DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
WHEN CLAIMS ARE DIRECTED TO MULTIPLE CATEGORIES OF INVENTIONS
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475(c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1, 14, drawn to a paint composition.
Group II, claim(s) 2-11, 13, 15, drawn to another paint composition.
Group III, claims 16, 18-20, drawn to a method for locking stains on a substrate.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack unity a priori as there is no subject matter common to all claims.
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species of the latex composition are as follows: i) with an anionic surfactant, ii) only nonionic surfactant is used.
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species of the latex composition are as follows: i) with acid monomer or other monomers with anionic groups, ii) without acid monomer or other monomers with anionic groups.
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Currently, the following claim(s) are generic: 1-2, 4, 7-11, 13-16, 20 .
During a telephone conversation with H.T. Than on 7/14/2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of Group II, claims 2-11, 13, 15 and species of a composition with an anionic surfactant and a species of a composition with acid monomer or other monomers with anionic groups. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 1, 3, 14-16, 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention and species.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product, and the product claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of the allowable product claim will be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must require all the limitations of an allowable product claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04(b). Additionally, in order to retain the right to rejoinder in accordance with the above policy, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product claims. Failure to do so may result in a loss of the right to rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-6, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pastena et al (US 2021/0198398) in view of Van Rheenen et al (US 5,312,863).
Claims 2, 4, 13: Pastena discloses an additive for paint as an open time extender (abstract). The additive is formed by polymerizing a mixture of monomers and surfactant (4:33-50). The monomers comprises nonionic acrylate monomers such as butyl acrylate or 2-ethylhexyl acrylate and other monomer such as MMA, MAA, MPEG methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate (0015, 0017, 0023). An exemplified typical amount of MAA is 1.5wt%, of MEPG is 1.5-1.9wt%, the hydrophilic monomers MAA and MPEG provide better stabilization and association in paint composition [0041]. Oligomers with typical amount of hydrophilic monomers have better resistance to surfactant leaching. The surfactant can be nonionic surfactant used in an amount of 1.37 wt% (example 1, 0027), nonylphenol 40-mole ethoxylate has an HLB of 17.8.
Pastena does not explicitly teach the amount of MAA like claimed.
However, on the one hand Pastena does not require MAA to be present, on the other hand MPEG can further prevent the hydrophilic PEG compound from leaching out of the paint film [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a smaller amount of MAA in the monomer mixture, including the claimed amount, and using MPEG to provide desired hydrophilicity.
Pastena does not teach a cationic latex resin like claimed.
However, Rheenen teaches a coating composition comprising a cationic latex resin and an additive to promote open time (abstract, 17:5-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the open time extender of Pastena into the composition of Rheenen to promote open time.
Claim 5-6: Pastena does not explicitly teach the content of the anionic surfactant like claimed.
However, Pastena teaches nonionic and/or anionic surfactant can be used together [0027]. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Lindner 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972). Under Lindner, it is prima facie obvious to mix the ingredients in any ratio.
Claim 11: Pastena does not teach a rust inhibitor like claimed.
However, Rheenen teaches the coating composition is desired to have rust resistance (18:26-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a rust inhibitor in the composition of Rheenen to promote rust inhibitor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 2, 4-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of copending Application No.18/689,659. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘659 claims a paint composition comprising a cationic resin and a substantially nonionic latex resin. .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763