DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings (see Figs. 2 and 7-12) are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l), because the character of the lines are insufficient for satisfactory reproduction characteristics, and 37 CFR 1.84(m), because the use of solid gray shading reduces legibility and does not adequately contrast with the rest of the drawings. See MPEP 608.02.
“(l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
(m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections. See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the extension of the cooling module" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US 20220097475 A1).
As to Claim 1, Huang discloses:
A thermal management device (thermal management system 66; see Fig. 9) for a modular platform 22 of an electric motor vehicle chassis (frame 24 of vehicle 10; thermal management system 66 disposed at least in part on platform 22),
the modular platform 22 comprising batteries (battery pack 12) and an electric powertrain of the electric motor vehicle (Par. 0064 “The electrified vehicle 10 may include any electrified powertrain capable of applying a torque from an electric machine (e.g., an electric motor) for driving drive wheels 14 of the electrified vehicle 10”),
the thermal management device 66 comprising:
a first module (refrigerant system 36; see Figs. 3-4 and 9) comprising a first heat transfer fluid circuit which is configured to circulate a first heat transfer fluid (refrigerant), the first heat transfer fluid circuit comprising a compressor 48, a first expansion device 52, a multi-fluid heat exchanger (condenser 46) and a first heat exchanger (chiller 50; Par. 0074 “the refrigerant system 36 may include a condenser 46, a compressor 48, a chiller 50, a thermal expansion valve 52”),
a cooling module (radiator 34/support components 44; see Figs. 3-4) configured to have an external air flow passing through it (outside airflow flows through radiator 34; Par. 0071 “The thermal module assembly 30 may include a radiator 34 (e.g., an outside heat exchanger)”),
the cooling module comprising at least a first heat exchanger 34 configured to have the external air flow passing through it (outside airflow flows through 34),
the cooling module comprising an upper side (top), a lower side (bottom), a first and a second lateral sides opposite one another (visible side of Fig. 3 and opposite side of Fig. 3), wherein the sides form an outer wall of the cooling module (top, bottom and sides of 34/44 comprise walls of 34/44),
wherein the cooling module is configured to be integrated within the modular platform 22 (Par. 0071 “The thermal module assembly 30 may include a radiator 34 (e.g., an outside heat exchanger)”; “a thermal module assembly 30 (see image (iv)) may be incorporated into the flexible modular platform 22 of the electrified vehicle 10”), and
a second module (coolant system 86) comprising a first pump 96 and a second pump 98 of a second heat transfer fluid circuit in which a second heat transfer fluid is circulated (coolant),
the second module further comprising means for redirecting the second heat transfer fluid within the second heat transfer fluid circuit (first and second manifold valves 38,40; Par. 0085 “the coolant system 86 includes at least the radiator 34, the first manifold valve 38, the second manifold valve 40, the heater core 92, the cooler core 94, a first pump 96, a second pump 98”),
wherein at least some of the components of the first module (components of 36) and of the second module (components of 86) are arranged on the outer wall of the cooling module (radiator 34/frame 44 of front end structure 32; Par. 0072 “The first manifold valve 38 and the second manifold valve 40 may be mounted to any surface of the front end structure 32 either before or after installing the radiator 34 within the front end structure 32”; Par. 0073 “the refrigerant system 36 may be installed on the radiator 34 (see image (iii)). One or more support components 44 may be utilized to support the radiator 34, the refrigerant system 36, or both relative to the front end structure 32”).
As to Claim 2, Huang discloses:
wherein the components of the first module 36 are grouped together on the upper side of the cooling module (see Fig. 3iii, components of 36 disposed on upper side of 34/44).
As to Claim 3, Huang discloses:
wherein the components of the second module 86 are arranged on the same lateral side of the cooling module (38 and 40 disposed on visible side of 34/42 of Fig. 3).
As to Claim 5, Huang discloses:
wherein the compressor 48 and the first heat exchanger 50 of the first module 36 are grouped together on the same lateral side of the cooling module (48 and 50 disposed on visible side of 34/42 of Fig. 3).
As to Claim 6, Huang discloses:
wherein the first expansion device 52 and the multi-fluid heat exchanger 46 of the first module 36 are arranged on the same lateral side as the compressor 48 and the first heat exchanger 50 of the first module 36 (52 and 46 are disposed on visible side of 34/42 of Fig. 3, same side as 48 and 50).
As to Claim 12, Huang discloses:
A modular platform 22 of an electric motor vehicle chassis 24, the modular platform 22 comprising the batteries 12 and the electric powertrain of the electric motor vehicle 10 (Par. 0064 “The electrified vehicle 10 may include any electrified powertrain capable of applying a torque from an electric machine (e.g., an electric motor) for driving drive wheels 14 of the electrified vehicle 10”), wherein the modular platform 22 comprises a thermal management device 66 as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20220097475 A1) alone.
As to Claim 4, Huang does not disclose:
wherein the components of the second module are distributed between the two lateral sides of the cooling module.
However, Huang further discloses:
the manifold valves 38,40 are capable of being mounted on any surface of the front end structure 32 (Par. 0072 “The first manifold valve 38 and the second manifold valve 40 may be mounted to any surface of the front end structure 32 either before or after installing the radiator 34 within the front end structure 32”);
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement (Par. 0133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Huang e.g., providing:
wherein the components of the second module are distributed between the two lateral sides of the cooling module;
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement.
Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to Claim 7, Huang does not disclose:
wherein the first expansion device and the multi-fluid heat exchanger are arranged on a lateral side opposite the lateral side comprising the compressor and the first heat exchanger of the first module.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Huang e.g., providing:
wherein the first expansion device and the multi-fluid heat exchanger are arranged on a lateral side opposite the lateral side comprising the compressor and the first heat exchanger of the first module;
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement (Par. 0133).
Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to Claim 8, Huang does not disclose:
wherein the components of the second module are arranged on the upper side of the cooling module.
However, Huang further discloses:
the manifold valves 38,40 are capable of being mounted on any surface of the front end structure 32 (Par. 0072 “The first manifold valve 38 and the second manifold valve 40 may be mounted to any surface of the front end structure 32 either before or after installing the radiator 34 within the front end structure 32”);
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement (Par. 0133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Huang e.g., providing:
wherein the components of the second module are arranged on the upper side of the cooling module;
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement.
Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to Claim 9, Huang does not disclose:
wherein the components of the second module are arranged on a lateral side of the cooling module opposite the lateral side comprising the components of the first module.
However, Huang further discloses:
the manifold valves 38,40 are capable of being mounted on any surface of the front end structure 32 (Par. 0072 “The first manifold valve 38 and the second manifold valve 40 may be mounted to any surface of the front end structure 32 either before or after installing the radiator 34 within the front end structure 32”);
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement (Par. 0133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Huang e.g., providing:
wherein the components of the second module are arranged on a lateral side of the cooling module opposite the lateral side comprising the components of the first module;
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement.
Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to Claim 10 (as best understood), Huang does not disclose:
wherein the first expansion device and the multi-fluid heat exchanger are arranged in an extension of the cooling module, facing a side of the cooling module opposite the first heat exchanger of the cooling module.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Huang e.g., providing:
wherein the first expansion device and the multi-fluid heat exchanger are arranged in an extension of the cooling module, facing a side of the cooling module opposite the first heat exchanger of the cooling module;
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement (Par. 0133).
Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to Claim 11, Huang does not disclose:
wherein the components of the second module are distributed between: the lateral side of the cooling module opposite the lateral side comprising the compressor and the first heat exchanger of the first module, and in the extension of the cooling module, facing a side of the cooling module opposite the first heat exchanger of the cooling module.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Huang e.g., providing:
wherein the components of the second module are distributed between: the lateral side of the cooling module opposite the lateral side comprising the compressor and the first heat exchanger of the first module, and in the extension of the cooling module, facing a side of the cooling module opposite the first heat exchanger of the cooling module;
in order to provide modular and scalable designs in different sizes for utilization in multiple vehicle product lines and simplified servicing and part replacement (Par. 0133).
Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aikawa (US 20210094443 A1) discloses a vehicle cooling system with multiple fluids/circuits.
Kim (US 20150167532 A1) discloses a radiator and cooling module for a vehicle.
Porras (US 20180006347 A1) discloses a battery coolant circuit for a vehicle.
Kalbacher (US 5931228 A) discloses a cooling module with multiple components attached to the radiator.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835