DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/689836 filed 3/6/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/7/25 and 12/8/25 have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the BMS mainboard provided on the first side plate or the second side plate as recited in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“wherein the housing is provided with a seat mounting member (generic placeholder) and the seat mounting member is used for mounting a seat of the vehicle (function)” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claims 12-15 recites the limitations “a second heat exchange structure”, “a second cell support structure”, “a second support body” “a second bottom support rib” and “a second upper support rib”. Based on at least claim 12 dependency from claim 1, claims 12-15 are considered as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements pertaining to claims 1 and 12-15 are: “a first heat exchange structure” (as recited in claim 9), “a first cell support structure” (as recited in claim 10), “a first support body (as recited in claim 10)” “a first bottom support rib (as recited in claim 10)” and “a first upper support rib”. The examiner is assuming that the term “second” is being used to recite a different embodiment as compared to the embodiment recited in at least claims 9 and 10. Examiner suggest applicant remove the terms “first” and “second” from the claims since there seems to be no disclosure in present invention describing that the different embodiments can be assembled together, i.e., the vehicle body floor assembly has a first heat exchange structure and a second heat exchange structure; the vehicle body floor assembly has a first cell support structure and a second cell support structure.
-Claim 16 recites the limitation “A vehicle, comprising the vehicle body floor assembly for a vehicle according to claim 1” and claim 1 recites “A vehicle body floor assembly for a vehicle”. It is obvious from claim 1 that the vehicle body floor assembly is for a vehicle as recited in claim 16; therefore, this claim is considered indefinite because it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110329361 (IDS cited with machine translation). As to claim 1, CN discloses a vehicle body floor assembly for a vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body mounting structure (Figure 8; 50, 60, 70, 80); and a battery pack (abstract), the battery pack comprising a battery module and a housing (11, 12), the battery module being provided in the housing, the housing being connected to the vehicle body mounting structure (as shown in Figures 4-8), and at least a portion of the structure of the housing being configured as a vehicle body floor of the vehicle (abstract lines, 1-6 and page 5, lines 15-25 in translation).
As to claim 2, wherein the housing is provided with a vehicle body mounting member, and the vehicle body mounting member is connected to the vehicle body mounting structure (via 3, 4, 6, 40, 52; page, 5 line 47 to page 6, line 2).
As to claim 3, wherein the vehicle body mounting structure comprises a left threshold beam (70), a right threshold beam (80), and a cross beam (50, 60), the cross beam is connected between the left threshold beam and the right threshold beam, and the vehicle body mounting member is connected to the cross beam (via 4 connected to 50 and 60; page 6, lines 15-17).
As to claim 4, wherein the housing comprises an upper housing and a lower housing, the upper housing (11) and the lower housing (12) jointly define a mounting cavity for mounting the battery module (abstract, line 3), the upper housing is provided with the vehicle body mounting member (via 4), and the upper housing is configured as the vehicle body floor (page 5, lines 15-25).
As to claim 5, wherein a connection flange is provided at a circumferential edge of the housing, and the connection flange is connected to the left threshold beam and/or the right threshold beam; and the vehicle body mounting structure further comprises an end beam, the end beam is connected between the left threshold beam and the right threshold beam, and the connection flange is connected to the end beam (see drawing below).
As to claim 6, wherein the housing is provided with a seat mounting member, and the seat mounting member is used for mounting a seat of the vehicle (page 6, lines 15-17).
As to claim 16, CN discloses a vehicle, comprising the vehicle body floor assembly for a vehicle according to claim 1 (abstract).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110329362 (IDS cited with machine translation). As to claim 1, CN discloses a vehicle body floor assembly for a vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body mounting structure (1, 3, 4, 5); and a battery pack (abstract), the battery pack comprising a battery module and a housing (21, 22), the battery module being provided in the housing, the housing being connected to the vehicle body mounting structure (via 3, 4, 5), and at least a portion of the structure of the housing being configured as a vehicle body floor of the vehicle (abstract lines, 6-7 and page 6, lines 29-37 in translation).
As to claim 2, wherein the housing is provided with a vehicle body mounting member, and the vehicle body mounting member is connected to the vehicle body mounting structure (Figures 3, 4, 5, 6 (component 15a); page 6, lines 29, 30, 37 to page 8, line 32 and page 10, line 36 to page 11, line 16).
As to claim 3, wherein the vehicle body mounting structure comprises a left threshold beam (13), a right threshold beam (14), and a cross beam (3, 4, 5, 11, 12), the cross beam is connected between the left threshold beam and the right threshold beam, and the vehicle body mounting member is connected to the cross beam (via 15a in Figure 6; page 11, lines 3-9).
As to claim 4, wherein the housing comprises an upper housing and a lower housing, the upper housing (21) and the lower housing (22) jointly define a mounting cavity for mounting the battery module (abstract, line 5), the upper housing is provided with the vehicle body mounting member (via 1311 in Figure 4; via 15a in Figure 6), and the upper housing is configured as the vehicle body floor (abstract, lines 6-7).
As to claim 6, wherein the housing is provided with a seat mounting member, and the seat mounting member is used for mounting a seat of the vehicle (page 11, lines 3-9).
As to claim 16, CN discloses a vehicle, comprising the vehicle body floor assembly for a vehicle according to claim 1 (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘361 and CN ‘362 in view of CN 202528831 (with machine translation). CN’ 361 and ‘362 both disclose housings, but doesn’t disclose a high and low voltage output plug-in connected to a BMS and electric appliance component of vehicle as recited.
CN ‘831 discloses a battery structure below a vehicle floor assembly and shows that it is well known in the art to have a housing (15, 16) provided with a high-voltage output plug-in (11, 12; [0039] in translation) and a low-voltage output plug-in (13), the high-voltage output plug-in is configured to be connected to an output terminal of the battery module, and the low-voltage output plug-in is configured to be communicatively connected to a Battery Management System ([0033]) mainboard of the battery pack; and the high-voltage output plug-in and/or the low-voltage output plug-in is provided under a rear seat of the vehicle (within rear suspension area; [0009], [0032]), and the high-voltage output plug-in and the low-voltage output plug-in are both configured to be connected to an electric appliance component of the vehicle ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide CN’361 and ‘362 housings with a low and high voltage plug-in connected to a BMS and electric appliance component in view of CN ‘831 to provide versatile charging options improving safety and increasing power delivery and charging performance of battery.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘361 and CN ‘362 in view of Zhang et al 20220185088. CN’ 361 and 362 both disclose the battery module disposed to the housing, but doesn’t explicitly disclose that the module is bonded to housing as recited.
Zhang discloses a battery module (200) within a housing (100) and shows that it is well known in the art to bond the module to the housing ([0140]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond the battery module to the housing in CN’ 361 and 362 in view of Zhang to provide secure placement of module within housing to avoid slipping and/or sliding of module during aggressive vehicle maneuvers, i.e., sharp turns, steep hill climbs, etc.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘361 and CN ‘362 in view of CN 202528831 (with machine translation). CN ‘361 and ‘362 both disclose battery modules provided in housings, but doesn’t disclose a first heat exchange structure as recited.
CN ‘831 discloses a battery structure below a vehicle floor assembly and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a battery pack with a first heat exchange structure, the first heat exchange structure is provided in the housing and is located on an outer side of the battery module, and the first heat exchange structure is used for heat exchange with the battery module ([0042]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery packs in CN ‘361 and ‘362 with a first heat exchange structure in view of CN ‘831 to increase cooling capacity of battery during operation of vehicle which reduces maintenance cost for replacing battery due to wear from heat damage.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘361 and CN ‘362 in view of CN 210692627 (with machine translation). As to claim 10, CN ‘361 and ‘362 both disclose battery modules, but doesn’t explicitly disclose the structure of the module having a cell unit, side frame and first cell support structure as recited.
CN ‘627 discloses a battery module and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the module with a battery cell unit (3); a side frame, wherein the side frame is disposed to surround the battery cell unit (sides of 3 as coupled); and a first cell support structure, wherein the first cell support structure is supported between the battery cell unit and the housing (1), the first cell support structure comprises a first support body (121) and a first bottom support rib (13), the first support body is used for supporting the battery cell unit and is provided with an avoidance groove (areas formed between 13) penetrating the first support body, the first bottom support rib is connected to the first support body and is located on a side of the first support body away from the battery cell unit (Figure 1), and the first bottom support rib corresponds to the avoidance groove in a thickness direction of the first support body (areas formed between 13; page 5, lines 25-34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery modules in CN ‘361 and ‘362 with the recited components in view of CN ‘627 to provide structural strength and increase stability of housing during operation of vehicle which improves operating efficiency of battery module.
As to claim 11, CN ‘361 and ‘362 in view of CN ‘627 disclose wherein the battery module further comprises a BMS mainboard (5 in CN ‘627), and the BMS mainboard is provided on the side frame (as shown in Figure 3 in CN ‘627).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘361 and CN ‘362 in view of CN 210692627 (with machine translation). CN ‘361 and ‘362 both disclose battery modules, but doesn’t explicitly disclose the structure of the module having a cell unit and second cell support structure as recited.
CN ‘627 discloses a battery module and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the module with a prismatic battery cell (3 is shown in form of tubular rectangle); a second heat exchange structure (4), wherein the battery cell is sandwiched in the second heat exchange structure (3 is sandwiched to 4 via closure between housings 2 and 11), and the second heat exchange structure is used for heat exchange with the battery cell (abstract); and a second cell support structure, wherein the second cell support structure is supported between the battery cell and the housing, the second cell support structure comprises a second support body (121) and a second bottom support rib (13), the second support body is used for supporting the battery cell, and the second bottom support rib is connected to the second support body and is located on a side of the second support body away from the battery cell (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery modules in CN ‘361 and ‘362 with the recited components in view of CN ‘627 to provide structural strength and increase stability of housing during operation of vehicle which improves operating efficiency of battery module and increase cooling capacity of battery during operation of vehicle which reduces maintenance cost for replacing battery due to wear from heat damage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to (via prior art purposes only) as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Based on 112(b) rejection above pertaining to claims 12-15, reasons for allowance will not be indicated at this time upon waiting for applicant’s response.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-The corresponding international application office actions (CN 202111151169.3, PCT/CN2022114119 and EP 22874493.4) as filed have been considered and the examiner agrees that some of the prior art cited in the actions do meet the limitations as claimed in present invention.
-CN 106558745 (IDS cited art) discloses a cooling device for a battery having similar construction as recited in claim 13 of present invention; however, the structure in CN’ 745 wouldn’t be compatible with structure of battery modules in CN ‘361 and ‘362 in view of CN ‘627.
-CN 214254602 (IDS cited art) discloses a cell support structure similar to construction as recited in claim 10 of present invention, but doesn’t disclose the structure supported between the cell unit and module housing (100 which is considered structure is outside of housing 300 as shown in Figure 1).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 February 4, 2026