Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-12 and 15-20 in the reply filed on 25 February 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Applicant states: “Reconsideration and further examination are respectfully requested. . . . Applicant respectfully traverses all the arguments made in the Office Action that were not specifically addressed above,” but doesn’t specifically address how the prior restriction requirement is in error.
2. Claims 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 February 2026.
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ringeisen et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2002/0122898 A1), hereinafter Ringeisen; in view of Wang et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication No. WO 2020/0097083 A1; utilizing United States Patent Publication No. US 2021/0403942 A1 as an English language equivalent), hereinafter Wang.
6. Regarding Claims 1-12 and 15-20, Ringeisen teaches (Paragraphs [0087-0088 and 0093-0096]) a method of forming a cell-laden hydrogel on a receiver substrate. Ringeisen teaches (Paragraphs [0087-0088 and 0093-0096]) providing at least one of a hydrogel or a hydrogel-forming pre-polymer solution. Ringeisen teaches (Paragraphs [0087-0088 and 0093-0096]) at least one of the hydrogel at least one type of cells included with at least part of the hydrogel. Ringeisen teaches (Fig. 1a) a front surface of a donor substrate (item 16 in Fig. 1a) providing a receiver substrate (item 18 in Fig. 1a). Ringeisen teaches (Paragraph [0044]) post-processing the at least one of the hydrogel on the receiver substrate the front side of the receiver substrate to effect at least partial photo-crosslinking of the at least one of hydrogel. Ringeisen teaches (Paragraphs [0031 and 0047]) the type of cells comprises at least one of neural cells or neural progenitors, differentiated induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells, differentiated embryonic stem (ES) cells, primary blood-derived mesenchymal stem cells, differentiated blood-derived mesenchymal stem cells, primary adipose tissue-derived mesenchymal stem cells, differentiated adipose tissue-derived mesenchymal stem cells, or umbilical cord-derived stem cells. Ringeisen teaches (Paragraph [0065]) at least one of the first laser beam has a sub-nanosecond pulse duration, therein laser pulses. Ringeisen teaches (Paragraph [0066]) the polymers form 3D network structures. Ringeisen teaches (Paragraph [0072]) the polymers form network structures which mimic elements of native extracellular matrices and promote cellular functions.
7. However, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach visible light cross-linkable monomers. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach post-processing the at least one of the hydrogel on the receiver substrate by irradiating, with a second laser beam of a laser, the front side of the receiver substrate to effect at least partial photo-crosslinking of the at least one of hydrogel or the hydrogel-forming pre-polymer solution. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach the at least one of the hydrogel or the hydrogel-forming pre-polymer solution comprises monomers of at least one of natural or synthetic polymers. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach wherein the polymers form 3D network structures. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach the polymers comprise at least one of collagen, Matrigel™, Geltrex™, alginate, hyaluronic acid, chitosan, fibrinogen, fibrin, poly(hydroxyethylmethacrylate (PHEMA), poly(ethylene glycol) (PEG), poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate (PEGDA), vinylcaprolactam (VC), platelet lysates modified by addition of methacryloyl groups (PLMA), or gelatin methacryloyl (GelMA) hydrogels. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach providing a photoinitiator. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach a size of the first laser beam is between 1 μm and 5 mm in diameter. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach a size of the second laser beam is between 100 μm and 5 mm in diameter. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach a fluence of the first laser beam is between 50 mJ/cm2 and 1500 mJ/cm2. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach a fluence of the second laser beam is between 30 mJ/cm2 and 5000 mJ/cm2. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach at least one of the first laser beam or the second laser beam has a wavelength between 266 nm and 1600 nm. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach the at least one of the hydrogel or the hydrogel-forming pre-polymer solution forms a construct on the receiver substrate having a geometry of at least one of a line, a square, a rectangle of a non-symmetric continuous pattern, a matrix of printed droplets, or an array of printed droplets. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach irradiating, with the first laser beam, an additional portion of the back side of the donor substrate to eject an additional portion of the at least one of the hydrogel or the hydrogel-forming pre-polymer solution and transfer it to a front side of the receiver substrate as one or more additional layers. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach post-processing the one or more additional layers by irradiating, with the second laser beam, the front side of the receiver substrate to effect at least partial photo-crosslinking of the one or more additional layers. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach the one or more additional layers differ from the at least one of the hydrogel or the hydrogel-forming pre-polymer by at least one of composition, the type of cells, or a presence of additional substances. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach the photoinitiator comprises at least one of Eosin Y, Irgacure 2959 (12959) or Lithium phenyl-2,4,6 tri-methylbenzoylphosphinate (LAP). Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach providing a co-initiator. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach wherein the co-initiator comprises one or more amine-functionalized co-initiators. Furthermore, Ringeisen fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more amine-functionalized co-initiators comprise triethanolamine (TEA).
8. Ringeisen teaches (Paragraph [0012]) methods of transferring living cells into engineered biomaterials. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0007]) methods of transferring living cells into engineered biomaterials. Wang teaches (Paragraph [0418]) visible light cross-linkable monomers. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0409-0410]) post-processing the at least one of the hydrogel on the receiver substrate by irradiating, with a second laser beam of a laser, the front side of the receiver substrate to effect at least partial photo-crosslinking of the at least one of hydrogel. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0388-0341]) the at least one of the hydrogel comprises monomers of at least one of natural or synthetic polymers. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0388-0341]) wherein the polymers form 3D network structures. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0388-0341]) the polymers comprise at least one of *collagen, alginate, chitosan, or poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate (PEGDA)hydrogels. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0388-0341]) providing a photoinitiator, therein Irgacure 2959. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0502-0505]) a size of the first laser beam is between 1 μm and 5 mm in diameter. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0502-0505]) a size of the second laser beam is between 100 μm and 5 mm in diameter. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0502-0505]) a fluence of the first laser beam is between 50 mJ/cm2 and 1500 mJ/cm2. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0502-0505]) a fluence of the second laser beam is between 30 mJ/cm2 and 5000 mJ/cm2. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0502-0505]) at least one of the first laser beam or the second laser beam has a wavelength between 266 nm and 1600 nm. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0413-0415]) the at least one of the hydrogel forms a construct on the receiver substrate having a geometry of at least one of a line, a square, a rectangle of a non-symmetric continuous pattern, a matrix of printed droplets, or an array of printed droplets. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0413-0415]) irradiating, with the first laser beam, an additional portion of the back side of the donor substrate to eject an additional portion of the at least one of the hydrogel and transfer it to a front side of the receiver substrate as one or more additional layers. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0413-0415]) post-processing the one or more additional layers by irradiating, with the second laser beam, the front side of the receiver substrate to effect at least partial photo-crosslinking of the one or more additional layers. Wang teaches (Figs. 37a-c, Paragraphs [0413-0415]) the one or more additional layers differ from the at least one of the hydrogel or the hydrogel-forming pre-polymer by at least one of composition, the type of cells, or a presence of additional substances. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0388-0341]) the photoinitiator comprises Irgacure 2959 (12959). Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0342-0345]) providing a co-initiator. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0342-0345]) wherein the co-initiator comprises one or more amine-functionalized co-initiators. Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0342-0345]) wherein the one or more amine-functionalized co-initiators comprise triethanolamine (TEA). Wang teaches (Paragraphs [0005-0009]) that said method steps allow for bioprinting of differing cellular and tissue structures.
9. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ringeisen to incorporate the teachings of Wang to teach visible light cross-linkable monomers; post-processing the at least one of the hydrogel on the receiver substrate by irradiating, with a second laser beam of a laser, the front side of the receiver substrate to effect at least partial photo-crosslinking of the at least one of hydrogel; the at least one of the hydrogel comprises monomers of at least one of natural or synthetic polymers; wherein the polymers form 3D network structures; the polymers comprise at least one of *collagen, alginate, chitosan, or poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate (PEGDA)hydrogels; providing a photoinitiator, therein Irgacure 2959; a size of the first laser beam is between 1 μm and 5 mm in diameter; a size of the second laser beam is between 100 μm and 5 mm in diameter; a fluence of the first laser beam is between 50 mJ/cm2 and 1500 mJ/cm2; a fluence of the second laser beam is between 30 mJ/cm2 and 5000 mJ/cm2; at least one of the first laser beam or the second laser beam has a wavelength between 266 nm and 1600 nm; the at least one of the hydrogel forms a construct on the receiver substrate having a geometry of at least one of a line, a square, a rectangle of a non-symmetric continuous pattern, a matrix of printed droplets, or an array of printed droplets; irradiating, with the first laser beam, an additional portion of the back side of the donor substrate to eject an additional portion of the at least one of the hydrogel and transfer it to a front side of the receiver substrate as one or more additional layers; post-processing the one or more additional layers by irradiating, with the second laser beam, the front side of the receiver substrate to effect at least partial photo-crosslinking of the one or more additional layers; the one or more additional layers differ from the at least one of the hydrogel or the hydrogel-forming pre-polymer by at least one of composition, the type of cells, or a presence of additional substances; the photoinitiator comprises Irgacure 2959 (12959); providing a co-initiator; wherein the co-initiator comprises one or more amine-functionalized co-initiators; and wherein the one or more amine-functionalized co-initiators comprise triethanolamine (TEA). Doing so would allow the fabrication or bioprinting of differing cellular and tissue structures, as recognized by Wang.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737