DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/8/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7, 9-14, 18, and 19, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental process (concept performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion, organizing human activity and mathematical concepts and calculations). The claim(s) recite(s) an apparatus, a method, and computer-readable storage medium configured to detect a two-dimensional skeletal structure of a person based on an image. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps do not add meaningful limitations to be considered specifically applied to a particular technological problem to be solved. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps of the claimed invention can be done mentally and no additional features in the claims would preclude them from being performed as such except for the generic computer elements at high level of generality (i.e., processor, memory). Claims 2, 3, 5-15, 17-20, having similar deficiencies of claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 17, 25, and 26, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bequet et al. (US 20180181446 A1, published: 6/28/2018), in view of Herring et al. (US 20210064398 A1, published: 3/4/2021).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Bequet teaches a task processing method, comprising: in response to receiving an input request of task information on a document page, displaying a task panel on the document page, the task panel comprising the task information (operate the input device and a display device to provide a user interface (UI) to enable receipt of commands to edit the visualization; receive a first command from the input device to change a visual indication of a dependency in the visualization between two visual representations of task routines in the visualization [Bequet, 0006]. The instance log may include a data object identifier for each data object used by a task routine of the multiple task routines as an input and for each data object generated by a task routine of the multiple task routines during the document performance of the multiple tasks of the first job flow [Bequet, 0025]).
Bequet does not teach and in response to a trigger operation on the task information in the task panel, displaying a task region on the document page, and displaying the task information and a state identifier in the task region, wherein the state identifier is used for presenting a current state of a task.
However, Herring teaches and in response to a trigger operation on the task information in the task panel, displaying a task region on the document page, and displaying the task information and a state identifier in the task region, wherein the state identifier is used for presenting a current state of a task (in response to receiving a natural language user input command via the second computing device as part of the natural language dialog, a natural language response that is particular to one or both of the task state data structure and the working task document can be generated [Herring, 0005]. Providing computerized task guidance across two or more different applications and/or devices, where at least one such device or application can provide visual or display-based interaction and another can provide natural language dialog interaction, but with both using a shared digital task document and digital task state data structure to maintain state and provide a more seamless experience with such different modalities [Herring, 0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the document task panel invention of Bequet to include the task region on the document page features of Herring.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for an interface to display document state's including presenting a current state, to users. Such would give users more available document information, and means to view it.
Claims 25 and 26, having similar elements to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2. (Currently Amended): The combination of Bequet and Herring, teaches the method according to claim 1. Herring further teaches wherein the state identifier comprises at least one of a score, progress, and a state (the visual user input can indicate a state of progress in completing the task [Herring, 0006]), or wherein the task region comprises a content editing region located near the task information, or wherein the task information comprises first task information and/or second task information, the first task information and the second task information have an association relationship, and each of the first task information and the second task information corresponds to one state identifier.
Claim 3. (Currently Amended): The combination of Bequet and Herring, teaches the method according to claim 1. Herring further teaches wherein displaying the task information and the state identifier in the task region comprises: acquiring state data corresponding to the task information in a task system; and displaying the state identifier in the task region based on the state data (the technique of FIG. 9 can also include, in response to the receiving of the natural language user input command via the second computing device, perfuming a second update to the task state data structure to represent the natural language user input command and updating the at least a portion of the working task document on a computer display via the first computing device to represent the second update to the task state data structure [Herring, 0096]).
Claim 17. (Currently Amended): The combination of Bequet and Herring, teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to receiving an operation on a second control component in the task region, sending data of the state identifier and/or data of the content editing region to a task system (providing computerized task guidance across two or more different applications and/or devices, where at least one such device or application can provide visual or display-based interaction and another can provide natural language dialog interaction, but with both using a shared digital task document and digital task state data structure to maintain state and provide a more seamless experience with such different modalities [Herring, 0021]; Examiner's Note: a computer program implicitly allows for repeated operation, including running second controls, third controls, and >100,000 controls).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bequet et al. (US 20180181446 A1, published: 6/28/2018) and Herring et al. (US 20210064398 A1, published: 3/4/2021), and in further view of Haruta et al. (US 20110313816 A1, published: 12/22/2011).
Claim 5. (Currently Amended): The combination of Bequet and Herring, teaches the method according to claim 2. The combination of Bequet and Herring, does not teach wherein in response to weight information having been configured for the first task information, the state identifier comprises a first state identifier, the first state identifier being used for representing progress and a state of the task.
However, Haruta teaches wherein in response to weight information having been configured for the first task information, the state identifier comprises a first state identifier, the first state identifier being used for representing progress and a state of the task (the step of inputting the progress of each of the lowest order tasks can include inputting an indication of a "complete," "incomplete," or "postponed." Furthermore, the step of inputting the indication of the "complete" or "incomplete" state as progress of each of the lowest order tasks can include the sub-steps of inputting a numeric value as the progress of the lowest order tasks and inputting an indication of a "complete" or "incomplete" state for each of the lowest order tasks according to whether the numeric value is within a relevant permissible range [Haruta, 0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the document task panel invention of the combination of Bequet and Herring, to include the state progress features of Haruta.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to inform the user of progress when displaying state data. Such will keep the user up to date on that status of the presented tasks.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bequet et al. (US 20180181446 A1, published: 6/28/2018) and Herring et al. (US 20210064398 A1, published: 3/4/2021), and in further view of Kiel et al. (US 20170039124 A1, published: 2/9/2017).
Claim 8. (Currently Amended): The combination of Bequet and Herring, teaches the method according to claim 2. The combination of Bequet and Herring, does not teach wherein in response to weight information having been configured for the second task information, the state identifier comprises a first state identifier and a second state identifier, the first state identifier is used for representing progress and a state of the task, and the second state identifier is used for representing a score of the task.
However, Kiel teaches wherein in response to weight information having been configured for the second task information, the state identifier comprises a first state identifier and a second state identifier, the first state identifier is used for representing progress and a state of the task, and the second state identifier is used for representing a score of the task (wherein the first value is indicative of a state of progress of a performance of a plurality of tasks in at least one of the first and second processors, the second value corresponds to the state of progress indicated by the first value and propagated by the interception layer to the first waiting synchronization object [Kiel, Claim 18]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the document task panel invention of the combination of Bequet and Herring, to include the progress states features of Kiel.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to display at least two state identifiers representing states of progress based on weight information. Such will keep users informed about the same.
Claim(s) 15 and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bequet et al. (US 20180181446 A1, published: 6/28/2018) and Herring et al. (US 20210064398 A1, published: 3/4/2021), and in further view of Wagner (US 20140282150 A1, published: 9/18/2014).
Claim 15. (Currently Amended): The combination of Bequet and Herring, teaches the method according to claim 1. The combination of Bequet and Herring, does not teach further comprising: in response to receiving an operation on a first control component in the task region, displaying a control panel, and in response to an operation on a setting item in the control panel, hiding the state identifier.
However, Wagner teaches further comprising: in response to receiving an operation on a first control component in the task region, displaying a control panel, and in response to an operation on a setting item in the control panel, hiding the state identifier (a corresponding operation (e.g., the display or hiding of a display panel) may be activated and deactivated (e.g., displayed or hidden) based upon a same type of gesture directed at the user interface item [Wagner, 0024]; Examiner's Note: wherein anything in the control panel, including state identifiers, are hidden when the panel is hidden).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the document task panel invention of the combination of Bequet and Herring, to include the displaying and hiding of panels features of Wagner.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to compete with standard computer features that have been available since the early days of displaying windows on screen. Since the 1980s, users have become familiar with the idea of displaying and hiding windows/panels, when needed to access or dismiss programs.
Claim 20. (Currently Amended): The combination of Bequet and Herring, teaches the method according to claim 1. The combination of Bequet and Herring, does not teach further comprising: in response to the state identifier and the content editing region being hidden, displaying the second control component in a first display state; or in response to the state identifier being hidden and there being no data in the content editing region, displaying the second control component in a first display state; or in response to the state identifier and the second task information being hidden, displaying the second control component in a first display state.
However, Wagner teaches further comprising: in response to the state identifier and the content editing region being hidden, displaying the second control component in a first display state; or in response to the state identifier being hidden and there being no data in the content editing region, displaying the second control component in a first display state; or in response to the state identifier and the second task information being hidden, displaying the second control component in a first display state (a corresponding operation (e.g., the display or hiding of a display panel) may be activated and deactivated (e.g., displayed or hidden) based upon a same type of gesture directed at the user interface item [Wagner, 0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the document task panel invention of the combination of Bequet and Herring, to include the displaying and hiding of panels features of Wagner.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to compete with standard computer features that have been available since the early days of displaying windows on screen. Since the 1980s, users have become familiar with the idea of displaying and hiding windows/panels, when needed to access or dismiss programs.
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following display and access task managers:
Lakness (US 4897780 A, published: 1/30/1990)
Bequet et al. (US 9684544 B1, published: 6/20/2017)
Conclusion
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172