DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-7, filed December 11, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 3-6 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. A new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the amendment. The deficiencies of Matsumoto are now met by Miyazaki in. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1and 3-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Miyazaki US 2013/0154675 A1(hereinafter referred to as Miyazaki).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki discloses a wafer inspection apparatus (fig. 1, elm. 2, par. [0048]) comprising a turntable (fig. 1, elm. 4, par. [0049]), the turntable comprising; an annular wafer support unit (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0049]), the annular wafer support unit comprising: a contact portion (fig. 2-3 and 6, elm. 12, par. [0062]) configured to contact a lower surface of a wafer (fig. 2, elm. 5, par. [0049]), the contact portion (fig. 2-3 and 6, elm. 12, par. [0062]) having a convex shape extending towards the lower surface of the wafer (see fig. 2-3), a non-contact portion (fig. 2-3 and 5, groove, par. [0055]) configured to be out of contact with the lower surface of the wafer, the non-contact portion having a concave shape recessed relative to an upper surface of the contact portion (see fig. 2-3), and a stepped portion between the contact portion and the non-contact portion defining a height difference (fig. 5, distance t2, par. [0062]) such that a gap is formed between the wafer and the non-contact portion (see fig. 2); and a clamping system (fig. 2, wafer holding means 9, par. [0082]) comprising a holding claw (fig. 6-7,wafer holder 13, par. [0062]) for clamping the wafer, wherein the contact portion and the non-contact portion are alternately arranged in a circumferential direction of the turntable so as to face an outer peripheral portion of the lower surface of the wafer (see fig. 2-5), and are provided such that the length in the circumferential direction of the contact portion is shorter than the length in the circumferential direction of the non-contact portion (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Miyazaki discloses the wafer inspection apparatus of claim 1, wherein a direction of a normal line of a stepped surface (see fig. 2-5)) between the contact portion (fig. 2-3 and 6, elm. 12, par. [0062]) and the non-contact portion (fig. 2-3 and 5, groove, par. [0055]) of the annular wafer support unit (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0049]) is a direction to face outward with respect to a tangential direction of an outer periphery of the turntable (fig. 1, elm. 4, par. [0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazaki discloses the wafer inspection apparatus of claim 1, wherein a same number of clamping systems (fig. 2, wafer holding means 9, par. [0082]) and contact portions (fig. 2-3 and 6, elm. 12, par. [0062]) are disposed in the circumferential direction of the turntable (fig. 1, elm. 4, par. [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, Miyazaki discloses the wafer inspection apparatus of claim 4, wherein the holding claw (fig. 6-7,wafer holder 13, par. [0062]) of the clamping system is (fig. 2, wafer holding means 9, par. [0082]) provided within a range that overlaps a region where the contact portion (fig. 2-3 and 6, elm. 12, par. [0062]) is provided in the circumferential direction of the turntable (see fig. 3 and 6-8).
Regarding claim 6, Miyazaki discloses the wafer inspection apparatus offig. 6-7, wafer holder 13, par. [0062]) is disposed radially outward with respect to the annular wafer support unit (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smedt et al. US 20010013684 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Smedt).
Regarding claim 2, Miyazaki discloses the wafer inspection apparatus of claim 1, Miyazaki does not disclose wherein a gap between the wafer (and the annular wafer support unit in the non-contact portion is greater than 0 mm and 0.4 mm or less, and preferably 0.3 mm or less.
Smedt discloses wherein a gap between the wafer (fig. 7, wafer 115, par. [0056]) and the annular wafer support unit (fig. 7, handling chuck 101, par. [0056]) in the non-contact portion is greater than 0 mm and 0.4 mm or less, and preferably 0.3 mm or less (fig. 7, 0.012 inch gap, par. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (provide minimize surface contact and sufficient space for an air bearing as taught in Smedt in modifying the apparatus of Miyazaki. The motivation would be to stabilize the wafer due to spinning vortex effects. (see Smedt: abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858