DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final Office Action on the merits for U.S. App. 18/690,084. Receipt of the Response to the Election/Restriction requirement filed on 02/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim 17 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-16 are examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 02/10/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 defines “its” in line 3, which renders the claimed invention indefinite since multiple elements have been defined prior to use of such a term and one of ordinary skill in the art would not know which element is being referred back to. For examining purposes and in light of the specification and drawings, “comprise an isosceles triangle having its apex” is suggested to instead define --comprise an isosceles triangle having an [[its]] apex-- in order to prevent confusion.
Claim 8 defines “four tension elements,” which renders the claimed invention indefinite since claim 7, from which claim 8 depends from, already defines at least three tension elements and one of ordinary skill in the art would not know whether such four tension elements are in addition to such at least three tension elements of claim 7 or whether such four tension elements further define the at least three tension elements of claim 7. For examining purposes and in light of the specification and drawings, claim 8 is considered to further define four tension elements, separate from the column formed by the at least three tension elements of claim 7. Moreover, claims 9 and 10 are rendered indefinite for depending upon claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rachwitz et al. (WO 2020/125916).
Regarding claim 1, Rachwitz et al. disclose a modular structural component comprising:
an elongate tension element (the tension elements formed by limbs #2 and #3) comprising opposed faces (the left and right vertical faces of figure 5) and a mesh of through-apertures (#7); and
a pair of elongate compression elements (#5), each for securing to a respective face of the tension element (see figure 5),
wherein a face of each compression element comprises a pattern of studs (#11; see figure 6), and
wherein each pattern is formed and each stud thereof is shaped for engaging a respective through-aperture of the mesh (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Rachwitz et al. disclose the modular structural component is a beam or a column (the profile of figure 5 is configured for use as a beam or column).
Regarding claim 7, Rachwitz et al. disclose wherein the column comprises at least three tension elements, and wherein each tension element is arranged parallel and equidistantly from the other tension elements, symmetrically about a common longitudinal axis (Claim 7 further defines the column element of figure 5 but does not positively define that the column must be selected over the beam of such an ”or” clause of claim 5. Since Rachwitz et al. disclose a beam is formed by the modular structural component, such a beam is not required to meet such column limitations as further defined in claim 7 and thus anticipates such limitations as broadly defined.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rachwitz et al. in view of Jensen et al. (U.S. Publication 2005/018382).
Regarding claim 2, Rachwitz et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the through-hole apertures comprise at least two different geometrical shapes. However, it is highly well known in the art, as evidenced by Jensen et al., that the apertures of a mesh part of a tension element #34/36 can comprise of round holes #56, oval holes #62, square holes #64, or triangular holes #66, where other holes and configurations are possible, and where material #39 is to flow within such apertures and hold the compression components #48 and #50 thereto. See figures 4-7 and paragraph 51. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have constructed the through holes of the tension element of Rachwitz et al. to comprise of at least two different geometrical shapes since Jensen et al. teach that all of such shapes are possible for such through holes and yield the same predictable result of holding such components of the tension element to one another and also since it has been held that changing the shape of an object is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed through holes was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 3, Rachwitz et al. in view of Jensen et al. render obvious studs of a first compression element of the pair thereof comprise a first geometrical shape and studs of a second compression element of the pair thereof comprise a second geometrical shape (Rachwitz et al. depict the studs #11 are cylindrical in shape for both of the compression elements and thus comprise of first and second cylindrical shapes, where such limitations do not define that such geometrical shapes are to be different from one another. Alternatively, when Rachwitz et al. is modified in view of Jensen et al. to include different shaped through holes, it would have been obvious to also construct the studs of Rachwitz et al. to comprise of different geometrical shapes in order to properly align and engage the compression elements with similarly shaped holes and thus ensure proper placement of the compression elements along the tension element and also since it has been held that changing the shape of an object is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed studs was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).).
Regarding claim 4, Rachwitz et al. disclose the claimed invention except for at least one through-aperture of the tension element and at least one stud of at least one compression element comprise an isosceles triangle having its apex coinciding with a main longitudinal axis of the element. However, it is highly well known in the art, as evidenced by Jensen et al., that the apertures of a mesh part of a tension element #34/36 can comprise of round holes #56, oval holes #62, square holes #64, or triangular holes #66, where other holes and configurations are possible, and where material #39 is to flow within such apertures and hold the compression components #48 and #50 thereto. See figures 4-7 and paragraph 51. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have constructed the through holes of the tension element and studs of compression elements of Rachwitz et al. to comprise of isosceles triangles since Jensen et al. teach that all of such shapes for the holes are interchangeable with one another and still yield the same predictable result of holding such components of the tension element to one another and since it has been held that changing the shape of an object is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed through holes was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have oriented the through hole triangles of Rachwitz et al. in view of Jensen et al. so that apexes thereof coincide with a main longitudinal axis of the element since Jensen et al. teach that all of such shapes and orientations for the through holes are interchangeable with one another and yield the same predictable result of holding such components of the tension element to one another and also since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention, i.e. the orientation of the triangles, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim(s) 6, 11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide (DE 19704019).
Regarding claim 6, Rachwitz et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the tension element further comprises a pair of slots extending from a same longitudinal edge and orthogonally thereto, each slot located adjacent a respective end of the tension element. However, it is highly well known in the art, as evidenced by Zurheide, that tension members #2 used to form a beam or column can comprise of reinforcing plates #16/23 attached at longitudinal edges thereof so that the tension member comprises of a slot #39/42 which extends transverse to the longitudinal axis of the tension member and is configured to engage a splice plate #14 to butt two tension elements with one another and connect them to one another. See figure 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have constructed the tension element of Rachwitz et al. to comprise of slots on the flange portions thereof, which slots extend transverse to the longitudinal axis of the tension element, as taught in Zurheide, in order to assist and strengthen butt connections of such tension elements to one another.
Regarding claim 11, Rachwitz et al. disclose at least one modular structural component comprising:
an elongate tension element (the tension elements formed by limbs #2 and #3) comprising opposed faces (the left and right vertical faces of figure 5) and a mesh of through-apertures (#7); and
a pair of elongate compression elements (#5), each for securing to a respective face of the tension element (see figure 5),
wherein a face of each compression element comprises a pattern of studs (#11; see figure 6), and
wherein each pattern is formed and each stud thereof is shaped for engaging a respective through-aperture of the mesh (see figure 5).
However, Rachwitz et al. do not specifically disclose at least one substantially planar bridging member and/or at least one foot member as defined. Zurheide teaches that tension members #2 used to form a beam or column can comprise of reinforcing plates #16/23 attached at longitudinal edges thereof so that the tension member comprises of a slot #39/42 which extends transverse to the longitudinal axis of the tension member and is configured to engage a foot member #14 to butt two tension elements with one another and connect them to one another. See figure 4. Figure 4 of Zurheide depicts the foot members #14 comprise of a mounting section formed by protrusions #43/44 that extend vertically and orthogonally to the horizontal base plate #14 with apertures #37, where such a foot member is to be positioned on a bottom of the modular structural component #2 between the component #2 and an underlying surface, such as the ground. See figure 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have constructed the tension element of Rachwitz et al. to comprise of slots on the flange portions thereof, which slots are to receive a foot member comprising of a mounting section and base plate, as taught in Zurheide, in order to assist and strengthen butt connections of such tension elements to one another so as to form a longer modular structural component as needed.
Regarding claim 12, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide render obvious the bridging member comprises a set of mounting faces, wherein either mounting face is securable to an end portion of the modular structural component in use (As explained above, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide is considered to render obvious a foot member, where either or both a bridging member and foot member need be provided in order to meet the claimed invention as presently defined. Since a foot member is disclosed by the prior art and since claim 12 only further defines the structure of the bridging members and does not positively require the bridging members, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide is considered to render such features obvious since the “or” portion of the limitations of claim 11 is still met.).
Regarding claim 13, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide render obvious the bridging member comprises a pair of symmetrical mounting plates, each mounting plate comprising a respective mounting face (As explained above, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide is considered to render obvious a foot member, where either or both a bridging member and foot member need be provided in order to meet each and every feature of the claimed invention as presently defined. Since a foot member is disclosed by the prior art and since claim 13 only further defines the structure of the bridging members without positively requiring such a bridging member, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide is considered to render such features obvious since the “or” portion of the limitations of claim 11 is still met.).
Regarding claim 14, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide render obvious opposed longitudinal edges of each mounting face of the bridging member are flanged, each flange extending outwardly of the member by a dimension corresponding to a thickness of the compression component (As explained above, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide is considered to render obvious a foot member, where either or both a bridging member and foot member need be provided in order to meet each and every feature of the claimed invention as presently defined. Since a foot member is disclosed by the prior art and since claim 14 only further defines the structure of the bridging member(s) without positively requiring the bridging member(s), Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide is considered to render such features obvious since the “or” portion of the limitations of claim 11 are still met.).
Regarding claim 16, Rachwitz et al. in view of Zurheide render obvious the base plate comprises a plurality of through-holes (Zurheide; #37) for engaging fasteners into the underlying surface threrethrough (Fasteners are configured to extend through the apertures #36 of the tension member and apertures #37 of the base plate of Zurheide and into an underlying surface, where such a positioning of the fasteners into the underlying surface is not positively defined), and wherein each through-hole is configured to provide a constrained degree of freedom of horizontal translation to the base plate, relative to a fastener engaged therein (Again, such fasteners are not positively defined, where a smaller fastener than the through holes can be provided and thus the through hole can provide a constrained freedom of horizontal translation as broadly defined.).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rachwitz et al. in view of Mellett et al. (WO 2018/107229).
Regarding claim 8, Rachwitz et al. disclose the claimed invention except for four tension elements, where each tension element is non-coplanar relative to another to define two pairs of parallel and offset tension elements, with each pair being orthogonal to the other. However, it is highly well known in the art, as evidenced by Mellett et al., that tension elements #1 can comprise of compression elements #104 that attach on opposite sides of the web #10 of the tension member and allow a plurality of tension members to be attached to one another to form a supporting frame with tension elements extending perpendicular and parallel to one another. See figure 8B. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used at least four tension elements of Rachwitz et al. to form a rectangular frame element with parallel and perpendicular orientations, as taught in Mellett et al., in order to form a supporting structure as needed by the end user.
Regarding claim 9, Rachwitz et al. in view of Mellett et al. render obvious at least one end of each tension element is configured with a mounting section coplanar with the tension element, for securing to another modular structural component thereto, orthogonally to the common longitudinal axis (Figure 5 of Rachwitz et al. depicts the ends of the tension element comprise of recessed areas between elements #2 and #3, which is considered a mounting section that is coplanar with the vertical tension element and which is configured to receive an element to secure another modular structural component thereto, such as another clamping element which is configured to attach to a perpendicular modular structural component as taught in Mellett et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Rachwitz et al. in view of Mellett et al. render obvious an oblong portion of each tension element is cut off adjacent the common longitudinal axis by a first dimension corresponding to a height of the tension element and by a second dimension corresponding to a thickness of the tension element, thereby defining a box-shaped sectioned space in the component wherein the space is centered about the common longitudinal axis and tension element (Figure 5 of Rachwitz et al. depicts the ends of the tension element comprise of recessed areas between elements #2 and #3, which can be considered an oblong portion where no material is provided and thus considered “cut-off”, where such a portion has a height that is coplanar with the vertical dimension of the tension element and a thickness corresponding to the thickness of the tension element and which is considered box-shaped (rectangular) that is centered so as to be configured to receive an element to secure another modular structural component thereto, such as another clamping element which is configured to attach to a perpendicular modular structural component as taught in Mellett et al. As a note, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. the oblong portion, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. the oblong portion is cut off. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: though gear shaped bridging members are known in the art, such as those depicted in figure 25 of Palmer (U.S. Patent 5,661,942) which are constructed as circular elements with fins #34 and are configured to be received within a gear shaped aperture #23 of two elements configured to hinge with one another so as to set such elements at an angle relative to one another, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to properly incorporate such a teaching of Palmer within the invention of Rachwitz et al. or any other modular structural component comprising of a tension element and compression elements as presently defined without improper hindsight. As a note, figure 15 is considered to positively define such bridging members are used within claim 11 since claim 15 further defines the tension element or modular structural component comprises of a through aperture configured to lodge the gear member therein.
Conclusion
/THEODORE V ADAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635