DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11, 14 and 18, drawn to a continuous transfection system.
Group II, claim(s) 21-23, 25-26 and 28-32, drawn to a method.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of at least a first input line and a second input line, a mixing chamber, a delivery line, and a component configured to control flow rate of liquid, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Maguire (US 2020/0216862), as discussed in the rejection below.
During a telephone conversation with Applicant’s representative, Matthew Hierholzer, on June 17, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, 14 and 18. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, 14 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a component” recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a maximum culture volume greater than about 0.5 liters (L)" in line 2. However, the language of the claim is such that one of ordinary skill in the art could not interpret the meets and bounds of the claim. In particular, it is not clear as to what range is covered by the limitations "greater than about." The rejection can be overcome by deleting the term “about.” Moreover, it is unclear as to the maximum volume the cell culture vessel can comprise to meet said limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maguire (US 2020/0216862).
Regarding claim 1, Maguire discloses a continuous transfection system comprising: a) at least a first input line and a second input line (FIGS. 7-8: inlets (211); [0050]), wherein the first input line and the second input line are configured for sterile, fluid connection to a first reagent housing and a second reagent housing, respectively (FIG. 8: inlets (211) connected to reservoirs (301,302,303,304); [0005], [0050], [0067]-[0068], [0070], [0074]); b) a mixing chamber that is fluidly connected to the at least first and second input lines (FIGS. 7-8: mixing channel (210); [0050]); c) a delivery line fluidly connected to the mixing chamber, wherein the delivery line is configured for sterile, fluid connection to a cell culture vessel (FIGS. 7-8: channel connecting mixing channel (210) to reactor chamber (220); [0050], [0058]); and d) a component configured to control flow rate of liquid into the at least first and second input lines, throughout the mixing chamber, and into the cell culture vessel (FIG. 8: pumps (350); [0063]), [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Maguire discloses wherein the continuous transfection system of claim 1, further comprising the first reagent housing and the second reagent housing in sterile, fluid connection with the first input line and the second input line (FIG. 8: reservoirs (301,302,303,304); [0005], [0050], [0067]-[0068], [0070], [0074].
Regarding claim 3, Maguire discloses wherein the continuous transfection system of claim 1, further comprising the culture vessel, wherein the culture vessel is in sterile, fluid connection with the delivery line (reactor chamber (220); [0050], [0050], [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Maguire further discloses a temperature sensor ([0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Maguire further discloses processor, wherein the processor controls one or more conditions selected from the group consisting of: flow rate of liquid into the first input line and/ or the second input line, temperature of any contents in the first reagent housing and/or the second reagent housing, any contents in the culture vessel, one or more sensors, and any combination thereof (FIG. 8: controller (340) adapted to control temperature controller (330), heater (320) and pumps (350); [0063], [0075]).
Furthermore, it is noted that while the invention contains a cell culture vessel, the cell culture vessel is not positively recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, Maguire further discloses wherein the system is partially or fully automated [0063], [0075]).
Regarding claim 8, Maguire discloses wherein the cell culture vessel is a bioreactor (reactor chamber (220); [0050], [0050], [0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Maguire further discloses wherein the system comprises at least two pumps (FIG. 8: pumps (350); [0063]), [0075]).
Regarding claim 18, Maguire further discloses wherein the system is a closed, sterile system ([0067], [0076]).
Therefore, Maguire meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claims 1-4, 6-8, 14 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Maguire discloses the continuous transfection system of claim 1 as set forth above. Maguire discloses wherein the cell culture vessel comprises a culture volume (FIGS. 7-8), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cell culture vessel comprises a maximum culture volume greater than about 0.5 liters (L). However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the culture volume of the cell culture vessel of Maguire to have any volume including the claimed volume, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.). Further, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A). Furthermore, it is noted that while the invention contains a cell culture vessel, the cell culture vessel is not positively recited in the instant claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Benali et al (US 2009/0142845) disclose a system comprising a plurality of input lines, mixing chamber and a vessel. Morita et al (US 2005/0161326) disclose a system comprising a plurality of input lines, mixing chamber and a vessel.
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799