DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-10 are pending.
This action is Non-Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [0011] “huma” should be “human”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: noise detector configured to in claim 2.
In review of the disclosure as filed, it is not clear what the corresponding structure of the “noise detector” is as it is not included in the processor, and is merely described as a black box element in the Figures, and based on presentation of [0011] exemplar structures, it appears such corresponds to “or the like” as a processor is a processor, a storage is a memory, so naturally noise detector is “or the like”. There is nothing here clear to the structure in [0011] as filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for the limitation “noise detector configured to”. In review of the disclosure as filed, it is not clear what the corresponding structure of the “noise detector” is as it is not included in the processor, and is merely described as a black box element in the Figures, and based on presentation of [0011] exemplar structures, it appears such corresponds to “or the like” as a processor is a processor, a storage is a memory, so naturally noise detector is “or the like”. When there is not a clear correspondence to the structure of a limitation invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the claims should be rejected under 112a and b. As such, one of ordinary skill would not have recognized applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. It may be better for the claim to be amended to remove such structure (noise detector configured to) and include the functions under the processor structure already set forth.
The dependent claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, the limitations:
“a processor configured to generate a second biological signal by performing a noise reduction process on a basis of the first biological signal; and
a storage configured to store a processing result of the noise reduction process,
wherein the processor is configured to perform the noise reduction process using the processing result stored in the storage on the basis of the first biological signal” (Emphasis added, claim 1 representative)
render the claims indefinite. The claimed functions in both the process and product both generate and store the same result in an apparent simultaneous mechanism at an initial point in the algorithm. How is the data generated which is stored used to generate the data to be stored? It seems there is a missing function which must be present to allow for such cyclical features and an initialization. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear which renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 2, the claim invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for the limitation “noise detector configured to”. In review of the disclosure as filed, it is not clear what the corresponding structure of the “noise detector” is as it is not included in the processor, and is merely described as a black box element in the Figures, and based on presentation of [0011] exemplar structures, it appears such corresponds to “or the like” as a processor is a processor, a storage is a memory, so naturally noise detector is “or the like”. When there is not a clear correspondence to the structure of a limitation invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the claims should be rejected under 112a and b. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear which renders the claim indefinite.
The dependent claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
Claim 1
generate a second biological signal by performing a noise reduction process on a basis of the first biological signal (mathematical concepts, mental process including pen and paper analysis)
perform the noise reduction process using the processing result on the basis of the first biological signal (mathematical concepts, mental process including pen and paper analysis)
Claim 10
generating a second biological signal by performing a noise reduction process on a basis of the first biological signal (mathematical concepts, mental process including pen and paper analysis)
wherein the noise reduction process is performed using the stored processing result on the basis of the first biological signal (mathematical concepts, mental process including pen and paper analysis)
These claim limitations fall within the identified groupings of abstract ideas:
Mathematical Concepts:
mathematical relationships
mathematical formulas or equations
mathematical calculations
Mental Processes
concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because:
Under the step 2A, analysis is conducted on the additional features of the claim. Under this analysis, the additional features beyond the judicial exception are:
Claim 1:
a sensor configured to generate a first biological signal that is based on first biological information (insignificant extra solution activities related to data gathering)
a processor configured to (computer structures used as a tool for implementation)
a storage configured to store a processing result of the noise reduction process (insignificant extra solution activities related to data storage in computer structures used as a tool)
Claim 10
generating a first biological signal that is based on first biological information (insignificant extra solution activities related to data gathering)
storing a processing result of the noise reduction process (insignificant extra solution activities related to data storage)
These features in the claim do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as the additional elements in the claim do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is no more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Limitation concepts that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Limitation concepts that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
Under Step 2B, the claim limitations are evaluated for an inventive concept. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination, they do not add significantly more to the exception. Analyzing the additional claim limitations individually, the additional limitation that is not directed to the abstract idea are the same as those identified in step 2A above. Such limitations related to the generation of signals are recognized by the courts as routine data gathering in order to input data to the mathematical algorithm, and thus, do not add a meaningful limitation to the product/method as it would be routinely used by those of ordinary skill in the art in order to apply the mathematical algorithm. The method does not contain any computing structure directly, such that the steps can all be analog/mental processing of the equation from the data gathered which further supports that the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The computer structures cited above are claimed as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. The additional limitations recited in the dependent claims are directed to further exceptions related to the data processing (A more specific abstraction is still an abstraction). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Therefore, analyzing the claims as an ordered combination under the Mayo/Alice analysis the features claimed are directed to patent ineligible limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beker et al. (Beker, US 2007/0066907).
Regarding claim 1, Beker teaches a measurement device, comprising:
a sensor configured to generate a first biological signal that is based on first biological information (see at least [0244]);
a processor configured to generate a second biological signal by performing a noise reduction process on a basis of the first biological signal (see at least [0212]); and
a storage configured to store a processing result of the noise reduction process (see at least [0212], [0215]),
wherein the processor is configured to perform the noise reduction process using the processing result stored in the storage on the basis of the first biological signal (see at least [0212]).
Regarding claim 2, Beker teaches further comprising a noise detector configured to calculate a noise degree of inclusion, in the first biological signal, of a noise that is based on second biological information, wherein the processor is configured to: perform the noise reduction process using the processing result stored in the storage on the basis of the first biological signal in a case where the noise degree is greater than a predetermined value; and perform the noise reduction process on the basis of the first biological signal in a case where the noise degree is smaller than the predetermined value (see at least [0214], [0215], [0297]).
Regarding claim 7, Beker teaches wherein the storage is configured to store the processing result of the noise reduction process in the case where the noise degree is smaller than the predetermined value (see at least [0214], [0215], [0297]).
Regarding claim 8, Beker teaches wherein the second biological information comprises activity information regarding a muscle fiber (see at least [0003], [0214], [0215], [0235], [0297]-[0298]).
Regarding claim 10, Beker teaches a measurement method, comprising:
generating a first biological signal that is based on first biological information (see at least [0244]);
generating a second biological signal by performing a noise reduction process on a basis of the first biological signal (see at least [0212]); and
storing a processing result of the noise reduction process, wherein the noise reduction process is performed using the stored processing result on the basis of the first biological signal process (see at least [0212], [0215]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beker et al. (Beker, US 2007/0066907) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of WO 2002/017782A2 (“Steinberg”, cited by applicant on IDS filed 11/17/2024; see Machine Translation) and JP2002034944A (“Rikagaku”; cited by applicant on IDS filed 4/2/2024; see Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 3, the limitations are met by Beker except the limitations of wherein during the noise reduction process, the processor is configured to: generate a first matrix by separating the first biological signal into a plurality of signals; perform a matrix separation process to separate the first matrix into a second matrix and a third matrix, the second matrix including a component less changeable in a time-axis direction, the third matrix including a component discrete in the time-axis direction; and generate the second biological signal on a basis of the second matrix are not directly taught.
Steinberg teaches a related system for reducing noise in physiological signals (see abstract), and teaches that noise reduction techniques can be equally used among various different physiological signals including ECG and EEG (see Machine translation “Thus, when measuring electrocardiographic (EKG) signals or magnetocardiographic (MKG) signals from a patient, the sensors measure not only the electrical or magnetic activity of the heart, but also the electrical or magnetic signals generated by other sources. The signal of interest and the undesired measured signals are then contained in the measurement signal, the undesired components of the measured signal generally being referred to as "noise components" or in short as "noise"…The following detailed description describes the method and the device for adaptively reducing the noise using the example of an EKG signal, but it should be noted that the techniques of the present invention. Invention for reducing the noise components are applicable to a wide variety of signals, for example other physiological signals such as MKG, EEG (electroencephalography) and MEG (magnetoencephalography) signals.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that noise reduction techniques can be used on any desired physiological signal as an obvious substitution.
Rikagaku teaches a related system for noise reduction in physiological signals (see abstract), and teaches a process of using linear algebra processes in reducing biological signal noise from a biological signal of interest, which reasonably teaches the claimed features of wherein during the noise reduction process, the processor is configured to: generate a first matrix by separating the first biological signal into a plurality of signals; perform a matrix separation process to separate the first matrix into a second matrix and a third matrix, the second matrix including a component less changeable in a time-axis direction, the third matrix including a component discrete in the time-axis direction; and generate the second biological signal on a basis of the second matrix (see at least [0005]-[0013]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of using linear algebra functions of recorded signals to further reduce noise in desired signals caused by undesirable signals also captured in the recorded data in order to improve a signal to noise of a desired signal.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations are met by Beker in view of Steinberg and Rikagaku, where Rikagaku teaches wherein, during the matrix separation process, the processor is configured to generate a fourth matrix by performing an emphasis process to emphasize the third matrix and separate the first matrix into the second matrix and the third matrix to cause the second matrix and the fourth matrix to satisfy a predetermined condition (see at least [0005]-[0013]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of using linear algebra functions of recorded signals to further reduce noise in desired signals caused by undesirable signals also captured in the recorded data in order to improve a signal to noise of a desired signal.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations are met by Beker in view of Steinberg and Rikagaku, where Beker teaches wherein the processing result stored in the storage comprises the second biological signal generated through the noise reduction process in a past, and in the case where the noise degree is greater than the predetermined value, the processor is configured to: update the first biological signal by combining the first biological signal with the processing result stored in the storage; and perform the noise reduction process on a basis of the updated first biological signal (see at least [0214], [0215], [0297]).
Regarding claim 6, the limitations are met by Beker in view of Steinberg and Rikagaku, where the combination teaches wherein the processing result stored in the storage comprises the second matrix generated through the noise reduction process in a past, and in the case where the noise degree is greater than the predetermined value, the processor is configured to: update the first matrix by combining the first matrix with the processing result stored in the storage; and separate the updated first matrix into the second matrix and the third matrix (see Beker at least [0214], [0215], [0297]; see Rikagaku at least [0005]-[0013]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of using linear algebra functions of recorded signals to further reduce noise in desired signals caused by undesirable signals also captured in the recorded data in order to improve a signal to noise of a desired signal.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beker et al. (Beker, US 2007/0066907) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of WO 2002/017782A2 (“Steinberg”, cited by applicant on IDS filed 11/17/2024; see Machine Translation) and JP2002034944A (“Rikagaku”; cited by applicant on IDS filed 4/2/2024; see Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 9, the limitations are met by Beker except the limitations of wherein the first biological information comprises brain wave information are not directly taught.
Steinberg teaches a related system for reducing noise in physiological signals (see abstract), and teaches that noise reduction techniques can be equally used among various different physiological signals including ECG and EEG (see Machine translation “Thus, when measuring electrocardiographic (EKG) signals or magnetocardiographic (MKG) signals from a patient, the sensors measure not only the electrical or magnetic activity of the heart, but also the electrical or magnetic signals generated by other sources. The signal of interest and the undesired measured signals are then contained in the measurement signal, the undesired components of the measured signal generally being referred to as "noise components" or in short as "noise"…The following detailed description describes the method and the device for adaptively reducing the noise using the example of an EKG signal, but it should be noted that the techniques of the present invention. Invention for reducing the noise components are applicable to a wide variety of signals, for example other physiological signals such as MKG, EEG (electroencephalography) and MEG (magnetoencephalography) signals.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that noise reduction techniques can be used on any desired physiological signal as an obvious substitution.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R BLOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791