DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 5, 20, 23, 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 16, the limitation “at least about 50 to 60% of the total mass of the composition” is unclear – particularly, it is not clear if this limitation is meant to be interpreted as requiring a value between 50-60%, or whether the claim encompasses values that are at least 50-60%, i.e., values between 50 and 100%. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation according to its broadest reasonable interpretation, as requiring values between 50 and 100%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 10, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2018156642A1, herein ‘Licht’.
Regarding Claim 1, Licht discloses a composition, comprising:
a sequestration material comprising an alkali metal borate and/or an alkaline earth metal borate, wherein at least about 0.1% of the total mass of sequestration material is made up of a carbonate ([0052], Fig. 5: LiBO2 dissolved in LiCO3 at a ratio of 50 g to 8 g).
Regarding Claim 3, Licht discloses at least 10 wt % of the sequestration material is made of the alkali metal borate and/or the alkaline earth metal borate ([0052]: LiBO2 is contained in amount of 50 g out of 58 g, or 86.2 wt%).
Regarding Claim 4, Licht discloses at least 10 wt % of the sequestration material is made of the carbonate ([0052]: LiBO2 is contained in amount of 8 g out of 58 g, or 13.8 wt%)
Regarding Claim 6, Licht discloses the sequestration material comprises a mixture of the alkali metal borate and/or the alkaline earth metal borate and a salt comprising the carbonate ([0052], Fig. 5: LiBO2 dissolved in LiCO3, a salt comprising carbonate).
Regarding Claim 8, Licht discloses the sequestration material comprises a first salt comprising the alkali metal borate and/or the alkaline earth metal borate and a second salt comprising the carbonate ([0052], Fig. 5: LiBO2, a salt comprising the alkali metal borate dissolved in LiCO3, a salt comprising carbonate).
Regarding Claim 10, Licht discloses at least a portion of the carbonate is formed by sequestering carbon dioxide ([0054]: carbonate in the solution is replenished by CO2 sequestration).
Regarding Claim 18, Licht discloses the sequestration material is in a molten state ([0052]: the LiBO2/LiCO3 mixture is molten).
Regarding Claim 19, Licht discloses the sequestration material is capable of dissolving Li2O ([0054], eq. 1: Li2O is dissolved in the mixture).
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2020072115A1, hereinafter ‘Hatton’.
Regarding Claim 1, Hatton discloses a composition, comprising: a sequestration material comprising an alkali metal borate and/or an alkaline earth metal borate, wherein at least about 0.1% of the total mass of sequestration material is made up of a carbonate (Page 29, lines 5-8, and Page 32, lines 32-34: CO2 uptake in a sodium borate compound is examined, wherein CO2 uptake produces Na2CO3 and NaBO2).
Regarding Claim 9, Hatton discloses the sequestration material is capable of sequestering at least 0.5 mmol of carbon dioxide per gram of the sequestration material (Page 29, lines 17-19: the maximum uptake capacity is reported to be 5.26 mmol CO2/g).
Regarding Claims 11 and 14, Hatton discloses the sequestration material is molten at a temperature of below 750° C and a temperature of at least 500° C (Example 4, Page 34: the alkali-metal borates were in a molten (liquid) state at 600 °C).
Regarding Claim 15, Hatton discloses the sequestration material comprises a salt comprising a mixed salt of lithium and potassium borate in combination with an alkali metal carbonate (Example 3, Page 31: an Li/Na/K uptake material is disclosed).
Regarding Claims 16 and 17, Hatton discloses at least about 50 to 60% of the total mass of the composition comprises the salt comprising a mixed salt of lithium and potassium borate in combination with the alkali metal carbonate, and the sequestration material comprises 55 to 60 mol % of borate relative to carbonate in a molten state of the sequestration material. (Example 3: Hatton reports capacity 5.33 mmol CO2/g for the Li/Na/K borate. For 1 g of this material at maximum capacity of CO2 sequestration, which would occur at breakthrough when using this material as intended, the total mass of the composition would comprising a mixed salt of lithium and potassium borate in an amount of 59.5 wt% in the molten state).
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20180354807A1, hereinafter ‘Harada’.
Regarding Claim 1, Harada discloses a composition, comprising: a sequestration material comprising an alkali metal borate and/or an alkaline earth metal borate, wherein at least about 0.1% of the total mass of sequestration material is made up of a carbonate ([0116]: during carbon dioxide sequestration in a lithium borate solution, a compound having the formula Li2.63C0.37B0.63O3 is formed; the sequestration material containing alkali metal borate and a carbonate resulting from sequestration).
Regarding Claim 7, Harada discloses the sequestration material comprises a double salt comprising the alkali metal and/or the alkaline earth metal, the borate, and the carbonate ([0116]: Li2.63C0.37B0.63O3 is considered a double salt comprising the alkali metal and/or the alkaline earth metal, the borate, and the carbonate).
Conclusion
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736