DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kayaba et al (U.S. Pub #2018/0334588).
With respect to claim 1, Kayaba teaches a composition for forming a film for a semiconductor, comprising:
an aliphatic diamine (A) that includes at least one of a primary amino group or a secondary amino group (Paragraphs 60, 63, etc.), and a main chain including a carbon atom (Paragraph 11, 66, 110, ethylenediamine), wherein, in the aliphatic diamine (A), a total number of primary amino groups and secondary amino groups is 2 or greater (Paragraph 127), a number of carbon atoms of the main chain is from 2 to 180 (Paragraph 62), and the aliphatic diamine (A) has a weight average molecular weight of from 60 to 2000 (Paragraph 11); and
a cross-linking agent (D) that includes three or more -C(=O)OX groups in a molecule thereof (X representing a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having from 1 to 6 carbon atoms) (Paragraph 12), wherein from one to six of the three or more -C(=O)OX groups are -C(=O)OH groups (Paragraph 12), and the cross-linking agent (D) has a weight average molecular weight of from 200 to 2000 (Paragraph 12).
With respect to claim 2, Kayaba teaches a silane compound (B) that includes at least one of a primary amino group or a secondary amino group, and one or more silicon atoms (Paragraph 65), wherein, in the silane compound (B), the one or more silicon atoms and one or more non-polar groups, if any, bonded to the one or more silicon atoms satisfy a relationship, (non-polar groups)/Si < 1.8, as a molar ratio (Paragraph 73).
With respect to claim 3, Kayaba teaches a weight average molecular weight of the silane compound (B) is from 130 to 10000 (Paragraph 244).
With respect to claim 4, Kayaba teaches a siloxane compound (C) (Paragraph 65, 1,3-bis(3-aminopropyl)tetramethyldisiloxane) )that is linear and includes at least one of a primary amino group or a secondary amino group, silicon atoms, and non-polar groups bonded to the silicon atoms, wherein, in the siloxane compound (C), a total number of primary amino groups and secondary amino groups is 2 or greater, and the silicon atoms and the non-polar groups bonded to the silicon atoms satisfy a relationship, (non-polar groups)/Si > 1.8, as a molar ratio.
With respect to claim 5, Kayaba teaches a weight average molecular weight of the siloxane compound (C) is from 200 to 2000 (Paragraph 244).
With respect to claim 6, Kayaba teaches that the aliphatic diamine (A) does not include a cyclic structure (Paragraphs 11, 60, 63, etc.).
With respect to claim 7, Kayaba teaches that amino group-containing components / cross-linking agent (D), which is a ratio of a content of the cross-linking agent (D) to a total content of components having an amino group contained in the composition for forming a film for a semiconductor, is greater than or equal to 0.1 and less than or equal to 10 as a molar ratio (Paragraph 98).
With respect to claim 8, Kayaba teaches that COOX / amino groups, which is a ratio of a number of -C(=O)OX groups in molecules of the cross-linking agent (D) to a total number of amino groups of molecules of components having an amino group contained in the composition for forming a film for a semiconductor, is greater than or equal to 0.1 and less than or equal to 5.0 (Paragraph 98).
With respect to claim 9, Kayaba teaches that at least one X in the three or more -C(=O)OX groups in the cross-linking agent (D) is an alkyl group having from 1 to 6 carbon atoms (Paragraph 12).
With respect to claim 10, Kayaba teaches that both ends of the main chain of the aliphatic diamine (A) are each independently a primary amino group or a secondary amino group (Paragraph 65 and 110, ethylenediamine).
With respect to claim 11, Kayaba teaches a laminated body, comprising a joining layer formed from the composition for forming a film for a semiconductor according to claim 1 or claim 2, and a substrate, which are layered one on the other (Paragraph 375).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kayaba, in view of Kawase et al (U.S. Pub 2014/0027885).
With respect to claim 12, Kayaba does not teach a substrate laminated body, comprising a first substrate, a joining layer formed from the composition for forming a film for a semiconductor according to claim 1, and a second substrate, which are layered in this order.
Kawase teaches
a first substrate (Fig. 1, 10), a joining layer (Fig. 1, 40), and a second substrate (Fig. 1, 20), which are layered in this order.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the composition of claim 1 of Kayaba as a joining layer between a first substrate and a second substrate as taught by Kawase in order to construct a three dimensional integrated circuit (Paragraph 32-33).
With respect to claim 13, Kayaba does not teach a substrate laminated body, comprising: a first stacked-layer region including a first substrate, a joining layer formed from the composition for forming a film for a semiconductor according to claim 1, and a second substrate, which are layered in this order; and
a second stacked-layer region including a first substrate, an electrode, and a second substrate, which are layered in this order, wherein at least one of the first stacked-layer region and at least one of the second stacked-layer region are arranged in a plane direction that is orthogonal to a layer-stacking direction.
Kawase teaches
a first stacked-layer region (Fig. 1, left side of stack 1) including a first substrate(Fig. 1, 10), a joining layer (Fig. 1, 40), and a second substrate (Fig. 1, 20), which are layered in this order; and
a second stacked-layer region (Fig. 1, i.e. right side of stack 1) including a first substrate, an electrode, and a second substrate, which are layered in this order, wherein at least one of the first stacked-layer region and at least one of the second stacked-layer region are arranged in a plane direction that is orthogonal to a layer-stacking direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the composition of claim 1 of Kayaba as a joining layer first and second stacked-layer regions as taught by Kawase in order to construct a three dimensional integrated circuit (Paragraph 32-33).
With respect to claim 14, Kayaba does not teach two or more sets each consisting of the first stacked-layer region are stacked in the layer-stacking direction, and two or more sets each consisting of the second stacked-layer region are stacked in the layer-stacking direction.
Kawase teaches two or more sets each consisting of the first stacked-layer region are stacked in the layer-stacking direction, and two or more sets each consisting of the second stacked-layer region are stacked in the layer-stacking direction (Paragraph 33, the number of substrates can be more than three).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two or more sets of stacked layers as taught by Kawase in order to achieve the predictable result of constructing a three dimensional integrated circuit (Paragraph 32-33).
With respect to claim 15, Kayaba does not teach that at least one of the first substrate or the second substrate is a semiconductor substrate that includes at least one element selected from the group consisting of Si, Ga, Ge, and As.
Kawase teaches that at least one of the first substrate or the second substrate is a semiconductor substrate that includes at least one element selected from the group consisting of Si (Paragraph 41), Ga, Ge, and As.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first or second substrate to include silicon as taught by Kawase in order to achieve the predictable result of implementing an integrated circuit (Paragraph 41).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812