DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed6/9/2026. Claims 1 was amended. Claims 2 and 4-8 were cancelled. Claims 1, 3 and 9 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/7/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Prior Art Arguments
Applicant's prior art arguments filed 6/9/2026 are moot in light of the newly cited Sun.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “transfer device as set forth in claim 2” is spelled incorrectly, Examiner suggests it should be -- transfer device as set forth in claim 1 --. For remainder of the action the word will be reviewed as “transfer device as set forth in claim 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aschauer et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20170341862 - hereinafter Aschauer) in view of Ota et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220274777 - hereinafter Ota) in view of Sun et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220289502 - hereinafter Sun).
Re. claim 1, Aschauer teaches:
A transfer device, comprising: [Aschauer; Fig. 1].
a placement section on which a transfer target is to be placed; [Aschauer; see element 7 of Fig. 1].
a pair of support bodies which are to sandwich the transfer target from a right side and a left side; [Aschauer; see elements 3 and 4 of Fig. 1].
a control section which carries out control of respective operations of the pair of support bodies so that the pair of support bodies sandwich the transfer target and transfer the transfer target from a transfer origin to the placement section; and [Aschauer; see ¶58-¶59].
a sensing section which senses a posture of the transfer target while the control by the control section is carried out, [Aschauer; see 300, 400, 302 and 402 of abstract as it states “can be pivoted into at least one oblique intermediate position, that at least two mutually opposite edge detectors (300, 400, 302, 402) are arranged on the telescopic arms (3, 4) and are assigned to two mutually opposite drivers (30, 40, 32, 42)”].
in a case where the posture sensed by the sensing section is tilted with respect to a prescribed posture, the control section carrying out control so that the pair of support bodies transfer the transfer target in different operations so as to correct the posture of the transfer target. [Aschauer; see ¶58-¶59].
Aschauer doesn’t teach, Ota teaches:
the sensing section senses the posture based on a difference between loads respectively applied to the pair of support bodies, [Ota; ¶28 and ¶33-¶35].
the control section carries out control so that an operation speed of one of the pair of support bodies to which a relatively lighter load is applied becomes higher than an operation speed of the other support body to which a heavier load is applied. [Ota; ¶28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Ota in the system of Aschauer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Aschauer doesn’t teach, Sun teaches:
the pair of support bodies are belts of belt conveyors, [Sun; ¶73-¶76]
the difference being a difference between loads on the belts detected based on measured values of electric currents flowing through motors for driving the belts, respectively; and [Sun; ¶50 and ¶163 shows weight sensor and determining difference for the weight, meanwhile ¶50 shows utilization of current sensor].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Sun in the system of Aschauer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 3, Aschauer in view of Ota in view of Sun teaches the transfer device of Claim 1.
Aschauer doesn’t teach, Ota teaches:
wherein: the control section continues the control until the difference between loads on the pair of support bodies becomes a predetermined value or less. [Ota; ¶6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Ota in the system of Aschauer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 9, Aschauer in view of Ota in view of Sun teaches the transfer device of Claim 1.
Aschauer teaches:
A carrier for carrying a transfer target by moving along transfer origins which are sequentially arranged,
said carrier comprising a transfer device recited in claim 1, [Aschauer; Fig. 1].
Aschauer doesn’t teach, Ota teaches:
the transfer device transferring the transfer target between any of the transfer origins and the placement section. [Ota; ¶28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Ota in the system of Aschauer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM N EL-BATHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626