Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-3,5-6,8-13,16,21-22,25,27,29,31 and 35-36 are pending.
Applicants elected invention I, claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-11.
Claims 12-13,16,21-22,25,27,29,31 and 35-36 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Haddleton et al (WO 3030/016581 A1; all references are drawn to the US equivelant document US 2021/0283067 A1).
Haddleton et al discloses a composition for use as a pressure sensitive adhesive in transdermal drug delivery applications [p. 0001, 0011]. Haddleton exemplifies the preparation of silyl-terminated polyureas from Jeffamine D-4000, a polyoxypropylene diamine, IPDI, and 3-aminopropyl trimethoxysilane [p. 0152, JSAD005.3]. The Haddleton prepares JSAD005.3 by heating Jeffamine D-4000 (1 eq) to 60 °C, followed by the dropwise addition of IPDI (0.51 eq), the reaction is then monitored by complete reduction of the NCO peak [p. 0153]. Haddleton then ads 3-(isocyanatopropyl) trimethoxysilane (IPTMS) (0.51 eq) to the reaction mixture and stirs [p. 0155].
Applicant’s prepare S-PURE D5.0, by heating Jeffamine D-4000 (1 eq) to 85 °C, adding IPDI (0.47 eq) dropwise, followed by the addition of IPTMS (0.99 eq) [p. 31].
Haddleton is silent with respect to the rheological properties of the adhesive compositions prepared from JSAS005.3, however, adhesive compositions from JSAS005.3 would have the same rheological properties as applicants S-PURE D5.0 if tested under the same conditions as it satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention. Therefore, the claims are anticpated.
In the alternative, a skilled artisan would have expected the composition of Haddleton to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying the claimed rheological properties because it satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention. Furthermore, the primary difference in the method of Haddleton and that of applicants is applicants the applicants introduce a final amine after the reaction with IPTMS, wherein the final amine reacts with any excess isocyanate in the system [p. 23,31]. In the preparation of applicants and Haddleton, the IPDI is the limiting reagent in the preparation of the silyl-terminated polyurea. A skilled artisan would appreciate the use of final amine to react with excess isocyanate will have no impact on the structure of the silyl-terminated polyurea. In light of this, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the composition of Haddleton to select the embodiments capable of satisfying the claimed rheological properties as Haddleton prepares a significantly similar silyl-terminated polyurea.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Haddleton is the closest prior art of record. Haddleton teaches the adhesive composition further includes a compatible tackifying resin [p. 0047]. Therefore, Haddleton teaches against claim 10.
Taton et al (US 2020/0405909 A1) teaches a crosslinking adhesive polymer obtained by polymerizing from polypropylene glycol diamine, IPDI, and mono function silicone isocyanate [abstract]. Taton teaches the polyurea copolymers are smooth and non-tacky, however the modulus is greater than the Dahlquist criteria used to define pressure sensitive adhesives [p. 0122]. Therefore, Taton fails to satisfy G’ of claim 1.
Conclusion
/HOLLEY GRACE HESTER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766