DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment was accepted. Claims 1-7 are cancelled. Claims 8-27 are new.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statement was submitted.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 3/4/24 have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “a peak … not near 2θ = 28°” in claims 8-27 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “is not near 2θ = 28°” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, 2θ = 22° can be interpreted as 2θ = 28° in contrast to and 2θ = 50°. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kohki et al. (WO2017038320).
Regarding claim 8, the Kohki et al. reference discloses a silicon monoxide powder comrpsiing a silicon monoxide wherein in an X-ray diffraction spectrum comprises broad peaks due to an amorphous phase near 2θ = 22° and 2θ = 50° and a peak due to a crystal phase of silicon is not near 2θ = 28° (Fig.4)
The limitation, “measured by X-Ray diffraction by using a Cu-Kα ray is a product-by-process claims. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since SiO component is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claim 9, the Kokhi reference discloses SiO (Fig. 4).
The recited limitation, “wherein “X” is in the range of 0.8≤x≤1.2 when the silicon monoxide is represented by the composition formula of SiOx” is “intended use” limitation, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 10, the Kokhi reference discloses a silicon monoxide.
The limitation, “is produced by oxidizing a metal silicon powder as a raw material by using the reaction heat of oxygen gas with a flammable gas in an air steam as an energy source,” is product-by-process claim limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since SiO component is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claim 11, the Kokhi reference discloses a silicon monoxide.
The limitation, “is produced by oxidizing a metal silicon powder as a raw material by using the reaction heat of oxygen gas with a flammable gas in an air stream as an energy source, is product-by-process claim limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since SiO component is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claim 12-15, the Kokhi reference disclose the silicon monoxide powder is coated with a conductive film on a surface (C-coated).
Regarding claim 16-19, the Kokhi reference disclses the silicon monoxide is doped with lithium (Comparative Examples 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wenhui et al. (CN109796017).
Regarding claim 8, the Wenhui et al. reference discloses a silicon monoxide powder comprising a silicon monoxide wherein in an X-ray diffraction spectrum comprises broad peaks due to an amorphous phase near 2θ = 22° and 2θ = 50° and a peak due to a crystal phase of silicon is not near 2θ = 28° (Fig.1)
The limitation, “measured by X-Ray diffraction by using a Cu-Kα ray is a product-by-process claims. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since SiO component is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claim 9, the Wenhui reference discloses SiO (Fig. 1).
The recited limitation, “wherein “X” is in the range of 0.8≤x≤1.2 when the silicon monoxide is represented by the composition formula of SiOx” is “intended use” limitation, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 10, the Wenhui reference discloses a silicon monoxide.
The limitation, “is produced by oxidizing a metal silicon powder as a raw material by using the reaction heat of oxygen gas with a flammable gas in an air steam as an energy source,” is product-by-process claim limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since SiO component is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claim 11, the Wenhui reference discloses a silicon monoxide.
The limitation, “is produced by oxidizing a metal silicon powder as a raw material by using the reaction heat of oxygen gas with a flammable gas in an air stream as an energy source, is product-by-process claim limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since SiO component is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 20-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kohki et al. (WO2017038320).
Regarding claims 20-27, the Kohki et al. reference discloses the invention is used as a negative electrode active material for a lithium-ion battery. The lithium-ion battery comprises a positive electrode with a separator and non-aqueous electrolyte. Since the comparative examples have performance results (Table) , it would have been inherent that the comparative examples were also used as a negative electrode active material for a lithium-ion battery. The lithium-ion battery comprises a positive electrode with a separator and non-aqueous electrolyte.
In alternative, it would have been obvious to provide the comparative examples in the same constant environment as the invention. That is, to provide the comparative examples in a negative electrode active material for a lithium-ion battery, the lithium-ion battery comprises a positive electrode with a separator and non-aqueous electrolyte to prevent error by keeping the product as the only variable in testing different products. A patent claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was obvious to try. When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR v. Teleflex
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752