DETAILED ACTION
Claims 5-8 have been amended. Claims 9-11 have been added. Claims 1-4 were previously cancelled. Claims 5-11 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5 recites “at least one means for attaching the device onto the patient….” The specification discusses the means for attaching the device onto the patient as being a strap or a clip ([0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the identification means" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0005293 A1) in view of Skocic (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0034479 A1) and Gao (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0055074 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo discloses a device for registering a patient in the event of an accident with multiple causalities and/or locating a member of the emergency team, the device comprising:
at least one interface configured for a wireless data-transmitting connection between the device and a data-processing unit (Paragraphs [0014], [0023] and [0034] discuss a personal identification terminal including a display unit for displaying information and transmitting information to a server wirelessly.); and
at least one means for attaching the device onto a patient or a member of the emergency team (Paragraph [0014] discusses a band part which can be used to attach the device to the user’s body.);
wherein the device is configured to wirelessly transmit a person-specific identifier via the wireless data-transmitting connection, wherein the person-specific identifier is stored in the device (Paragraphs [0060] discusses the personal information being stored on the device worn by the patient and being transferred to the central server.);
wherein the device is configured to read out the person-specific identifier of the patient or the member of the emergency team (Paragraphs [0044-0045] discuss the information provision unit configured to be used to obtain identity information using RFID technology.);
but Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
a data-processing unit of an emergency vehicle;
a panic button configured that, when depressed, triggers an alarm; and
a light element on the device, the light element configured to emit a plurality of light colors each indicative of a triage category of the patient.
Skocic teaches:
a data-processing unit of an emergency vehicle (Paragraphs [0025] and [0030] discuss the transportation sector, which include emergency vehicles, can include computing devices to which the responder and patient data is sent.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo to include an a data processing unit of an emergency vehicle, as taught by Skocic, “for establishing an infrastructure coordinating efforts between different emergency response functions, such as first responders at the scene of disaster, treatment sector, transport sector and temporary shelters/relocation centers (Skocic, Paragraph [0025]).,”
Gao teaches:
a panic button configured that, when depressed, triggers an alarm (Paragraph [0066] discusses the electronic triage tag including alarm signaling.); and,
a light element on the device, the light element configured to emit a plurality of light colors each indicative of a triage category of the patient (Paragraph [0066] discusses the tag including a series of LED lights that are color-coded and light up based on the status of the wearer.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo to include a panic button and a light element, as taught by Gao, in order to “provide medical personnel with the ability to take pre-emptive action before a patient's condition degrades severely (Gao, Paragraph [0020]).,”
Regarding claim 6, Yoo does not appear to explicitly disclose a releasable retaining device on the identification means.
Skocic teaches a releasable retaining device on an identification means (Paragraph [0029] discusses the card being swiped by a card reader, construed as a releasable retaining device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo to include an retaining device, as taught by Skocic, in order to be used to help “identify[] an individual during a mass casualty situation (Skocic, Paragraph [0005]).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered.
Claims Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101
The previous 101 rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claims Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
The prior art rejections have been updated to reflect Applicant’s amendments. Examiner notes that for claims 7-8, the prior rejections have been withdrawn. Claims 9-11 are also not subject to a prior art rejection as they depend from claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHELLE L REICHERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686