data transmission (SDT) procedure and during the initiated SDT procedure. The wireless device may select a first transmission type based on one or more first conditions being satisfied. (Note: the exact first condition depends on the specific device type (e.g., standard smartphone, IoT device, [0052]).
Jeon et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions are different compared with one or more second conditions for small data transmission, said one or more second conditions being associated with a second device type different to the first device type (Figs. 6 and 24, [0361-0363], the wireless device may select a first transmission type based on one or more first conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the first transmission type is based on/in response to initiating (e.g., occurs to initiate) the SDT procedure. The wireless device may select a second transmission type based on one or more second conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the second transmission type occurs during an ongoing SDT procedure. The one or more first conditions and the one or more second conditions may or may not share one or more common conditions. The wireless device may perform an RA procedure, for example, in a non-connected state (e.g., and during an SDT procedure). (Note: RA-SDT, Random Access SDT, is a first condition typically refers to the transmission method). Herein may enable flexible selection of a transmission type within/during an ongoing communication procedure. For example, various examples herein may enable selection of a transmission type CG-based SDT. (Note: CG-SDT, Configured Grant SDT, is a second condition typically refers to the transmission method, and therefore, the “first condition” and the “second condition” are different as the transmission methods are different).
Jeon et al. teach obtain said one or more second conditions by receiving said one or more second conditions from a network (Figs. 6 and 24, [0363], the wireless device may select a second transmission type based on one or more second conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the second transmission type occurs during an ongoing SDT procedure, (Note: In CG-SDT (second condition), radio resources are pre-allocated by the network),
Jeon et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions are obtained by adjusting a currently configured value of the one or more second conditions for the small data transmission according to a predefined rule (Figs. 6 and 24, [0362], various examples herein may enable selection of a transmission type (e.g., CG-based SDT (i.e. second condition), RA-based SDT (i.e. first condition), and/or the normal RA procedure) within/during an ongoing procedure (e.g., SDT procedure). The procedure may be performed during a time period in which a wireless device is not connected to a network. Various examples herein may enable the wireless device to stop an ongoing SDT procedure, for example, based on initiating an RA procedure (e.g., based on/in response to triggering a BSR, triggering a SR, arrival of new data for transmission, etc.) within/during the ongoing SDT procedure. The wireless device may change a transmission type, for example, based on stopping an ongoing SDT procedure. For example, the wireless device may (re-)select an uplink carrier, may switch to a different SDT procedure (e.g., switch from a CG-based SDT to an RA-based SDT, or vice-versa. (Note: the switching from a CG-based SDT (second condition) to an RA-based SDT (first condition) is considered as the rule for adjustment of the second condition to obtain the first condition),
Jeon et al. teach and initiate, if the one or more first conditions are fulfilled, a small data transmission procedure, while in a radio resource control inactive state or idle state (Figs. 6 and 23, [0329], the wireless device may perform a communication procedure for communicating with a network (e.g., a base station). The wireless device may perform the communication procedure for communication during a non-connected state (e.g., an inactive state such as an RRC inactive state, an idle state such as an RRC idle state, etc.) of the wireless device. For example, the wireless device may perform an SDT procedure. The wireless device may select an RA-based SDT (i.e. first condition) or a CG-based SDT for the SDT procedure).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon et al. teach a method implemented at a terminal device of a first device type, the method comprising (Fig. 15, [0361, 0419], wireless device may perform an RA procedure, for example, in a non-connected state (e.g., and during an SDT procedure. (i.e. first device type performs RA-SDT procedure which is referred as first condition). The wireless device may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements),
Jeon et al. teach obtaining one or more first conditions for small data transmission, said one or more first conditions being specific to the first device type (Figs. 6 and 24, [0054, 0363], the wireless device to apply/use different conditions for selection of a transmission type for initiating the small data transmission (SDT) procedure and during the initiated SDT procedure. The wireless device may select a first transmission type based on one or more first conditions being satisfied. (Note: the exact first condition depends on the specific device type (e.g., standard smartphone, IoT device, [0052]).
Jeon et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions are different compared with one or more second conditions for small data transmission, said one or more second conditions being associated with a second device type different to the first device type (Figs. 6 and 24, [0361-0363], the wireless device may select a first transmission type based on one or more first conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the first transmission type is based on/in response to initiating (e.g., occurs to initiate) the SDT procedure. The wireless device may select a second transmission type based on one or more second conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the second transmission type occurs during an ongoing SDT procedure. The one or more first conditions and the one or more second conditions may or may not share one or more common conditions. The wireless device may perform an RA procedure, for example, in a non-connected state (e.g., and during an SDT procedure). (Note: RA-SDT, Random Access SDT, is a first condition typically refers to the transmission method). Herein may enable flexible selection of a transmission type within/during an ongoing communication procedure. For example, various examples herein may enable selection of a transmission type CG-based SDT. (Note: CG-SDT, Configured Grant SDT, is a second condition typically refers to the transmission method, and therefore, the “first condition” and the “second condition” are different as the transmission methods are different).
Jeon et al. teach obtaining said one or more second conditions by receiving said one or more second conditions from a network (Figs. 6 and 24, [0363], the wireless device may select a second transmission type based on one or more second conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the second transmission type occurs during an ongoing SDT procedure, (Note: In CG-SDT (second condition), radio resources are pre-allocated by the network),
Jeon et al. teach wherein, the one or more first conditions are obtained by adjusting a currently configured value of the one or more second conditions for the small data transmission according to a predefined rule (Figs. 6 and 24, [0362], various examples herein may enable selection of a transmission type (e.g., CG-based SDT (i.e. second condition), RA-based SDT (i.e. first condition), and/or the normal RA procedure) within/during an ongoing procedure (e.g., SDT procedure). The procedure may be performed during a time period in which a wireless device is not connected to a network. Various examples herein may enable the wireless device to stop an ongoing SDT procedure, for example, based on initiating an RA procedure (e.g., based on/in response to triggering a BSR, triggering a SR, arrival of new data for transmission, etc.) within/during the ongoing SDT procedure. The wireless device may change a transmission type, for example, based on stopping an ongoing SDT procedure. For example, the wireless device may (re-)select an uplink carrier, may switch to a different SDT procedure (e.g., switch from a CG-based SDT to an RA-based SDT, or vice-versa. (Note: the switching from a CG-based SDT (second condition) to an RA-based SDT (first condition) is considered as the rule for adjustment of the second condition to obtain the first condition),
Jeon et al. teach and initiating, if the one or more first conditions are fulfilled, a small data transmission procedure, while in a radio resource control inactive state or idle state (Figs. 6 and 23, [0329], the wireless device may perform a communication procedure for communicating with a network (e.g., a base station). The wireless device may perform the communication procedure for communication during a non-connected state (e.g., an inactive state such as an RRC inactive state, an idle state such as an RRC idle state, etc.) of the wireless device. For example, the wireless device may perform an SDT procedure. The wireless device may select an RA-based SDT (i.e. first condition) or a CG-based SDT for the SDT procedure).
Regarding claim 20, Jeon et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for causing a terminal device of a first device type to perform at least the following (Fig. 15, [0361, 0429], a non-transitory tangible computer readable machine-accessible medium having instructions encoded thereon for enabling programmable hardware to cause a device (e.g., a wireless device, wireless communicator, a wireless device, a base station, and the like) to allow operation of multi-carrier communications described herein. wireless device may perform an RA procedure, for example, in a non-connected state (e.g., and during an SDT procedure. (i.e. first device type performs RA-SDT procedure which is referred as first condition)),
Jeon et al. teach obtaining one or more first conditions for small data transmission, said one or more first conditions being specific to a first device type (Figs. 6 and 24, [0054, 0363], the wireless device to apply/use different conditions for selection of a transmission type for initiating the small data transmission (SDT) procedure and during the initiated SDT procedure. The wireless device may select a first transmission type based on one or more first conditions being satisfied. (Note: the exact first condition depends on the specific device type (e.g., standard smartphone, IoT device, [0052]).
Jeon et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions are different compared with one or more second conditions for small data transmission, said one or more second conditions being associated with a second device type different to the first device type (Figs. 6 and 24, [0361-0363], the wireless device may select a first transmission type based on one or more first conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the first transmission type is based on/in response to initiating (e.g., occurs to initiate) the SDT procedure. The wireless device may select a second transmission type based on one or more second conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the second transmission type occurs during an ongoing SDT procedure. The one or more first conditions and the one or more second conditions may or may not share one or more common conditions. The wireless device may perform an RA procedure, for example, in a non-connected state (e.g., and during an SDT procedure). (Note: RA-SDT, Random Access SDT, is a first condition typically refers to the transmission method). Herein may enable flexible selection of a transmission type within/during an ongoing communication procedure. For example, various examples herein may enable selection of a transmission type CG-based SDT. (Note: CG-SDT, Configured Grant SDT, is a second condition typically refers to the transmission method, and therefore, the “first condition” and the “second condition” are different as the transmission methods are different).
Jeon et al. teach obtaining said one or more second conditions by receiving said one or more second conditions from a network (Figs. 6 and 24, [0363], the wireless device may select a second transmission type based on one or more second conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the second transmission type occurs during an ongoing SDT procedure, (Note: In CG-SDT (second condition), radio resources are pre-allocated by the network),
Jeon et al. teach wherein, the one or more first conditions are obtained by adjusting a currently configured value of the one or more second conditions for the small data transmission according to a predefined rule (Figs. 6 and 24, [0362], various examples herein may enable selection of a transmission type (e.g., CG-based SDT (i.e. second condition), RA-based SDT (i.e. first condition), and/or the normal RA procedure) within/during an ongoing procedure (e.g., SDT procedure). The procedure may be performed during a time period in which a wireless device is not connected to a network. Various examples herein may enable the wireless device to stop an ongoing SDT procedure, for example, based on initiating an RA procedure (e.g., based on/in response to triggering a BSR, triggering a SR, arrival of new data for transmission, etc.) within/during the ongoing SDT procedure. The wireless device may change a transmission type, for example, based on stopping an ongoing SDT procedure. For example, the wireless device may (re-)select an uplink carrier, may switch to a different SDT procedure (e.g., switch from a CG-based SDT to an RA-based SDT, or vice-versa. (Note: the switching from a CG-based SDT (second condition) to an RA-based SDT (first condition) is considered as the rule for adjustment of the second condition to obtain the first condition),
Jeon et al. teach initiating, if the one or more first conditions are fulfilled, a small data transmission procedure, while in a radio resource control inactive state or idle state (Figs. 6 and 23, [0329], the wireless device may perform a communication procedure for communicating with a network (e.g., a base station). The wireless device may perform the communication procedure for communication during a non-connected state (e.g., an inactive state such as an RRC inactive state, an idle state such as an RRC idle state, etc.) of the wireless device. For example, the wireless device may perform an SDT procedure. The wireless device may select an RA-based SDT (i.e. first condition) or a CG-based SDT for the SDT procedure).
Regarding claim 22, Jeon et al. teach a system comprising at least a terminal device of a first device type- and a network element of a wireless communication network; wherein the terminal device is configured to (Fig. 15, [0361, 0419], wireless device may perform an RA procedure, for example, in a non-connected state (e.g., and during an SDT procedure. (i.e. first device type performs RA-SDT procedure which is referred as first condition). The wireless device may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements),
Jeon et al. teach obtain one or more first conditions for small data transmission, said one or more first conditions being specific to the first device type (Figs. 6 and 24, [0054, 0363], the wireless device to apply/use different conditions for selection of a transmission type for initiating the small data transmission (SDT) procedure and during the initiated SDT procedure. The wireless device may select a first transmission type based on one or more first conditions being satisfied. (Note: the exact first condition depends on the specific device type (e.g., standard smartphone, IoT device, [0052]).
Jeon et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions are different compared with one or more second conditions for small data transmission, said one or more second conditions being associated with a second device type different to the first device type (Figs. 6 and 24, [0361-0363], the wireless device may select a first transmission type based on one or more first conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the first transmission type is based on/in response to initiating (e.g., occurs to initiate) the SDT procedure. The wireless device may select a second transmission type based on one or more second conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the second transmission type occurs during an ongoing SDT procedure. The one or more first conditions and the one or more second conditions may or may not share one or more common conditions. The wireless device may perform an RA procedure, for example, in a non-connected state (e.g., and during an SDT procedure). (Note: RA-SDT, Random Access SDT, is a first condition typically refers to the transmission method). Herein may enable flexible selection of a transmission type within/during an ongoing communication procedure. For example, various examples herein may enable selection of a transmission type CG-based SDT. (Note: CG-SDT, Configured Grant SDT, is a second condition typically refers to the transmission method, and therefore, the “first condition” and the “second condition” are different as the transmission methods are different).
Jeon et al. teach wherein the network element is configured to transmit an indication indicating the one or more second conditions for small data transmission (Figs. 6 and 24, [0363], the wireless device may select a second transmission type based on one or more second conditions being satisfied, for example, if the selecting the second transmission type occurs during an ongoing SDT procedure, (Note: In CG-SDT (second condition), radio resources are pre-allocated by the network),
Jeon et al. teach and wherein the terminal device is configured to- receive the indication from the network element and to obtain the one or more first conditions by adjusting a currently configured value of the one or more second conditions for the small data transmission according to a predefined rule (Figs. 6 and 24, [0362], various examples herein may enable selection of a transmission type (e.g., CG-based SDT (i.e. second condition), RA-based SDT (i.e. first condition), and/or the normal RA procedure) within/during an ongoing procedure (e.g., SDT procedure). The procedure may be performed during a time period in which a wireless device is not connected to a network. Various examples herein may enable the wireless device to stop an ongoing SDT procedure, for example, based on initiating an RA procedure (e.g., based on/in response to triggering a BSR, triggering a SR, arrival of new data for transmission, etc.) within/during the ongoing SDT procedure. The wireless device may change a transmission type, for example, based on stopping an ongoing SDT procedure. For example, the wireless device may (re-)select an uplink carrier, may switch to a different SDT procedure (e.g., switch from a CG-based SDT to an RA-based SDT, or vice-versa. (Note: the switching from a CG-based SDT (second condition) to an RA-based SDT (first condition) is considered as the rule for adjustment of the second condition to obtain the first condition),
Jeon et al. teach and initiate, if the one or more first conditions are fulfilled, a small data transmission procedure, while in a radio resource control inactive state or idle state (Figs. 6 and 23, [0329], the wireless device may perform a communication procedure for communicating with a network (e.g., a base station). The wireless device may perform the communication procedure for communication during a non-connected state (e.g., an inactive state such as an RRC inactive state, an idle state such as an RRC idle state, etc.) of the wireless device. For example, the wireless device may perform an SDT procedure. The wireless device may select an RA-based SDT (i.e. first condition) or a CG-based SDT for the SDT procedure).
Claim(s) 2 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2022/0361276 A1) in view of You et al. (US 2024/0080699 A1).
Jeon et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Jeon et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the one or more first conditions comprise at least a condition for uplink data amount; wherein the terminal device is further caused to: obtain the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions by adjusting an uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission- of the one or more second conditions; wherein the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions is fulfilled, if an uplink data amount value of the small data transmission procedure is below or equal to the adjusted uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions; regarding claim 23, wherein the one or more first conditions comprise at least a condition for uplink data amount; wherein the method further comprises: obtaining the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions by adjusting an uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions; wherein the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions is fulfilled, if an uplink data amount value of the small data transmission procedure is below or equal to the adjusted uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions.
Regarding claim 2, You et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions comprise at least a condition for uplink data amount; wherein the terminal device is further caused to: obtain the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions by adjusting an uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions; wherein the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions is fulfilled, if an uplink data amount value of the small data transmission procedure is below or equal to the adjusted uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions (Figs. 1 and 5, [0151], when it is determined to transmit the uplink data over the CG resource, at least one of the following conditions may be satisfied: a data amount of the uplink data being smaller than or equal to an SDT threshold; a change amount of signal quality of a serving cell being smaller than or equal to a quality threshold; a CG resource being available on a selected carrier; a CG resource being available on a selected beam; or a Timing Advance (TA) timer being running).
Regarding claim 23, You et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions comprise at least a condition for uplink data amount; wherein the method further comprises: obtaining the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions by adjusting an uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions; wherein the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions is fulfilled, if an uplink data amount value of the small data transmission procedure is below or equal to the adjusted uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions (Figs. 1 and 5, [0151], when it is determined to transmit the uplink data over the CG resource, at least one of the following conditions may be satisfied: a data amount of the uplink data being smaller than or equal to an SDT threshold; a change amount of signal quality of a serving cell being smaller than or equal to a quality threshold; a CG resource being available on a selected carrier; a CG resource being available on a selected beam; or a Timing Advance (TA) timer being running).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon et al. by incorporating the features as taught by You et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of obtaining the condition for uplink data amount of the one or more first conditions by adjusting an uplink data amount threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions. The motivation is to support an improved method to an SDT failure reporting method (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2022/0361276 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0227586 A1).
Jeon et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Jeon et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the one or more first conditions comprise at least a condition for reference signal received power; wherein the terminal device is further caused to: obtain the condition for reference signal received power of the one or more first conditions by adjusting a reference signal received power threshold for small data transmission of reference signal received power threshold of the one or more second conditions; regarding claim 26, wherein the reference signal received power threshold of the one or more second conditions is adjusted by being increased.
Regarding claim 4, Huang et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions comprise at least a condition for reference signal received power; wherein the terminal device is further caused to: obtain the condition for reference signal received power of the one or more first conditions by adjusting a reference signal received power threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions; wherein the condition for reference signal received power of the one or more first conditions is fulfilled, if a measured reference signal received power value is above or equal to the adjusted reference signal received power threshold of the one or more second conditions (Figs. 5-7, [0325], UE may determine whether to transmit small data and determine which carriers and RA types to use in the RA procedure by considering the radio condition. Upon RA initial, the UE may check whether the radio condition is above the third threshold to determine small data transmission and whether the RSRP (reference signal received power) of the DL pathloss reference is above the first threshold (e.g. rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL) (as specified in 3GPP TS 38.331) to determine which carriers (NUL or SUL) to use. According to the selected carrier, the UE may check whether the RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is above the second threshold to determine which RA type (2-step or 4-step) to use. Then upon the UE entering the Random Access Resource selection procedure, the UE may check whether the SS-RSRP of any SSBs is above RSRP Threshold SSB to select a CSI-RS to continue the remain RA procedure for small data transmission).
Regarding claim 5, Huang et al. teach wherein the reference signal received power threshold of the one or more second conditions is adjusted by being increased (Figs. 5-7, [0326], the UE may check whether the radio condition is above the third threshold to determine small data transmission and whether the RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is above the second threshold to determine which RA types (2-step or 4-step) to use. Then upon the UE entering the Random Access Resource selection procedure, the UE may check whether the SS-RSRP of any SSBs is above RSRP Threshold SSB to select a SSB and/or the CSI-RSRP of any CSI-RSs is above rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS to select a CSI-RS to continue the remain RA procedure for small data transmission).
Regarding claim 25, Huang et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions comprise at least a condition for reference signal received power; wherein the method further comprises: obtaining the condition for reference signal received power of the one or more first conditions by adjusting a reference signal received power threshold for small data transmission of the one or more second conditions; wherein the condition for reference signal received power of the one or more first conditions is fulfilled, if a measured reference signal received power value is above or equal to the adjusted reference signal received power threshold of the one or more second conditions (Figs. 5-7, [0325], UE may determine whether to transmit small data and determine which carriers and RA types to use in the RA procedure by considering the radio condition. Upon RA initial, the UE may check whether the radio condition is above the third threshold to determine small data transmission and whether the RSRP (reference signal received power) of the DL pathloss reference is above the first threshold (e.g. rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL) (as specified in 3GPP TS 38.331) to determine which carriers (NUL or SUL) to use. According to the selected carrier, the UE may check whether the RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is above the second threshold to determine which RA type (2-step or 4-step) to use. Then upon the UE entering the Random Access Resource selection procedure, the UE may check whether the SS-RSRP of any SSBs is above RSRP Threshold SSB to select a CSI-RS to continue the remain RA procedure for small data transmission).
Regarding claim 26, Huang et al. teach wherein the reference signal received power threshold of the one or more second conditions is adjusted by being increased (Figs. 5-7, [0326], the UE may check whether the radio condition is above the third threshold to determine small data transmission and whether the RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is above the second threshold to determine which RA types (2-step or 4-step) to use. Then upon the UE entering the Random Access Resource selection procedure, the UE may check whether the SS-RSRP of any SSBs is above RSRP Threshold SSB to select a SSB and/or the CSI-RSRP of any CSI-RSs is above rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS to select a CSI-RS to continue the remain RA procedure for small data transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Huang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of obtaining the condition for reference signal received power of the one or more first conditions by adjusting a reference signal received power threshold for small data transmission, and the reference signal received power threshold of the one or more second conditions is adjusted by being increased. The motivation is to support an improved method for Random Access Channel (RACH)-based small data transmission procedure in a wireless communication system (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 7 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2022/0361276 A1) in view of Chen (US 2024/0292328 A1).
Jeon et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Jeon et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 7, wherein the one or more first conditions are obtained by dividing, multiplying, adding, or subtracting the currently a configured value of at least one condition of the one or more second conditions; regarding claim 28, wherein the one or more first conditions are obtained by dividing, multiplying, adding, or subtracting the currently configured value of at least one condition of the one or more second conditions.
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches wherein the one or more first conditions are obtained by dividing, multiplying, adding, or subtracting the currently a configured value of at least one condition of the one or more second conditions (Figs. 1a and 11, [0087], the new BWP switching IE may indicate the SI change indication/PWS indication, switching time offset, switching BWPID, and/or SI change related information. Upon the reception of RRC signaling, the SDT de-activity timer is stopped and the power saving UE would switch to the associated BWP for paging/updated system information reception based on the received BWP switching IE. It should be noted that the network can also indicate the power saving UE to release CG-SDT resource on the associated BWP via the indication of BWP switching IE. For example, the BWP switching IE may set the switching BWPID to initial BWP when the network is congested. Upon the reception of BWP switching IE, the power saving UE may release the CG-SDT (i.e. second condition) resources on the associated BWP and switch to the initial BWP for RA-SDT (i.e. first condition) or initial access. ( Note: adding of resources occurred in switching from ).
Regarding claim 28, Chen teaches wherein the one or more first conditions are obtained by dividing, multiplying, adding, or subtracting the currently configured value of at least one condition of the one or more second conditions (Figs. 1a and 11, [0087], the new BWP switching IE may indicate the SI change indication/PWS indication, switching time offset, switching BWPID, and/or SI change related information. Upon the reception of RRC signaling, the SDT de-activity timer is stopped and the power saving UE would switch to the associated BWP for paging/updated system information reception based on the received BWP switching IE. It should be noted that the network can also indicate the power saving UE to release CG-SDT resource on the associated BWP via the indication of BWP switching IE. For example, the BWP switching IE may set the switching BWPID to initial BWP when the network is congested. Upon the reception of BWP switching IE, the power saving UE may release the CG-SDT (i.e. second condition) resources on the associated BWP and switch to the initial BWP for RA-SDT (i.e. first condition) or initial access. ( Note: adding of resources occurred in switching from ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Chen in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of obtaining first conditions based at least partly on at least one of: a bandwidth of the apparatus. The motivation is to support an improved method for small data transmission (SDT) in a power saving state and related devices (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 8 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2022/0361276 A1) in view of Tseng et al. (US 2023/0015859 A1).
Jeon et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Jeon et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the one or more first conditions are obtained based at least partly on at least one of: a bandwidth, a number of antennas, a number of receivers, a battery life of the apparatus; regarding claim 29, further comprising: receiving at least one offset value for adjusting at least one condition of the one or more second conditions; and obtaining the one or more first conditions by applying the at least one offset value to the at least one condition of the one or more second conditions; wherein the small data transmission procedure is initiated, if the at least one offset value is received and the one or more first conditions are fulfilled.
Regarding claim 8, Tseng et al. teach wherein the terminal device is further caused to: receive at least one offset value for adjusting at least one condition of the one or more second conditions; and obtain the one or more first conditions by applying the at least one offset value to the at least one condition of the one or more second conditions; wherein the small data transmission procedure is initiated, if the at least one offset value is received and the one or more first conditions are fulfilled (Figs. 1-2, [0407-0408], an SL timing advance may be adjusted during an active SDT procedure. In the present implementation, a UE may obtain a UL timing offset (e.g., a N.sub.TA,offset value) from a serving cell during an SDT procedure (e.g., a CG-SDT procedure or a RA-SDT procedure). During the SDT procedure, the UE may also implement an SL data exchange on a serving frequency carrier (which supports one or more of NR SL services, NR-V2X services, E-UTRA V2X services, E-UTRA SL services, and E-UTRA ProSe services) and/or a non-serving frequency carrier. After receiving an updated N.sub.TA,offset value from the serving cell for an active SDT procedure (e.g., via broadcast system information). The UE also may apply the updated N.sub.TA, offset value to the SL timing advance adjustment by jointly considering the SL timing, (N.sub.TA, SL+N.sub.TA, offset).Math.T.sub.c).
Regarding claim 29, Tseng et al. teach further comprising: receiving at least one offset value for adjusting at least one condition of the one or more second conditions; and obtaining the one or more first conditions by applying the at least one offset value to the at least one condition of the one or more second conditions; wherein the small data transmission procedure is initiated, if the at least one offset value is received and the one or more first conditions are fulfilled (Figs. 1-2, [0407-0408], an SL timing advance may be adjusted during an active SDT procedure. In the present implementation, a UE may obtain a UL timing offset (e.g., a N.sub.TA,offset value) from a serving cell during an SDT procedure (e.g., a CG-SDT procedure or a RA-SDT procedure). During the SDT procedure, the UE may also implement an SL data exchange on a serving frequency carrier (which supports one or more of NR SL services, NR-V2X services, E-UTRA V2X services, E-UTRA SL services, and E-UTRA ProSe services) and/or a non-serving frequency carrier. After receiving an updated N.sub.TA,offset value from the serving cell for an active SDT procedure (e.g., via broadcast system information). The UE also may apply the updated N.sub.TA, offset value to the SL timing advance adjustment by jointly considering the SL timing, (N.sub.TA, SL+N.sub.TA, offset).Math.T.sub.c).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Tseng et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of applying the at least one offset value to the at least one condition of the one or more second conditions. The motivation is to support an improved method to radio resource management for small data and sidelink (SL) communications in the next generation wireless networks (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2022/0361276 A1) in view of Feltrin et al. (US 2024/0215075 A1).
Jeon et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Jeon et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein the one or more first conditions are obtained based at least partly on at least one of: a bandwidth, a number of antennas, a number of receivers, a battery life of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 9, Feltrin et al. teach wherein the one or more first conditions are obtained based at least partly on at least one of: a bandwidth, a number of antennas, a number of receivers, a battery life of the apparatus (Fig. 3, [0087], first radio network node 12 may be referred to as source access node or a serving network node wherein the first service area 11 may be referred to as a serving cell, source cell or primary cell, and the first radio network node communicates with the UE 10 in form of DL transmissions to the UE 10 and UL transmissions from the UE 10. Type4-PDCCH CSS is mapped to a CORESET different from CORESET0. In this way, the legacy CSSs do not have to share resources with Type4-PDCCH CSS and so the legacy PDCCH capacity is not limited in any way. The new CORESET may be defined in SI as well, and could be linked to the configuration of a separate bandwidth part (BWP) for RA-SDT (first condition), so that its configuration is available before the SDT procedure begins).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Feltrin et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of obtaining first conditions based at least partly on at least one of: a bandwidth of the apparatus. The motivation is to support an improved method for handling access to the wireless communication network (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2022/0361276 A1) in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 2024/0031056 A1).
Jeon et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Jeon et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the first device type refers to 1Rx reduced capability devices, and the terminal device is a 1Rx reduced capability device.
Regarding claim 11, Rastegardoost et al. teach wherein the first device type refers to 1Rx reduced capability devices, and the terminal device is a 1Rx reduced capability device (Fig. 18, [0266], identification of RedCap UE type(s) during transmission of Msg3 may enable coverage recovery (if needed) and/or appropriate link adaptation for PDSCH (and associated PDCCH and PUCCH) for Msg4, and scheduling of Msg5. The option of extending Msg3 size may offer good scalability in the number of bits for such UE identification; e.g., if sub-types of RedCap device types (if defined) are to be indicated in Msg3. If only the spare bit in Msg3 is used, it would consume the single spare bit currently available in Msg3 payload, and this may not be desirable. The option of only using the spare bit in Msg3 scales poorly—limiting to a single-bit indication may not be sufficient if intending to distinguish between further sub-types/capabilities within RedCap device type, if RedCap UE sub-types/capabilities are defined in the context of RedCap UE identification, if RedCap UE sub-types/capabilities are defined in the context of RedCap UE identification. (Note: a RedCap device may comprise 1 receiver branch and 1 transmitter branch (1Rx/1Tx) )).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Rastegardoost et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of using first device type refers to 1Rx reduced capability devices, and the terminal device is a 1Rx reduced capability device. The motivation is to support an improved method to enable the network to schedule RARs for different types of UEs in the cell using a wide range of TBS scaling factors (see [0292]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 24 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
7/17/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473