DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, reciting “ - - a step for forming a heating layer which may be heated - - “ is indefinite as it is unclear as to whether the limitations following the phrase are or are not required by the claim.
In claim 15, reciting “ - - a step for forming a heating layer which may be heated - - “ is indefinite as it is unclear as to whether the limitations following the phrase are or are not required by the claim.
In claim 20, reciting “- - a step for forming a heating layer which may be heated - -“ is indefinite as it is unclear as to whether the limitations following the phrase are or are not required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 & 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 20080214021) in view of Seddon (US 20200411380).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses that a method for forming an epitaxial semiconductor layer comprising:
a step for providing a crystallization base member 100 (para. 0058);
a step for forming a semiconductor layer 102 having one of an amorphous structure and a polycrystalline structure (para. 0062) in contact with the crystallization base member 100 (Fig. 1A);
a step for forming a heating layer 103 which may be heated by a laser on the semiconductor layer (Fig. 1A-1B);
a step for melting the semiconductor layer by heating the heating layer by irradiating a laser to the heating layer (Fig. 1B); and
a step for forming a single crystallized epitaxial semiconductor layer from the semiconductor layer through single crystallization of the semiconductor layer according to the single crystalline structure of the crystallization base member by cooling the molten semiconductor layer (Fig. 1C).
Tanaka fails to specify that a crystallization base (a substrate) member having a single crystal structure.
However, Seddon suggests that a crystallization base member can be a single crystal structure (para. 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Tanaka with a crystallization base (a substrate) member having a single crystal structure as taught by Seddon in order to enhance variation of semiconductor substrate (para. 0044) and also, the claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one know element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Reclaim 2, Tanana & Seddon disclose that the crystallization base member includes any one of a single crystal silicon, a single crystal silicon germanium, and a single crystal germanium (Seddon, para. 0044).
Reclaim 3, Tanana & Seddon disclose that the semiconductor layer includes any one of a silicon, a silicon germanium, a germanium, a silicon carbide, GaAs, InGaAs, InAs, and InSb (Tanaka, para. 0061).
Reclaim 6, Tanana & Seddon disclose that the heating layer has a thickness of 0.02 µm to 11 um (Tanaka, Fig. 1A).
Reclaim 7, Tanana & Seddon disclose that the laser irradiated to the heating layer has a wavelength of 0.02 µm to 11 /um (Tanaka, Fig. 1A).
Reclaim 8, Tanana & Seddon disclose that a step for forming a passivation layer on the heating layer, and wherein the laser is irradiated to the heating layer through the passivation layer (Tanaka, Fig. 1A, para. 0065).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 20080214021) in view of Seddon (US 20200411380) and further in view of Okumura (US 3.91747).
Reclaim 4, Tanana & Seddon fail to teach that the heating layer includes at least one of metal and metal compounds.
However, Okumura suggests that the heating layer 5 includes at least one of metal and metal compounds (“ A catalyst element such as Ni, Pt, Pd, Co, Fe, Cu, Au, Ag, or Cr for accelerating crystallization of the a-Si film is doped into the cap film 5)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Tanana & Seddon with the heating layer includes at least one of metal and metal compounds as taught by Okumura in order to enhance accelerating crystallization of an a-Si and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 5, Tanana, Seddon, & Okumura disclose that the heating layer includes at least any one of TiN, Ti, TiSi, Ta, TaN, Co, CoSi, Ni, NiSi, Ru, W, WSi, Cu, Re, Mo, Nb, and Cr (Okumura).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 & 19-23 are allowed over Tanana in view of Seddon, if applicant overcomes the 112 rejections above.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
After further search and consideration, the prior art neither anticipated nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination.
The prior art does not teach or render obvious “- -a step for forming a mask layer on the crystallization base member having at least one opening exposing a portion of the crystallization base member;
a step for forming a semiconductor layer having any one of an amorphous structure and a polycrystalline structure to fill the opening on the crystallization base member exposed by the opening; a step for forming a heating layer which may be heated by a laser on the semiconductor layer;
a step for melting the semiconductor layer by heating the heating layer by irradiating a laser to the heating layer;
a step for forming a single crystallized epitaxial semiconductor layer from the semiconductor layer through single crystallization of the semiconductor layer according to the single crystalline structure of the crystallization base member by cooling the molten semiconductor layer - -” with combination of the other limitations as recited in claim 15.
Furthermore, the prior art does not teach or render obvious “- - wherein the crystallization base member is formed in a patterned layer structure having at least one opening exposing a portion of the underlying layer;
a step for forming a semiconductor layer having any one of an amorphous structure and a polycrystalline structure to fill the opening on the underlying layer exposed by the opening; a step for forming a heating layer which may be heated by a laser on the semiconductor layer ” with combination of the other limitations as recited in claim 20.
Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SU C KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899