DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 31 and 41 have been considered but are moot because the claims have been amended with new limitations and features. Therefore, it necessitates a new ground of rejection as in the followings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-10, 13-14, 16-19, 24, 27, 29-31 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0029558).
Regarding claim 1. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a method performed in a wireless communication system for positioning a wireless device connected to a respective operator network (Liu, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving a message indicating that the wireless device's position needs to be determined (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: a target device TD 10 is a wireless device whose location is to be determined);
associating a vehicle with the operator network to which the wireless device, device is connected (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the TD is operating in frequency hopping mode, phone number, and/or electrical serial number (ESN), can be made available to the MDS 30A, 30B from a database installed within or connected to the PSAP, from the wireless network which is connected to the PSAP, and/or from the air interface of the wireless communication system, the MDS 30A, 30B are Emergency response vehicles equipped with Movable Detection Station such as police cars, ambulances, and/or fire trucks); and
after receiving the message, triggering a network positioning procedure involving the wireless device, the vehicle, and the operator network (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40], wherein the triggered positioning procedure comprises:
at least a first fixed access point of the operator network transmitting a first positioning signal for the wireless device to measure (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the TD transmits position signals with base stations 20A and 20B);
triggering the vehicle to transmit a second positioning signal for the wireless device to measure (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the vehicle 30A communicates and exchanges location/position signals 50A’ and 50A with the TD); and
determining a position of the wireless device based on one or more measurements of the positioning signals based on:
i) a first measurement related to the first positioning signal transmitted by the first fixed access point (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the TD transmits position signals with base stations 20A and 20B); and
ii) a second measurement related to the second positioning signal transmitted by the vehicle (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the vehicle 30A communicates and exchanges location/position signals 50A’ and 50A with the TD).
Regarding claim 31. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a vehicle arranged to partake in positioning a wireless device (Liu, the Abstract, Fig. 1), wherein the vehicle comprises:
a motor (Liu, Fig. 1); and
processing circuitry (Liu, Fig. 9), wherein the vehicle is operable to perform a method comprising:
associating with the operator network of the to which the wireless device is connected (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the TD is operating in frequency hopping mode, phone number, and/or electrical serial number (ESN), can be made available to the MDS 30A, 30B from a database installed within or connected to the PSAP, from the wireless network which is connected to the PSAP, and/or from the air interface of the wireless communication system, the MDS 30A, 30B are Emergency response vehicles equipped with Movable Detection Station such as police cars, ambulances, and/or fire trucks), and to; and
partaking in a network positioning procedure involving the wireless device, the vehicle, and the operator network (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the vehicle 30A communicates and exchanges location/position signals 50A’ and 50A with the TD), wherein
partaking in the network positioning procedure comprises the vehicle transmitting a positioning signal for the wireless device to measure (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the vehicle 30A communicates and exchanges location/position signals 50A’ and 50A with the TD).
Regarding claim 41. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a network node arranged to perform a network positioning procedure in a wireless communication system for positioning a wireless device connected to a respective operator network, assisted in part by a vehicle (Liu, the Abstract), wherein the network node is arranged to comprises:
memory (Liu, Fig. 9); and
processing circuitry (Liu, Fig. 9), wherein the network node is operable to perform a method comprising:
receiving a message indicating that the wireless device's position needs to be determined (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: a target device TD 10 is a wireless device whose location is to be determined);
associating a vehicle with an operator network to which the wireless device is connected (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the TD is operating in frequency hopping mode, phone number, and/or electrical serial number (ESN), can be made available to the MDS 30A, 30B from a database installed within or connected to the PSAP, from the wireless network which is connected to the PSAP, and/or from the air interface of the wireless communication system, the MDS 30A, 30B are Emergency response vehicles equipped with Movable Detection Station such as police cars, ambulances, and/or fire trucks); and
after receiving the message, triggering a positioning procedure involving the wireless device, the vehicle, and the operator network (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the vehicle 30A communicates and exchanges location/position signals 50A’ and 50A with the TD), wherein the triggered positioning procedure comprises:
at least a first fixed access point of the operator network transmitting a first positioning signal for the wireless device to measure (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the TD transmits position signals with base stations 20A and 20B);
triggering the vehicle to transmit a second positioning signal for the wireless device to measure (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the vehicle 30A communicates and exchanges location/position signals 50A’ and 50A with the TD); and
determining a position of the wireless device based on:
i) a first measurement related to the first positioning signal transmitted by the first fixed access point (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the TD transmits position signals with base stations 20A and 20B), and
ii) a second measurement related to the second positioning signal transmitted by the vehicle (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: the vehicle 30A communicates and exchanges location/position signals 50A’ and 50A with the TD).
Regarding claim 2. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises navigating the vehicle towards the determined position of the wireless device (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: vehicle at position 30A’ moves to position 30A which is closer to the target device 10).
Regarding claim 4. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle comprises an electronic subscriber identity module, eSIM, or integrated access backhaul mobile termination, IAB-MT, functionality, arranged to facilitate associating the vehicle with the operator network (Liu, Fig. 4, pp [46]; Fig. 8, pp 51]).
Regarding claim 6. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises obtaining an estimated coarse location associated with a position of the wireless device, and navigating the vehicle to the coarse location prior to triggering the network positioning procedure (Liu, pp [40]: estimating location of the target device).
Regarding claim 7. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the associating comprises emulating a radio base station of the operator network by the vehicle (Liu, Figs. 4 and 5, pp [46]-[47]).
Regarding claim 8. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the associating comprises executing an authorization procedure involving the vehicle and an authorization entity comprised in the operator network, resulting in a granted authorization or a refused authorization (Liu, pp [40]: the transmitted signal by the TD 10, such as the transmitting frequency of the TD, the transmitting slot position of the TD when the TD is operating in TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) mode, the spreading code information of the TD when the TD is operating in CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access) mode or DSSS (Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum) mode, the frequency hoping information when the TD is operating in frequency hopping mode, phone number, and/or electrical serial number (ESN), can be made available to the MDS 30A, 30B from a database installed within or connected to the PSAP, from the wireless network which is connected to the PSAP, and/or from the air interface of the wireless communication system. Using said parameters or properties, the receivers of MDS 30A, 30B would attempt to acquire and receive the transmitted signal 50A, 50B from the TD 10, while driving en route to the target location).
Regarding claim 9. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the authorization procedure comprises verification of a purpose of an authorization request, wherein the result of the authorization procedure depends on the purpose of the verification request (Liu, pp [40]: the transmitted signal by the TD 10, such as the transmitting frequency of the TD, the transmitting slot position of the TD when the TD is operating in TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) mode, the spreading code information of the TD when the TD is operating in CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access) mode or DSSS (Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum) mode, the frequency hoping information when the TD is operating in frequency hopping mode, phone number, and/or electrical serial number (ESN), can be made available to the MDS 30A, 30B from a database installed within or connected to the PSAP, from the wireless network which is connected to the PSAP, and/or from the air interface of the wireless communication system. Using said parameters or properties, the receivers of MDS 30A, 30B would attempt to acquire and receive the transmitted signal 50A, 50B from the TD 10, while driving en route to the target location).
Regarding claim 10. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the granted authorization is valid for the duration of a pre-determined or specified time period, the granted authorization is valid within a specified geographical area, and/or the granted authorization is valid within a specified network domain of the operator network (Liu, pp [40]: the transmitted signal by the TD 10, such as the transmitting frequency of the TD, the transmitting slot position of the TD when the TD is operating in TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) mode, the spreading code information of the TD when the TD is operating in CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access) mode or DSSS (Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum) mode, the frequency hoping information when the TD is operating in frequency hopping mode, phone number, and/or electrical serial number (ESN), can be made available to the MDS 30A, 30B from a database installed within or connected to the PSAP, from the wireless network which is connected to the PSAP, and/or from the air interface of the wireless communication system. Using said parameters or properties, the receivers of MDS 30A, 30B would attempt to acquire and receive the transmitted signal 50A, 50B from the TD 10, while driving en route to the target location).
Regarding claim 13. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network positioning procedure comprises determining a desired location of the vehicle, and navigating the vehicle to the desired location, prior to triggering at least a part of the network positioning procedure (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: vehicle at position 30A’ moves to position 30A which is closer to the target device 10).
Regarding claim 14. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the desired location of the vehicle is determined based on a relative geometry of the one or more fixed access points of the operator network and on an estimated location area of the wireless device, and/or the desired location of the vehicle is determined based on a network operator input and/or based on position data from a database comprising previously determined desired locations (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]: vehicle at position 30A’ moves to position 30A which is closer to the target device 10).
Regarding claim 16. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, where the positioning procedure comprises positioning the vehicle based on communication of a positioning signal between the vehicle and the one or more fixed access points of the operator network (Liu, Fig. 1, pp [40]; Fig. 4, pp [45]-[46]).
Regarding claim 17. (Currently Amended) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises establishing a direct radio link between the vehicle and the wireless device (Liu, Fig. 6, pp [48]: direct link 200).
Regarding claim 18. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network positioning procedure comprises determining a distance between the vehicle and the wireless device based on a positioning signal transmitted over the direct radio link between the vehicle and the wireless device(Liu, Fig. 6, pp [48]: distance determination based on link 200 between TD 10 and vehicle 30A).
Regarding claim 19. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device and/or the vehicle is arranged to determine an angle of arrival and/or an angle of departure of a received and/or transmitted positioning signal, respectively, where the network positioning procedure comprises determining a bearing from the vehicle to the wireless device or vice versa, based on a positioning signal transmitted over the direct radio link between the vehicle and the wireless device (Liu, pp [52]-[54]).
Regarding claim 24. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network positioning procedure comprises transmission of any of a sounding reference signal, SRS, a random access signal transmitted over a physical random access channel, PRACH, and/or a demodulation reference signal, DMRS of a third generation partnership, 3GPP, defined operator network (Liu, pp [40]-[42]).
Regarding claim 27. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network positioning procedure comprises positioning the vehicle with respect to a coordinate system prior to triggering the network positioning procedure involving the operator network (Liu, pp [48]).
Regarding claim 29. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining a position of the wireless device based on one or more measurements comprises determining the position at least partly based on any of:
time of flight of the positioning signal, angle of arrival of the positioning signal, angle of departure of the positioning signals, and a received signal power of the positioning signal (Liu, pp [52]-[54]).
Regarding claim 30. (Previously Presented) Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the position of the wireless device based on the one or more measurements of the positioning signals comprises aligning the network positioning procedure with a movement strategy of the vehicle (Liu, pp [51]-[56]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644